Hitman: Codename 47 PC

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 192
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 10, 2016
    7
    I thought Hitman: Codename 47 was a great entry point for the series defining what it is that Agent 47 does and how he came to be. Just like any game from 2000 there will be many flaws in A.I. and level designing. Most of the levels were small and only had one or two ways of completion but that is fine because with a saving system like this one it really would have been a nightmare to beatI thought Hitman: Codename 47 was a great entry point for the series defining what it is that Agent 47 does and how he came to be. Just like any game from 2000 there will be many flaws in A.I. and level designing. Most of the levels were small and only had one or two ways of completion but that is fine because with a saving system like this one it really would have been a nightmare to beat this game. If you are caught, killed and hit space to continue from a checkpoint the guards will still be on alert EVEN if you are loaded back in an area you are sure you were safe in; they WILL find you. That is one of my very few gripes with this game as it still delivers satisfying gameplay with a variety of fun hits.
    The story, in my opinion is the game's strength but it only picks up in the end quarter of the game and for me, it did not disappoint. Learning how 47 was created and by who was pretty awesome and I enjoyed watching it unfold. Most gamers overlook this rewarding game but I highly recommend they try it out if they are a big Hitman fan!
    Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2016
    8
    Este juego es genial, primero paratamos por la base de que es un juego de un sigilo en la cual tendremos que ir haciendo misiones de eliminar a distintos objetivos. Si bien parece que puede sonar algo cliché en cuanto a la historia de estos agentes encubiertos, es totalmente distinto a lo demás. Controlamos a un clon modificado genéticamente llamado simplemente como 47, el cual esEste juego es genial, primero paratamos por la base de que es un juego de un sigilo en la cual tendremos que ir haciendo misiones de eliminar a distintos objetivos. Si bien parece que puede sonar algo cliché en cuanto a la historia de estos agentes encubiertos, es totalmente distinto a lo demás. Controlamos a un clon modificado genéticamente llamado simplemente como 47, el cual es entrenado para realizar distintos encargos de asesinatos a distintas personalidades (asesinos, corruptos, mafiosos etc) encargados por la Agencia Internacional de Contratos. Algo que quiero resaltar es la originalidad de como crearon al personaje, no un agente secreto, sino un clon, que además tiene tatuada en la nuca su propio código, 47, además de contar con una vestimenta formal, de traje y corbata. A lo largo del juego se va a tornar tal vez difícil o hasta fácil para algunos. Eso si, no puedes andar a los tiros como Rambo, en este juego tienes que ser sigiloso, aparte de que no tiene mucha gracia jugarlo a los tiros, es más, si no optas por ir al sigilo, tal vez tengas que volver a realizar la misión ya que el juego te permite una cierta cantidad llamadas de atención. Podremos generar bajas y esconder los cuerpos, y hasta podremos usar sus ropas para pasar desapercibido. El inventario es muy amplio, pero tal vez es algo irrealista el hecho de que te puedes guardar una gran cantidad de metralletas, pistolas, pero esto dá más posibilidad al jugador de contar con más equipamiento para la disponibilidad de realizar la misión. El diseño de las misiones están muy bien hechas, pero en cuanto a lo que es la IA de los enemigos, se deja a veces mucho que desear, igual en los juegos posteriores lo mejoraron muchísimo hasta perfeccionarlo. Gráficamente para la época en que estaba el juego, los gráficos en 3D estaban muy bien realizados, bastante bien diría yo. El apartado sonoro es una obra maestra, Jesper Kyd se consagró su carrera más que nada por haber trabajado en la saga de Hitman, con tal solo escuchar el tema principal del juego, ya te pone con ganas de jugarlo. Juegazo y recomendado, vas a pasar un buen rato. Expand
  3. Feb 29, 2016
    5
    Well, it's hard to be objective. The game's from 2000 but playing it I had hard time with my eyes. It hurt me so much so I got myself cheats to play it through quicker.
  4. Jan 22, 2016
    6
    Definitely an original game that puts the player in the shoes of a hitman. At first the game has you killing Hong Kong Triad members and drug lords, but that all eventually leads to the awesome conclusion of your origin. Despite the lack of in game saves and A.I. problems, the atmosphere and tension in this game are second to none.
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    This game is good and hard........

