Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Homefront is certainly one of the most unique shooters I've ever played, driven by an ingenious and surprisingly well-fleshed out plot and a dark and dreary, realistic setting. But it also controls and feels like a typical shooter, looks like a game that's several years old, and most importantly, has an inexcusably brief campaign.
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Homefront's engrossing vision of the future and gratifying competitive multiplayer outweigh its squandered potential and workaday game mechanics.
  3. Mar 17, 2011
    74
    It features plenty of enemies, some pretty awesome locations, and a killer premise. Though the story falls flat about halfway through, and the game needs at least five more chapters to feel complete, you will have lots of fun in the short amount of time that you do have with the single player.
  4. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    With its interesting premise, evocative opening sequence, and clever variation on multiplayer, Homefront has a strong foundation. It's a shame that technical limitations and a derivative single-player campaign keep the game from realizing its potential.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    40
    The problem with Homefront isn't just that it sucks, which it certainly does. The problem is that it reveals just how badly many first-person shooters are starting to suck. It's a game that magnifies the preexisting trend of developing to the lowest common denominator.
  6. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    I have a hard time recommending the PC version of Homefront. It's a decent game with a unique take on world events, and its fresh and fun new ideas for two-mode, bot-less, online only multiplayer kept me coming back long after I'd waved adieu to the single-player portion, but the performance and playability on this platform is far eclipsed by the stability found on consoles.
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    83
    Taken by itself, Homefront's campaign is just plain disappointing. A promising concept ultimately falls flat in the fast-paced, "I don't have time for reading" first-person shooter genre. Once you've accomplished all of the objectives in single-player, the game just "ends". Someone obviously wanted to leave room for a sequel. That person is saved by Homefront's well-designed multiplayer.
  8. Mar 28, 2011
    85
    Despite the single player does not last for long and there are some defects, such as lack of interactivity with the environments, Homefront is an interesting and well told experience, with a multiplayer that can compete with the other heavyweights of the genre.
  9. Mar 23, 2011
    88
    I love this game, and despite a few forgivable flaws Homefront is easily one of the most immersive and emotional campaigns that come to mind in my 30 years of gaming. Sure, the campaign is short. Deal with it. With that ending there is either going to be a sequel or some killer DLC. Meanwhile, you can reap the rewards and satisfaction of some of the best multiplayer combat we've seen so far in 2011.
  10. Mar 21, 2011
    40
    It is difficult to say anything good about Homefront. It's a half-baked idea crammed into a half-baked game, and while I'll freely admit that a quasi-realistic military-style first-person shooter with a heavy focus on the multiplayer mode is not exactly my cup of tea, I've played enough of them at this point that I feel confident in saying when one has gone horribly, horribly wrong.
  11. Mar 22, 2011
    50
    It's a shame the game engine isn't flashier, because it does put up a good fight, but without a sexy bullet point like Killzone's graphics, Bad Company's destructible buildings, or MAG's 256 players, it's going to be hard to draw new players in.
  12. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Ultimately, Homefront's threadbare campaign is like a beautiful, sweeping piece of music being awkwardly recited by a child on a recorder.
  13. Mar 29, 2011
    85
    An interesting background and some multiplayer goodness make Homefront a good buy if you love story-driven FPS and some online squad-based massacre. With some more polish, a tighter and slightly longer campaign and more content it could've been a great title.
  14. Apr 6, 2011
    72
    Overall I recommend Homefront with some caveats- the multiplayer could use some balancing (which they've announced with a new patch at the time of this review). The single player was disappointing in that it ended when it did- it was like showing up at a party and not even getting to kick off your shoes before it's over.
  15. Apr 6, 2011
    68
    Homefront makes a big splash in the multiplayer field; leaves everything else out to dry.
  16. Apr 4, 2011
    70
    I feel bad for Kaos Studios because I think the outcome of Homefront was influenced by possible combination of either a lack of time, budget or talent.
  17. 70
    Very short but intense firefight shows not a very cheerful vision of the near future for North America. Game story is excellent but playability loses because of over-scripting. [Issue#203]
  18. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    Incredibly rough around the edges, wasteful of unique opportunities, and light on content, we quite frankly question the longevity of this title. But you know what? There are worse games you could spend your money on.
  19. Mar 16, 2011
    60
    Korea invades America, but nothing in this game will make you care. The actors are bad, the story is stupid and the graphics feels outdated, not to mention an only 4 hour long singleplayer campaign. The multiplayer is clever though and the sole reason to get this game.
