• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2011
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    With IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover, a beloved series crashes and burns.
  2. May 18, 2011
    45
    The new chapter of the IL-2 Sturmovik series is a dark one--Cliffs of Dover is visually stunning but technically hobbled. [July 2011, p.74]
  3. Jun 9, 2011
    40
    Should never have been released in its current state - simple as that. [July 2011, p.72]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 67
  2. Negative: 19 out of 67
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    Ok, checked it again...hopeless serious performances issues, nearly unplayable near ground on high spec pc...even lower resolutionOk, checked it again...hopeless serious performances issues, nearly unplayable near ground on high spec pc...even lower resolution hopeless....needs SERIOUS attention before becoming the greatest flop ever! Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    With the arrival of Team Fusion patch this week (Go to the ATAG forums) which addressed:

    - Netcode - Atmospheric issues now flying and
    With the arrival of Team Fusion patch this week (Go to the ATAG forums) which addressed:

    - Netcode
    - Atmospheric issues now flying and fighting occurs to altitude (10Km)
    - Contrails
    - Specular glint off canopies Flight model performance
    - A host of other bugs and fixes including optimization of code

    This is the absolute best propeller simulation you can fly. More immersive and detailed than even Rise of Flight. GUI is still a bit primitive in areas but what flight sims have ever had great gui's?

    This sim like all others, requires tweaking to get the most out of it. Ton of undocumented features. Stop by theairtacticalassaultgroup.com for help and tips.
    Full Review »
  3. May 26, 2011
    3
    What has it been? Over 7 freaking years! The loyal IL2 fan base has waited patiently and respectfully. We all had the utmost confidence inWhat has it been? Over 7 freaking years! The loyal IL2 fan base has waited patiently and respectfully. We all had the utmost confidence in Oleg and team. This is what we get? This is a very sad day in flight sim land. If people like me (been a dedicated fan and loyal supporter of IL2 since 2001) are giving it bad reviews you know something went dramatically wrong. Close to a decade of dev time...I just cannot comprehend this. I am just rambling now because I am so utterly shocked.

    One comfort in this mess is most of us know Maddox and crew will work hard to address these issues. They have a stellar track record of doing so. Better then any other developer in the industry and that is fact. They have a long road ahead and have a tremendous amount of work to do though. I mean...I have always kept up with my gaming rig (mainly for this series) and the game was running at 1FPS...1 Frame per second!!

    I see Steam pushed its release till July now. I guess the reason is obvious. I just do not understand why Oleg and crew released the game in this state in other territories. I mean...its been this long and I am sure there was little pressure on them to push it out. Having said all that I will gladly buy this game again when Steam releases their copy. I want nothing to do with my current one. Sound odd I know but I want to support the combat flight sim market and especially the team that created the greatest flight sim of all time. I just want it to be playable. Hopefully in the end...the review average will go up. So weird seeing a Maddox game with such a bad score.
    Full Review »