User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3966 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 3, 2013
    0
    I started playing this in Alpha and didn't notice it change to Beta. Then when they release it as a finished game there was NO difference from Beta or Alpha apart from a few texture details and Zombie animations. As of March 2013 Still in *Alpha (in my opinion), most key features missing. Loads of glitches and unfriendly gaming environment due to high level of hackers. Your better of waiting for DayZ as The War Z is a complete rip off.

    *Beta games tend to be a fully working game with glitches as most key features are missing.
    Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2013
    0
    stood up from the DayZ mod in ARMAII this game is complete disgrace. The worst waste of money you can possibly imagine. Graphics, in my opinion, is not the worst point of this game, but rather gameplay and customer support from the hammerpoint interactive, who ban its users on forum who send complaints about the game, I am one of those who is banned on forum). I've been playing since Alpha version of the game and trust me there is no such a big difference between then and this version of the game. If you didn't get this game yet, DON'T! wait for the DayZ standalone. Expand
  3. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I have played this game for a few months now and while it certainly has his flaws, I severely enjoy it as of today still. It has steadily been improving with patches and updates and for 15$, I would say this definitely is a great one in my book.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is 10/10 this is what i need to tell.
    All are saying this is a game but is not,just let them make it better let them time.
    This is what i want to say abut this game
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    um ótimo jogo, no istilo que eu gosto, dificil, bem dificil, recomendo a todos!!!
    o pessoal que esta colocando o jogo como fraco, aposto que foram pegos com hack
  6. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    This game is terrible. It has the elements to become a great game. But the developers are obviously too lazy to make this game any better. The graphics are terrible. The game play is stale and barely rewarding. And even worse. When it was on steam, they had SCAMS! on their description. For example: "Multiple 120km2 maps!" LIES "We will be coming out with updates to improve your experience!" LIES. This game is obviously in ALPHA and they are lying by calling it an actual release. Im very disapointed with this game. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    Seriously what the hell, everything from texture to ToS are copied from else where. Dont fall for this copy and paste scam. Simply a game that's riding the popularity of zombie games, except this game is actually not so enjoyable, downloaded it, spent an entire hour trying to log in, in game items are not worth buying, massive fluctuation in game prices, and using BEING A BETA as an excuse to produce sub quality game Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2013
    7
    The War Z has a horrible reputation, that alone will drive away many potential buyers. For that same reason I did not purchase the game until only recently. After playing for a few days I will say that I am actually having fun. I play with one of my friends and we have a blast sneaking through dense zombie infested regions to get those few cans of food or that bottle of water (or if we're lucky a new weapon.) And then the thrill of hearing nearby gunshots and praying they are not meant for you is a pleasant change in the world of fast paced FPS games. What really made me purchase this game, though, was seeing that the developers were releasing new patches constantly. To me that means they really are trying to get the game to where everyone will like it. Hammerpoint clearly isn't a pro though and it is taking time. I like to think of the game at the moment as an in an alpha phase, and now that I purchased it I get to watch it grow and hopefully bloom. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    To start: if you play on a public server, get use to hackers and the "pay-to-win" item mall they have up. You find a few different types of pistols and rifles often but never mags for these weapons. So most the weight/space in your pack are just 7-10 bullet guns that you end up tossing on the ground. Food and water seem abundant in most areas as well. As well, the zombies seem to do some weird congregation into these sometimes large clusters of 3-15 zombies standing all on top of each other. The zombies have no AI at all and just go to the nearest person to them. Aggro radius of weapons and sound do not seem to match up and many people would agree the newly added skill tree doesn't even seem to add the benefits to the character.

    Also the game is ripped off of the well known Dayz mod. Everything they claimed on the steam page (the first go) is not "yet" implemented into the game. You are NOT able to sell items to vendors, you are NOT able to spawn in high population servers without getting aimbot killed or some kind of hack killed, 70-80% of the good items cost REAL MONEY to get, the other items cost an absurd amount of in-game money to purchase. There is only 1 map maybe about 90-100km2 and no transportation other than walking so trips start taking hours depending on where you start on the map (assuming you do not get killed by another player instantly). There are only 2 buildings in each settlement even in use currently; the vault where you store items and gear, and the vendor for purchasing ammo and other useful items. You are NOT able to leave notes for players other than with time capsules which cost REAL MONEY to obtain or you may get lucky enough to find one.

    The Steam page does NOT mention the game is in so called beta stage (when in my opinion the game is so broken it should be alpha if anything). You glitch through buildings often hoping up on top of the roof or just falling straight through dieing.

    All in all with all the broken mechanics of the game, the shotty graphics that still seem to eat up all your computers resources, and the pay-to-win item mall, I would say stay away from this game if at all possible or get buddy buddy with someone and a private server. In all honesty with all the blatant lies and all the false advertising, I'm surprised the customer base hasn't started a class action suit against them (or what ever it would be called lol I'm no lawyer). For this I give them a 0/10 but the game concept would be awesome with a competent company behind it.
    Expand
  10. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    this game is a piece of crap go buy amra 2 or 3 there better than this ecspalialy with the dayz mod this is a rip off of dayz but dayz is free so f this game
  11. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This game is unbelieveable so many bugs and glitches zombies sound like dogs anyone you see kills you takes hours and hours just to get to an area. The fact that you are an ex military character you cant even run for at least 10 seconds before getting tired. poorly executed game. it's broken!! The fact that you have to wait 1 hour just to respawn because of when a zombie hits you, your character takes damage 3 seconds later and you have to pay for items such as ammo or food with real money!! NO WAY!!! I paid $15 already! It should have been like every zombie you kill, you earn points so you can buy melee weapons or guns not pay with real money! Also everytime you die all your stuff that you spent hours looking for just disappear and when you spawn are left with nothing at all! A complete waste of time and money. This game is not finished. Hackers are also common my DAYZ the list goes on! Expand
  12. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This game is a festering pile of camel dung. It is not even a completed game it is a ALPHA it's not even a beta as it's PLAGUED with problems, glitches, players who will kill you sooner than look at you and a mod staff that bans people for NO REASON AT ALL. Yeah. Go screw yourself hammerpoint and go buy The Day Z standalone when it's released later this year. At least THAT game will be FINISHED and not a piece of crap alpha that we spent hard earned money on Expand
  13. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    The WarZ startet out as a promissing DayZ clone. It ended as scam...a rip off of the ideas that DayZ made so enjoyable. I really would like to go into detail but even thinking about all the bugs, not available features, bad support, horrible graphics and nearly criminal behaviour of the developers, I simply can't.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid this game whereever you can. Can one call
    that piece of code even a game?! And DON'T mistake it for DayZ. That's a whole different game with a whole different developer. Expand
  14. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    Blatant rip off of DayZ. They lied to the community about their origins only to then have the title pulled from Steam. Now it's back avoid at all costs, wait for Day Z to launch!
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    Do not purchase this game. Many features listed on Steam are completely missing. The price was reduced to less than $15 in order to squeeze as much money from the game before it dies. I repeat: do not purchase this game, you will not get what you think you are getting. Just look at the War Z forums to see the problems.
  16. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    This game is a the developers don't care about the players, they don't fix the bugs and just want money. this game. DayZ copy. Terrible gameplay, bad controls, boring gameworld, tons of bugs, tons of cheaters.
  17. Mar 30, 2013
    0
    The game is not bad. But so many Hackers destroy the game so hard. And its a double from DayZ and this is the better choice. I hope patches and a better anti hacking shield comes!
  18. Mar 29, 2013
    0
    DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY The gameplay is poor, character animations are downright awful, sound is average bordering on satisfactory and although the graphics look good at a distance, close up they are not so good at all. I was genuinely pained whilst playing this game; I wanted to enjoy myself but found it to be impossible. I cannot stress enough how bad this game is. If it were a mod (actually, it is a mod of HP's War Inc) that was free then fair enough (DayZ! Hello!) but to charge money for it is criminal. Conversely, I would happily pay the same money to buy the DayZ MOD the difference in quality is staggering, and although I admit that DayZ has its own faults they are not in the same league as The War Z's. I give The War Z a thoroughly deserved 0 out of 10. Expand
  19. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Please DO NOT BUY! This Item isnt what it says it is,the trailer looked great but no no no,it really not just dont waste your money when you can just buy something useful!
  20. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    War Z is one of the few games of this genre, and is still in development.
    The game is better every day, and many of these negative scores are the alpha and the beta of the game, the game has improved a lot.
    Many fixes were made, many bugs fixed, and the game is getting great.
  21. Mar 30, 2013
    1
    Just bought the game and let me tell u to just stay away.
    Worst game ever, once you die you have to wait for 1 hour to re-spawn your character!!!
    ITS SIMPLY A JOCK.
  22. May 3, 2013
    1
    The devs here had some decent ideas, and not much to show for it in the end. The War Z makes a lot of mistakes, including...

