Hellgate: London PC

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 378 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidF.
    May 22, 2008
    5
    This game is below mediocre, even nearly seven months after release. Bugs still persist, standard quality MMO features are just now coming in, and the gap between subs and non-subs continues to increase. Couple that with half the foot-in-mouth slip ups and the recent downfall of HanbitSoft's support of Hellgate in the SEA region, and I think we can all safely say the damage this gameThis game is below mediocre, even nearly seven months after release. Bugs still persist, standard quality MMO features are just now coming in, and the gap between subs and non-subs continues to increase. Couple that with half the foot-in-mouth slip ups and the recent downfall of HanbitSoft's support of Hellgate in the SEA region, and I think we can all safely say the damage this game has done is complete--as long as you don't fall the victim to paying another cent for it. Expand
  2. AkiKarppanen
    Feb 10, 2008
    7
    Only for multiplayer. FSS (the developers) are doing their best to make SP worse then MP. At the moment SP is three patches behind MP and the next SP patch is at least two weeks away, which means a whopping 10 weeks after the last SP-patch, while the game has tons of known bugs that have already been fixed for MP. I'd understand that, if SP was in any way different to the MP, butOnly for multiplayer. FSS (the developers) are doing their best to make SP worse then MP. At the moment SP is three patches behind MP and the next SP patch is at least two weeks away, which means a whopping 10 weeks after the last SP-patch, while the game has tons of known bugs that have already been fixed for MP. I'd understand that, if SP was in any way different to the MP, but it's the same game, just offline. Expand
  3. TKSTKS
    Dec 5, 2007
    5
    I wanted to add to some of the comments already given. Buggy for one, you have to use the console command /stuck when you get stuck (as in you CAN'T FREAKIN' MOVE) which is quite annoying. The atmosphere is OK but too much the same for every level. They tried for variety for came up short. I would rather play 10+ year old Diablo2 or Titan quest than this. A whooping 5 for the I wanted to add to some of the comments already given. Buggy for one, you have to use the console command /stuck when you get stuck (as in you CAN'T FREAKIN' MOVE) which is quite annoying. The atmosphere is OK but too much the same for every level. They tried for variety for came up short. I would rather play 10+ year old Diablo2 or Titan quest than this. A whooping 5 for the attempt. I suggest you go outside and get some fresh air than to play this. Expand
  4. ChrisG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    5
    When I first started playing Hellgate, I would have given it a 9. But as the game progressed and the repetetive gameplay showed through, my score got lower and lower. The atmosphere is good, but the quests needed more flavor, to many kill x of mob y. The level all start to look the same. The game has its fun moments, but it's not a game that is fun long term, but played in short When I first started playing Hellgate, I would have given it a 9. But as the game progressed and the repetetive gameplay showed through, my score got lower and lower. The atmosphere is good, but the quests needed more flavor, to many kill x of mob y. The level all start to look the same. The game has its fun moments, but it's not a game that is fun long term, but played in short bursts. Those who enjoyed Diablo II, will find some things to enjoiy here, but don't expect much. The weapon upgrade system is interesting and there are some humerous moments. The final kicker to the score is the subscription cost, I can not see a reason to play the subscription cost at this time, the game just needed more work. There are a few bugs, but in the single-player(I have not tried the multi-player), they are fairly minor. Expand
  5. Howi
    Nov 2, 2007
    6
    Rushed out the door. There is a huge memory leak, the gameplay is good but very repetitive over-time. I would sit and wait 3-6 months before buying this title.
  6. Ereld
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    Lots of annoying bugs, and few actually that prevent you to follow the main storyline in the single player campaign. I've personnaly never see this in any game, and I've never been stuck and forced to wait a patch to continue a game, which is , finally, very frustrating. It can be a good game, but the bugs, that seem to extend in time with no fix, will kill it very fast.