    . . . ........
  6. Aug 31, 2015
    10
    While the graphics are dated, but the story and the action also the characters are interesting and suspenseful it's a very original game. Let the Hitman video game franchise continue!
  7. May 15, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  8. Mar 31, 2015
    9
    Very obscure game with fantastic atmosphere and great story! This game is quite amoral in a fun way! Playing a professional hitman is a thrill! Of course it's not supposed to be something just anyone could do, so expect to be in for a challenge.

    The game starts out with the best tutorial ever made. The reason is that it's not so much about the controls (like modern tutorials). here it
    Very obscure game with fantastic atmosphere and great story! This game is quite amoral in a fun way! Playing a professional hitman is a thrill! Of course it's not supposed to be something just anyone could do, so expect to be in for a challenge.

    The game starts out with the best tutorial ever made. The reason is that it's not so much about the controls (like modern tutorials). here it teaches you how the game works, shows you tactics and introduces you to the different weapons you have at your disposal. Exploring these options is extremely fun!

    The game itself has smart levels that require thinking, planning ahead and split second decision making. It's notoriously hard and any mistake can be punished mercilessly ... or if you're lucky you might be able to get away with it ... this time.

    Depending on how cleanly you succeeded you get more money as a reward. With that money you can buy better weapons for your missions or pay to clean up if you left too many bodies behind.

    The graphics and sound were very stylish and realistic for that time. Also the weapons and in game items are very realistic. Art design was very consistent and nothing feels out of place.
    Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2015
    9
    Fantastic from high concept to gameplay mechanics. Yeah there's no skips, but It works towards the strategy of watching the ai mobilize. The literary characters and their unique abilities are something you shouldn't miss.
  10. Mar 17, 2015
    8
    Hitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first of its genre, since Thief, even if stealth too, almost lacked the FPS part.

    This first title of the hitman saga is the one that differentiate the most among them: it's fairly easy to camouflage and there's no breath simulation while aiming but also
    Hitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first of its genre, since Thief, even if stealth too, almost lacked the FPS part.

    This first title of the hitman saga is the one that differentiate the most among them: it's fairly easy to camouflage and there's no breath simulation while aiming but also this is the one that gives you most freedom of choice. Almost every mission can be completed in 3~5 slightly different ways.

    Gameplay aside, the plot is extremely intriguing, graphics are amazing (for a year 2000 title) and music matches 100% the game, sadly voice acting (At least Italian one) is really bad.
    Mission settings are extremely detailed and pervasive and, most of all, you have time to carefully plan and carry out your assassinations.
    Ah, you can't save during missions, this is just awesome if you ask me. I'm a huge fan of games that force you to think carefully before doing things.

    There's a reason if this niche game ended up being one of the most successful videogame series of all time. You won't regret buying it, even after 15 years, worth every penny.
    Expand
  11. Sep 3, 2014
    9
    Fantastic stealth game for it's time. Full of innovative ideas and giving you the option to role play the Hitman perfectly, always having lots of ways how to achieve your objective, varied and exotic locations, different types of missions and especially really good stealth mechanics, disguises and 100% tension thanks to the design decision not to give you saving options. Well, after IFantastic stealth game for it's time. Full of innovative ideas and giving you the option to role play the Hitman perfectly, always having lots of ways how to achieve your objective, varied and exotic locations, different types of missions and especially really good stealth mechanics, disguises and 100% tension thanks to the design decision not to give you saving options. Well, after I finished the ame I found out that you supposedly are able to save once during each mission, ut I finished the entire game without a single save and that's what made it so captivating and memorable. The sense of achievement after the finished mission was huge, but so was the frustration when I had to repeat missions countless times, or when I died just before the end and had to go all over, but that's what made it great and that's why the first Hitman is by far the best in the series. All the ideas come from here and tension have never been so strong ever again. 9/10 Expand
  12. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    If I had actually payed for this game instead of getting it in a bundle, I'd be insulted.

    Here's how the first and only 25 minutes of my experience with Hitman: Codename 47. Oh, hey, this game's by Eidos! I wonder if this will be as good as Deus Ex... Hmm, that's odd. The resolution is screwed up. The menu screen doesn't scale with the resolution. Oh well, it's not a problem. Let's
    If I had actually payed for this game instead of getting it in a bundle, I'd be insulted.

    Here's how the first and only 25 minutes of my experience with Hitman: Codename 47.