    1. Bad PR: The game had not much going for it. Marketed as a better version of DayZ, once complaints rolled in, PR did not handle things at all. The sort-of incorrect Steam page alone is enough for me to already feel iffy about this game.

    2. Bad Gameplay: While
    I understand that this game still is unfinished, there are some unforgivable issues. glitches, AI issues, and bad level design all factor into this issue.

    3. In Game Transactions: The biggest mistake War Z makes is the in game store. I found to my dismay that purchasing a weapon and dying from a glitch several minutes later does not mean that when I respawn, I'll have that weapon back. Bad move, and a bad idea...

    In all, The War Z is a blatant bad game, with wasted potential. If some changes were made, I could consider a higher rating. But War Z is, in it's current state, a shadow of what it could have been.
    Expand
  23. May 30, 2013
    1
    Be warned, The screenshots on their website are mostly prerenders.
    You are better off looking up youtube player footage to see what it really is like.
    Shame that it was so bad, it could have been something nice.

    Multiplayer is fun with friends, a lot of these maybe and green reviews are from people mistaking the enjoyment of doing that as a good game.
  24. Mar 31, 2013
    1
    To put it lightly this game is atrocious. There, for those of you with a short attention span there it is. Honestly what didn't go wrong with the game? Low-res textures, sluggish gameplay not to mention the fact that zombies are near invincible. Another mistake Hammerpoint have made are the in-game micro-transactions I'm talking about the marketplace where you can purchase ammunition for guns... this is a SURVIVAL horror game, why include this option? Steam also failed to notice that this game was only in its beta stages when they released it (I believe this has since been pushed forward to the full game or alpha) I made a definite mistake of purchasing this garbage game. I, and many others, think that this game is only a cheap rip of the hugely successful Arma 2 mod DayZ which I recommend you play. I'm not here to rant about this game as many people still enjoy the game but in all honesty most people are only playing this game because they want to get their moneys worth. If you have not bought this game... Don't. Simple as. This game is not worth the price on Steam and it was never checked as FALSE ADVERTISING was also used in the selling of this game. I'm mainly advising you not to buy this game but that's not to say I haven't had my fair share of enjoyable moments (even if they were short-lived). All in all this game is a cheap and terrible rip of a hugely successful game and I would advise anyone who is thinking about buying it to not buy it. I went down the War Z road and it's not a very scenic route. Expand
  25. Apr 1, 2013
    1
    It is a shame they allowed this game back on to Steam...let it die already. I could drone on about its numerous flaws or how I'm currently using the BBB to get my money back from them. Good idea for a game hopefully someone else does it right. I will never do business with these people again.
  26. Apr 1, 2013
    0
    By far one of the biggest farces in videogaming history. The combat is terrible, The game's files are client side, allowing anyone with wordpad to hack the game completely and utterly, The combat is terrible, The "Admins" cheat without punishment, Openly call campers in a thread on their official forums, The combat is terrible, It's got more bugs than that one scene in the mummy; You know the one. The combat is terrible, The only thing that will ever kill you is a hacker from 500 yards, with a mossberg. The combat is terrible, And frankly, this game is essentialy the biggest scam ever made to exploit people who actualy like zombie survivals. Did I mention the combat is simply awful? Expand
  27. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    This game is about as bad as it gets, how can you even call this a zombie survival game. The game has fully released and yet the dayz mod is about 30x better than this game. I feel outraged that a game that had so much potential has just fallen to the lowest depths of hell. This game is filled with hackers making it almost impossible to survive and overall the slot system is outrageous. I tend to die 10 min into the game due to the 1 and only puny map on the game and then i have to wait an hour just to play on one of my characters unless i spend even more money to revive myself early on. Do not buy this game unless your into zombie survival games, its the joke of the century. Collapse
  28. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    I'm not here to claim the game is perfect; It's far from that. What I will say is that I have logged almost 200 hours on this game, largely with a group of college friends, and it is one of the most satisfying MMO experiences I have ever had, despite its flaws. Yes, the AI is glitched. Yes, there are still some game mechanics that were promised by the developers that aren't in the game. For the $15 I payed for the game, I have been more than happy with the play I have had. The developers haven't been as active as they probably should be, but I enjoy the game, and that is what is most important for me. Expand
  29. Apr 9, 2013
    1
    In short the game was rushed in development, and it shows. I saw all the bad reviews and thought i would decide for myself, so thought i was prepared for the worst, turns out i wasnt. The point of this game was to be an accessable version of DayZ, but it isnt all that accessable once you are playing, you start with no weapon and in a world of the bloof thirsty zombies and equaly blood thirsty players this pretty much screws you over from the start, and stops you gaining an intrest in the game. this would be forgivable if the game were mmore sick than its modded counterpart, but it isnt. The idea behind the game is good and hope it lives on, but this game is not good and should never have been released as it is. DONT BUY IT, IT JUST ENCORAGES THEM TO MAKE MORE BAD GAMES Expand
  30. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    It isn't better than Dayz and won't be, however this game is worth playing for $15. The game continues to prove every 2-3 weeks with updates, so it's not a dead game. Also, it would be better with a better anti-cheat software for hackers. I'm playing this game while I wait on the Dayz SA. Hopefully, I can keep playing this game as it has a ton of potential. The game is fun now, but be warned that you can't trust anyone (for the most part) like in Dayz (lol). I think people hate this game because it's a tough game and the hackers. I would give it a try if you like zombie games. 8.3/10 is the rating I'd give it. Expand
  31. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    The War Z. One of the most pissed on games I have ever had the pleasure of playing, and I say pleasure based on how fun "The War Z" Tends to be.