  7. JoelE
    Oct 31, 2007
    5
    Graphics won't help you enjoy this let down. Lacks appeal on gameplay and technical aspect. Sound is extremely buggy and glitchy. I base my comments on the demo, and from my experience I can tell that the actual game won't be very different
  8. JC
    Jan 11, 2008
    7
    Metacritic's average rating hit the nail dead on. Usually I dont play games with under an 80 rating, simply b/c it usually isnt my time. It isnt the greatest game, it has many flaws. Multiplayer HAS been fixed since launch. You cant expect a game to be 100% perfect at launch and things like multiplayer will only be seen when users cant connect. So I dont hold that against them. Metacritic's average rating hit the nail dead on. Usually I dont play games with under an 80 rating, simply b/c it usually isnt my time. It isnt the greatest game, it has many flaws. Multiplayer HAS been fixed since launch. You cant expect a game to be 100% perfect at launch and things like multiplayer will only be seen when users cant connect. So I dont hold that against them. However, it is a BASE GAME. By this I mean it contains the basis of an RPG without much fluff. Follow the main quest and you will do fine. It is not a challenging game unless you play hardcore. It was somewhat dissapointing but its not a horrible game in my opinion. Yes it is mindless killing. Expand
  9. Brandon
    Feb 9, 2008
    6
    Cool idea and very fun gamplay. Unfortunately it lacks variety and you have to pay a silly monthly fee for what is essentially a bunch of promised content that is not even in the actual game. So really you are paying $9 a month for nothing, and you dont realize it till you have already paid.
    Devs are money mongers and will censor anything related to their crooked billing practices on
    Cool idea and very fun gamplay. Unfortunately it lacks variety and you have to pay a silly monthly fee for what is essentially a bunch of promised content that is not even in the actual game. So really you are paying $9 a month for nothing, and you dont realize it till you have already paid.
    Devs are money mongers and will censor anything related to their crooked billing practices on their forums, so you don't even get a warning, you cant read it on the forums. The game is good, but Flagship has a very crooked business agenda, and the game loses points overall for that alone.
    Expand
  10. AlexD
    Mar 11, 2008
    5
    I got HG:L without knowing much more about it than what hyping articles around the Web had to say about it (which I always take with a huge grain of salt; typically the bigger the hype, the poorer is the game actually is).

    So I read on the official boards that many beta testers are still very angry with what FSS delivered, the slow pace at which they seem to fix/better things, how they
    I got HG:L without knowing much more about it than what hyping articles around the Web had to say about it (which I always take with a huge grain of salt; typically the bigger the hype, the poorer is the game actually is).

    So I read on the official boards that many beta testers are still very angry with what FSS delivered, the slow pace at which they seem to fix/better things, how they completely dropped the ball on everyone. Since I wasn't in beta, I have no idea what the game was expected to be at launch; I do however remember the shiny screenshots that went around the Web some months before HG:L came out, frankly I too was wondering where those awesome graphics and lighting effects went.

    So back to gist of the review; I like HG:L. Not love, not hate, it's *ok*. If it feels very half-baked in some areas (skills, character progression as a whole), the action and different styles of gameplay for each of the factions is actually well done. The action is well paced, but it soon feels *very* repetitive even for a RPG grinder. One really overhyped feature is the random map generator to improve replayability; it sounds much nicer than it actually is, the corridors still look the same, the only difference is you may need to turn left instead of right (but your directional goal is still the same, so who cares).

    Graphics in DX9 mode look good, but dated; as said before, it looks and feel like a 2004-05 game (for the very picky, at least); I haven't had the chance to try out DX10 graphics personally, I heard they look much nicer, but there are some pretty bad lag problems even for those with very high-end gaming systems.
    Expand
  11. AlexH.
    Nov 1, 2007
    6
    Game feels unfinished. It's fun at first, while you're taking in the novelty of "diablo into 3D". However, you soon realize that the skills are quite boring and there's not really anything intrinsic to the game that gets you excited to keep playing. To rub salt into the wound, the boring content will probably be fixed later on in the game's lifecycle but will only be Game feels unfinished. It's fun at first, while you're taking in the novelty of "diablo into 3D". However, you soon realize that the skills are quite boring and there's not really anything intrinsic to the game that gets you excited to keep playing. To rub salt into the wound, the boring content will probably be fixed later on in the game's lifecycle but will only be made available to subscribers. Thus, for 50 bucks, you get what feels almost like a game prototype, and after who-knows-how-much-more in subscription fees you get the rest of the actual game. I would suggest staying away from this for at least several months. Not only to wait for them to make the game more complete, but to see how frequently they drop updates now that subscribers are paying for it. Furthermore, their servers are extremely unstable right now so you can barely even get online Expand
  12. JohnS.
    Nov 2, 2007
    5
    Very poor quality control (buggy) for a major title from well-known developers. Boring, pointless quests. Many levels/locations look alike - randomization is not a substitute for good level design. Subscriptions still not working three days after launch, but this is no great loss since my interest in subscribing has dropped to nil.
