Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 924 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami overflows with raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned andStep into the neon-soaked underground of 1980s Miami as bizarre messages on your answering machine seem to be urging you to commit terrible acts of violence - but will you obey? Hotline Miami overflows with raw brutality and skull crushing close combat as you find yourself outgunned and using your wits to choreograph your way through impossible situations. An unmistakable visual style, a driving soundtrack, and a surreal plot that will have you question your own thirst for blood. Bash and blast through over 20 multiscreen levels with 35 unique weapons and collect 25 game-altering masks in one of the darkest and most unusual independent games on the scene. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    100
    Hotline Miami is proof that it is possible to create a fresh and addictive action game, even with the game's emphasis on retro. At the same time it evokes truly human feelings the modern-day shooters die trying to deliver.
  2. Nov 2, 2012
    90
    It's a puzzle game and a strategy game as much as an action game, then, and like Rockstar's Manhunt, it will sicken you even as it provides its murky thrills.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    90
    A drug-induced coma of violence, strategy, death and rebirth. [Jan 2013, p.67]
  4. Nov 9, 2012
    87
    For all the careful planning that might go in a stickup, it all usually comes down to clutching out impromptu, split second shootouts. Sometimes these quirks manifest as incompetent A.I. behavior or exploitative gameplay, but for the most part, it all congeals in a remarkably tense and satisfying experience with depth to go with its style.
  5. Oct 28, 2012
    85
    Let's just say it: Hotline Miami isn't for everyone. It's brutal, bloody and extraordinarily unforgiving. Thanks to Hotline Miami, the 8-bit top-down shooter genre gets put in the spotlight again after Retro City Rampage. It deserves the attention. Well, if you can stomach countless retries and a dozen smashed skulls.
  6. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Those looking for a challenge in planning, reflexes and dexterity – and those with the intestinal fortitude to witness the scads of gruesome deaths that result – will be well served by Hotline Miami.
  7. Nov 23, 2012
    30
    I wonder if the developers themselves knew what exactly they were trying to create. Is it a stealth game? a tactical strategy? a top-down arcade? Kitschy, bold artwork is only there to cover up the lack of cohesive ideas, and crude execution.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 205
  1. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    were do i start with this game
    1. very fun retro inspired gameplay
    2. simple to pick up & play hard to master 3. a story that will keep you
    were do i start with this game
    1. very fun retro inspired gameplay
    2. simple to pick up & play hard to master
    3. a story that will keep you saying what the hell is going to happen next
    4. art visuals that impress a lot this game is 2d eye candy
    5. gameplay that runs very smooth and has no issues at all
    6. this game just works
    My Review Score Is A Prefect
    100 / 100
    Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    A gaming masterpiece.

    I picked this bad boy up on Steam yesterday for $2.49 but even at its full price of $10 I wouldn't have been
    A gaming masterpiece.

    I picked this bad boy up on Steam yesterday for $2.49 but even at its full price of $10 I wouldn't have been disappointed. A brutally tough and gory retro romp through a psychedelic 80's Miami. What's not to love?

    The audio is sensational. The various weapons and sound effects are crisp and as for the musical score? It's available as a standalone purchase if that's any indication of the quality ;)

    The graphical style is a tip-of-the-hat to yesteryear gaming - there's even a pixelated NES hooked up in the protagonist's, bedroom. When you consider this game was developed by a team of two men and the finished product we have is a refresh of an old game concept put on a 'maybe pile,' any commenters that suggest this game is merely a 'hipster' money grab have made their opinion null and void.

    Gameplay wise, I couldn't help but be reminded of True Lies for the SNES, but the unforgiving enemies and one-hit (for the most part) kills have a Smash TV vibe to them. But this game is unique. You can approach a stage a number of ways, by perhaps either stealthily knifing everyone as their back is turned, or trying to funnel enemies through a choke point with 6 shotgun rounds at the ready. In later levels you'll need every trick in the book to make through alive.

    In summary, if you like a challenge and some good old fashioned violence, buy this game!
    Expand
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    10
    INDIE GAME OF THE YEAR FTW, Great music soundtrack, Brilliantine gritty knife throwing game play, engading and interesting story, AN ORIGINALINDIE GAME OF THE YEAR FTW, Great music soundtrack, Brilliantine gritty knife throwing game play, engading and interesting story, AN ORIGINAL CONCEPT DIFFIDENTLY WORTH ALL YOUR MONEYS Expand
  4. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    This game is different. It is reminiscent of an old arcade game with a top-down view and classic joystick, button combination. With a hi-defThis game is different. It is reminiscent of an old arcade game with a top-down view and classic joystick, button combination. With a hi-def bit design (pixelated, but the lines are sharp and contrast is perfect. Think minecraft, terreria, fez, etc..) but with a style of its own.

    Music: 10/10
    It fits perfectly with the gameplay. It takes very general elements from older music in games like pokemon, megaman, metroid.. etc.. but with a modern twist. It does this well, the pairing of the music with the visuals and gameplay create a truly immersive environment. There is variety within the areas you travel in-game to the point where you actually hear it. It is catchy as hell, loops, and best of all, it doesn't get annoying.

