• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover takes place in 1940 during the pivotal aerial battle for the skies over Britain between the British, the German and the Italian air forces.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    Forget about Birds of Prey. Ten years after the release, IL-2 Sturmovik gets a genuine sequel. Thanks to the brand new engine the scenery is as stunning as ever, the flight modeling is insanely accurate and the multiplayer is simply best in the genre. [Apr 2011, p.83]
  2. May 16, 2011
    80
    Cliffs of Dover promised to be a more special, different and complete installment than the previous ones. And to a certain extent it is, with a long duration and plenty of options. Those looking for a simulator will be pleased and satisfied.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    75
    If given time we`re pretty sure that all the issues will be fixed, and after a few months Cliffs of Dover will be a master piece, but right now it falls short on some fronts. Stutters and low frame rates being the main problems.
  4. May 27, 2011
    63
    This could be a really great game, cockpits, landscapes, the planes – everything is perfectly done, full of details. But why is there no documentation, why are the most important functions hidden in large menus and why is there no support for certain flight sticks?
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    60
    There's one hell of a game in there, trying to escape. And I think, given the responsiveness and the past track record of the development team and the plans that lie ahead in the next few months, that escape will soon occur.
  6. 60
    Maybe a great and unforgettable experience is knocked down by very poor optimization and extreme user "unfriendliness". We'll wait and see if patches change our mind. [Issue#204]
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    With IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover, a beloved series crashes and burns.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 60
  2. Negative: 18 out of 60
  1. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    I obtained the simulator long after it's release (During late 2012), and I assure there are no bugs left. It's now the most accurate and advanced dogfight simulator available. The flight model is just as reality, the graphics are stunning (though, I currently possess a highly expensive Nvidia graphics card), the IA flies even better than real humans and the scenery is incredibly realistic. The only thing I find annoying of this game is the lack of playable planes. Basically, the only fighters which are flyable are the Bf.110, the Bf.109, the Spitfire and the Hurricane (in lots of variants, of course). IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover recreates the WWII dogfights as never seen before. If you are planning to buy a Dogfights Simulator, don't even think in wasting your money on a modern war game, Cliffs of Dover is way more realistic. It doesn't matter if you want a modern war simulator, spend your money on a REAL simulator. (Also, never forget that the WWII Dogfights are the funniest and toughest ones!) Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Team Fusion modded game is by far the most fun, realistic, and historic combat simulator I've played (since mid 90's.) Online ATAG server is a blast.
  3. Apr 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a fly simulator WWII with great realism, terribly volatile models and model life will leave you speechless ..
    There is a small problem but bugs that will be overcome very quickly with the next update to prepare.
    Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    I don't know what this game was like at release, but after Team Fusion mods it is amazing! I've been playing War thunder and came across some footage of this game on youtube and it caught my eye.
    Great plane modelling and realism, plus amazing community with really fun online multiplayer.
    Well worth trying out.
    Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    If you have not played this since the recent patches take another look. Some work is still needed but it flys just fine now. Many groups of the OLD IL-2 game are migrating over to the new ClOD... it's a pleasure to fly and looks fantastic.. alot here to offer the simulated crowd.. not perfect..but best in WWII fly planes to date. Expand
  6. May 26, 2011
    3
    What has it been? Over 7 freaking years! The loyal IL2 fan base has waited patiently and respectfully. We all had the utmost confidence in Oleg and team. This is what we get? This is a very sad day in flight sim land. If people like me (been a dedicated fan and loyal supporter of IL2 since 2001) are giving it bad reviews you know something went dramatically wrong. Close to a decade of dev time...I just cannot comprehend this. I am just rambling now because I am so utterly shocked.

    One comfort in this mess is most of us know Maddox and crew will work hard to address these issues. They have a stellar track record of doing so. Better then any other developer in the industry and that is fact. They have a long road ahead and have a tremendous amount of work to do though. I mean...I have always kept up with my gaming rig (mainly for this series) and the game was running at 1FPS...1 Frame per second!!

    I see Steam pushed its release till July now. I guess the reason is obvious. I just do not understand why Oleg and crew released the game in this state in other territories. I mean...its been this long and I am sure there was little pressure on them to push it out. Having said all that I will gladly buy this game again when Steam releases their copy. I want nothing to do with my current one. Sound odd I know but I want to support the combat flight sim market and especially the team that created the greatest flight sim of all time. I just want it to be playable. Hopefully in the end...the review average will go up. So weird seeing a Maddox game with such a bad score.
    Expand
  7. Aug 15, 2013
    0
    Game is a mess even after official updates before the company dumped its support of it. Waste of money even at bargain bin price. Also system specs are a joke, you need a beefy cutting edge graphics card. and cpu. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews