User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 55
  2. Negative: 19 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    7
    An interesting game that's best described as a "choose your own adventure" tale. It will make you think without taking up much of your time as each playthrough is only around 90 mins. I went through the game twice and never did get the ending that I had anticipated, but it was still a fun time. I'll just have to pretend that I know what happened :p
  2. Nov 3, 2013
    3
    The principle "hook" of Home is the theoretical amount of responsiveness the game has to what you do/learn. Unfortunately, this aspect is seriously buggy and ultimately amounts to little more than your character offering tiny little blurbs that affirm "Yes, I did that/saw that." The game is basically set up as a mystery, presented in a side-scrolling perspective with a few agonizingly simple puzzles (one "puzzle" essentially being realizing that your character is too dumb to complete a task in one attempt without goading from the player). The mystery itself, however, is the biggest disappointment. It's one of those stories that uses the "open to interpretation" cop-out to get by with presenting questions and never having to come up with answers what I call the "Lost" school of writing. There's some okay brooding atmosphere at first, but it becomes obvious very, very quickly that your character is in absolutely no danger, so the only tension you're left with is the fear that you might hear a creak or footstep or ambient noise somewhere. It's a single novel concept (of very flawed execution), namely the adaptive narrative, buried in nonexistent gameplay and a completely absent plot. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    1
    That was very disappointing. The plot was obvious and it dropped far too many hints throughout the game. There was nothing interesting to it. It wasn't creepy or scary or anything like that. It was just obvious. It truly tries too hard to be mysterious, and fails miserably.
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    Home is a uniquely told story where your simple decisions affect how the plot of the game unfolds...or it seems. We start with our nameless protagonist in an unknown house in the middle of the night with no memories how or why he got there. The story gets more interesting when he finds a dead body in the next room.

    The most engaging aspects of this game are how the story is told and the
    atmosphere. First, the story is never complete. As you make your way from the house to your home you can find clues about the events that have happened and piece together the murders. How much you find and how much you progress in being 'Sherlock' is completely up to the player. This ambiguity is the most sparkling and the most trembling part of the game at the same time. The conclusion of the game will vary based on what you discovered and what choices you have made throughout the game. This undoubtedly will leave many frustrated and with a lot of questions after finishing the game. In this case a replay of the game is needed, but unfortunately it might not bring the resolutions players want to see.

    While the graphics and the music (there is no music) aren't the strongest parts of the game, the atmosphere is. It is highly recommended to play this game in one sitting, at night, with headphones on. The crackling wood, loud thunders, footsteps with the visuals will pull the player in searching for answers. You will never be frightened, but you will always be wondering: "what's in this next room?"

    Home is a very special meta-game, where its uniqueness derive from not what's happening on screen, but what is in the mind of the player. The story of the game might not get complete after several playthrough, because the events of the game have already happened, the murders too. It is not really important what happened, the important thing is how much you know about it and the ultimate goal is to know everything of course.

    Rating: 72/100; Replay Value: 4/5; To Beat: 1-1.5 hours; Played on:
    Expand
  5. Aug 10, 2013
    5
    Home starts to engage but trails off to the end. No danger means the horror quickly loses it sting. When the credits came up I was actually surprised. I thought the game had another 30 minutes to. It's ok for 2 dollars but still a bit lacking.
  6. Aug 9, 2013
    1
    Home Is it a game or is it a book. It can't decide and that's where you run into the mess that it is.
    I like the stylized graphics but that is about it. SpaceBar Down Arrow key is pretty much all you need to remember when playing the game. Because there is no danger of dying in this game, the horror element pretty much disappears. At that point you say, why am I playing it? The story of
    course right? Well, the story is a bit of a mess. I won't mention anything but lets just say it tries to make connections to stuff that really just doesn't mesh together. The game goes pretty much something like this, Pick up a Note Read, Pick up another note Read. Look at a monitor Read. At this point I should really just ask for a book because the designer apparently wrote one and could have saved me the motions of using action keys SpaceBar+Down Arrow Key. "You see a dead body" appears on the screen but instead of seeing a Dead body you are reading it. I want to see a Dead Body!
    I gave this game a 1 due to its interesting graphics that reminded me of older Sierra Online games like Kings Quest or Space Quest. However those games were much better than this by a long shot.
    Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    The game's design is very well thought out. The style and simple controls really help you to focus on the situations you are in. A save feature doesn't really seem necessary since the game can be done very quickly after your first playthrough and you can spend your time investigating for new ways to get to the end. I won't give it a ten just because there are a few things that require out-of-game activities to solve which, in this case, did not work very fluidly. Other than that great game and still worth every penny! Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2013
    2
    Riddled with typos and bugs, this demonstrates very well what an indie game should NOT be. At least it was like that upon release. Since the developer, who I bothered to purchase the Collector's Edition from, did not even bother to acknowledge my report about those things (one of the bugs being that the game simply crashed RIGHT AT THE END!!! That is exactly what F*$)(ING saving is for!!! "Can easily be finished in one sitting", my ass! I don't want to sit at a game for 2-3 hours only to have some Windows-crash window stuck in my face!!), I immediately stopped caring about this piece of crap.
    Oh and... the visual really are a little TOO low resolution (in my opinion, Lone Survivor sort of visuals are about as low res as one should go) and I hated it that the dark space around the visible area wasn't even close to black.
    Expand
  9. May 18, 2013
    10
    This game is a wonderful experience. I purchased this game not knowing what it was about. To my surprise, I thoroughly enjoyed this game. I can't say too much without spoiling anything. In my personal opinion, 'Home' is more an experience than a game. You make choices, many choices may I add, that ACTUALLY CHANGE THE STORY. It takes about one hour and a half to complete the game, however the game is only 2 pounds (sometimes less). The game has lots of replayability and it is very enjoyable to watch other people, such as your friends, play it and see which choices they make. The story is intriguing, and there are literally HUNDREDS OF ENDINGS. This isn't a game for everyone, but if you like making choices and don't judge games by their graphics, you might want to check 'Home' out. Expand
  10. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    I've been a gamer since the early days when we were programming them out of magazines and saving them to audio tape. This game obviously has a positive nostalgic factor to me being from the "old school" days of PC gaming but that's not what I appreciate the most. The fact is this game is what you make of it, in some ways it's a very organic collision of literature and video games, which is something that I've never seen quite captured they way Home does. What stands out to me is this game respects the person playing it. We've all played games that have multiple endings, evolving story-lines, whatever you care to call it however this, IMHO, is different in the fact part of the game plays out partially in your mind, not in the games code. While playing "through" this a couple times I never once felt like I was being pandered to or sold short. In the end, this game represents what I consider positive about PC gaming: An independent creator giving gamers something that respects their intellect and is fun and honestly a bit weird and creepy. I'm giving this 10/10 based on creativity, atmosphere, the fact I'm willing to pay attention and even play it multiple times and finally gratitude for not creating just another game that assumes we're all drooling idiots. Expand
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Before I begin, let me say to SgtWeetabix that the game saves itself you moron. Back to the review. This game has so many possible endings that i have tried to uncover and yet, i still get more. It has a great plotline that anyone can interpret. there are conspiracies behind everything. It has unlimited replay value and i highly recommend it.
  12. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    For a game I spent two dollars on, I found Home to be pretty good. It's a decent game that is about an hour and a half long. If you like indie games, you'd probably like this, as it is a unique little 2-D horror game with decent atmosphere. I can't say much else about the game, as mention of anything in the game would count as a spoiler (the game is that short). If you liked, say, Lone Survivor, then you'd probably like this (though Lone Survivor is better). Expand
  13. Feb 27, 2013
    2
    Home presents an errie atmosphere, some mildly tense sections to explore, but fails utterly in the delivery of its story. Home is reminiscent of 2D adventure games where the player navigates the main character through a series of pixelated homes, caves, and woods. Along the way, he finds clues to recovering his memory about the events leading up to the present situation. The problem is, by the time you finish this short hour to two hour game, you are left with so many unanswered questions that even if you wanted to pretend the game had a certain narrative you would have no foundation to support it. Without any other sustaining gameplay to speak of, Home is the worst $2 I ever spent. The game seems to be an exercise in allowing players to forge their own narratives, one that Home executes poorly. Expand
  14. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Home is an unique game experiences,which worth a try!
    Since the game is really cheap,I bought it at 0.99 dollar on Steam.
    You should give it a try,if you want something special.
    People seeking for exciting gameplay must avoid.
  15. Jan 13, 2013
    3
    This is not a recommendation for the game at all really. The game itself was on average, boring. I am not the kind of guy to like to play these games, it was mainly focused on a male walking around, you doing the clicking, and him doing the actions. I don't recommend this game to people who would be like me and be critical. I played the game for about an hour, and lost interest. I am not a point and click kind of person, I got about 30 minutes-an hour into the game and I completely got bored with it, there was no more reasons to play. I thank the lord that game was only two dollars, because trust me, it was not worth it whatsoever. You want a real, atmospheric, hands-on game? Get Amnesia: The Dark Decent. I will put a review up of it once I get into the game a little more than I have. But, for this game, I'm sorry but I just can't continue to play this game. I immediately uninstalled it after playing it. I found it fun at first, than I noticed all you did was hit a button and something happened. It was a bore. Not recommended at all, just save your money. Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2013
    1
    A plot based game with no plot. I found the graphics to be well selected for a suspense game. Monsters are always scarier when you leave much to the imagination. But this wasn't utilized at all. There are no thrills to take advantage of the atmosphere. The game-play is extraordinarily simple and yet still quite buggy. Text screens frequently repeated for no reason. This game has no replay value and worse, it has no initial play value. Expand
  17. Dec 25, 2012
    4
    This game is a huge delusion. I was expecting a horror game... but this is not horror at all. The game starts well, but then... Yaaawn. After 10 minutes the fear goes to zero. The story is also bad, it's just a contest to make you read some boring text screens. After finshing it, you can go on the site to discuss your story ('cause there are some invisible choices) with other players... but you won't feel to need to do it. Bad. Expand
  18. Dec 3, 2012
    6
    Home is an interesting diversion for 1 hour and a $2 price tag. Play it the same way you would watch a pilot TV show for one hour, hopefully it'll keep you interested to the end. It lacks a high score because: * The storyline really isn't that deep, requiring your imagination to make it so and fill the gaps. * I'm not a huge fan of these retro basic graphics that are going around. * If you take the recommendation of playing in the dark, reduce screen gamma, it is not so easy on the eye. * And finally, the storyline simply isn't strange enough to really ignite your imagination (e.g. as in The Path). It gets the 6/10 for the hour of entertainment it was, for $2, with nice sound effects, a nice concept that could be built upon, and you mildly wonder what it was all about. I like games that try new things. This one is in the right direction, but needs more strangeness, real interaction with consequences, scary moments, and a decent voiceover might be good.

    If you're looking for a game with a big story (e.g. Gemini Rue), you will be disappointed.