    Gameplay:
    Very good mechanics and responsive gameplay make controlling the player avatar efficient. It can be fast or slow paced depending on your style which makes this a deeper game than I originally thought. It is strategy meets reflexes and stealth. Do you like sneak around with melee weapons to avoid alarms as in splinter cell? Do you like the badass loose cannon that gets **** done by rushing in guns blazing? This game can satisfy your need for planning what you will do next as well as the need to shoot everything. However, the in-between in lacking. By that, I mean you will always do one or the other. You may plan as much as you want, but the rooms will always loop. The enemies in the rooms have a plan to follow [code]. They will patrol what they are programmed to patrol until you give them reason to attack you. This is fine, but feels as if the situations become very similar. Weapon choice is also limited with either a selection of [ranged] guns or [melee] weapons. You may also perform executions which, while a nice touch and nice way to make sure you got the kill, does not add or subtract from the overall gameplay. There are also [stat/effect] modifiers in the form of various masks your character may use while playing through the story, such as the ability to add lethality to opening a door, or increased walking speed.

    Overall: 8.7
    Hell of a good game. Difficult enough to keep you interested and playing with good tunes to listen to. You will be mad after a getting killed a few times, but you have to realize that is part of the game. Error is met with a restart of your last checkpoint, so it is somewhat forgiving. Great Indie game, would recommend.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Going to throw this out before you read my review of this game, it might be worth your time checking out the bad reviews. If you don't thenGoing to throw this out before you read my review of this game, it might be worth your time checking out the bad reviews. If you don't then i'll sum it up to this, if you love this game your a blind, dumb hipster that love broken games. There to funny to read, but anyway......

    Hotline Miami is one of those different games to come out in the indie section. To be honest, When I first saw the game I didn't think it belonged there until I got a peak at the gameplay. When it went up on sale not to long ago I thought I would give it a try and right away loved the game. At the begining of the game your greeted by a homeless looking guy who teaches you the basics then you meet the masked three (that's what I call them anyway.) I'm not going to talk about story and ruin it for ya so lets talk game play.

    Since the game is a over the top shooter it doesn't look like something you could be stealthy at, but that's where your wrong. Depending on what you like in weapon wise and what your mask does you could go silent or all out but the trick of this game is to plan your attack instead of going right at it, a simple thing that many game developers tend to push to the side to help out newer gamer's. As long as you think before you act you can get threw this game pretty well but remember, just like your enemies can be killed by one hit, you can die with one hit as well so trial and error is needed when you first start playing just to get use to it. The more you kill the more points you collect and you can make more points by how bold you get, how many chained kill you collect and even how you take them out and with allot of different weapons to choose from you wont get tired trying something different like switching your shotgun for a base ball bat or sword.

    I myself haven't beaten the game just yet but from what I have played I am very pleased with this game, but to be honest I like to see more for this game and if not this one then I hope to see allot more for Hotline Miami 2 (yes they are already developing a second game). From what I can tell, after you beat the story there isn't much else for you to do except play the sorry again and get high scores on all the levels. What this game could use is a user friendly level maker along with some sort of server system to share these levels to other players, but that's just a personal idea since I don't want to just drop this game after defeating it. Besides that, I really dig the music in this game. It kind of gave me a 80's movie soundtrack feel to it and goes well with the entire gameplay feel.

    In the end, I'm giving it a 8.5 (even tho I can only give it a 8 here) for trying something new and winning.

    P.S. Notice I never talked about graphics beyond 'over top shooter'? That's because graphic's is never something you should worry about. you don't need good graphic for a good game, the game could look like crap and still be awesome.
    Expand
  6. May 7, 2013
    8
    Hotline Miami is definitely one of the most unique and fascinatingly brutal games to come out in a while. It lures you in under the guise of aHotline Miami is definitely one of the most unique and fascinatingly brutal games to come out in a while. It lures you in under the guise of a retro experience, but once it has you in its long, greasy, blood-stained hands it will keep you there until the credits roll. Its nonstop, run-and-gun game play keeps the player invested and open to trying new ways to complete each of the game's extremely challenging levels. The visual style is fantastic, presenting itself in a dirty VHS tape, late 80s vibe that is equal parts Scarface and Vice City. Also, the game is better played with a controller, as touchy mouse controls make aiming and fighting significantly harder in my opinion. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    Hotline Miami is a poor game that suffers from a long drag of trial and error approach. This game presents itself as a gritty, top down,Hotline Miami is a poor game that suffers from a long drag of trial and error approach. This game presents itself as a gritty, top down, action arcade game, but the game forces players to play exactly the way the game was supposed to be designed and leaves no room for spontaneity, experimentation or replay value.

    It's only a matter of minutes before you understand the A.I. pathways and exploit it to reach the objective. Every level is exactly the same with no variation.

    The story is juvenile at best. The music is mundane. And the trippy art style that constantly flashes colors at you and swerves the screen is literally sickening.

    So much for a game made using 'Game Maker'... *sigh*
    Expand

See all 205 User Reviews