Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hell Yeah! is a crazy action-adventure platformer. In Hell. You are Ash, a devil rabbit and the prince of Hell. When some jerk finds it funny to post your secret intimate photos all over the Hell-ternet, you get VERY angry. Time to find him and destroy him once and for all. While you’re at it, why not use this incredible journey to kill everybody else? It’s you against all Hell. It’s Hell Yeah! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. 77
    Schizophrenic, old-school platform-euphoria… and everything that goes with that. [November 2012]
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    72
    Gory, beautiful chaos, if a little frustratingly rough behind the scenes. A good afternoon's chaos, and that's what matters.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    70
    Hell Yeah! Wrath of the Dead Rabbit is really enjoyable at first, but gets worse very fast and fails to deliver. It's still a solid action platformer, but surely not the best one.
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    65
    Cool graphics are the biggest strength of this modest platformer, because its gameplay is repetitive and essentially primitive. [CD-Action 13/2012, p.79]
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    60
    Hell Yeah would've worked much better if it were a comic book or an animated movie. It is eye-catching and crazy just to the right degree, but, alas, so primitive as a game.
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    60
    More attention to actual gameplay would have elevated Hell Yeah! beyond a mere distraction, and as such it's difficult to see it as a break-out success, and even harder to recommend to platform fanatics looking for something new.
  7. Oct 4, 2012
    49
    There are good ideas, but that's not enough.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    zu geiles game ^^
  2. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    The release of this game is the greatest events since the release of the Earthworm Jim game. Great style and musical background, combined with hurricane gameplay and psychedelic humor. Definitely this game is a masterpiece, need more games such this. Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Hell Yeah! is appropriately named because that is exactly the response you are going to have after playing about ten minutes of this game. Though it is a platformer and that is usually not my thing, this game had me sucked in for hours before I realized what time it was and had to log off to go to work.
    ******
    If you haven't seen it, check out Totalbiscuit's WTF to see an example of the awesome graphic style and dark humor that kept me laughing still 3 hours in. Addictive, fast-paced, with a killer rabbit and an art style that intensifies the humor, this is perhaps the only platformer I would recommend at $15 today.
    ******
    My complaints for this game is that the UI does not work well for mouses with more than 3 buttons (which can be overlooked by not using the other buttons) and that the weapon switch system forces you to go through multiple weapons to find the one you want, which can be irritating in a fast-paced game like this. ******
    Those detractors, however, do not outweigh the fact that this game is in many way simply bad ass.
    Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    7
    Very decent platformer. Reminds me of 1) Jazz Jackrabbit 2) Earthworm Jim games. Too bad it is not really that long, checkpoint system is broken sometimes forcing you to repeat quite lenghty parts and it lacks higher difficulty levels or new game plus modes. On the other hand it has some nice platforming, varied worlds, lots of shooting, pretty 2d graphics and chuckle-worthy humour. Bought it with -50% price drop and I can't say I'm disappointed. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    6
    Good ideas, funny look but boring gameplay. That's the way I would describe this game. While it has even made me laugh, it isin't all that fun to play. The mini-games get boring due to them being so similiar to each other. The jokes get old quite quickly too. Fortunately there are variations to the platform but it doesn't really help much.

    The game also feels to hold the player's hand too much. Every time you unlock a new path or anything, the game needs to s....l...o...w...l...y move the camera to the place where something happens. You are forced to read the dialogue even after dying and unfortunely the dialogue also spoils too much about how to defeat the bosses most of the time.

    With less hand helding, more variety to mini-games and jokes, the game could be very good. Now it just falls into medicore tier, being remembered about something (Probably due to Total Biscuit's "WTF is..." video) but not something you will come back to. Still, it's a nice try.
    Expand
  6. Oct 7, 2012
    5
    It's fun while it lasts, but it only took me 6 hours to complete everything and unlock every achievement. Far too easy, completely linear and no replay value.
    Everything that should have added depth fails to do so. "The Island" where all the defeated monsters end up seems pointless and I only ever once got a health boost from it. Not sure why it needed it's own section of the game when it doesn't have any purpose. Weapons are also useless, as none of them seem any better than the other for specific situations. I was using the Revolver for pretty much all of the game quite comfortably. including the last boss.

    Could have been quite a good game if it had more content and the existing content was more fleshed out.

    I'd also like to point out, the controls are not great either. The human thumb cannot operate the right-analog stick AND the A button at the same time!
    Collapse
  7. Oct 15, 2012
    0
    Game for stupid schoolboys who did not play in normal games. Poor gameplay, run, drill and drive through monsters on his wheel, and sometimes shoot them. Half an hour was enough to understand that the game is boring and uninteresting Expand

See all 15 User Reviews