Hitman: Codename 47 Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take control of this old-fashioned, modern-time assassin, and stay alive long enough to revile your past. Think to survive and learn to plan your hits. Exploit your enemy's hideout in three continents, and go forward to get back to where you started. Enter the world and face your self amongTake control of this old-fashioned, modern-time assassin, and stay alive long enough to revile your past. Think to survive and learn to plan your hits. Exploit your enemy's hideout in three continents, and go forward to get back to where you started. Enter the world and face your self among madmen. [Eidos Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. One of the coolest and most absorbing games we've played all year.
  2. 90
    The combination of "Thief"-style sneaking with smart enemy A.I. and the use of realistic weapons-piano wire, silenced pistols, sniper rifles, and even M-60s-creates an intense experience, though many gamers will be frustrated by the lack of in-game saving.
  3. Great story, missions lack direction, but once you get used to the feel of Hitman it is really a great game.
  4. A fun game that gets fatally sidetracked. I coulda been a contender. [Mar 2001, p.96]
  5. Probably the best game-play design that I've seen in years; the game play is twitchy - if you're a purist you're going to have a conniption playing this.
  6. Hitman: Codename 47 does deliver a fair deal of excitement and suspense. The mysterious assassin, the stress on stealth, and a decent narrative make it well worth playing.
  7. Styled to appeal to the shooter crowd. Unfortunately, it feels as if the developer lavished too much attention on making the violence stylized and realistic, and then just threw a game around it. Great concept, extremely sloppy execution.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33
  1. JasonE.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and This game is and was amazing, even almost seven years on, maybethe graphics are dated but the gameplay still takes your breath away and leaves you thinking, whats happened to the gameplay today? Why has more effort been put into graphics whilst the gameplay gets left behind? Give me second rate graphcs and codename47 state gameplay any day. Expand
  2. TheJackal
    Jan 5, 2002
    10
    Great game!!!!
  3. CboB.
    Jan 15, 2004
    10
    This is the best game since gta 4.
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    8
    Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself"Yes the graphics were terrible, you can't save the game and some missions can be long and tedious, but I prefer the "work it out yourself" approach, which beats Blood Money's endless clues and hints on how to play the game. Sure, Codename 47 isn't interactive as such, but the arcade-style gameplay means you're not restricted. The game is punishing if you try shooting through everything- ublike Hitman 2- even on Normal difficulty. This Hitman feels a lot more exciting and more fun to play than other Hitmans. It certainly has its flaws, but because you can't save and the missions can be long, it's definitely the most rewarding than other games in the series. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2015
    8
    Hitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first ofHitman: Codename 47 is the first title of the wonderful hitman series and when it was released 15 years ago it was also probably the first of its genre, since Thief, even if stealth too, almost lacked the FPS part.

    This first title of the hitman saga is the one that differentiate the most among them: it's fairly easy to camouflage and there's no breath simulation while aiming but also this is the one that gives you most freedom of choice. Almost every mission can be completed in 3~5 slightly different ways.

    Gameplay aside, the plot is extremely intriguing, graphics are amazing (for a year 2000 title) and music matches 100% the game, sadly voice acting (At least Italian one) is really bad.
    Mission settings are extremely detailed and pervasive and, most of all, you have time to carefully plan and carry out your assassinations.
    Ah, you can't save during missions, this is just awesome if you ask me. I'm a huge fan of games that force you to think carefully before doing things.

    There's a reason if this niche game ended up being one of the most successful videogame series of all time. You won't regret buying it, even after 15 years, worth every penny.
    Expand
  6. May 15, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    If I had actually payed for this game instead of getting it in a bundle, I'd be insulted.

    Here's how the first and only 25 minutes of my
    If I had actually payed for this game instead of getting it in a bundle, I'd be insulted.

    Here's how the first and only 25 minutes of my experience with Hitman: Codename 47.

    Oh, hey, this game's by Eidos! I wonder if this will be as good as Deus Ex... Hmm, that's odd. The resolution is screwed up. The menu screen doesn't scale with the resolution. Oh well, it's not a problem. Let's get started! Oh, a tutorial in which a strange voice literally congratulates me for stepping my low-poly body through a low-poly door and managing to dress myself in some low-poly clothes while explaining that I'm the best of the best? This must be a world where everyone is literally retarded, because I'm pretty sure walking and dressing oneself are wholly unimpressive qualities.

    Oh well, so the tutorial's a bit crappy. I'm sure it gets better... what the hell? What's wrong with this control scheme? Numpad to walk? X to step backwards? Who designed this? Whatever, that's annoying but I can change most of it. Now... Okay what? Why can't I press this button? I need to press this button to continue but I can't!

    Okay, after a minute of experiment with different angles of approach, I managed to press the down button on the elevator. Now I'm being congratualted for my ability to pick up a knife off the table, and...

    Okay. What the hell. I'm locked in a tiny room with a practice dummy while the tutorial helpfully informs me that I can continue on my way through the door that is TOTALLY NOT LOCKED. I can't.... *Tries to open the door for five minutes.*

    Well, I guess I'm restarting the tutorial. *Spends another five minutes trying to use the elevator again.* Okay, after twenty minutes of playing, I've finally managed to pick up a gun and successfully shoot it. Is it time to start now? **** Another elevator. I think I'm getting the hang of this; it's only taking thirty seconds of dicking around o call the elevator.

    Hey look, a random dude. Should I talk to him? Wait, he just pulled out something that looks like a weapon. Crap, I should probably kill him. Annndd He just one-shot killed me. I guess that was supposed to happen, like maybe it's a cutscene?

    Wait, this room looks familiar. What? WHAT THE F***? Why did it just start the game all over? Are you serious?! It took me twenty minutes to get past your damn tutorial, and with no explanation, you just sent an enemy at me who can kill me in one shot and instantly send me back to the start of the game?

    Fine. Fine, I'll play through this. I'll get back to my area, and...

    ****.

    The elevator closed without me in it. It won't open back up. I'm locked out.

    **** this game.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews