User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Hegemony is hands down one of the best games I have ever played. You start with a single city and a ruined empire and attempt to merely reclaim your kingdom. From there the sky is the limit. You can follow the historical path of Philip of Macedon or strike out on your own. You can fight the barbarians to the north and west or head south and conquer the various hellenic nations. No matter what you decide you will have a ball. I have about 60 hours of playing and i have ony gotten as far east as Amphipholis and as far south as Pharae. It has unlimited replay value, even though there is only one available faction. Units are simple to use but the perfection of tactics will take time, practice, and loss before it can be achieved. It is essentially a larger, real-time Total War game. The difference is that as the King of Macedon you have far more control over your empire than you do in the Total War games. In Hegemony never consider a city yours, it may revolt and return to the enemy or it may be taken by another faction. No garrison is too large and no siege force can actually take a well defended city. If a city is well garrisoned starve them out. Burn or capture the surrounding farms and cut off trade so the defenders inside will die before the siege begins. This is as close to perfect as a game can get, and i personally find it intellectually stimulating. For as cheap as it is it is a steal, and whatever minor problems exist are being remedied in the gold version. Expand
  2. Dec 23, 2010
    9
    Hegemony: Philip of Macedon is an addictive, exciting challenge of epic proportions. After around 150 hours played i'm estimating i'm around 50% of the way through the content and its still not getting stale. Thats unbelievable value for money considering some major titles can have as little as 20 hours content.
    Theres nothing else quite like it on the market that ive come across.
    Expanding you empire with every border being a frontline requiring an army, and every coastline you own being a potential site of an amphibious attack, coupled with the very real need to manage your supply lines and food stocks, makes for total immersion in the game world with the need to make constant strategic and tactical decisions.
    The warfare is as epic as the scale of the game world. You need all your wits about you conduct combined forces battles using infantry, ranged, cavalry and catapults to siege a city, vanquish a defending army thats rushed to meet you in the open, or vanquish an invading army somewhere along your border, often in as many as 4 locations at once in real-time. The ebb and flow of battles is something thats often missing from many games. Once beaten the AI doesnt roll over an die, they come back in force, over and over. A city may well change hands several times before its finaly secured.
    Brute force isnt the only way, strategically cutting the AIs supply lines is often the only way to bring down a particularly powerful city, but then once you take it that means no food reserves to feed your army, and you know a counter-attack wont be far off... Ok Hegemony isnt the most beautiful game to look at. If the graphics were state-of-the-art it would be a 10. But many major titles are brilliant examples of style over substance. For those whom, like me, style over substance just doesnt cut it Hegemony is probably pound for pound, the best game you can imagine. As another player posted on Longbows forum: "The way logistics, terrain and resources shape strategies in hegemony is beautiful and a pleasure to play with."
    Expand
  3. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    Overall this is a great game that suffers from a few flaws. For the gameplay, think Total War series but entirely in real time. At any given moment , the player can zoom out to see the tactical map of the Aegean world and then immediately zoom to ground level anywhere on the map. Enemies will invade constantly, depending on how much their faction opposes you and the season, and you will often need to defend on multiple fronts at the same time, which can be quite a challenge. As for the negatives, unit grouping can be frustrating, though once you figure it out (which you will need to do on your own or go on their forums to ask) it makes sense. When moving through narrow passes, large groups will try to column up, causing many of them to retreat way back the other direction. It is minor annoyances like this that can cause the game to become frustrating. Diplomacy is lacking in this version of the game, though it does play a role in the impending Gold version. There are no game-breaking bugs that I have come across. With the Gold version, many of the issues of the original will be fixed, and the developers are extremely willing to hear out and address individual complaints on the LongBow forums. This game is definitely worth the money. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2011
    7
    A lot of fun to be had here. A cross between total war games with rts style battles, and an empire builder light. The company seems really cool and worth supporting as well, hopefully they have a sequel in the works.
  5. Feb 11, 2011
    7
    The game is bearable and feels quite fun during the first few hours, but soon you will realise the true extent of this game- the map is absolutely huge. It might appear to be a real time total war but don't expect the extensive trade routes, city building and diplomacy here. However, it feels more realistic than a total war game and generally is quite fun if you dont aim to complete the whole thing. Worth the 2.50 i paid in the steam sale i got it in. Expand
  6. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    Hegemony: Philip of Macedon is a little like a simple Total War game without the Battles, you just have a campaign map that has a very RUSE like, zoom in and out feel about it which is actually better than the total war campaign map in my opinion. It is actually very good, well balanced and challenging game. Definitely worth the price of a full price game, but you should be able to pick it up at half that price on steam these days. This is a game I consider to be a hidden gem from the indi world so if your a strategy fan, put this one on your to buy list next time your bored. I think you will have a pleasant surprise. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2011
    9
    I bought this on steam and liked it but after the fun high of the first game it got a little old. it is still fun. and is by far the hardest real time strategy i've every played. there are too many cities to capture if they just made the map a little smaller i would give it a 10. but i give it a 8 because there is to much to conquer. but i think it's better than AOE. so it's a good game but you must have a lot of time on your hands to complete it. Collapse
  8. Aug 1, 2011
    9
    A very well done game, good graphics, good music, and a large, sprawling strategic design. There is a lot of replay value here, and the overall "epicness" of the game will have you coming back to play it over and over.
  9. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    Very good game IF I was you I would pick up the golden edition of hegemony it lets you play with Sparta and Athene! but back to this version Its great the campaign is much fun the managing of your Kingdom can be very funny and sometimes frustrating when you loose. But overally this game is very good and it shows how small/medium companies can make great games! and not give you 5 hours content like Call of Duty Expand
  10. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    This game is very original, fun and smart, what do you need more in RTS game, it introduces new concept and the feels of it fit the ancient greece period well, graphics are not so good though but since it is an indie game I give them full respect, the next title will be better in everything including the AI, I am sure the developers will become big soon since the base and the concept of the game are original and tight. a big 9 from me. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Hegemony is a decent strategy game that requires resourcefulness and actual tactical thoughts from the user. The larger your empire gets the more fronts you have to defend but you only have a limited amount of soldiers to defend all fronts. The game is extremely easy to learn as the first little bit is handheld and explained, and later on the in game help menu is extremely detailed and useful.

