Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Oct 4, 2012
    49
    There are good ideas, but that's not enough.
  2. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit is really enjoyable at first, but gets worse very fast and fails to deliver. It's still a solid action platformer, but surely not the best one.
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    72
    Gory, beautiful chaos, if a little frustratingly rough behind the scenes. A good afternoon's chaos, and that's what matters.
  4. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    More attention to actual gameplay would have elevated Hell Yeah! beyond a mere distraction, and as such it's difficult to see it as a break-out success, and even harder to recommend to platform fanatics looking for something new.
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    65
    Cool graphics are the biggest strength of this modest platformer, because its gameplay is repetitive and essentially primitive. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.79]
  6. Jan 27, 2013
    60
    Hell Yeah would've worked much better if it were a comic book or an animated movie. It is eye-catching and crazy just to the right degree, but, alas, so primitive as a game.
  7. 77
    Schizophrenic, old-school platform-euphoria… and everything that goes with that. [November 2012]
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 53 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Hell Yeah! is appropriately named because that is exactly the response you are going to have after playing about ten minutes of this game. Though it is a platformer and that is usually not my thing, this game had me sucked in for hours before I realized what time it was and had to log off to go to work.
    ******
    If you haven't seen it, check out Totalbiscuit's WTF to see an example of the awesome graphic style and dark humor that kept me laughing still 3 hours in. Addictive, fast-paced, with a killer rabbit and an art style that intensifies the humor, this is perhaps the only platformer I would recommend at $15 today.
    ******
    My complaints for this game is that the UI does not work well for mouses with more than 3 buttons (which can be overlooked by not using the other buttons) and that the weapon switch system forces you to go through multiple weapons to find the one you want, which can be irritating in a fast-paced game like this. ******
    Those detractors, however, do not outweigh the fact that this game is in many way simply bad ass.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    The release of this game is the greatest events since the release of the Earthworm Jim game. Great style and musical background, combined with hurricane gameplay and psychedelic humor. Definitely this game is a masterpiece, need more games such this. Full Review »
  3. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    Good ideas, funny look but boring gameplay. That's the way I would describe this game. While it has even made me laugh, it isin't all that fun to play. The mini-games get boring due to them being so similiar to each other. The jokes get old quite quickly too. Fortunately there are variations to the platform but it doesn't really help much.

    The game also feels to hold the player's hand too much. Every time you unlock a new path or anything, the game needs to s....l...o...w...l...y move the camera to the place where something happens. You are forced to read the dialogue even after dying and unfortunely the dialogue also spoils too much about how to defeat the bosses most of the time.

    With less hand helding, more variety to mini-games and jokes, the game could be very good. Now it just falls into medicore tier, being remembered about something (Probably due to Total Biscuit's "WTF is..." video) but not something you will come back to. Still, it's a nice try.
    Full Review »