  13. DarrenZ.
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    Great core gameplay but flawed execution is probably the best description of Hellgate: London at the moment. The release day Patch 0 helped out by improving stability and performance and fixing several bugs, but several major problems remained (including one which could make it impossible to continue the main quest) forcing Flagship to push out a second patch a few days later. And even Great core gameplay but flawed execution is probably the best description of Hellgate: London at the moment. The release day Patch 0 helped out by improving stability and performance and fixing several bugs, but several major problems remained (including one which could make it impossible to continue the main quest) forcing Flagship to push out a second patch a few days later. And even then there's still a general feeling that this game is very much a work in progress and probably will be for some time. The first clue that the release was rushed is the fact that the manual that comes in the box is outdated and inaccurate as there were countless changes made to the game between the gold announcement and the actual release (and don't bother with the official strategy guide, either, as it's positively obsolete). There is also vital information missing from the manual such as an explanation of the mini-game (the three icons you see in the lower-right of screenshots) and what the big, obvious rating number of weapons actually means (it's not damage output, as one would naturally assume). Your best best is to ditch the manual and find yourself an up-to-date and comprehensive online guide. But having said all that, I actually do enjoy the game. Despite the innumerable problems, I find myself drawn back time and time again, and I can easily blow several hours at a stretch without really noticing the time going by. If you're on the fence, take a look at the demo to see if the core gameplay hooks you (bearing in the mind that the demo at the time of this writing is actually a stripped down version of the beta and doesn't necessarily represent the game's current state). If it does then you'll probably enjoy the full game. Here's hoping Flagship is able to perfect this diamond in the rough. In six-months we could have a bona-fide classic, but now, not so much. Expand
  14. WalkerP.
    Nov 5, 2007
    6
    In all honesty, even as a Diablo 2 fan, there is nothing this game is other than average - and possibly not even that. It is ultra-repetitive, the random level designs are a joke, the classes are terribly unbalanced (some allowing you to go through the game without getting hit), the graphics feel unpolished and weak considering it's the year 2007, and the story? What story? There is In all honesty, even as a Diablo 2 fan, there is nothing this game is other than average - and possibly not even that. It is ultra-repetitive, the random level designs are a joke, the classes are terribly unbalanced (some allowing you to go through the game without getting hit), the graphics feel unpolished and weak considering it's the year 2007, and the story? What story? There is none. $10 a month is a complete sham. I don't understand why people keep comparing this game to WoW or any other MMORPG - it's not that type of game. It's a poor-man's Diablo 2 (which was released many years ago) and a mix of FPS, RPG, Hack N' Slash which fails to capture any of the genres it mixes well. The only reason I say it's not a 5 is because some Diablo 2 dreamers may like this game. I don't. Expand
  15. KintarK.
    Nov 5, 2007
    7
    A solid Diablo-esque action game. It doesn't break any new ground, but it refines all the core aspects that made Diablo and Diablo 2 such addictive, mindless fun. If you find click-and-kill action RPGs boring, this game is /not/ for you. If you still reinstall Diablo 2 occasionally because you want to massacre demons and be amused by pop-culture references and tongue-in-cheek humor A solid Diablo-esque action game. It doesn't break any new ground, but it refines all the core aspects that made Diablo and Diablo 2 such addictive, mindless fun. If you find click-and-kill action RPGs boring, this game is /not/ for you. If you still reinstall Diablo 2 occasionally because you want to massacre demons and be amused by pop-culture references and tongue-in-cheek humor in the quests, you can't miss with Hellgate. Expand
  16. JohnStuart
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    After 5 hours of play, the game has left my hard drive; at least for a few months. After, hopefully, numerous graphical and technical bugs are fixed (that consistently destroy the atmosphere of the game), I may once again give it a try. I was really looking forward to this game to recapture the Diablo experience, but it has not and it has fallen victim to its unattained self-promotingAfter 5 hours of play, the game has left my hard drive; at least for a few months. After, hopefully, numerous graphical and technical bugs are fixed (that consistently destroy the atmosphere of the game), I may once again give it a try. I was really looking forward to this game to recapture the Diablo experience, but it has not and it has fallen victim to its unattained self-promoting hype. Even if fixed, the game at it's core will be only a decent dungeon crawler, and not the classic Diablo-like RPG that was promised. The developers may have been from Blizzard at one time, but they forgot that Blizzard's strength has always been strong game play and uncompromising quality control. Expand
  17. ChrisB
    Dec 10, 2007
    6
    6 because the game is fun, but how can this be an mmo when its the most liner game i have ever player? when your out in the london world your blocked by barricades cars trucks there is only one path in the game. its to bad.. i cant believe people payed for it.
