Hitman 2: Silent Assassin PC

Hitman 2: Silent Assassin Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As a retired assassin, forced back into action by treason, pick up contracts in exotic locations around the globe: Sicily, St. Petersburg, Japan, Malaysia, and India. Operate in a non-linear world where the outcome of your actions and proficiency as a hitman are measured on a balance betweenAs a retired assassin, forced back into action by treason, pick up contracts in exotic locations around the globe: Sicily, St. Petersburg, Japan, Malaysia, and India. Operate in a non-linear world where the outcome of your actions and proficiency as a hitman are measured on a balance between stealth and aggression. Stalk and eliminate your targets up close and personal, in either 1st or 3rd person perspectives. Execute your assignments with a diverse arsenal of equipment, from armor-piercing sniper rifles and explosives to chloroform and poison darts. Acquire and carry weapons and tools from mission to mission through an enhanced inventory and save-game system. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. More freedom, more options, and the same intense gameplay of the original. The sequel is much more forgiving on gamers than its predecessor, but the gameplay still remains as addicting as ever.
  2. 90
    If stealthy, strategic action intrigues you, Hitman 2 is a blast.
  3. Computer Gaming World
    90
    IO Interactive has fixed almost every flaw for Hitman 2; the result is an almost perfect blend of action and stealth. [Jan 2003, p113]
  4. PC Gamer
    86
    The most impressive aspect of the game is the engine itself. [Holiday 2002, p.86]
  5. Challenging, cerebral, and maddening. Hitman 2 keeps you coming back but there just aren't enough saves in the game. [PC Format]
  6. A game that can either be very good or suck abysmally, depending on how you chose to play it.
  7. So despite being an excellent sequel to a solid first installment, I believe Silent Assassin to be a better game than "Codename 47," but I think many fans will always love the first game best, as I do.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 6 out of 41
  1. AshwinP.
    Feb 20, 2008
    10
    Nice game plot and as hitman travels around the world, the game becomes faster and thrill allover...good story.
  2. Z.S.
    Nov 10, 2002
    10
    Raju is a stupid f.ck.
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Hitman 2 is arguably the best stealth game that has ever released, forget the big titles such as MGS or anything like that. I'm not going toHitman 2 is arguably the best stealth game that has ever released, forget the big titles such as MGS or anything like that. I'm not going to say much about the graphics as they are dated now. Although, they were remarkable when this game first released. I'll add that the foliage physics are now absent from this iteration that were previously found in Hitman: Codename 47. I also like how ballistics work in the game, it's unique. The level design, for it's time, is phenomenal. Such is the case with the storyline. It kept me immersed throughout my playthrough. The environments are enormous this time. And they're filled with NPCs, that may be civilians or enemies, so you won't get bored just wandering around.

    The animations, however, are a bit clunky. But, again, taking into account its release date, it seems fair. Besides, it's nothing that would keep you from stop playing. I really, really loved sniping in the game. Some may say that the game is "hard". But that's just casuals whining how they can't move the mouse properly. The game's difficulty is realistic when played at expert, the AI becomes even more clever. At professional difficulty the game becomes frustratingly hard, you'd have to be a pro to achieve a silent assassin rating in that! Also the **** that say the voice acting is bad don't know what voice acting really is. David Bateson's voice is **** incredible, even more than Chris Formage's from GTA SA.
    Overall the game is a must-buy for all you stealth lovers.
    Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    I find it difficult to review this game. When I started playing it I got caught from the very beginning by the attention to details on almostI find it difficult to review this game. When I started playing it I got caught from the very beginning by the attention to details on almost everything. Some settings (mostly in Russia and Japan) are imprinted in my mind as realistic and gorgeous they were.

    Game plot is really nice and intriguing, guards AI feels far, far more human than the first entry of the series and sniping is not easy anymore because now you have breath simulation while aiming.
    Sadly they enabled (with certain limits) in-mission savegames but I strongly suggest you not to use them, reloading a savegame just ruins the atmosphere.

    Game graphic is top notch for a 2002 game, music is extremely good too (not to mention that is also 100% fitting).

    Just to let you realize how good this game is, when I completed the last mission I felt sad because it was finished and I wanted more, and more... strongly suggested to anyone, a must have.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2015
    8
    Almost as good as the original, this Hitmal sequel has great levels and great stealth/disguise mechanics. However, stealth is not mandatory,Almost as good as the original, this Hitmal sequel has great levels and great stealth/disguise mechanics. However, stealth is not mandatory, and if you want an easier game, you can just shoot everyone. You can also save 3 times during missions. Expand
  6. YanoZ.
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    Fast action, but horrible graphics and soundFX.
  7. CiobanuS,
    Jul 4, 2007
    0
    Childish. Why didnt they call it The Ma...ix? You can dodge bullets and see them coming? Come on!

See all 41 User Reviews