• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover takes place in 1940 during the pivotal aerial battle for the skies over Britain between the British, the German and the Italian air forces.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    90
    Forget about Birds of Prey. Ten years after the release, IL-2 Sturmovik gets a genuine sequel. Thanks to the brand new engine the scenery is as stunning as ever, the flight modeling is insanely accurate and the multiplayer is simply best in the genre. [Apr 2011, p.83]
  2. May 16, 2011
    80
    Cliffs of Dover promised to be a more special, different and complete installment than the previous ones. And to a certain extent it is, with a long duration and plenty of options. Those looking for a simulator will be pleased and satisfied.
  3. Apr 15, 2011
    75
    If given time we`re pretty sure that all the issues will be fixed, and after a few months Cliffs of Dover will be a master piece, but right now it falls short on some fronts. Stutters and low frame rates being the main problems.
  4. May 27, 2011
    63
    This could be a really great game, cockpits, landscapes, the planes – everything is perfectly done, full of details. But why is there no documentation, why are the most important functions hidden in large menus and why is there no support for certain flight sticks?
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    60
    There's one hell of a game in there, trying to escape. And I think, given the responsiveness and the past track record of the development team and the plans that lie ahead in the next few months, that escape will soon occur.
  6. 60
    Maybe a great and unforgettable experience is knocked down by very poor optimization and extreme user "unfriendliness". We'll wait and see if patches change our mind. [Issue#204]
  7. Apr 15, 2011
    40
    With IL-2 Sturmovik: Cliffs of Dover, a beloved series crashes and burns.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 67
  2. Negative: 19 out of 67
  1. May 30, 2011
    10
    Simply the best flight simulator since Il-2 1946. It is currently plagued with technical issues and thus require a high end machine to play. ISimply the best flight simulator since Il-2 1946. It is currently plagued with technical issues and thus require a high end machine to play. I was playing on an AMD 3800+ with two GTX460 and it was playable over the water only. I had been playing it mostly as a sim with full engine management so when it is fully ready for massive online battles I will be ready for the full realism servers. Now I have an i7 2600k and it plays well even at 5170x1050. I know it will only get better just as 1946 did. Please be patient; I know that's hard for gamers :-) Expand
  2. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Team Fusions patch has improved this sim 200%. The graphics are clean, the FM are amazing, and the glinting off the planes in the distance isTeam Fusions patch has improved this sim 200%. The graphics are clean, the FM are amazing, and the glinting off the planes in the distance is just incredible. TF has definitley resurrected this game...... Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    With the arrival of Team Fusion patch this week (Go to the ATAG forums) which addressed:

    - Netcode - Atmospheric issues now flying and
    With the arrival of Team Fusion patch this week (Go to the ATAG forums) which addressed:

    - Netcode
    - Atmospheric issues now flying and fighting occurs to altitude (10Km)
    - Contrails
    - Specular glint off canopies Flight model performance
    - A host of other bugs and fixes including optimization of code

    This is the absolute best propeller simulation you can fly. More immersive and detailed than even Rise of Flight. GUI is still a bit primitive in areas but what flight sims have ever had great gui's?

    This sim like all others, requires tweaking to get the most out of it. Ton of undocumented features. Stop by theairtacticalassaultgroup.com for help and tips.
    Expand
  4. Feb 14, 2014
    9
    I don't know what this game was like at release, but after Team Fusion mods it is amazing! I've been playing War thunder and came across someI don't know what this game was like at release, but after Team Fusion mods it is amazing! I've been playing War thunder and came across some footage of this game on youtube and it caught my eye.
    Great plane modelling and realism, plus amazing community with really fun online multiplayer.
    Well worth trying out.
    Collapse
  5. May 3, 2011
    7
    I have shure, the 1C team will solve all the problems, remenber the first IL-2 expend years to arrive a hardware to run the game em perfectI have shure, the 1C team will solve all the problems, remenber the first IL-2 expend years to arrive a hardware to run the game em perfect mod, i strong sugest a patch to open sofware game to ingrease the interest of MOD community in help to in improve the game. Expand
  6. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    Ok, checked it again...hopeless serious performances issues, nearly unplayable near ground on high spec pc...even lower resolutionOk, checked it again...hopeless serious performances issues, nearly unplayable near ground on high spec pc...even lower resolution hopeless....needs SERIOUS attention before becoming the greatest flop ever! Expand
  7. Dec 2, 2014
    0
    this game is still broken. Abandonware. Stay away. The flight models feel plastic. I might be biased because I have gotten used to thethis game is still broken. Abandonware. Stay away. The flight models feel plastic. I might be biased because I have gotten used to the flight models from 777 games of Rise of Flight and Battle of Stalingrad but really, terrible feel to this game. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews