• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 2, 2005
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 330 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 330

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dante
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    @Janis Y. AND Paul C.

    Have you heard about a piece of hardware called GAMEPAD ???
    Well, if you get a GAMEPAD the controls are near perfect. I play with XBOX gamepad on my PC and the control is perfect and so is this wonderful game.

    Best adventure game since Broken Sword series. Game of the year IMHO.

    PS For all FPS-slash-everything/everyoune-into pieces-fans STAY AWAY from this game.
  2. RobertS.
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    Simply outstanding.
  3. FortunaM.
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    its the very different type of game I have ever played and no doubt I liked it very much though the controls are a bit.. but you'll experience a totally diffrent enviroment.The thing I like the most about it is its movie like play and you can give different shapes to your story.I appreate the creator and request the creator to make more like this game like INDIGO PROPHECY 2 or its the very different type of game I have ever played and no doubt I liked it very much though the controls are a bit.. but you'll experience a totally diffrent enviroment.The thing I like the most about it is its movie like play and you can give different shapes to your story.I appreate the creator and request the creator to make more like this game like INDIGO PROPHECY 2 or something like that. Expand
  4. RobertM.
    Apr 15, 2006
    10
    Simply a stunning feat of adventure gameplay. A must play for any gamer.
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    0
    Insultingly stupid. The game has a difficult-enough time trying to make the lousy dialogue interesting by adding quick time events to conversations, but then it has one of the worst stories I've ever heard in a video game! I wish I could be exaggerating, but just look it up on Wikipedia if you don't believe me. QTE is no way to play a game, especially a linear one.
  6. Oct 26, 2013
    0
    What is wrong with you people? The writing is horrible in this game, everything is uninspired. The plot has massive glaring faults in it, and David Cage just throws whatever he feels like into the plot.
    David Cage is a failure of the game design.
  7. DavidF
    Feb 7, 2009
    10
    To call "Indigo Prophecy" a great game is an understatement -- "Indigo Prophecy" is a masterpiece. This is a beacon to compare games to. This is a new standard. This is truly a work of art. "Indigo Prophecy" is one of the greatest games ever made.
  8. JanisY.
    Dec 7, 2005
    0
    I cant afford to pay 50 bucks for someone elses experiment game. Grafix from 5 years ago 'n worse controls i ever seen on a game. Storie seems ok, but can't be bothered to play silly parlour games to progress. Who has to play kerplunk, buckaroo or simon sez with bad design control system to avoid arrest in reel life?, no one thats who! Dunno how plot finishes - can't be I cant afford to pay 50 bucks for someone elses experiment game. Grafix from 5 years ago 'n worse controls i ever seen on a game. Storie seems ok, but can't be bothered to play silly parlour games to progress. Who has to play kerplunk, buckaroo or simon sez with bad design control system to avoid arrest in reel life?, no one thats who! Dunno how plot finishes - can't be bothered to play it. either get 20 bucks back now from shop for "new" poor game...or i wait and suffer trying to play bad game , I don't they give me anything for "old" poor game. Back to shop it goes. Expand
  9. Mike
    Jul 22, 2006
    6
    Wow! this game gets more and more silly as you play it!! The simone sayz controls dont make it any better either. BUT! the game did keep me intrested ebough to finish it and see what happens in the end. Overall. if the controls would be better this game game would of been ok.
  10. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    The most cinematic game played in a long time. You are the main character, you make the story and you remain amazed by a game so good. That cold, sad atmosphere is brilliant supported by snow, amazing soundtrack and by far the same attitude in story. I can only fell a little disappointed by it's SF going, but with such gameplay, atmosphere and story, I can't love this game and put it inThe most cinematic game played in a long time. You are the main character, you make the story and you remain amazed by a game so good. That cold, sad atmosphere is brilliant supported by snow, amazing soundtrack and by far the same attitude in story. I can only fell a little disappointed by it's SF going, but with such gameplay, atmosphere and story, I can't love this game and put it in the top of my all time favorite games (side by side with a few others) Expand
  11. John
    Nov 22, 2005
    3
    Quite "SIMPLEly" a 9 out of 10 story/game with a "SAYzer" of your wrists with the so stupid SIMON SAYS button mashibng parts. I cannot even get anywhere with this game because of this mashing method of gameplay. I play adventures and this is suppose to be an adventure, vut not with that button mashing!. Why it could not have been set at just 4 buttons on easy and medium and 8 buttons on Quite "SIMPLEly" a 9 out of 10 story/game with a "SAYzer" of your wrists with the so stupid SIMON SAYS button mashibng parts. I cannot even get anywhere with this game because of this mashing method of gameplay. I play adventures and this is suppose to be an adventure, vut not with that button mashing!. Why it could not have been set at just 4 buttons on easy and medium and 8 buttons on hard I am so sad to say this game is only worth a 3 to me now. The button mashing makes this game just a third of what it could have been. I just know I will never finish this story because of the button mashing, so I will hang on for a couple weeks to see if a cheat of somesort comes out and if one does not I will re-sell this game to some other shmuck. "A flawed gem?" my a*se! A gem that has been turned into a piece of coal I think. SIMON SAYS "don't bother! Expand
  12. PaulC.
    Dec 2, 2005
    2
    Control system for consoles only - rubbish control methods (mouse control is a hash as well - seems like an idea bolted on as a concession to us poor PC users) Graphics ok, but mini games (hide the evidence / guess the right reaction) are basically a lottery. Fail / redo (lather rinse repeat) Not a terrible game, but certainly don't understand the hype. Yes it's a third person Control system for consoles only - rubbish control methods (mouse control is a hash as well - seems like an idea bolted on as a concession to us poor PC users) Graphics ok, but mini games (hide the evidence / guess the right reaction) are basically a lottery. Fail / redo (lather rinse repeat) Not a terrible game, but certainly don't understand the hype. Yes it's a third person adventure, and there aint been many. Felt myself re-installing Max Payne 2 (very different game - but far more rewarding and controllable and somehow similar to Farehhait all the same). Expand
  13. Sh1tface41
    Feb 18, 2008
    2
    It's funny how very different people's opinions on things can be. I've often seen games/movies that i LOVE being trashed by people and vice versa, and I'm never able to understand the other's point of view, no matter how hard I try. This is one of the latter. I think it's AWFUL. I played the PC version of this and a few comments point out the terrible control It's funny how very different people's opinions on things can be. I've often seen games/movies that i LOVE being trashed by people and vice versa, and I'm never able to understand the other's point of view, no matter how hard I try. This is one of the latter. I think it's AWFUL. I played the PC version of this and a few comments point out the terrible control method. Apparantly this is better with a dual analogue control pad which, if you use one, might make this game enjoyable. From my experience though, of using mouse and keyboard, it's unplayable. The game starts off very well with an intriguing premise and a very absorbing logical puzzle to solve that immersed me immediately and i thought i was in for an excellent game, but after this first scene the game goes VERY rapidly downhill. It's seems to think it's so bloody clever and there's an air of this pomposity throughout. This really grates as the game is in fact very poor. It has very limited interaction of the worst kind (controlling a character from one point in a maze of paths to another in order to trigger another cut-scene, with no reward or danger along the way is not in my book 'interaction', but rather a waste of time and poor game design.) and subgames ranging from boring, pointless and illogical if you're lucky (the simon says games), to absolutely infuriatingly badly designed ones (the army base section) which is made 'challenging' by a stupid control method, unclear rules and having to repeat the ENTIRE annoying thing from the start when you mess up. Again in my opinion this is poor game design that i thought ended some 10-15 years ago. This sums up the game for me. A collection of extremely poor games that would have been considered below average 15 years ago, being used to forward an intriguing, but poorly told plot, all held together with nice 3d graphics and cinematic effects pretentiously stolen from tv shows of the time. For a good story driven game there are many others much better than this: Omikron the nomad soul by the same company as this is flawed but much better. Grim Fandango, Psychonauts, Max Payne all tell better stories in a better way and with an actual game driving it along as well. This game i imagine would appeal to people who like games like Myst and Riven. This isn't meant as a put down of any of these games but just as a guide to who would enjoy this game. Asta la vista I gave this 2 for the excellent first scene as zero seems a bit harsh but it also definately doesn't deserve a 10! 10? A perfect game? Give me a break. Expand
  14. AndyN
    Jan 1, 2009
    10
    This is one of the best games I have ever played; it's very sad that it never got the publicity it deserved. Indigo Prophecy deserves to be played foremost because it is INNOVATIVE. Every choice you make through the game affects the overall outcome. The control scheme is tons of fun to play; while it is easy to learn it can be difficult. Indigo Prophecy reminds us that memorizing This is one of the best games I have ever played; it's very sad that it never got the publicity it deserved. Indigo Prophecy deserves to be played foremost because it is INNOVATIVE. Every choice you make through the game affects the overall outcome. The control scheme is tons of fun to play; while it is easy to learn it can be difficult. Indigo Prophecy reminds us that memorizing long strings of button commands is not what makes a true gamer. The plot is the best story I have ever seen in a video game; in fact, it's about the only video game plot that I've ever deemed movie worthy. If you haven't tried out this game yet, it's a must have to your gaming library! Expand
  15. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    Revolutionary, ambitious and cinematic. It's a shame there's not more games like Fahre... uh, Indigo Prophecy. From what I can gather players love or hate it; I think of the game as a film where you can influence the outcome.
  16. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    I plowed through this game in a day. After I finished, I realized I really didn't appreciate the ending, but it was still awesome. This game is the reason why I bought a ps3 this holiday season just to play heavy rain.
  17. Sep 12, 2012
    10
    Quite simply, a masterpiece. Fahrenheit is, like Another World or Metal Gear Solid, the delivery of a cinematic genius (David Cage). Recommended without hesitation (but make sure you have a good gamepad to play with).
  18. DG
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    People seem to keep ragging on the game play, and while the simon says circles aren't highly exciting, you have to realize that this is an adventure game, a genre that has historically been completely point click. The point of an adventure game is generally story, with most actual game play being dominated either by puzzles, or in this case, rapid decision making in stressful People seem to keep ragging on the game play, and while the simon says circles aren't highly exciting, you have to realize that this is an adventure game, a genre that has historically been completely point click. The point of an adventure game is generally story, with most actual game play being dominated either by puzzles, or in this case, rapid decision making in stressful situations -- where the results can largely affect the story. Action sequences involving the colored circles I felt made the player feel the intensity of the situation -- and to keep you focused and engaged to intense cut-scenes without distracting you from them. This is a rather revolutionary adventure game in that it is dominated by decision making that actually has real affect on the plot. I found this game to be more gripping and exciting than many action games, because making the wrong decision in this game can have negative and irreversible consequences for my character that are not just 'you're dead, respawn and try again.' Expand
  19. randomguy
    Feb 20, 2006
    0
    The story of the game is good, full of clichees but still good enough to keep me pounding through the simonsez sequences. The only thing I can't forgive is the fact that even though I don't have the slowest of the boxes out there and I can play for instance HL2 with plenty of eye candy, sometimes in the middle of the game the frame rate drops dramatically for a couple ofThe story of the game is good, full of clichees but still good enough to keep me pounding through the simonsez sequences. The only thing I can't forgive is the fact that even though I don't have the slowest of the boxes out there and I can play for instance HL2 with plenty of eye candy, sometimes in the middle of the game the frame rate drops dramatically for a couple of secconds. Now normally this wouldn't be a *huge* problem, but when I'm dodging cars while fleing from cops chasing me with guns blazing and I grab that ledge of the copter with only two lifes left and the game gets sluggish and I KEEP DYING OVER AND OVER AGAIN NO MATTER HOW HARD I KEEP POUNDING ON MY KEYBOARD - NOW THAT'S WHERE I DRAW THE LINE!!!! Expand
  20. WhiteMage
    Dec 9, 2007
    0
    The Simon-Says-Controls and the time restraints make this a game for trigger-happy console kids. It is not an adventure.
  21. GrahamG.
    Jan 19, 2008
    4
    Why bother to write a review for a three year old game? Because it
  22. E
    Sep 5, 2008
    3
    The gameplay isn't exactly spectacular (ie simon says, button mashing), so this game hinges entirely on its plot. The plot is mildly interesting until the last half where it becomes total garbage. Some things are totally left unexplained (I didn't realize the protagonist was actually Neo in disguise) and logical plot lines become taboo. Seriously, there are B-movies with more The gameplay isn't exactly spectacular (ie simon says, button mashing), so this game hinges entirely on its plot. The plot is mildly interesting until the last half where it becomes total garbage. Some things are totally left unexplained (I didn't realize the protagonist was actually Neo in disguise) and logical plot lines become taboo. Seriously, there are B-movies with more logical stories than this game. Expand
  23. JG
    Jan 4, 2009
    4
    I definitely had high hopes going into this game. I was told it was a good game with a great plot. Unfortunately this game did not come anywhere near those hopes. The main problem I have with this game is the Simon says circles. It fealt akin to playing DDR without the music. Or worse, playing DDR where the music is out of sync with the button pressing. The background action scenes were I definitely had high hopes going into this game. I was told it was a good game with a great plot. Unfortunately this game did not come anywhere near those hopes. The main problem I have with this game is the Simon says circles. It fealt akin to playing DDR without the music. Or worse, playing DDR where the music is out of sync with the button pressing. The background action scenes were epic in their own rights and would have made good cut scenes but the Simon says gameplay distracts the player from enjoying them. The mash left and right gameplay mechanic seemed pretty inane too. As for the plot, I fealt it had way too many moments of deus ex machina for me to handle. I was okay with the first half of the story but not the second half. The Oracle randomly chose the only person in the world who posseses the chroma? There is a purple clan? The purple clan is artificial intelligences? Artificial intelligence can reanimate people? I would have been okay if it had only been a crime drama but the super natural killed it for me. Shifting between the detective and the suspect prevented me from rooting for any side of the struggle. I was merely playing a role, doing what was expected. This game feels like it wants to be a movie, but I don't think the plot would allow it to succeed as one. Expand
  24. WowieZ
    Dec 25, 2009
    4
    It is a decent experience until you make it halfway the game. I got stuck on a scene where i had to climb a drainpipe and walk over a roof ledge. After failing a thousand times, i left the game and never looked back. I'm the first to admit that i sucked at the game, but since this should not be just a game but an experience, sucking at it should not be an issue. All in all: wibbly It is a decent experience until you make it halfway the game. I got stuck on a scene where i had to climb a drainpipe and walk over a roof ledge. After failing a thousand times, i left the game and never looked back. I'm the first to admit that i sucked at the game, but since this should not be just a game but an experience, sucking at it should not be an issue. All in all: wibbly wobbly controls and dito story make Fahrenheit a game that dissapoints in the end. Expand
  25. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    "Indigo Prophecy" is a great movie-like game that encourages the players not to only screw around with the AI and do what they say, but the talk and communicate with them. YOU make the story; YOU are the player and YOU are the director. Every move of yours affect the game....I mean movie. Overall a must play epic game that, like "Mass Effect", counts your every move.
  26. Jan 2, 2011
    2
    In short, this game is a steaming pile of crap. Don't buy it. It relies on the (theoretically) interesting concept of making you perform every mundane in-game action either by doing a combination of button-presses, or by playing a game of "simon." This unfortunately gets sour very quickly, becoming at best monotonous, and at worst downright punishing as you'll be forced to replay the sameIn short, this game is a steaming pile of crap. Don't buy it. It relies on the (theoretically) interesting concept of making you perform every mundane in-game action either by doing a combination of button-presses, or by playing a game of "simon." This unfortunately gets sour very quickly, becoming at best monotonous, and at worst downright punishing as you'll be forced to replay the same segments of the game over and over again, without any way to skip through the (occasionally lengthy) in-game cutscenes. As other reviewers have mentioned, using a gamepad is absolutely necessary to properly control this game, however even with the correct control device, it's still an awful game. Additionally, the story takes a dump during the last 1/3 of the game and finishes in such an anticlimactic and absurd way that it effectively makes the previous 2/3 of the game a complete waste. Avoid if you enjoy having fun. Expand
  27. CletusB.Skeetingtons
    Nov 25, 2005
    0
    This game is a horrible excuse for a dynamic game. It is not dynamic in any way shape or form. No matter what you do the exact same thing happens. This game had so much potential. Basically all it is, is a movie that you have to win a mini game in order to see the next part. Imagine if you were in a theater and they made you play mini games at various parts of the movie and kicked you out This game is a horrible excuse for a dynamic game. It is not dynamic in any way shape or form. No matter what you do the exact same thing happens. This game had so much potential. Basically all it is, is a movie that you have to win a mini game in order to see the next part. Imagine if you were in a theater and they made you play mini games at various parts of the movie and kicked you out if you didn't win the mini game. There were only 3 endings and it is completely decided at the end which ending you get no matter what you've done the entire game. LAME... Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2011
    0
    Simply thinking of this game makes me shiver.
    You see, QTE's are only good when not Under/Overused, other wise they either get annoying (Under) and unexpected, and repetetive (Over) and dull.
    The controls make me wanna punch baby's. Terrible tnak-controls and redundant QTE's = Farenheit. The plot is just completley retarted, and the action is just nerve-wrackingly-Awful. I'm suprised I
    Simply thinking of this game makes me shiver.
    You see, QTE's are only good when not Under/Overused, other wise they either get annoying (Under) and unexpected, and repetetive (Over) and dull.

