Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Blending classic tactics gaming with the fast-paced action of modern casual titles, Hero Academy delivers tense one-on-one battles with quick bursts of gameplay. The balance of power can shift in a single turn, and victory requires a carefully crafted strategy. Deploy different characterBlending classic tactics gaming with the fast-paced action of modern casual titles, Hero Academy delivers tense one-on-one battles with quick bursts of gameplay. The balance of power can shift in a single turn, and victory requires a carefully crafted strategy. Deploy different character classes, defend your turf with countermeasures, and with the placement of a few special items, you’ll conquer your opponent. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 16, 2012
    90
    Hero Academy on PC might not be totally necessary, but it remains a great bit of asynchronous warfare. What it boils down to is the best of strategy gaming- a title that's light and welcoming for players who want a quick tactical fix, and also an involved, sometimes hellishly meticulous war of wits and attrition.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    85
    Might, magic, and machine guns make Hero Academy a real treat.
  3. Sep 5, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun little game that gives a new dimension to games like chess. There is a good balance between the characters and the different abilities give you lots of room for various strategies. Although it's nice to see a Steam version of Hero Academy, it's still a game that works best on a mobile platform.
  4. Sep 6, 2012
    70
    Hero Academy is a fun title with some good ideas that fit to a casual mindset but also allow more serious gamers to enjoy as well. My main problem has to do with waiting for moves, and the fact that I can't play against bots while waiting for turns to finish.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    63
    A lightweight distraction, but adding a competitive ladder or some more singleplayer content would've been welcome.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 16
  2. Negative: 9 out of 16
  1. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I love this game. The game play is great, everything about it is really great. Strongly recommend it to everyone. A lot of people areI love this game. The game play is great, everything about it is really great. Strongly recommend it to everyone. A lot of people are complaining about the long waits but i dont really see it as much of a problem if you take into account most other app style games. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    This is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title whichThis is a cross between starcraft and scrabble. Its the best version of a modern day chess I've ever seen. I tried every other title which claimed to be the "ultimate turned based strategy game"and probably gave up midway through 2013 accepting this as the best since I have so many of my friends loving this game too. Its very well balanced with its array of 6 teams: the teams are very diverse with a unique theme that really distinguishes itself, each with beautifully animated powers and abilities yet, the winning ratio for the teams is the same. If you some competitive friends who like turn based strategy, it does not get better than this. Introduced this game to about 20 of my friends throughout 2012 and 2013, and we've all been playing ever since. Challenge me if your interested in learning the ropes: sevenstyx. Prevents me from getting any work done for almost two and a half years lol come to think of it this game is awful. Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    8
    I love this game, its great that you are now able to play against your IOS friends through STEAM. It plays just as well as the IOS version asI love this game, its great that you are now able to play against your IOS friends through STEAM. It plays just as well as the IOS version as I've had no hiccups on my machine. Its still fun and entertaining. No complaints here..the interface could use a small update, noone wants to see a list of all the finished games. Looks like they added it just to fill in real estate. Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2015
    4
    It's a free iOS game that they want you to pay $5 for on PC. It's a pretty scummy business practice that I can't say I'm a fan of. For the 5$It's a free iOS game that they want you to pay $5 for on PC. It's a pretty scummy business practice that I can't say I'm a fan of. For the 5$ you get the game, one basic team, and the PC exclusive TF2 team. They also are selling 4 other teams for 4-5 dollars each - the same price as the game. The gameplay is solid - it's turn based strategy where you move your individual units across a board in the attempt to either kill all enemy units or destroy their crystals. It's kinda fun but playing it ends up being a total chore. The servers for the game are the most unstable servers I've ever come across in a game. They are constantly crashing and you may find yourself unable to play for weeks at a time. After being burned so long by losing connection and thus losing progress of your games, I can only rate this game so high. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2013
    0
    There goes $5 and 1 hour of my time that I will never get back. I should have taken the time to read more reviews but figured I'd trust theThere goes $5 and 1 hour of my time that I will never get back. I should have taken the time to read more reviews but figured I'd trust the decent metascore of 75. I see people giving this 8-10 points and that could only mean a few things: you are high off your ass and really bad at math; you just crawled out of a cave where you have been living for the past 20 years; or you are high off your ass from smoking guano in the cave where you have been living for the past 20 years. Expand
  6. Sep 24, 2012
    0
    I would give it a 10/10, but having to wait a month for the opponent to make a god damn move just kills any fun i could have here. OtherwiseI would give it a 10/10, but having to wait a month for the opponent to make a god damn move just kills any fun i could have here. Otherwise its great. Collapse
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    0
    I am not having any fun with the game at all, There is no option on the game for full screen. the game play is slow for turns and I had toI am not having any fun with the game at all, There is no option on the game for full screen. the game play is slow for turns and I had to wait for days for someone to take their turn. Poorly made game by all means. Starting Characters are lame Team Fortress. Just a way to get you to buy the extra character models at $3.99 is off the wall crazy. This game sucks and should be free, if you are looking to spend money and days maybe weeks on one game and have the person your in a challenge use the undo button for that long your stressing yourself out with this game play. TOTAL GARBAGE! Expand

See all 16 User Reviews

Trailers