• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2011
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. May 27, 2011
    63
    This could be a really great game, cockpits, landscapes, the planes – everything is perfectly done, full of details. But why is there no documentation, why are the most important functions hidden in large menus and why is there no support for certain flight sticks?
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    75
    If given time we`re pretty sure that all the issues will be fixed, and after a few months Cliffs of Dover will be a master piece, but right now it falls short on some fronts. Stutters and low frame rates being the main problems.
  3. Oct 2, 2011
    50
    A successor to the legendary combat flight simulator video game insults its name and its fans by its state of the released version. The game can be partly forgiven for the upcoming revisions that are to improve its gaming experience. I dare say this game is going to be truly great in the following year. Unfortunately, now it's suitable only for those lovers that are patient and loyal to the combat flight simulator games.
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    60
    There's one hell of a game in there, trying to escape. And I think, given the responsiveness and the past track record of the development team and the plans that lie ahead in the next few months, that escape will soon occur.
  5. May 16, 2011
    80
    Cliffs of Dover promised to be a more special, different and complete installment than the previous ones. And to a certain extent it is, with a long duration and plenty of options. Those looking for a simulator will be pleased and satisfied.
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    71
    Virtually the better flight simulator at the moment, but with bugs and low optimization. Waiting for some patches and improvements.
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    With IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover, a beloved series crashes and burns.
  8. Mar 11, 2014
    66
    Il-2 Cliffs of Dover is full of hidden potential, but due to a disastrous amount of bugs, design decisions and totally unfinished features it remains well hidden. The project failed to deliver on the promises and was finally abandoned – but not by modders. And that, my friends, is why this could still become someone's finest hour. [Dec 2013]
  9. Jun 9, 2011
    40
    Should never have been released in its current state - simple as that. [July 2011, p.72]
  10. 60
    Maybe a great and unforgettable experience is knocked down by very poor optimization and extreme user "unfriendliness". We'll wait and see if patches change our mind. [Issue#204]
  11. May 22, 2011
    72
    Flashes of brilliance and masses of bugs. Cliffs of Dover needed at least another six months in the hangar. [June 2011, p.84]
  12. May 18, 2011
    45
    The new chapter of the IL-2 Sturmovik series is a dark one--Cliffs of Dover is visually stunning but technically hobbled. [July 2011, p.74]
  13. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    Forget about Birds of Prey. Ten years after the release, IL-2 Sturmovik gets a genuine sequel. Thanks to the brand new engine the scenery is as stunning as ever, the flight modeling is insanely accurate and the multiplayer is simply best in the genre. [Apr 2011, p.83]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 53
  2. Negative: 17 out of 53
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    Ok, checked it again...hopeless serious performances issues, nearly unplayable near ground on high spec pc...even lower resolution hopeless....needs SERIOUS attention before becoming the greatest flop ever! Full Review »
  2. May 26, 2011
    3
    What has it been? Over 7 freaking years! The loyal IL2 fan base has waited patiently and respectfully. We all had the utmost confidence in Oleg and team. This is what we get? This is a very sad day in flight sim land. If people like me (been a dedicated fan and loyal supporter of IL2 since 2001) are giving it bad reviews you know something went dramatically wrong. Close to a decade of dev time...I just cannot comprehend this. I am just rambling now because I am so utterly shocked.

    One comfort in this mess is most of us know Maddox and crew will work hard to address these issues. They have a stellar track record of doing so. Better then any other developer in the industry and that is fact. They have a long road ahead and have a tremendous amount of work to do though. I mean...I have always kept up with my gaming rig (mainly for this series) and the game was running at 1FPS...1 Frame per second!!

    I see Steam pushed its release till July now. I guess the reason is obvious. I just do not understand why Oleg and crew released the game in this state in other territories. I mean...its been this long and I am sure there was little pressure on them to push it out. Having said all that I will gladly buy this game again when Steam releases their copy. I want nothing to do with my current one. Sound odd I know but I want to support the combat flight sim market and especially the team that created the greatest flight sim of all time. I just want it to be playable. Hopefully in the end...the review average will go up. So weird seeing a Maddox game with such a bad score.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    0
    Unplayable on a decent gaming machine, even with settings down low. Complete waste of money. Was really looking forward to this after seeing the previews and playing the original. Full Review »