    Oh, hey, this game's by Eidos! I wonder if this will be as good as Deus Ex... Hmm, that's odd. The resolution is screwed up. The menu screen doesn't scale with the resolution. Oh well, it's not a problem. Let's get started! Oh, a tutorial in which a strange voice literally congratulates me for stepping my low-poly body through a low-poly door and managing to dress myself in some low-poly clothes while explaining that I'm the best of the best? This must be a world where everyone is literally retarded, because I'm pretty sure walking and dressing oneself are wholly unimpressive qualities.

    Oh well, so the tutorial's a bit crappy. I'm sure it gets better... what the hell? What's wrong with this control scheme? Numpad to walk? X to step backwards? Who designed this? Whatever, that's annoying but I can change most of it. Now... Okay what? Why can't I press this button? I need to press this button to continue but I can't!

    Okay, after a minute of experiment with different angles of approach, I managed to press the down button on the elevator. Now I'm being congratualted for my ability to pick up a knife off the table, and...

    Okay. What the hell. I'm locked in a tiny room with a practice dummy while the tutorial helpfully informs me that I can continue on my way through the door that is TOTALLY NOT LOCKED. I can't.... *Tries to open the door for five minutes.*

    Well, I guess I'm restarting the tutorial. *Spends another five minutes trying to use the elevator again.* Okay, after twenty minutes of playing, I've finally managed to pick up a gun and successfully shoot it. Is it time to start now? **** Another elevator. I think I'm getting the hang of this; it's only taking thirty seconds of dicking around o call the elevator.

    Hey look, a random dude. Should I talk to him? Wait, he just pulled out something that looks like a weapon. Crap, I should probably kill him. Annndd He just one-shot killed me. I guess that was supposed to happen, like maybe it's a cutscene?

    Wait, this room looks familiar. What? WHAT THE F***? Why did it just start the game all over? Are you serious?! It took me twenty minutes to get past your damn tutorial, and with no explanation, you just sent an enemy at me who can kill me in one shot and instantly send me back to the start of the game?

    Fine. Fine, I'll play through this. I'll get back to my area, and...

    ****.

    The elevator closed without me in it. It won't open back up. I'm locked out.

    **** this game.
    Expand
  13. ERB
    Nov 15, 2013
    8
    One of the best hitman games ever!The storyline is just good and the graphics are bizzare plus the game play of this game is freakin awesome!This game is awesome!
  14. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Ground-breaking idea for a game. Lots of different locals. Varied ways to finish missions (though the penalty for killing everyone is hardly strict enough to deter that from being the easiest/most used option). The check point saves are not the ideal saving feature (quick saving is needed). Also some secondary objectives are more ambiguos (or not even alluded to at all). Still a solid gameGround-breaking idea for a game. Lots of different locals. Varied ways to finish missions (though the penalty for killing everyone is hardly strict enough to deter that from being the easiest/most used option). The check point saves are not the ideal saving feature (quick saving is needed). Also some secondary objectives are more ambiguos (or not even alluded to at all). Still a solid game and great starting point for an awesome series. Expand
  15. Oct 26, 2013
    7
    Codename 47 was a classic game and really good for 2000. The rag-doll physics seemed perfect with the blend of a classic storyline and good features, including moderate graphics and a vast choice of weapons. All of this under one genre, stealth.
    It could have added a few more options like in-game saves, 2-3 more missions and create a more interactive environment.
  16. Sep 28, 2013
    4
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played. I know it was released in the year of 2000, but that doesn't give it a right to f#ck your ass with an electrical stick mainly designed for torture! This game has as of now put me through 10 horrifying hours of unbearable pain. It has some of the worst AI bugs I have ever seen, they can sometimes walk trough walls and spot you even if you'reThis is one of the worst games I've ever played. I know it was released in the year of 2000, but that doesn't give it a right to f#ck your ass with an electrical stick mainly designed for torture! This game has as of now put me through 10 horrifying hours of unbearable pain. It has some of the worst AI bugs I have ever seen, they can sometimes walk trough walls and spot you even if you're disguised. The controls are some of the most up controls ever made on this planet, using the NUMPAD as default. The voice acting is terrible. 47 sounds more like a robot than a robot does! The missions are boring and the story is so bad you can't even understand why 47 is a hitman! Why? Where? What? When? How? I have still not played through the entire game though, it gets a 4 for at least making me trying to finish it and for the graphics being pretty good for 2000. Collapse
  17. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Excellent game! Be sure to start with this one before you play the rest in the series. I actually like it very much that you can't save during a level (they added this in Hitman 2 and later). This made for a very difficult game and it was fun! It kind of felt a real achievement to progress. To keep this feeling, I played it on the highest difficult in the rest of the series.
  18. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    an OK game the graphics are a bit dated but it doesn't matter the sound and the gameplay is so fun it is a very hard game and yet there is no save game making it a really frustrating game but with good story it is not bad
  19. Dec 8, 2012
    5
    This game was terrible. Stealth didn't work, gives little help what to do. There is almost no plot. Terrible graphics. Steam overlay didn't work and wouldn't let you minimize the game, unlike anything I've played before. There was also a problem with not being able to run for some reason. The game is fun the few times it works. But that is few and far between. There is a game this has theThis game was terrible. Stealth didn't work, gives little help what to do. There is almost no plot. Terrible graphics. Steam overlay didn't work and wouldn't let you minimize the game, unlike anything I've played before. There was also a problem with not being able to run for some reason. The game is fun the few times it works. But that is few and far between. There is a game this has the worst user and critic rating of them all. It was poorly made. Expand
  20. Dec 5, 2012
    7
    The best Hitman ever made, as well as the probably best stealth game. I wonder if will be there another game like this one, but I'm sure it won't. Great, funny and competitive gameplay, there's a lack of story (although the final missions are epic, especially the last 2 ones), but this game doesn't need it, because it's already great.
  21. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything-Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything- ublike Hitman 2- even on Normal difficulty. This Hitman feels a lot more exciting and more fun to play than other Hitmans. It certainly has its flaws, but because you can't save and the missions can be long, it's definitely the most rewarding than other games in the series. Expand
  22. Mar 8, 2011
    0
    This, plainly put, is the worst game I've ever played. Hmm... where to start? Story: I am currently on mission 3 and I have no idea what the plot is supposed to be and I have read all of the intro text. As far as I can tell, the only plot is to kill Asian mafia members...

    Controls: This game has some of the most broken controls I've ever seen in a video game. When I went to the control
    This, plainly put, is the worst game I've ever played. Hmm... where to start? Story: I am currently on mission 3 and I have no idea what the plot is supposed to be and I have read all of the intro text. As far as I can tell, the only plot is to kill Asian mafia members...

    Controls: This game has some of the most broken controls I've ever seen in a video game. When I went to the control customization screen, I thought it was a joke that the default was the numpad. When I switched it to standard WASD controls, W was run, S was walk, X was back, and C and Z were strafe... WTF I've never heard of any game in existence using that control scheme. The use button requires (sometimes) pressing the right mouse button to bring up an options menu to choose what action to perform via mouse scroll. This makes sense except that it gives you no information on how to do this in the tutorial. I walked up to the first elevator, pressed E, and nothing happened. I then spent 5 minutes attempting to figure out how to use an object. Gameplay: I don't know what everyone is talking about with this gameplay being the best thing since "GTA4" (even though GTA4 came out 2008 and this came out in 2000) and not knowing "what happened to gameplay these days". While the gameplay concept is a great idea, it is probably the sloppiest execution for any "sneaking game". The AI is terrible, as the police don't notice you when they should, and notice you when they shouldn't. Graphics: Being on the third level, and especially given how small the levels are, I've encountered probably around 20 graphics errors, and they're obvious. If a game makes all entities disappear when you look at a certain part of the wall, you just don't release it.

    Ambiance: While the music in the background is very soothing and cool, it's the ONLY THING THAT HAS PLAYED SO FAR IN THE GAME! It gets annoying as hell to hear the same damn melody over and over again.

    Well, that sums up pretty much all of the categories. With broken AI, no good tutorial, and throwing you out in the middle of the city with no instructions besides "Hey, you, kill these guys.", this game is amazingly bad. I got the Hitman Collection during the Steam Christmas sale for $7.50. That makes H:C47 worth $2.50. If it goes on sale for 50 cents, don't get it. If it goes on sale for free, don't get it. It's not worth nothing. That's how bad it is.
    Expand
  23. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    One of the only games ever with good game play and a good story. Shooting enemies with a shotgun makes them fly for five meters what is just AWESOME. Also the ending was really good and interesting.
  24. Andreas
    Oct 1, 2009
    9
    This games is amazing. I remember playing it, and yes, it's hard, but that makes it even greater to finish. I love the story, the setting, and 47 himself. I don't understand the complaints about the missing save function, it made it even more genious! Yes, it was extremely frustrating to die right at the end, and having to start over, but it made everything far more intense andThis games is amazing. I remember playing it, and yes, it's hard, but that makes it even greater to finish. I love the story, the setting, and 47 himself. I don't understand the complaints about the missing save function, it made it even more genious! Yes, it was extremely frustrating to die right at the end, and having to start over, but it made everything far more intense and realistic. I am proud that Denmark has made something as great as this. I rate it 9. Expand
  25. Freddy
    Jun 7, 2008
    8
    It had so many flaws once it was released that ratings here should be overstimated. But getting older, this game has earned value for the plot, the design (except the gruesome background) to take new chance.
  26. JasonE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and leaves you thinking, whats happened to the gameplay today? Why has more effort been put into graphics whilst the gameplay gets left behind? Give me second rate graphcs and codename47 state gameplay any day.
  27. Caramba
    Jun 8, 2004
    10
    Wonderful.
  28. CboB.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This is the best game since gta 4.
  29. mOOnrabbitx
    Aug 30, 2002
    10
    The best game I ever played!! damn, I trying to find a replacement sinds I played it out. But can't find one.
  30. MichaelB.
    Jun 11, 2002
    10
    A very, very good game good graphics and it has involing speed, shooting, and all other stuff. The perfect game to get but i would be careful who you get it for there are some graphic stuff in here but it is a good game to play i recomend it to anygame player who likes action!
  31. KimBoK.
    Jun 7, 2002
    9
    Super game!! a little hard the first time..
  32. GodsNemesis
    May 17, 2002
    10
    The best shootèm up game ever it beats even Deus Ex.
  33. TomT.
    Mar 19, 2002
    9
    Very original.
  34. JohnD.
    Mar 12, 2002
    7
    Good game and lots of fun. Keeps you hooked. Down side is lack of game save. When you have advanced a long way in the game (after 10 missions) each mission can last up to two hours at a time. When I took on the drug lord in the jungle I managed to kill him and virtually complete the level only for my PC to crash. This happened several times. Two hours into the level and having to start Good game and lots of fun. Keeps you hooked. Down side is lack of game save. When you have advanced a long way in the game (after 10 missions) each mission can last up to two hours at a time. When I took on the drug lord in the jungle I managed to kill him and virtually complete the level only for my PC to crash. This happened several times. Two hours into the level and having to start again. Game save option is a must for any follow up. That besides I would recommend the game. Should be higher up this list though. It is better than "Anachronox." Expand
  35. VladimirP.
    Jan 27, 2002
    8
    An amazing game, with OK graphics and very good sound. I love shooting everything in sight with an MP-5! They could have put in rocket launchers though...
  36. TheJackal
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    Great game!!!!
  37. AlT.
    Nov 16, 2001
    9
    Not a 10, because there is not a save the game option during the game.
  38. JohnG.
    Aug 11, 2001
    5
    It's too delayed.
  39. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst games I've ever played. I know it was released in the year of 2000, but that doesn't give it a right to f#ck your ass with an electrical stick mainly designed for torture! This game has as of now put me through 10 horrifying hours of unbearable pain. It has some of the worst AI bugs I have ever seen, they can sometimes walk trough walls and spot you even if you'reThis is one of the worst games I've ever played. I know it was released in the year of 2000, but that doesn't give it a right to f#ck your ass with an electrical stick mainly designed for torture! This game has as of now put me through 10 horrifying hours of unbearable pain. It has some of the worst AI bugs I have ever seen, they can sometimes walk trough walls and spot you even if you're disguised. The controls are some of the most up controls ever made on this planet, using the NUMPAD as default. The voice acting is terrible. 47 sounds more like a robot than a robot does! The missions are boring and the story is so bad you can't even understand why 47 is a hitman! Why? Where? What? When? How? I have still not played through the entire game though, it gets a 4 for at least making me trying to finish it and for the graphics being pretty good for 2000. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. I would not hesitate to recommend it to other gamers, but with the caution that you should be prepared for a game that probably won't fit neatly into any mental box you might have prepared for it.
  2. Daily Radar
    100
    One of the coolest and most absorbing games we've played all year.
  3. 77
    I really had been looking forward to this one and it let me down in so many ways. If only it had been longer... If only the camera had been different... If only it had been a bit more mentally challenging.