Independence War 2: Edge of Chaos PC

Independence War 2: Edge of Chaos Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Badlands cluster. 100 years after the first Independence War. Your father was killed by the Corporations for a bad debt. And you've spent 15 years rotting in jail for trying to get justice. Now it's time for vengeance. Command four futuristic battlecruisers and a band of revolutionaryThe Badlands cluster. 100 years after the first Independence War. Your father was killed by the Corporations for a bad debt. And you've spent 15 years rotting in jail for trying to get justice. Now it's time for vengeance. Command four futuristic battlecruisers and a band of revolutionary pirates into an all-consuming battle against impossible odds...because there just isn't enough Space for everyone! [Infogrames] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. A gorgeous and absorbing space combat sim, but one that takes time to get to grips with.
  2. Game Informer
    90
    I would seriously caution a rookie to cut his or her teeth on something a bit more forgiving, but the rest should feel free to jump in with both feet. [Nov 2001, p.128]
  3. A thoroughly enjoyable simulation that is refreshingly different compared to the cavalcade of action, strategy and RPGs cluttering the marketplace today.
  4. 81
    The combat is fun but tends to be short, but the physics are good and the game is forgiving.
  5. 80
    If you're a hardcore space simmer, you won't find better out there - it really is as simple as that. The sheer depth of the thing combined with the freeform universe, gorgeous graphics and near-perfect physics engine means you could play this non-stop for weeks and just not get bored.
  6. 80
    While the game immerses you in an enormous, compelling saga, its sheer complexity will scare off all but the most dedicated space-combat aces.
  7. Next Generation Magazine
    60
    Gamers not hooked on star jaunts and sci-fi melodrama may find the slow physics and steep learning curve too daunting. [Nov 2002, p.113]

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. S'JetK
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    A game I missed to play in 2001. A game that must be on everyone's list for excellence in various aspects of simulations and space A game I missed to play in 2001. A game that must be on everyone's list for excellence in various aspects of simulations and space genre. I-war is definitely a gem and an achievement of the past. Even now, rarely will we find such game quality. I am playing I-war EoC as I make this personal review. The sheer open endedness and the options are what keeps me playing it. Plus with the latest technology in graphics allows me to play this game with a much fresher look. The story is also something that hooked me from the start. With Newtonian physics involved, this game has quite an special appeal to it. I've yet to play a game that equals it or surpasses I-war EoC. I hope there will be a future I-war 3 in the making with similar elements to make it a niche of some sort much that of Star Wars trilogy set. I give I-war EoC a solid 10 because a game of such quality should not go unnoticed. An amazing game for an old timer. Review 2009 by S'Jet Keller. Expand
  2. StevenL.
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    Very good, buy it.
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Just the best space simulation I've ever played!
    A true spatial simulation with Newtonian physics, if we advance (it takes just as driven to
    Just the best space simulation I've ever played!
    A true spatial simulation with Newtonian physics, if we advance (it takes just as driven to start a reverse return in the opposite direction)
    History is basic but really nice.
    Even today, it is graphically good, dynamic combat, HUD & LDS, a system of trade and construction, customizable and ships with "Torn Stars" fan addon make it the best spatial simulation of all time.
    Try him !

    Community site: http://www.i-war2.com/
    "Torn Stars" fan addon site: http://www.torn-stars.com/
    Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2012
    10
    An excellent "open sandbox" space simulation. The storyline starts quite classic, but it doesn't bring the games down anytime. The graphicsAn excellent "open sandbox" space simulation. The storyline starts quite classic, but it doesn't bring the games down anytime. The graphics were goods when it came out, and aged quite well, simples but efficient. Music is good and fits very well the atmosphere, sounds meets what we ask them. Don't expect to play this game without a joystick, but with one the controls are amazing. All the interface works awesome : straight to the core. Physics, dynamics of combat, random attacks and piracy make the world very lively. All you could ask could be random events, and some are quite brought by storyline. There's some addons out there, some very little but which will improve the game a lot (like location finder, you'll understand if you play the game), and some extends the game playtime a lot, like freeform. I'm still looking for a space-sim game to be that good since then. A must have for any fan of the genre. Collapse
  5. Rubberman
    Nov 27, 2002
    10
    Still playing.
  6. BradG.
    May 19, 2006
    10
    this is the most amazing game I have ever played! nothing beats it and i have yet to find anything which paralells or even comes close to the this is the most amazing game I have ever played! nothing beats it and i have yet to find anything which paralells or even comes close to the sheer realism and flexability of the game. very inspiring, beautiful graphics, exciting storyline, brilliant open-endedness and all round paralell with the likes of Elite and MS space sim. It's a shame that the sequal was cancelled. Expand
  7. KeithL.
    Nov 14, 2001
    9
    There is not to much not to like. Excellent game.

See all 9 User Reviews