  20. Mar 17, 2011
    60
    Homefront is a solid, if uneven, experience that features an excellent multiplayer mode, with a very average single-player campaign attached.
  21. Mar 15, 2011
    79
    Homefront never quite captures the feel of guerilla warfare, but its multiplayer mode is a warzone worth fighting in.
  22. Mar 15, 2011
    84
    If you've been looking forward to Homefront since last year's E3 like we have, you'll be glad to know that Kaos has delivered a truly fantastic shooter. And if you're the kind of gamer that values quality over quantity, then you'll definitely want to check it out.
  23. Apr 23, 2011
    69
    A damp squib, really. The single player is far too short and the multiplayer only occasionally rises above the average. [May 2011, p.90]
  24. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    If you're contemplating Homefront as an inclusive package, forget it. Consider it to be a better-than-expected multiplayer distraction at best, and wait for E3 in June to see if we get an apology for the campaign and an explanation as to how the sequel will be better.
  25. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    I'll say it right now: if you're considering buying Homefront today, it needs to be for the multiplayer. The campaign should only serve as a small distraction that you might want to goof around in if you're bored and have already gotten your money's worth out of the multiplayer.
  26. Apr 4, 2011
    72
    Great setting, but it's more or less another Call of Duty clone with some nice ideas. But everything feels like the game just had to be released, so a lot of potential hasn't been realised yet. Maybe that's something for the sequel.
  27. 80
    If you are looking for a good story and a different experience look no further. Homefront takes the horrors of war really close. Near the ending of the game it ends up resembling more of a Bruckheimer movie than a war classic, which is a shame. Excellent multi player is sure to entertain players tired of Call of Duty.
  28. Mar 16, 2011
    40
    Scenario and atmosphere are here. The rest is just missing or undermined by flaws, from its dramatically brief campaign to the numerous technical limitations. What came as a challenger for Call of Duty doesn't even end up close to a good FPS. So much for the promises, Kaos Studios.
  29. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    If you're going to buy Homefront, do so for the multiplayer. The campaign is six hours you'll never get back. [Apr 2011, p.52]
  30. Mar 15, 2011
    81
    The singleplayer-campaign may have nice story ideas and its iconic moments, but with only three to four hours of playtime and its disappointing and confusing ending, Homefront is certainly not worth your money, if that's what you are mainly interested in. If you are into multiplayer, it's a completely different story though! Nice Maps and Modes, exciting battles and a motivating XP-system make Homefront a worthy diversion until the release of BF3.
  31. Mar 25, 2011
    55
    It is extremely hard to recommend a game which seems half-baked, has a short single-player campaign and is ugly. Leaders of the genre can remain calm – Korea's invasion of USA isn't a big enough reason to sound an alarm. Who knows, perhaps an announced sequel will become such a reason? For now, I still count on the developers' hard work with patching up their latest product.
  32. Apr 26, 2011
    78
    By far one of the shortest campaign experiences that I have played in some time.
  33. Mar 31, 2011
    76
    The only way for a campaign that short to be worth a damn is if it was the best three hours you've ever spent with a game in your life, and this is most definitely not that. It generally plays like your standard COD clone, only not as exciting or polished.
  34. 75
    The single player campaign is short and mostly disappointing, but it's the multiplayer that saves the day. [May 2011, p.81]
  35. May 4, 2011
    69
    An average shooter with typical gameplay and average graphics.
  36. May 18, 2011
    50
    It's dreadfully average and far too quickly finished, providing nothing more than the most basic type of fun on the first run-through and little incentive to revisit. Not because it's broken; just because it's boring.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 483 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 198
  2. Negative: 80 out of 198
  1. Mar 18, 2011
    3
    This game had no beta and has no demo, but I took a chance and bought the game anyway. Big mistake. This is a console game, not meant to beThis game had no beta and has no demo, but I took a chance and bought the game anyway. Big mistake. This is a console game, not meant to be played on the PC. Basic features like aiming with the mouse have bugs. You'll get low FPS in even the lowest visual setting and all eye candy off. There are invisible walls that you can't shoot through. No bullet penetration through any material. Broken spawn points. Game modes with pointless objectives. Last but not least, the first hour I played I ran into a autoaim cheater, and just about everyone who's played MP has as well. If you want a good overview of the problems people are having, take a look at the homefront forums. If you want a better game similar to this one, go with a Battlefield game. Full Review »
  2. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    So I DL'd it on steam, 9GB and it took around 2 hours. Within minutes I was playing. I played about 5 MP matches first, then the entire firstSo I DL'd it on steam, 9GB and it took around 2 hours. Within minutes I was playing. I played about 5 MP matches first, then the entire first SP level.