  18. ChrisR.
    Oct 22, 2007
    5
    I've only played the demo (obviously), so I won't give too harsh a score. Unfortunately, the gameplay is rather mediocre.
    While I like the facade of different play-styles between the classes (hack and slash, FPS, RPG) it's all really the same when you zoom out and think about it, for better or for worse. I think the most glaring problem was the graphics.
    Now,
    I've only played the demo (obviously), so I won't give too harsh a score. Unfortunately, the gameplay is rather mediocre.
    While I like the facade of different play-styles between the classes (hack and slash, FPS, RPG) it's all really the same when you zoom out and think about it, for better or for worse. I think the most glaring problem was the graphics.
    Now, graphics don't make the game, but the presentation I witnessed was rather sad. My hardware can handle Doom 3 at maximum settings with ease, but for some reason this game limited my settings to "medium" (note to designers: limiting player choice on how they can adjust their settings is generally a bad idea, even if you think it's for their own good).
    "Medium" doesn't sound too bad, but even with the maximum settings in this range, the environmental textures were blurry and indistinguishable. The character textures fared slightly better, but more so in the case of the Marksman- the Blademaster was an ugly mess. On that note, the customization features felt somewhat lacking. Some freedom in dress would be appreciated, but I think its the cartoonish faces that really disappoint (although I think it's interesting that they included a Jude Law lookalike). There's fun to be had, but I wouldn't expect graphical entertainment if your system is from the low-to-medium-high range (seriously, I was startled by the limitations).

    The graphics and design seem too dull and are of very poor quality; the nearly 3-year-old Guild Wars far outshines this games in terms of graphics. I have a burning feeling that it's the unnecessary graphics limitation that really hammers the nail into the graphical coffin.

    Ultimately, it would seem that the looks of the game seemed to be one of the major selling points. If this demo is truly an indication of how it looks and plays, than I'd expect nothing but lower-end mediocrity with the full version.
    Expand
  19. JeffA.
    Dec 4, 2007
    6
    Pretty overrated, but a bit of fun. Cheesy dialogue and story. Very repetetive layouts, cheesy weapon aiming. Nothing special.
  20. BradleyG.
    Dec 4, 2007
    5
    Ok first off I'm not saying its a bad game, I am saying its a flawed game. For a game that it meant almost specifically for an online gaming experience, how come all of my interactions with people is followed swiftly by a giant wod of lag? I am a massive fan of the old Diablo series and to have the game that is supposedly the bastard child of the series not even work well online is Ok first off I'm not saying its a bad game, I am saying its a flawed game. For a game that it meant almost specifically for an online gaming experience, how come all of my interactions with people is followed swiftly by a giant wod of lag? I am a massive fan of the old Diablo series and to have the game that is supposedly the bastard child of the series not even work well online is just plain cruel. If they fixed the problem with the servers I might just consider playing, hell I might even subscribe. Expand
  21. MikeEgan
    Dec 5, 2007
    5
    Overall, insanely disappointing. The game is not stable, I would crash daily..more so AFTER the game had been patched.

    After completing normal, the curve into nightmare mode is insane, unreasonably hard, the mobs are over 8 levels higher than you, so you must go back into normal mode and grind 5+ levels to play even in nightmare. The game has some fun element, but overall it becomes
    Overall, insanely disappointing. The game is not stable, I would crash daily..more so AFTER the game had been patched.