    A great game overall.
    Expand
  12. Jan 7, 2012
    7
    I am reading some 10 out of 10 reviews here.. Honestly- this game is ok but don't expect too much. Personally- I would give a game like Medieval Total War 2 a 9 out of 10 not this one! To put some perspective on things! However, if you can pick this up for a good price I recommend it. Here are some of my opinions on it pros and cons:

    On the down side:

    This game doesn't have the
    graphics or depth of total war. And it can become a bit of a repetitive grind as your territory is subject to constant incursions. I found having to constantly run my main army up and down the map a bit of a grind and too much like hard work to be that enjoyable. The missions can be done in any order but simply boil down to conquering everything.

    Plus side: In the campaign's favour it does keep you on your toes. It is very rare that you can simply sit back and gloat at your power. There are always enemies poking into your lands to look for weak spots. Your units level up and you can attach generals to units. You can enslave your enemies when they surrender or execute them.

    Keeping your armies and cities supplied with food from farms is very important in this game. This is a bit more realistic than many other games of its type.

    The story of Philip is well told with artistic cutscenes.
    Expand
  13. Jan 25, 2011
    0
    I bought this on steam and liked it but after the fun high of the first game it got a little old. it is still fun. and is by far the hardest real time strategy i've every played. there are too many cities to capture if they just made the map a little smaller i would give it a 10. but i give it a 8 because there is to much to conquer. but i think it's better than AOE. so it's a good game but you must have a lot of time on your hands to complete it. Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 30, 2010
    50
    Has solid foundations, but there's not enough there to keep you engaged for the long hours it takes to finish. [Jan 2010, p.65]
  2. Hegemony otherwise does a good job of capturing the nature of war in this time period.
  3. With diplomacy and more resourceful units, Hegemony could have been great rather than good. [Aug 2010, p.102]