    Expand
  19. Nov 24, 2012
    4
    I believe that home is a HUGE disappointment. mainly because of the fact you cant save your game so therefore if you make a single mistake you have to restart to entire story, and then once you've gotten past the section of the game where you made you previous mistake if you make another you have to restart the game again. the main reason why this game got a 4 rather than a zero is because the game did have a pretty good and creepy feel to it. to conclude i think that this game would be extremely enjoyable if there was a save feature or they removed the ability for the player to make decisions which make it impossible to continue Expand
  20. Oct 31, 2012
    8
    Home is a very unique game, it really is. Do not expect from this Game that you will get many action, it's more discovering things and learn more about the story with every object you see. The Game himself is pretty scary, i really was scared at some moments with my Headphones on and when i was in a dark room. The element what makes this Game so good is the Ambient sound, or let's say it on a other way. The Sound. It's fantastic. This Game is not perfect but really deserves a good Score, and my Money too. It was just 2 Dollars on Steam. And i have to say, i don't feel guilty that i purchased this Game. Expand
  21. Oct 29, 2012
    4
    Game crashed on me because I tried to alt + tab to find a solution to a puzzle that could not be concluded unless you surf the web to find the answer. Developer failed to include an auto-save feature. On top of that, the game was built with Game Maker and apparently, the version used has a problem with Asus soundcards which meant I had to listen to about 3 hours of grating noises. Atmosphere was pretty good regardless but the controls were somewhat simplistic and the developer forces you to constantly look up. If you don't, you'll miss out on clues. Apparently, the ending is confusing because it doesn't wrap up the story but I wouldn't know, I didn't want to sit through another 3 hours of making the same choices in order to get the ending I was supposed to get before poor game design decisions crashed my game. This game isn't worth the trouble of playing it if you ask me. Expand
  22. Sep 8, 2012
    6
    This game is a bit charming, but lacks depth. You will always be taking the same path from where you start to where you end. The choices you make are interesting but the story is suffering from a lack of characters. And then the story feels a bit cliched, and if you play it you will notice what I am talking about. The play throughsoffer little variations, accept for the conclusion, which you could draw on your own. For 3 dollars however this game doesn't put you much in the whole however, so if you are into these sorts of games get it. Just a little notice. This is not a horror game You will never be scared, you cannot lose. While it is eerie you never are fearful. Either way, it is an interesting game, take a look at it. Expand
  23. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    I've been a gamer since the early days when we were programming them out of magazines and saving them to audio tape. This game obviously has a positive nostalgic factor to me being from the "old school" days of PC gaming but that's not what I appreciate the most. The fact is this game is what you make of it, in some ways it's a very organic collision of literature and video games, which is something that I've never seen quite captured they way Home does. What stands out to me is this game respects the person playing it. We've all played games that have multiple endings, evolving story-lines, whatever you care to call it however this, IMHO, is different in the fact part of the game plays out partially in your mind, not in the games code. While playing "through" this a couple times I never once felt like I was being pandered to or sold short. In the end, this game represents what I consider positive about PC gaming: An independent creator giving gamers something that respects their intellect and is fun and honestly a bit weird and creepy. I'm giving this 10/10 based on creativity, atmosphere, the fact I'm willing to pay attention and even play it multiple times and finally gratitude for not creating just another game that assumes we're all drooling idiots. Expand
  24. Sep 2, 2012
    7
    Home is a difficult beast to review, in that it is not necessarily a game. There is no ultimate objective, no invulnerable horror chasing you down, no health or numbers to gauge your success or failure. Instead, Home offers a plodding journey for answers in a dank world of numerous questions. Who did what? Am I the evil or the oppressed? Is everything as straightforward as it seems or convoluted as I fear? If these questions intrigue you, and if the opportunity to shape their answers by your choices is an equally appealing concept, I wholeheartedly recommend this short but fascinating adventure. Just don't expect your trip home to leave you entirely fulfilled; not all questions have answers. Expand
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    73
    Home offers an intriguing concept, but doesn't quite pull it off. The story isn't very satisfying and the choices game forces you to make rarely have meaningful consequences. It's an okay little horror experience, but it could've been much, much more. [Aug 2012]
  2. Sep 16, 2012
    40
    Like finding out your happy childhood home was full of asbestos. [Sept 2012, p.60]
  3. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Home is an unmissable journey into the deepest human fears, a crude painting of the most gloomy corners of the human psyche. An experience that can not be missed, especially at the price proposed.