    The controls make me wanna punch baby's.

    Terrible tnak-controls and redundant QTE's = Farenheit.

    The plot is just completley retarted, and the action is just nerve-wrackingly-Awful.

    I'm suprised I hasted 8 hours of my life on this peice of ****

    F*ck you steam for making me interested in buying it!
    Expand
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    story- great story, involves you playing as a guy that gets randomly possessed by some type of cult leader. and its up to you to save him or leave him to his fate. gameplay- controls are great for this type of game. its action adventure, but has 'QTE' which always makes the gameplay inifinitely more fun to play. the way it uses the controls, like combining keys and etc. interesting andstory- great story, involves you playing as a guy that gets randomly possessed by some type of cult leader. and its up to you to save him or leave him to his fate. gameplay- controls are great for this type of game. its action adventure, but has 'QTE' which always makes the gameplay inifinitely more fun to play. the way it uses the controls, like combining keys and etc. interesting and creative. video- the graphics are solid. not something to brag about but the gameplay makes it great.

    audio- great music and effects make the game like an interactive movie.

    overall- its like playing an interactive movie, and you have to be always aware. because 'QTE' happens just like that.
    Expand
  30. MattB.
    Sep 18, 2005
    9
    Exceptionally well-crafted adventure game. With Fahrenheit, Quantic Dream proudly stride back into the spotlight, returning from something of a sabbatical after Omikron. The narrative is always gripping and makes sure to involve the player at every opportunity. The plot draws you in and manages to elicit a myriad of emotional responses to the tale you unfold. The characters are intriguing Exceptionally well-crafted adventure game. With Fahrenheit, Quantic Dream proudly stride back into the spotlight, returning from something of a sabbatical after Omikron. The narrative is always gripping and makes sure to involve the player at every opportunity. The plot draws you in and manages to elicit a myriad of emotional responses to the tale you unfold. The characters are intriguing and likeable. The musical score one of the best arrangements I've heard, each song perfectly conducive to the scene it plays over. You know you've just played a truly great game when the elation of completing it is coupled with a sense of sadness that it's over. The game loses a point in my opinion as the last quarter or so sees a rather speedy move to conclude the story. In the closing stages the exposition could've done with more detail and opportunity to understand the facets, perhaps with an extra chapter or two. Alternatively, more hints scattered around the game's earlier acts. Nevertheless, taking into account the quality of the game overall, such annoyances can be forgiven. After all, sometimes it's not the destination that's important, it's the journey. All in all an utterly compelling adventure full of suspense, intrigue and excitement. All of which are carried out with artistic and technical flair. Game of the year for me. Expand
  31. JamesS.
    Nov 18, 2005
    5
    Massively overrated game. Remember the old Dragons Lair games where the action sequences consisted of you pressing buttons at the right time to proceed. This is exactly the same. I suspect most people who have rated it highly havent finished the game because i thought it was an ok game up until about 3/4 of the way through. Then the plot turns to putty and events happen for no logical Massively overrated game. Remember the old Dragons Lair games where the action sequences consisted of you pressing buttons at the right time to proceed. This is exactly the same. I suspect most people who have rated it highly havent finished the game because i thought it was an ok game up until about 3/4 of the way through. Then the plot turns to putty and events happen for no logical reason whatsoever. I completed the game twice choosing a different ending for each. Surprisingly enough i was greeted with pratically the SAME ending for each (exact same character modelling and scene) All in all extremely sloppy and gratuitous ending (totally unnecessary and ridiculous sex scene at end) It seemed like the developers just rushed the game to completion because of some deadline. for 39.99 you get to *play a game-movie hybrid* for 5 hours. Money well spent? Expand
  32. AslanL.
    Jan 7, 2006
    5
    I was totally loving this game and then the most frustrating and stupid gameplay and control decision in gaming history has totally frustrated my enjoyment of this game. The simon says button mashing is horrible. Even after hitting all the right keys in the correct manner you still FAIL - it sucks so bad you have no idea. The story in this game is incredible I was totally engrossed in the I was totally loving this game and then the most frustrating and stupid gameplay and control decision in gaming history has totally frustrated my enjoyment of this game. The simon says button mashing is horrible. Even after hitting all the right keys in the correct manner you still FAIL - it sucks so bad you have no idea. The story in this game is incredible I was totally engrossed in the characters and the plot but the mini games just take the cake as ruining what could have been an incredible gaming experience for me. Sorry but maybe a bit more play testing and market research could have helped the development team realise that when you have such an amazing story ruining it with crazy button mashing interludes is the worst design decision ever. Fantastic story. Nice experiment. Bad game. Collapse
  33. Matt
    Jan 9, 2006
    8
    Very good and though lesser minds may tell you, the game is not anything near button mashing. The 'simon' system is so well done that once you get better at it there's still more to master. Don't be fooled though, definately a slow paced title for those who like constant action.
  34. ME
    Apr 27, 2006
    8
    Great story, good dynamic, good graphic. I must say, I almost gave up the game because of
  35. DygoT.
    May 11, 2006
    10
    I've played the first three hours of this game and I am completely impressed. I've never had such an immersive experience in my life, and it's rare for a game to become more than a game by making your choices have real consequences in the world (game world, of course, but the game makes it feel real to you). The action sequences are thrilling because they are very I've played the first three hours of this game and I am completely impressed. I've never had such an immersive experience in my life, and it's rare for a game to become more than a game by making your choices have real consequences in the world (game world, of course, but the game makes it feel real to you). The action sequences are thrilling because they are very challenging and demand the kind of perfection you're asked for in the real world. It does help to have some DDR/StepMania practice (remember that sometimes the buttons light up twice in a row, and also you have to press doubles simulatneously). Enjoy- the soundtrack is amazing, and I can't believe people complain about the graphics. It's also probably the best "movie" you're gonna see- and also be the protagonist of- this summer. Expand
  36. SimoW.
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    AWESOME, took me bout 8 hours, but my god I was soo involved in the storyline! Absolutely amazing, never had this much fun in a video game in so long. Very impressive sound and graphics are pretty good, nothing compared to 360 obviously. Thumbs up from me, fantastic game.
  37. Freedomgirl
    Nov 8, 2008
    5
    The intriguing storyline that really sucks you in from game start is marred by action sequences that go from mildly entertaining to downright annoying (my forearm is still aching from some of those 'hit the arrow buttons as fast as you can' sequences.) However I did enjoy being able to switch characters, all of whom I thought they did a nice job of developing. I don't see The intriguing storyline that really sucks you in from game start is marred by action sequences that go from mildly entertaining to downright annoying (my forearm is still aching from some of those 'hit the arrow buttons as fast as you can' sequences.) However I did enjoy being able to switch characters, all of whom I thought they did a nice job of developing. I don't see this as a "ground breaking" game format that adventure companies should start modeling their games after, as there is actually very little interaction with the environment, no puzzles of any sort, and no inventory to tinker with. Had this game behaved more like Dreamfall where you mostly guide your character with subtle interaction with the environment as a means to unfolding more of the story, I would have given it a higher rating. Expand
  38. LucasN
    Jan 4, 2010
    8
    Sure the graphics aren't "great", but the gameplay, and user defined storyline make this game an absolute MUST play. Trust me, you will play this game through without playing another game! It's that good!
  39. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    Quantic Dream went off to a good start in the mass gaming market with Indigo Prophecy, aka Fahrenheit. The story was morbid, unique, engaging, and hit just enough high notes early on and mid-game to compensate for the trainwreck that it would become near the every end. The characters were well written and believable, and the world that was built by Quantic felt very real and life-like forQuantic Dream went off to a good start in the mass gaming market with Indigo Prophecy, aka Fahrenheit. The story was morbid, unique, engaging, and hit just enough high notes early on and mid-game to compensate for the trainwreck that it would become near the every end. The characters were well written and believable, and the world that was built by Quantic felt very real and life-like for the most part. At the time it was released, the game was truly innovative and both the director, David Cage, and his studio were hailed as "visionaries" and propelled to celebrity status in the gaming industry. Their "visionary" status would continue to be held in high regard with the release of 2009's Heavy Rain for the PS3, which resembled IP/Fahrenheit in terms of plot, but also differed from it by revolving the story around a murder mystery (rather than having the perpetrator identified from the very beginning as the main protagonist as in IP/Fahrenheit). Both games were well-earned commercial and critical successes for the studio, and both are well worth a playthrough for any serious gamer. Expand
  40. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    The worst piece of **** in the world. Do not play it, do not buy it, do not even look at it. If you look at it, you better gouge your eyeballs out, otherwise the **** SPACE ALIEN A.I. MONSTERS WILL COME FOR YOU.
  41. NickH.
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    Clocking in at 10 to 15 hours, Quantic Dream's "The Indigo Prophecy" may seem overpriced at $39.99. It isn't. In fact, we have another contender for Game of the Year (one of the very few titles up for it in this lackluster '05 season). This game shines in nearly every single aspect. Especially the writing. I've never seen this quality of a screenplay in a videogame Clocking in at 10 to 15 hours, Quantic Dream's "The Indigo Prophecy" may seem overpriced at $39.99. It isn't. In fact, we have another contender for Game of the Year (one of the very few titles up for it in this lackluster '05 season). This game shines in nearly every single aspect. Especially the writing. I've never seen this quality of a screenplay in a videogame before, but I expect to see it duplicated in the future - it's that damned good. No games, currently, can match the depth of the characters in "Indigo", nor it's tight plot. This is to be expected, of course, as this game is billed as a cinematic experience. The amazing voice acting only serves to reinforce that this game is a "movie". What isn't expected is for all that to come together so well with player interaction. For me, the way "Indigo" is controlled couldn't be much better. The control system is basically a grim version of 'Dance Dance Revolution.' Lame? Not when your governing an explosive fight scene or car chase, I assure you. Many critics are complaining about the "need of a gamepad" to enjoy these sequences as it's to hard to use a keyboard. That's not true, there's a little something called key mapping - it's in the options menu, find it and use it. Speaking of what can be found in the options menu, graphics only get average marks in "Indigo". It was designed for consoles, that's obvious. Even when you crank up the resolution and enable every single special little flair on our mighty PCs, the graphics still wind up being bland. Also, a grain effect has been filtered over your view - much like that of a sercurity camera. Does this add to the 'realism'? No. It seems like a mask, to prevent us from seeing the dull textures and jaggies that mar the landscape. It almost detracts from the experience. Well, not really. The score, however, is undeniably perfect - nothing more needs to be said about it. Well then, why not a 10 out of 10 you ask? The end chapter. Yes, this game does stumble. Big time. Everything seems rushed, like they had written themselves into a corner and need to blow their way out with a stick of explosive laziness. It's sad to see such a great story come to such a lackluster, generic, tension free ending... but, the path to your destination is the most important. That's what you'll see and that's what every other developer will see as they try to duplicate this stunningly original game. If anyone needs proof that games can be art, they need look no further than "The Indigo Prophecy". This game will stick with you for months to come... unless you replay it first. ***Final Review:: Story- 9.1/10 ; Graphics- 6.9/10 ; Sound- 10/10 ; Control 8.9/10 ; Gameplay- 9.1/10 ; Value- 8.1/10 ; Fun Factor- 9.1/10 *** Expand
  42. AndrewA
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    Yeah the graphics aren't spectacular, but the story is so engrossing that i don't care. It's good to see a game that isn't afraid to step outside the box (and still be good).
  43. PhilP.
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    Amazing game, you just can't let it go until it's finished.
  44. StuB.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    Absolutely fantastic game. Original, engrossing and a fantastic storyline.
  45. Jeffthejiff
