• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Heroes of Might and Magic IV Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Lead multiple hero-characters into battle to fight alongside troops for an intense combat experience. Encounter all-new heroes and over 60 creatures in 6 massive campaigns and 24 scenarios.
    With an all-new game engine, lifelike isometric view, breathtaking graphics and richly detailed
    landscapes, the adventure map comes alive! With 48 Hero Classes and all-new skill and magic systems, summon all your strategic insight, tactical cunning and leadership abilities to ascend to the throne of this perilous new world! [3DO] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. HOMM4 will infect you with what I like to call the "Turn Based Sickness." Symptoms include loss of temporal perception and inability to perform other functions (including bodily) until "just one more turn" has been completed.
  2. HMM4 present a great combination of the old addictive gameplay, a new spell, combat and hero system and perfectly designed 2D isometric (the so-called 2½D) graphics, inspiring music and magical atmosphere which kept me glued to the screen constantly for thirty hours until I finished the first of the ten campaigns.
  3. 90
    If you liked the first three games in the series, you’re going to love Heroes of Might and Magic IV.
  4. It took 3 years but it was worth the wait.
  5. 84
    It plays almost like a new game, but with soothing familiarity that fans of the series will no doubt appreciate.
  6. The game is chock full of innovations, yet retains the addictive play of its predecessors.
  7. The new combat system is an almost unmitigated disaster. [July 2002, p.73]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 8 out of 25
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    I understand those who say this game isn't a good HoMM (too much changes, I guess), although I disagree this opinion, but you cannot refuse Heroes IV is a wonderful game. The gameplay is addictive, the graphics are beautiful and the soundtrack is gorgeous. HoMM IV probably is the game I have played for most time. And this means hundreds of hours thinking "just one turn more". For me, it has a lovely world such as Heroes II and a gameplay improved over the Heroes III standard with many changes. Some wrong, yes, but most are positive. In a nutshell, Heroes IV is one of the best games I have had the joy of playing, I really love it, this game will suck you in the wonderful world of Axeoth, full of stories and mysteries. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    Very good single game and great multiplayer (hot seats and on-line) I really like this game because this is m favorite Heroes game. Amazing game play, good graphics, original and differend maps and no bad campaign. Music and sounds in game is very good, climate is great. Heroes of Might and Magic IV isn't perfect game but is really very good tour strategy. 9.1/10 Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Definately the best game in the series. Heroes 4 brings you the opportunity to take your hero into the battle, for good this time, in a wonderful 3D atmosphere, with amazing music and beautiful maps. Its colour and sceneries remind me of old fantasy tales and medieval movies, like a Heroes game should. The combat system is almost flawless, the map editor gives you a wide array of scripting, the only thing that i would say it is missing, is the possibility to edit certain buildings. The choices you have to make regarding the creatures in towns is also a great aspect, making each town a powerful asset in your scenario/campaign. The lack of a random map generator is probably the only thing that drags this game down a little, but still, there are plenty of those created by users for download. Expand
  4. Jun 3, 2011
    8
    I really dont get why people say its the worst game in the series. Personally i think its almost as good as HoMM 2 or 3. Guess its that people didnt like all the new concepts like moving units without a Hero, and having Hero fighting in combat. I think it worked good, people just hate changes. Collapse
  5. Sep 10, 2011
    7
    It has some very cool features, but it lacks in good combat. Luckily, to make it up, there are completely different strategies, and you need to adapt to them. Worth it if you are looking for something different from HoMM3. Expand
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    7
    This game is a solid title, not the best but one that can be played with joy. I would say the most detracting thing is chopping animations and generally boxy and bland strategic map. On the other side, interface, music and drawn portraits are top-notch. Gameplay improvements are in my opinion, real improvements. It feels like Master of Magic in some aspects. All in all, a solid 7/10 because it's a mixed bag, but enjoyable. Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2013
    4
    I, myself, am a big fan of well thought through turn-based strategy games. When I started to play this game, most of my friend were saying "oh, Heroes 3 is so much better". However, I thought that it would be wise to try the game before saying that it is not worth any of my time. So I did. The first feeling was that the gameplay was OK. Nothing extremely bad for a 2002 game. The way the game plays was certainly different from what I was used to in Heroes 3, but it did not make it feel worse in that case. It was just different with some new interesting ideas that fit the game quite well. The thing is, it feels sort of cheap, the graphics are just very edgy and does not form the harmony you would expect. After playing Heroes IV I turned back to Heroes III to compare. And from the moment I, once again, saw the undeniable truth: the older version is so much better and so much smoother, it just feels a lot more organic and enjoyable. The feeling that I did not really feel playing Heroes IV was the joy of gaming, it just did not feel right. The game does not feel polished or finished, it just forms some sort of feeling that it is hostile to the player. It even lost that sporty feeling of competitive gaming, which is due to removal of a normal grid in the combat. To sum up, I will not play it again, but if you want a taste of history, it would be a game to try. Don't worry, you probably won't hook up. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews