Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    Hero Academy on PC might not be totally necessary, but it remains a great bit of asynchronous warfare. What it boils down to is the best of strategy gaming- a title that's light and welcoming for players who want a quick tactical fix, and also an involved, sometimes hellishly meticulous war of wits and attrition.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    85
    Might, magic, and machine guns make Hero Academy a real treat.
  3. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun title with some good ideas that fit to a casual mindset but also allow more serious gamers to enjoy as well. My main problem has to do with waiting for moves, and the fact that I can't play against bots while waiting for turns to finish.
  4. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun little game that gives a new dimension to games like chess. There is a good balance between the characters and the different abilities give you lots of room for various strategies. Although it's nice to see a Steam version of Hero Academy, it's still a game that works best on a mobile platform.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    63
    A lightweight distraction, but adding a competitive ladder or some more singleplayer content would've been welcome.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 7 out of 14
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    I am not having any fun with the game at all, There is no option on the game for full screen. the game play is slow for turns and I had to wait for days for someone to take their turn. Poorly made game by all means. Starting Characters are lame Team Fortress. Just a way to get you to buy the extra character models at $3.99 is off the wall crazy. This game sucks and should be free, if you are looking to spend money and days maybe weeks on one game and have the person your in a challenge use the undo button for that long your stressing yourself out with this game play. TOTAL GARBAGE! Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    I love this game, its great that you are now able to play against your IOS friends through STEAM. It plays just as well as the IOS version as I've had no hiccups on my machine. Its still fun and entertaining. No complaints here..the interface could use a small update, noone wants to see a list of all the finished games. Looks like they added it just to fill in real estate. Full Review »
  3. Apr 28, 2013
    9
    this games pretty fun and addictive. whenever i want to goof off for 5 minutes i just fire it up; challenges are fun if it isn't your turn, and you can always find a random opponent. the only gripe i have is the lack of full screen mode, and my netbook can't play it because of the lower resolution. plus i'm not forced to buy the other tribes b/c all the tribes are pretty well balanced. Full Review »