    In MP I went 34-16 in those matches and ranked up to lvl. 6.
    SP was engaging and fun.
    MP was a blast. Played 4 on 4 for a bit then 16 on 16. Only tried assault kit. But used perks like BMP, HUMVEE and my favorite, Hellfire missiles. Once you save up 1100 Battle points you get 2 shots with the Hellfire. I only missed twice and say I'm about 8/10 with it.

    There is a comma rose for spotting and stuff, there are squads but I couldn't see how to spawn on the squad. Maps are a mix of big and small, most cool thing about them is tons of cover, in and outside of buildings and tons of ladders to climb and get elevated positions.

    Graphics look great, I'm running all on medium at 1440x900 10:9 aspect.

    Set up my controls exactly like BC2. Prone and crouch sprint and knife are all the same.

    I was typically in the top 2-5 on the server. I saw many clans already turning up their servers. But most were like KAOS #101 etc.

    What else? There's no destruction, but considering how softly and thoughtfully you want to move around in this game, that is cool. Most of my kills came from finding a good cover spot with my back protected and just killing idiots who ran runnin' and gunnin' like they were playing COD.

    I really liked the fact that in TDM and BattleGround you never had to worry about a guy spawning behind you, it kept the maps separated by troop concentration for safe spawning.

    I never got spawn camped, and almost always knew what and who killed me and why.

    First 3 hours impression.... I want to play more, but gotta get to work soon.

    I found nothing too odd or glitchey. At one point in MP my controls went screwy, like my crosshairs kept wanting to point in the air on their own, so I restarted the game and it was fine. At another point in one map i couldn't jump up a little one foot step like it was a map error or something.

    Overall I'd find it hard to comparing it to BC2, BF2 or COD. It's kinda it's own thing, a little bit of all of them. Collecting those points and spending them on cool **** is easy, just watch the little meter on the right and when you get 1100 press 4 for Hellfire, or if you want to spend 250 you get 3 AT rockets. They suck vs. infantry though, or I don't know how to shoot them. Of course all that is cutomizable, I unlocked other things like flack jackets and UAV drones that I didn't even load out with yet. I'd say at 4am there was about 600 to 1000 people playing online. I am ranked 1256th on the leader board.

    Anyway ramble complete. If U get the game, you'll likely enjoy it. At least the first 3 hours. Who knows where it goes from here.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    So much better than the PC ports we usually get. The single-player is short but very memorable. The multiplayer is extremely fun. BattleSo much better than the PC ports we usually get. The single-player is short but very memorable. The multiplayer is extremely fun. Battle Commander and battle-points are really unique and give some rejuvenation to an old FPS formula. I will definitely be playing this for a while, and this game will be up there with Battlefield 3 and Red Orchestra 2 as the best FPS PC releases for this year. Full Review »