    After completing normal, the curve into nightmare mode is insane, unreasonably hard, the mobs are over 8 levels higher than you, so you must go back into normal mode and grind 5+ levels to play even in nightmare.

    The game has some fun element, but overall it becomes repetitive and boring. I killed about a week with this game, and haven't run it in over a month, if not more.
    It has potential for sure, but I feel like the initial suckage of the game has condemned them and they may not even make it to the point where the came can live up to what it could be.

    I am not sure if Flagship is to blame for poor development, or EA is to blame for putting pressure to release an incomplete game, so, I am going to blame both. This game did not live up to the hype what-so-ever. If you are looking to throw away 50 dollars, go buy it, have fun for a couple days then quit due to frustration, go for it, though, if you are looking for something to play for a long period of time, this is not it.
    Expand
  22. JohnD.
    Oct 29, 2007
    6
    Its a great game, however forcing people to subscribe is not in the best interest of the consumer. Content that is already on the CD should be made available to all, not chop half of the options to have people subscribe.
  23. BrianY.
    Oct 29, 2007
    6
    This game does not come close to living up to expectations, now to be fair I am basing my judgement off of the demo. The graphics are nothing revolutionary, and yes I have the necessary rig to run it. In comparison, Crysis, Hellgate does not even come close. The missions get boring really fast, and the weapon effects are uninspiring. I guess they have a big dynasty to live up to, and This game does not come close to living up to expectations, now to be fair I am basing my judgement off of the demo. The graphics are nothing revolutionary, and yes I have the necessary rig to run it. In comparison, Crysis, Hellgate does not even come close. The missions get boring really fast, and the weapon effects are uninspiring. I guess they have a big dynasty to live up to, and maybe oversold themselves especially with the first rate preview movie released a while back. Expand
  24. [Anonymous]
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    Poor graphics, bugs that carried over from the beta, horrible memory leaks, and boring, derivative quests and gameplay doom this one to the mire of average at best games.
  25. JustinY.
    Oct 31, 2007
    6
    Terrible game coding, terrible graphics engine. Addictive gameplay, it's Diablo 2 in the third dimension. Four years in development, and they come out with absolute unpolished rubbish. Subscription fee is a joke and a scam. Be warned, unless you are a hardcore Diablo 2 fan and someone who has tunnel vision when it comes to selecting games, this is not worth 50 dollars or any Terrible game coding, terrible graphics engine. Addictive gameplay, it's Diablo 2 in the third dimension. Four years in development, and they come out with absolute unpolished rubbish. Subscription fee is a joke and a scam. Be warned, unless you are a hardcore Diablo 2 fan and someone who has tunnel vision when it comes to selecting games, this is not worth 50 dollars or any subscription fee. Expand
  26. AndrewBallinger
    Oct 30, 2007
    5
    Based on the demo alone, I have a single piece of advice to anybody considering getting this game.
    Don't.

    Go load up your old copy of diablo 2 / Buy a new copy of diablo 2.

    Diablo 2 is a more polished and action packed game that already comes packed with a large community and lots of features. The game play is the same, only the world is much richer.
  27. TeodorIkonomov
    Nov 1, 2007
    7
    The Best Game Ever
  28. CharlesR.
    Nov 14, 2007
    7
    I have mixed feelings about this game. The story isnt very compelling, yet some of the dialogue is so hilarious - it makes me want to find out what is going to be said next. The gameplay can be horribly dull if you play through Hellgate slowly and carefully. However, the game is alot more fun if you try and kill as many enemies at once as possible - or try to level up as fast as you can. I have mixed feelings about this game. The story isnt very compelling, yet some of the dialogue is so hilarious - it makes me want to find out what is going to be said next. The gameplay can be horribly dull if you play through Hellgate slowly and carefully. However, the game is alot more fun if you try and kill as many enemies at once as possible - or try to level up as fast as you can. Only with that in mind does the game really turn into something entertaining. Unfortunately, there is no implied speed at which you should move through the game, so more careful people may find it incredibly boring. I've had a fun time with it, but i've made a "personal challenge" to beat it as fast as i can. Expand
  29. ArnoldS.
    Nov 17, 2007
    5
    The game is almost, but not quite, fun. No amount of bug fixing/patching is gonna change the fact that: a) the skills are uninteresting compared to D2/WoW b) not enough item variety c) the maps are all too similar d) the combat is monotonous e) leveling is tedious grinding f) almost no replayabiity This game has no future. Fail. Next.
  30. JoshuaB.
    Nov 2, 2007
    7
    This game feels like it was rushed out the door but there is still a lot of fun to be had, who doesn't like killing demons by the thousands and collecting tons of gear?
  31. NiklasJ.
    Nov 2, 2007
    6
    Is a very good game on paper, but unforunately, doesn't work well in practice. The gameplay is mediocare but very stiff and easily becomes boring in the long run. The graphics & sounds are acceptable but could be quite much better. The animations however, are terrible. Overall it's not a very good game unless you have a lot friends to party up with.
  32. LewisW.
    Nov 20, 2007
    7
    This game is a breath of fresh air on the stale RPG front. It replases boring old Point-Click-Kill Combat with an FPS style fighting system. The action is quite fast and enemies generally stay at your level, taking the focus away from level grinding and onto fun. However alot of work needs to be done, for example nearly all enemys are melee and have only average speed but a high attack, This game is a breath of fresh air on the stale RPG front. It replases boring old Point-Click-Kill Combat with an FPS style fighting system. The action is quite fast and enemies generally stay at your level, taking the focus away from level grinding and onto fun. However alot of work needs to be done, for example nearly all enemys are melee and have only average speed but a high attack, this means that ranged class's can run backwards and fire constantly and never be hit, whereas melee classes will sustain huge amounts of damage made worse by the fact you cannot heal without consumables, early on. Another flawed mechanic is special abilities, your basic attack is generally so powerfull you never need to use them, you sometimes choose an abilite to find out it is useless and that the game will not let you swap that abilitie back for another. Some ablities are good but are ruined by the dodgy physics engine in the game (the hand grenade attack will often bounce of the ground into the air and explode harmlessly 5 metres up). Quests also fail to break away from the RPG mold, almost all side quests are "Go to and kill of , return, and then repeat. Expand
  33. MC
    Nov 3, 2007
    7
    I haven't played this game yet, but, from what I've heard I have to contradict the person who said that this will be the best thing to hold us over until Diablo 3 - no, that would be called "Titan Quest" - you should check it out.
  34. MarcoH.
    Nov 3, 2007
    6
    A big disappointment after all those gorgeous screenshots. Art won't save ordinary graphics. There are too much recycled sets. Combats are easy and nothing special. Expensive upgrades are almost a fraud. There are also unexpected bugs and the interface is poorly implemented. Doesn't deserve all those fishy biased "10" rating :(
  35. RatherNot
    Nov 4, 2007
    6
    I was in the late part of the beta, the "stress test" portion really. I played it to about level 10 in the final few days, and was surprised how often it would crash. While I believe that the bugs will be squashed in the early stages of the game's release, it was definitely not ready for release, and is a testament to why street dates should remain fluid. I played as a gun-laden I was in the late part of the beta, the "stress test" portion really. I played it to about level 10 in the final few days, and was surprised how often it would crash. While I believe that the bugs will be squashed in the early stages of the game's release, it was definitely not ready for release, and is a testament to why street dates should remain fluid. I played as a gun-laden engineer, and as an FPS, it was disgustingly easy, with no AI other than run in a straight line and attack, reminiscent of the original Doom. Playing with others in the party ended up with more monsters to kill, but that just involved more running backwards while shooting. The weapon customization was fun, but besides being a one-sided paper-rock-scissors of what kills them faster there wasn't much reason to do it, other than to burn money and components. Perhaps at higher difficulties they make it harder to run backwards and shoot, and I hope so because the ambiance of this game make the single-player sound good. Expand
  36. BenF.
    Nov 5, 2007
    6
    A solid start which quickly dissipates as the game progresses. I was completely stoked after playing a limited amount of the beta and the demo extensively; the retail version borders on greatness in so many ways and yet simultaneously fails to achieve any of them. Yes, it borrows many great things from Diablo. The flip side to that is that it also borrows many of the worst aspects of A solid start which quickly dissipates as the game progresses. I was completely stoked after playing a limited amount of the beta and the demo extensively; the retail version borders on greatness in so many ways and yet simultaneously fails to achieve any of them. Yes, it borrows many great things from Diablo. The flip side to that is that it also borrows many of the worst aspects of Diablo. The entire game interface from start-up UI to in-game player UI is clunky. For instance, lack of a quick log-in option. Start-up user interface doesn't save player account information upon shutting down the game; you will have to manually enter your account and password every time you connect a multiplayer game. Not so bad except that the interface is slow and unresponsive. Sometimes I have to hit 'enter' two or three times after entering my account information to initialize the actual account log-in! Shop interfaces are slow as well. As with Diablo any piece of equipment with special properties is 'unidentified' - you have to purchase an analyzer to analyze its true properties. BORING. Remember how awesome it was in Diablo 2 that Deckard Cain would identify everything in your inventory at once for free? Hellgate isn't even close to that awesome because you have to sit through analyzing every single unidentified item one-by-one. This game has the worst environment clipping I've ever seen. Ever. Expect often to get stuck inbetween environment objects with to way to move or jump out and have to restart the game. Think it'd be cool to jump up between that pipe and the mound of dirt it's embedded in to flank the enemy? Better think again. You can and will get stuck and pounded on. Server code is still a bit wobbly. Expect this to result in wacky gameplay bugs. Enemies will jump at you and never finish their jump animation; instead they'll return to their original position before the jump if you didn't kill them mid-air. Every now and then an enemy character model won't load, even though they'll still be wailing on you...invisibly. Certain types of attacks will shoot through walls. And by walls I mean around the corners of buildings from a million yards away. Graphics are passable on my 8600gt in dx9. It's hard to expect much from a game whose color palette consists of three shades: dark, darker, and darkest. From what I have heard many people seem to have an irrationally high expectation of the game's graphic capabilities. The gameplay itself is half/half. Most class skill trees are next to useless; expect character development focus to be primarily on equipment and not skills. On one hand this is good because like Diablo 2 skill points are permanently spent and not recoverable. On the other hand it strips the game of virtually all gameplay depth by reducing the strength of most classes to their equipment. This just scratches the surface. Pros: + Looks cooler than Diablo 2 + Sounds cooler than Diablo 2 + AWESOME character models + ph4t l3wt + Varied character classes + Varied and unique firearms models + Solid controls + Multiplayer support + Automatic updates Cons: - Poor interfaces - period - HORRIBLE clipping - Bugs - Linear questing system. If you play MUDs then you'll know how boring this game's quests are. - Subscription model that shuts you out of cooler content if you don't pay another $10USD/mth so that Flagship can basically fix all the bugs and add all the content they should have before the retail release. This is becoming standard practice because of development costs and it is a horrible practice regardless. - Game manual is lacking in content - another disturbing trend. Final thoughts: I'm not going to lie. It's an addicting game plagued by poor design on so many levels. I love playing it, even though it can frustrate me to no end. That's just not the mark of a good game. If you want to play a game like Diablo 2 that doesn't have quite the visceral fun value but improves on the game design almost across the board, play Titan Quest. Expand
  37. CaseyC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    5
    Game has some entertainment value, but is marred by bugs like memory leaks and items disappearing. These are not minor issues, especially considering they were known bugs from the beta, not new things that just popped up when the game went live. When the game works it is fairly entertaining, but nothing really special. Kind of like a first person shooter with unlimited ammo, no rag doll Game has some entertainment value, but is marred by bugs like memory leaks and items disappearing. These are not minor issues, especially considering they were known bugs from the beta, not new things that just popped up when the game went live. When the game works it is fairly entertaining, but nothing really special. Kind of like a first person shooter with unlimited ammo, no rag doll physics, no real player based aiming. Collecting loot and leveling is always fun, but there are other games that do this much better. I certainly could not imagine paying for the subscription. My advice is to wait for the game to be patched up and then check it out if you are dead set on wanting it. Expand
  38. MikeT.
    Nov 8, 2007
    5
    I looked forward to this game for a looooong time but was disappointed by the final product. Although it has its plusses, such as cool items and an interesting premise, it is marred by obvious and severe deficiencies. 1) crappy and monotonous tile sets 2) uninteresting skills 3) unengaging and sometimes highfalutin plot line. Everything sounds like it came from a really bad fantasy I looked forward to this game for a looooong time but was disappointed by the final product. Although it has its plusses, such as cool items and an interesting premise, it is marred by obvious and severe deficiencies. 1) crappy and monotonous tile sets 2) uninteresting skills 3) unengaging and sometimes highfalutin plot line. Everything sounds like it came from a really bad fantasy novel... Over philosophical to the point of extreme irritation 4) terrible resource hog. Causes major lag except in the most high end systems, and maybe even then 5) BUGS BUGS BUGS. Expand
  39. Darkspore
    Dec 10, 2007
    7
    It is not genre-defining, it is not revolutionary, and it sure as hell is not state-of-the-art. Hellgate London is a mix of elements that may not be for everyone, but it also offers something to a mix of people. Best way to play this is to have one or two friends playing together in cooperative mode. Yes, the gameplay can get a just a tad repetitive, the graphics a bit boring and even It is not genre-defining, it is not revolutionary, and it sure as hell is not state-of-the-art. Hellgate London is a mix of elements that may not be for everyone, but it also offers something to a mix of people. Best way to play this is to have one or two friends playing together in cooperative mode. Yes, the gameplay can get a just a tad repetitive, the graphics a bit boring and even cheesy, but I find myself drawn to the game. The amount of random loot that drops and the ability to mod your weapons are the main reasons why people play. The mini-games add a little extra flavor to the game, but other than that, the game makes no pretence about what it is - a mindless hack-and-slash dungeon bash. I play this game on the SEA server, and the patches are a lot slower in being implemented over here. But the patches are coming (in less than 12 hours we should be at patch 0.6, if nothing goes wrong). For players who are looking at spending 1-2 hours of spare time once in a while to play, I would recommend this game. Best feature of the game - no subscription fees (unless you really want to pay). Expand
  40. DravenS.
    Oct 31, 2007
    5
    Not that great of a game. I was in the Beta. The fixes they said would be coming never came in the retail. They left out some of the things in the game during beta that made it stand out. I cancelled my pre-order because of the lack of content for subscribers and the lack of general good game items for non-subscribers.
  41. jason
    Oct 24, 2008
    5
    The idea - great, the execution - shit; the story - noexistent - the world and the people - bodies and most importantly repetitive. I loved the customization, the playability and the functionality of the characters. However, no story to speak of and crap overall world immersion makes this game a grind. I hope they make a 2nd and put the effort into the details of the world and the story.The idea - great, the execution - shit; the story - noexistent - the world and the people - bodies and most importantly repetitive. I loved the customization, the playability and the functionality of the characters. However, no story to speak of and crap overall world immersion makes this game a grind. I hope they make a 2nd and put the effort into the details of the world and the story. It could have been great. Expand
  42. Nov 7, 2014
    7
    It should have been so much better! All the components in this game are solid however the game never comes together to create an experience as good as Diablo 2 or similar. There is still great potential in this game and it is still fun to play as a curiosity peice.
  43. Jan 31, 2015
    5
    Oyun çok iyi RPG ögeleri taşımasına rağmen görevlerdeki ve senaryodaki basitlik nedeni ile 5 puan veriyorum. Özellikle single-player modunda tek başınıza gezip yaratık kesiyorsunuz başka birşey beklemeyin.
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. PC Gamer
    89
    It doesn't redefine the action RPG, but in a genre laden with derivative games, Hellgate is a refreshing concoction that's likely to have enduring appeal. [Dec 2007, p.48]
  2. 60
    You might get sucked into the online world of competing slayers and level grinding for a while, but the tedium will kill you far quicker than any member of Hell's vast.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    84
    Hellgate: London takes the elements that made the Diablo series classic, and puts them in new, invigorating setting of demonic threat, dark magic and high technology. The fresh world of Hellgate: London is its greatest asset, but sadly the game fails in capitalizing it properly, with quite shoddy plot and generic missions outside the main story. Nevertheless, Hellgate: London is a good action RPG with plenty to enjoy. How the multiplayer system works when the game hits stores will ultimately determine the staying power of the game. [Nov 2007]