I Am Alive Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: I Am Alive thrusts you into the role of a lone survivor in a believable, dark and insecure post-apocalyptic world. One year after the Event, a worldwide cataclysmic event that wiped most of the human race, a man struggles for survival in a desolate city as he tries to reunite with his long lost wife and daughter. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    85
    I Am Alive is brutal; gripping; captivating; depressing; miserable; and almost always utterly brilliant. An unforgettable game that reminds you why we all love this medium.
  2. Sep 14, 2012
    81
    I Am Alive gives players a pure survival experience at a low price.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    80
    Even with its irritating design decisions I am Alive gives you intense, well-presented survival action in an apocalyptic setting.
  4. Oct 21, 2012
    73
    A dark action-platformer which shows fleeting signs of life, but lacks the vivacity to climb above the competition.
  5. 70
    Original survival horror is perfect in setting up a grim atmosphere. You can find many flaws in the game but there are very strong moments which make the game worth trying. [Nov 2012]
  6. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    The end of the world has been portrayed in many ways, but no one has done in a way so grey and bland as I Am Alive. The concept itself is quite good, and at times it's really enjoyable to traverse the dusty town of Haventon, playing a psychological game with it's pesky inhabitants. Most times though, it simply is a clumsy and mediocre experience.
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    40
    I may be alive, but I am completely dead inside. [Nov 2012, p.82]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 63
  2. Negative: 31 out of 63
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    10
    Truly one of the best games I've ever seen. The game is a sweet Survival game with well thought out linear maps. The cool replay feature is fun, giving you time to think of other options to replay a scene - cool!. Graphix are decent, and the price was right . Collapse
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    Tight focused levels no real exploration but limited resources and straight up survival creates a brooding sense of tension and apprehension. Not one for hard games as a casual gamer but this I did enjoy the experience. Expand
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    7
    well its not the game of the year but for a staggering 14$ on steam this is an great title that i was enthralled with through the entire campaign for the low budget it is truly brilliant what was don't here could very easily pass as a AAA title. Only con is its not long enough witch is a good thing because i wanted to keep playing an progressing. I just don't understand what people want from this title giving it 1-2 and 0's for what it is a great game a 7 in my book. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2013
    5
    Sheesh. It really grates my cheese when a good game misses. "I Am Alive" (terrible title) is a dystopian adventure in the likes of the Assassin's Creed and Just Cause series. The biggest difference is that they actually took the time to test it. IAA is a complete mess in terms of the game mechanics. It has - quite possibly - the worst controls I've ever played. Even worse than Tomb Raider Angel of Darkness. Well, OK, it's not that horrid. It's glitchy, sloppy and only works correctly when you're walking. It is absolutely infuriating and it almost had me throwing my PC out the window. That rant aside, the game does have it pros: It looks very dire. Gray, dusty and grainy. Maybe a bit too grainy. The foley work is great: Nice ambient sound and vocals are clear and well performed. The story is simple but interesting given the main character is compelling and honest and worth taking to the end. I like the stamina concept when climbing but didn't make much sense when jogging. The use of items to increase stamina and health is great and sensible. Now back to the cons. The biggest con (as described before) are the controls. The attack engine is atrocious. It is unforgivably bad. In order to use your default weapon you must hit the USE function when the game says you can. You can't just attack early or late or to the left or right or wherever - only to meet your enemy, wrestle with machetes for whatever reason and then you attack. It's simple asinine. The other weapons can be used at your discretion and they function adequately. The controls fail again when climbing. It doesn't always turn left or right when you need it and if you don't have the stamina you die. Grrr. You can't pick up/climb/fall/slide,etc. to the elements in the environment - it is very limited in terms of interaction. The game just has so many failings that there really isn't much incentive to play it at all. I paid $5 for it and I was more insulted by the time I wasted than the $ I spent. It's such a dame shame - this could've been epic but instead it drove me up the wall. Literally. ;-) Expand
  5. Sep 12, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I hate linear-like-a-corridor games. I hate checkpoint games. I hate games that don't let you save your progress whenever you want. I hate games that despite offering me graphic detail and effects adjustments, it still looks rubbish with everything on maximum, on a high-end machine. I hate games that don't let you have freedom and total control over your character, and only let you perform certain actions in designated areas. Most of all, I hate console ports to PC with a passion. Despite all that, I still wanted to give this game a try, and I have to say I was enjoying it for the first two hours. I had already left the apartment and was chasing the little girl, then my character died while fighting the three thugs. It's fine, I don't mind that, really don't. Just load the last save, right? Wrong. The last save was done at the sewage entrance, something like 90 minutes worth of playtime for me, since I was 'exploring' the map (while pretending it was an 'open world' kind of a game), searching for supplies, and getting used to the game controls. The character is almost always outnumbered and under-equipped, so it will die a lot along the way. Not that I mind that, as I said, but with such rubbish save system, there is absolutely no way I am going to keep playing this game. Shame I paid 15 bucks for that. Still, I'll give it a score of 3, based on the first two hours. But my advice? If you are thinking of buying it, save your money. Go to the cinema instead, if you feel like spending it. *** UPDATE: Having only one bullet in your pistol and a machete, how can you possibly defeat a gang of four thugs, two of them armed with pistols that seem to have infinite ammo? Well, you can surprise kill one of them magic pistol guys, but before you finish, your character is already dead meat. Anyway, I tried it again, and went as far as finding the medicine for the little girl. I was trying really hard to enjoy it, thinking "hey, just do it for the challenge, man!", but the character ended up dying so many times that I got really frustrated and angry, and this is no good. I just deleted the game, and I am not going back to it. Expand
  6. Sep 8, 2012
    2
    Well intended and potentially interesting but so poorly executed that it is boring as hell. The colour palette is bland and feels flat and the checkpoint and reset system is broken and unwieldy and simply unfair even on normal. Seriously a bad game that I want to forget. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    0
    I don't know if it was just me, but this game is broken, there were many textures that wouldn't load, the 'un loaded gun' method wouldn't even work, and because of some of these errors I wasn't even able to fully play the game. This game isn't bad, it's just broken. Expand

See all 63 User Reviews