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    This game might not be perfect, but it is a revolution of sorts for the 'dead' adventure genre. A lot of thought and innovation has been put into the game, mixing in a fantastic Hollywood plot - something you dont see often. The voice acting is completely spot on, and the horror and action scenes are respectively chilling and intense. The game is designed to be a true This game might not be perfect, but it is a revolution of sorts for the 'dead' adventure genre. A lot of thought and innovation has been put into the game, mixing in a fantastic Hollywood plot - something you dont see often. The voice acting is completely spot on, and the horror and action scenes are respectively chilling and intense. The game is designed to be a true interactive movie, and they certainly fulfill their aim. However, the control system is one of the most annoying i have come across, almost ruining the game Grim Fandango-style. Actions are made with mouse gestures, that is, dragging the mouse around the right way. Making more complicated gestures to precision can get very frustrating. Conversations are also controlled using gestures. You are given about a 3 second time limit to choose the correct conversation path and make the gesture. This is made even more difficult with the paths only being described in one word rather than the whole sentence being shown. At points, the screen is split, showing different angles or characters, much like '24'. Cinematic approaches like this really draw you in to to the atmosphere of the story. However, when you're walking around somewhere with several immovable cameras pointing at your feet, it can get slightly tricky. With all its downfalls, it still gets a solid 9/10. Fahrenheit is a breath of fresh air for gaming, and i truly do hope that more games like this are developed. Expand
  46. Staiko79sta
    Oct 17, 2005
    8
    Having played and finished this game, their are a few points I 'd like to add. Firstly ,it has been a (positive) very pleasant adventure-action game with a great graphics-camera engine which (negative) unfortunately was quite short for its money. It started of with a (positive) very nice scenario which however bacame quite (negative) complex with too much fantasy and clan bits at the Having played and finished this game, their are a few points I 'd like to add. Firstly ,it has been a (positive) very pleasant adventure-action game with a great graphics-camera engine which (negative) unfortunately was quite short for its money. It started of with a (positive) very nice scenario which however bacame quite (negative) complex with too much fantasy and clan bits at the end. It has an (positive) excellent decision making engine during the game in addition to a (negative) poor and a little boring action engine (its too easy I'd say). As one can see the game has several positve aspects that are followed by negative. However in general, the game offers a new style and mixture to its genre that leaves a pleasant feeling to its buyer-player. In the end, one will definitely feel that much effort has been put in this game and that is why i 'll give it an 8. Expand
  47. Alex
    Nov 26, 2005
    9
    Great game. The plot is remarkably well done, and the characters particularly stand out as believable and truly human. This game will certainly suck you in if you let it! On the negative side, the plot basically takes a couple " WTF" turns toward the end, and although it manages to barely fit together, it was dissapointing to see rehashes of ideas from the matrix and sci fi when the tone Great game. The plot is remarkably well done, and the characters particularly stand out as believable and truly human. This game will certainly suck you in if you let it! On the negative side, the plot basically takes a couple " WTF" turns toward the end, and although it manages to barely fit together, it was dissapointing to see rehashes of ideas from the matrix and sci fi when the tone from the outset was that of a dark, mature, crime thriller. Hm...You decide. But if you like your games mature and with great characters. good stories, and tons of emotional involvement with the player, then it would be hard to go wrong with this game. Expand
  48. CoolerTKool
    Dec 22, 2005
    9
    It's the best game I ever played. Only game time can be little bit longer...
  49. Justin
    Dec 30, 2005
    9
    This is probably one of the best games ive ever played. I had a little trouble with the default controlls and strange camera angles, but i dealt with the camera and just changed the controls. I love how everything you do has some sort of impact, whether something as big as a character death, or just an extra dialogue line. The game is truley unique, ive never seen anything like it. I This is probably one of the best games ive ever played. I had a little trouble with the default controlls and strange camera angles, but i dealt with the camera and just changed the controls. I love how everything you do has some sort of impact, whether something as big as a character death, or just an extra dialogue line. The game is truley unique, ive never seen anything like it. I didnt really like the ending much though. It seemed like it was rushed for release. oh well. Expand
  50. JennS.
    Jul 2, 2006
    10
    Fantastic! The game was so engrossing, mostly because you were constantly forced to change your button pushing and you were never sure what was going to happen next. Yes, I got frustrated towards the end of the game when I couldn't stop my characters from doing certain things and when the story went a little too fantasy for my liking. But overall it stands out from so many games now Fantastic! The game was so engrossing, mostly because you were constantly forced to change your button pushing and you were never sure what was going to happen next. Yes, I got frustrated towards the end of the game when I couldn't stop my characters from doing certain things and when the story went a little too fantasy for my liking. But overall it stands out from so many games now because it's easy to jump in and play (unlike many RPGs) and it's not about killing as many people as possible. If you take it as an interactive movie rather than something where you can actually change to plot in significant ways, then it's great. Expand
  51. I.L.
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    This was the most intriging games I'd played ever. The story, although it goes from Da Vinci Code to Legend of Zelda, is really interesting and the choices you make during the game actually make a big difference (unlike most other games, i.e. Fable) All in all I definatly recommend this game, but try to get the PAL version just to piss off the guys who got the sex scene banned from This was the most intriging games I'd played ever. The story, although it goes from Da Vinci Code to Legend of Zelda, is really interesting and the choices you make during the game actually make a big difference (unlike most other games, i.e. Fable) All in all I definatly recommend this game, but try to get the PAL version just to piss off the guys who got the sex scene banned from the NTSC version. Expand
  52. Vash
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    This game is as beautiful as your mind will allow you to understand, its so atmospheric, though its controls aren't that great, its an awesome game, the music its so beauty, the best adventure game I played so far.
  53. JamesL.
    Jun 22, 2007
    9
    Definitely an excellent game. The story is intense and amazingly well designed. The graphics flux from poor to amazing, and the controls are lacking, but the story and overall gameplay overpower it enough to justify a 9/10 rating.
  54. Jake
    Oct 14, 2007
    10
    The most amazing game ever. Two years after release and I still remember the story vividly.
  55. tHEiNQUISITOR
    Nov 2, 2007
    10
    One of the most amazing, well made games ever. An extraordinary, engrossing, emotionally provoking masterpiece, with beautiful haunting music. Anyone that doesn't like this game doesn
  56. DanR.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME. I actually ran into this game randomly when i rented it in at blockbuster. I think its one of the best games ever made. to bad its kind of a sleeper title. i love the story line. AND I LOVE THE CONTROLS. thats right i actually like the controls people.
  57. RazvanT.
    Jan 11, 2008
    10
    Sensational game !!! One of the best adventure games i've ever seen. It's incredible!
  58. Nortonm
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    This is amazing. Maybe people won't like it because they might think there is little action, but for me, well I care with story and plot. The graphics aren't that great, but I don't care at all .The plot, the murderers and the imersivenes makes me like this game alot. worry not, but if you're looking for weapons, action and pointless blood go look somewhere else. If This is amazing. Maybe people won't like it because they might think there is little action, but for me, well I care with story and plot. The graphics aren't that great, but I don't care at all .The plot, the murderers and the imersivenes makes me like this game alot. worry not, but if you're looking for weapons, action and pointless blood go look somewhere else. If you want some intriguing mystery, suspense, fear and overnatural, feel free to join the Indigo prophecy. Expand
  59. TylerW
    Apr 29, 2008
    8
    The story and gameplay is spectacular, but there are some sequences where it's more aggravating than fun. The camera can also be a bit dodgy if you are inside of any of the small buildings. Overall I loved it, but the parts that I got hung up on were just too much to look over.
  60. colins.
    Jun 29, 2008
    9
    This game has some visual flaws but the plot and storyline are key here. This is a beautiful game with many interesting twists that keeps you interested throughout the darkness and enjoyably light times of the game. A must have or at least try for gamers.
  61. AriH.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    I have to admit that on my first try I gave up on the game due to the consolish control scheme. A year later, armed with a gaming pad I decided to give it another try... and boy am I glad that I did! Fahrenheit truly introduces something innovative and fresh to otherwise stale gaming scene. The story shines and the characters are well fleshed out. My only gripes with game were the I have to admit that on my first try I gave up on the game due to the consolish control scheme. A year later, armed with a gaming pad I decided to give it another try... and boy am I glad that I did! Fahrenheit truly introduces something innovative and fresh to otherwise stale gaming scene. The story shines and the characters are well fleshed out. My only gripes with game were the frustrating action scenes, but lowering difficulty and switching between gaming pad and mouse depending on the minigame helped quite a lot. This is a true underdog of a game, don't let the negatives turn you down and you might be happily surprised. I sure was. Expand
  62. UlyssesB.
    Aug 23, 2008
    7
    The idea and the story where good, the graphics where above avarage, the controls where bad and the "fighting" and other parts where you have to use the controls where terrible because you have to look at what key you have to press and it rarely gives you a chance to look at what is happening in the game. Play it in easy mode, in medium you will spend hours trying to get pass levels and The idea and the story where good, the graphics where above avarage, the controls where bad and the "fighting" and other parts where you have to use the controls where terrible because you have to look at what key you have to press and it rarely gives you a chance to look at what is happening in the game. Play it in easy mode, in medium you will spend hours trying to get pass levels and it is not worth the hasstle. For the price it was worth buying. The good thing is that if you play it again you can choose to do other things that you did not do the first time. Play it a second time and do the opossite. Expand
  63. WesB
    Feb 28, 2009
    8
    In the since of story the game is magnificent! however the game play is quite lacking. every action has a reaction to the whole story, which i love the choices they give you so you have to think everything through. but they really needed to work on the sheer mechanics of the game though. its more of a great movie than a game to be honest
  64. Keltari
    May 10, 2009
    8
    This game has been out 4 to 5 years or so, and I just downloaded and played it from Steam. There are a ton of reviews out there already citing its pros and cons, so there isnt much of a point rehashing, when you can just google the reviews. If you like adventure games like Shenmue or something darker, this is a great choice. It definately has its flaws, but the things it does right are This game has been out 4 to 5 years or so, and I just downloaded and played it from Steam. There are a ton of reviews out there already citing its pros and cons, so there isnt much of a point rehashing, when you can just google the reviews. If you like adventure games like Shenmue or something darker, this is a great choice. It definately has its flaws, but the things it does right are pretty cool. If you havent played it yet and are looking for a fun diversion, this may be it. Expand
  65. EmmanuelS
    Nov 3, 2009
    8
    Started off giving this game a 9 for the sheer innovation of the gameplay; split screen camera, fantastic atmosphere, excellent voice-acting. However, as I played I was forced to lower the score for the insane amount of quick-time events. When I play an adventure game like this, I'd like to be able to just sit back and explore without all of the do overs. They would have been better Started off giving this game a 9 for the sheer innovation of the gameplay; split screen camera, fantastic atmosphere, excellent voice-acting. However, as I played I was forced to lower the score for the insane amount of quick-time events. When I play an adventure game like this, I'd like to be able to just sit back and explore without all of the do overs. They would have been better if they were better executed, but I fount the controls to be terribly off when I had to run to a spot, or sometimes the presses wouldn't respond in time for the events. All in all though, the game gets an 8 for its originality and clever story telling that really made me feel like I was changing the events of people's lives. Expand
  66. Mar 26, 2011
    7
    Indigo Prophecy is a button prompt game with real ambition. The story starts off as an intriguing murder mystery which places you in control of an innocent murderer and the cops after him. The first 2/3 of this game are enveloping and immersible, if you're into games like Heavy Rain. Most of the mechanics work, and the button prompt segments are top notch, even if dragged out a little. OneIndigo Prophecy is a button prompt game with real ambition. The story starts off as an intriguing murder mystery which places you in control of an innocent murderer and the cops after him. The first 2/3 of this game are enveloping and immersible, if you're into games like Heavy Rain. Most of the mechanics work, and the button prompt segments are top notch, even if dragged out a little. One of the more creative parts have you controlling a character with claustrophobia in first person, having you control their breathing while trying to solve a puzzle. The problem is that the story falls apart toward the end. What started off as a Dean Koontz novel turns into an episode of Dragon Ball Z. The ending scenes were laughably out of place, not to mention the use of plot devices such as deus ex machina. The experience was a step into the right direction, and despite it falling apart at the end, still makes for a great game. Expand
  67. Dec 16, 2012
    9
    An epic game, the graphics are not very good but the story is EPIC! The game style is very similar to Heavy Rain and I love that game. Everything is very excited in the game and if you failed a mission, is the end of the story! Only one thing in the game that i dont like its the Chrome thingy. That thing always made me fail missions :P
  68. Apr 28, 2013
    7
    Indigo Prophecy is equivalent to a B movie.You are not supposed to think to much about it, just go with the motion and have some fun. Its mostly QTEs with some level of point and click adventure gameplay.

    Let me also state that the story starts out more interesting than it finally ends up being, and things do get crazy in the middle. And the ending IMHO, is disappointing to say the
    Indigo Prophecy is equivalent to a B movie.You are not supposed to think to much about it, just go with the motion and have some fun. Its mostly QTEs with some level of point and click adventure gameplay.

    Let me also state that the story starts out more interesting than it finally ends up being, and things do get crazy in the middle. And the ending IMHO, is disappointing to say the very least, all this build-up for nothing?

    Still, this is still a game that i'd recommend to play. Buy it on a sale though...
    Expand
  69. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    I was really happy when I found out that this game came out for PCs (for years i was convinced it's a PS 2 exclusive Lol). It starts out great, the graphics are outdated but I stopped noticing after a few minutes of playing it. However, as the story proceeds it's getting worse and worse. Mainly Taylor's part of the story was a dissapontment for me, felt very lackluster especially in theI was really happy when I found out that this game came out for PCs (for years i was convinced it's a PS 2 exclusive Lol). It starts out great, the graphics are outdated but I stopped noticing after a few minutes of playing it. However, as the story proceeds it's getting worse and worse. Mainly Taylor's part of the story was a dissapontment for me, felt very lackluster especially in the end. In the end it goes wild and B-movie style with a...not terrible, but not in one bit satisfying ending ever. In fact thinking about the last 30 minutes of the game convinces you that it made no sense at all. Also *minor spoiler* matrix style combat!? Bullet dodging? I couldn't stop myself from laughing at this point. What games does right is the emotional dialogues. The voice acting is great 90 percent of the times and the conversations seem natural and satisfying. You can really feel immersed into the game at some points, actually caring about Lucas and (to a much lesser extent) about other characters. Also I have to say the music surprised me, really fitting the mood of each scene and helped me get through lenghty boring QTE sequences. Overusing them made me feel distracted from actually watching the action, as I was busy pressing buttons through an entire scene and failing it often as I tried to multi-task doing QTE and watching what is happening. This really irritated me as these qtes rarely fit what your character is doing right now (there are only 3 types of them) and failing them often forces you to go trough lenghty cut scenes that you've just watched.
    Overall even with the outdated graphics, story level degrading dramatically towards the end, some stupid qte mechanics and sometimes outright boring scenes, this is actually a GOOD TITLE and I recommend it to anyone liking the genre, as you won't find many better titles in it. Therefore a solid 7/10
    Expand
  70. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    I know QuanticDreams from the PS3 game Heavy Rain, so I decided to get this game and believe me... it is better than even Heavy Rain.

    Amazing and trilling game, which is not so long overall, but in my experience I prefer a game to be short but fun instead of long and give you room to get bored. This is a Jewel for the price that GOG offers it, taking into account that is 100%
    I know QuanticDreams from the PS3 game Heavy Rain, so I decided to get this game and believe me... it is better than even Heavy Rain.

    Amazing and trilling game, which is not so long overall, but in my experience I prefer a game to be short but fun instead of long and give you room to get bored.

    This is a Jewel for the price that GOG offers it, taking into account that is 100% compatible with last gen operating systems. Also take into account with a small hack (check youtube) you can even run it at FullHD 1920x1080 resolution.

    I have not finished it yet, but I do not care anymore about the ending, as the playing has been soooo damn good. I want to even start to play guitar again :P

    Get it!
    Expand
  71. Jul 12, 2013
    8
    this game comes with a new type of game play you're the director and you control how the story progress according to what you do during the game the story of the game was really really good but i didn't like it at the middle it became ridiculous but what this game is great about is the atmosphere as it has a great atmosphere in the end it was a great experience that every one should try
  72. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    It's a great game, and a very immersive one at that, however, the plot after the middle becomes really dumb, and the karma bar is a lame way to end the game.
  73. Nov 10, 2013
    7
    I really like the adventure genre, and I admire companies trying to modernize the genre. In this case, it turned out so-so. The story is engaging, and you'll often feel the characters stress during the different scenarios they will find themselves in. You'll get hints about some supernatural elements at the beginning, but I personally find the regular detective story and psychologicalI really like the adventure genre, and I admire companies trying to modernize the genre. In this case, it turned out so-so. The story is engaging, and you'll often feel the characters stress during the different scenarios they will find themselves in. You'll get hints about some supernatural elements at the beginning, but I personally find the regular detective story and psychological thriller aspects going on far more interesting. This makes the second half of the game a bit wishy-washy, as they cram in a lot of unbelievable events. Ranging from characters suddenly developing in unbelievable ways, to environments and scenarios seeming too far-fetched, or just generally too strange without any believable build up. The gameplay itself is typical for the adventure genre; interacting with objects and surroundings, hearing the protagonists thoughts and such. There are interesting dialog options and choices to be made, but they seem to impact the story very little; but they do help the immersion a lot. The problem is that the controller is one of the two greatest challenges in the game, as it first seems illogical and after some getting used to just comes of as bulky and often causes great annoyance during timed events. The other challenge is the "Simon Says" events, which happens extremely fast and will confuse you even more as you will have to rethink on how to use the controller. The Simon events will also distract you from the on-going cutscenes, as you will have to focus entirely on the button mashing mini game, rather than on the actual interesting stuff that's happening on the screen. But other than my problems with the controller, I find the game to be a good choice for anyone who likes the adventure genre. Expand
  74. Mar 23, 2015
    9
    A great game which mostly focuses on story and characters, something that is quite rare nowadays when graphics is the prime thing for most gamers. While it will probably not be fully appreciated by everyone, it is an extremely well done title that grabs you until you finish the game. There are plenty of moments where you'll have a decision to make and the decision may even slightly changeA great game which mostly focuses on story and characters, something that is quite rare nowadays when graphics is the prime thing for most gamers. While it will probably not be fully appreciated by everyone, it is an extremely well done title that grabs you until you finish the game. There are plenty of moments where you'll have a decision to make and the decision may even slightly change the whole story. The characters in this game feel completely realistic so it is really easy to become immersed in the whole storyline and actually root for somebody. If you are interested in crime investigations or mystery in general, this game will offer you something of both, packed with a great gripping story to boot and a ton of thrilling moments. I didn't give this title a 10, because the final third of the game turned into something different than what I had wanted. Nevertheless, if you haven't played this game yet and are looking for an adventure game taking place in realistic settings, you cannot go wrong. Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. A classic adventure pumped up with massive doses of adrenaline. [Nov 2005, p.82]
  2. Fahrenheit features a fascinating, ever evolving storyline that really does change in real time depending on your actions.
  3. It's about halfway through Fahrenheit that the wheels start to wobble. The game begins to veer away from its complex murder-mystery beginnings into the realm of pure fantasy, with a final chapter that can be hard to stomach.