    Let's get this part out of the way, "The War Z" has so many issues, there are almost too many to count. While there are Graphical glitches, game play glitches and the overall lazy attitude of the Dev Team, makes "The War Z" pretty terrible to
    play. One of the worst features (while also being the best) is the cash shop. It works better than any cash shop of any F2P (Free to play) model video game on the market, and this is a pretty big problem considering it is NOT a F2P game, but B2P (Buy to play) model. The cash shop is also very expensive, and it is very easy to to just toss your money away grabbing some fantastic items, only to loose them to a hacker just waiting for someone to walk by.

    There are a many great good things about "The War Z" as well.
    It is extremely fun. No matter how many glitches a game has, "cough cough, CS 1.6" games with glitches can be astoundingly fun, as long as the player can look past imperfections. We as gamers these days have been pampered with state of the art graphics, complete immersion, and a realistic sense to video games that is really a "Boner killer" when it comes to video games.
    Looking past that you can take random damage, that none of the equip items fit on the Female body, the Night vision goggles don't really do anything, is extremely laggy for no apparent reason on ultra settings and is made to be a "cash grab" (although what game isn't made to make money, I mean really guys. A point off because they want to make money?) I find "The War Z" to be one of the funnest games I've played all year.

    A lot of people out there are saying that the "DayZ" "Arma 2" Mod is better. In certain aspects it is, and in others it isn't.
    "The War Z" controls are extremely easy to get used to, and isn't a whole war simulator just to kill some zombies. The amount of detail put into "The War Z" should give it enough credit to bring it to quite a high point scale.
    For $15, you can see for yourself how good this game CAN be. I mean, it's only a measly 15 dollars, and with the continued updates to make the game better, it is sure to be an "acceptable" game by priss video game standards.
    It's worth a try if you can get your head out of DayZ's butt.
    Thank you for your time spent reading my review.
    Expand
  32. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    I purchased this game back before it was released, based on the screenshots and what the developers promised to the community.

    Unfortunately, none of the things that were promised to us were ever implemented. The graphics on the game appear to be out of date, the sound effects are comical, and the zombies have that super spidey-sense that allows them to know where you are coming from a
    mile away.

    Even after all those downfalls, I still tried to play the game, and I found a group of people who were actually fun to play with. Then I decided to buy another copy over steam for my brother. Within two hours of playing it, he was banned from the game and no one can tell him why.

    So, because of the horrible customer support that my brother received, and the all around bad game play, I had enough and quit playing. Now I'm out trying to save everyone the hassle of wasting their money and being abused by the developers only in the game to make more money and never help the community.
    Expand
  33. Apr 26, 2013
    0
    Haters will hate but games will scam aswell.. if they didnt want the bad remarks they shouldnt have lied and said shyt that was totaly untrue just to gain money and player base. but hey people will waste money on crap things and thats why game companys still do this stuff cause they CAN and people will pay for it and there cash shop items in a survival game anyways so yeah.. have fun with this game thats not worth the review people are making. Expand
  34. May 24, 2013
    1
    Thought this game was going to be interesting but the insult here is the amount of lawsuits and stolen engine pieces they have. THey tried to get by with minimal amount of paying for things and used only 10% of the engines full power... let alone even use the updated version of the engine from version 1.2 to 10.02.34. It's Insulting that they did that. and stole ideas from another game.
  35. May 26, 2013
    0
    This game is probably one of the worst multiplayer games I ever tried ever. It has very little redeeming factors to even consider recommending this to anyone. First the gameplay is very subpar, the developers seemed very lazy when making it, glitches and hackers run wild and the zombies are surprisingly more brain dead then a can of sardines. The promises the devs make never get fulfilled or stretch the little they actually do to make it look like they did something. and It's a game that's trying to cash in on the WarZ hype and it has had so many complaints it's a wonder that people are still playing and paying. There is a cash shop in the game and you need to pay real money after buying the game to get ahead of the game easily...so much for the survival aspect if you can just pay through it. The service was terrible I was banned about 8 hours in because of "hacking" which is a flat out WTH moment since I wasn't, customer support was less than helpful and said if I wanted to play again I would have to buy it again. Everything screams shady when there is a metascore this low because this game is just one thing. It's a money grab! Save it for something with a better reputation and a development team that really cares for the players. Expand
  36. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Dayz ripoff played for 5-10 hours total and i felt part of my brain dieing. Total ripoff game buy stuff with money from shop and you lose them when you die LOL how money hungry can you get .

    **** graphics AWFUL gameplay 50 player servers instead of the 100 they promised boring gameplay .
    Also 90 of the time you are going to be looking for food becouse there isint enough of it
    rest 10 of the time you are looting weapons oh and you find more weapons than bullets.

    TLDR: Unfinished game total ass developers that speak rude to theyr customers Shop with real money and lose items -10 10
    Expand
  37. May 30, 2013
    3
    This game is incomplete. You cant play fine with your friends because you kill him. All the time playing is wasted walking to differents places. The engine is very strange. A lot of cheaters, bugs and always the same, kill zombie, kill zombie, kill zombie... OH! A weapon, with only 4 bullets... what shall i do to have more ammo? Kill zombie!!!!!!!! Only 1 map If you want good things you must pay or waste a lot of time playing this bad game Expand
  38. Jul 30, 2013
    1
    This game is a joke. Not only is it plagued with bugs and glitches
    hackers and cheaters, Micro-transactions on a game payed for.
    But whats worst is that this game promised so much that it never delivered to teh point it's been removed from steam, and re-named
    Its horrid
  39. Nov 4, 2013
    0
    This is the worst Game I ever bought and played.It's not worth ANY MONEY AT ALL.Many Bugs,Nearly no promised features found its way into the Game,even after a one year period.
    Worst Game and worst Publisher i ever encountered.
  40. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    this game had potential... but then they on it with bad game play, glitches, and lies in the trailers... this game is by no stretch of the imagination worth it, avoid this game at all costs
  41. Jun 15, 2013
    3
    i bought this on Steam thinking this looked like a good game and it was pretty fun at least for the first few minutes. You can go in lots more buildings (unlike DayZ) and you can jump over things easier as well as climb on cars (which actually works to prevent death by zombie) and that is about all of the positives. The graphics are pretty bad, you can get hurt from even the smallest fall, spawn campers and glitchers are too common, there is no quest system or clan system, you have to wait a long time to respawn from death and you lose all of your stuff so there is no reason why you should not just make a new character and get all new stuff too, and purchasing stuff at the store by doing things in game takes ridiculously long(unless you use lots of real money) plus when you die you lose all the stuff you just bought with real money. It had potential to be a good game but it still feels unpolished and should be considered either a very terrible final product or still in Alpha stage. It is a shame that Steam decides to treat it as a finished product when it should be call Alpha still. If you want to play a open world zombie survival game then go play the DayZ mod for Arma 2 or wait for State of Decay to come out. Expand
  42. Jun 16, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is terrible,I have NEVER seen such bad balance in a game.

    Brutal player killing, bugs, missing features, and expensive micropayments are the true drawbacks of the impending zombie apocalypse.
    Expand
  43. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    I just bought this game with some tf2 items because some of my friends were playing it. I know that a lot of people says that this game is horrible, but I have a lot of fun with my friends playing it, I can't stop laughing when we scare the people with the pistols, killing zombies, epic fails, etc. If it is true that the game is beta, I will be very happy if the developers can finish this game and make it very awesome Expand
  44. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Great game getting better by the week.Hackers being taken care of quick and now there fixing the loot spawns. If you did not like it before but you only play on a reg server try to make friends with someone that has a pvt server and your game experience will go up.
  45. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    Did they really think changing the name from The War Z to Infestation: Survivor Stories is going to trick gamers into buying it? Another disgusting display from the developers here.
  46. Aug 24, 2013
    0
    I played this game with an open mind, expecting Day Z with better visuals, animations etc and with less bugs. Instead what i got was a rip off of Day Z with worse visuals, horrendous sound assets and quite frankly boring game-play. The in game mini transaction system take all the challenge out of an already payed for game and leave players who are unwilling to spend there hard earned cash on ammo and hats at a disadvantage. I can only declare this game to be absolute garbage and it fully deserved it's appalling meta-score. To top it all off the devs decided that it would be an excellent idea to change the name and temporarily remove it from steam adding yet another reason as to why you should ignore this game developer until they pull there hypothetical head out of there arse. Expand
  47. Jul 26, 2013
    1
    This game falls short on everything and did not say on Steam about it changing it's name on the store page which tells a false advertisement which they did when they first came out and they denied to refund me for their false advertisements. I am angered at myself and this is honestly the only game I gave a bad review or a score of 1! The game is not only bad but the developers are bad. The game is full of bugs, horrid visuals, decent audio, terrible animations and very, very slow game play. You will have to sneak most of your time even if a zombie is 200 feet away from you and he will spot you which will lead to other zombies chasing you if you try to run, so either way you are going to die. The game makes it where you can only spawn 5 characters and you have to wait an hour for the character you played as dies to play him again.
    For a sub titles that are way better than this and you still want to get your zombie fix I highly recommend this game as I highly enjoyed it.
    Arma 2 Combined Operations DayZ mod (DayZ is a free mod and the same concept of this game I am reviewing and I would rate that mod a 8 out of 10)
    Expand
  48. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    The game had a really rough launch and it was clear that hackers, bugs and other stuff ruined a big part of the game. The first day I tried it, I was alive for about 5 minutes when I was shot. I was like "Bullsh*t!". So after playing it a few days I really thought it was the biggest waste of money ever. So I had a break, but after a while it came to me that I've never experienced the same tension in a game like this before so I gave it another go. Yes, I was shot a few times again, but you can compare this game to let's say, Counter-Strike. If you haven't played it before you will start the game and get shot round after round, and so you'll ragequit. When I got back to The War Z, or now Infestation: Survivor Stories I managed to find some gear and a gun after working hard, and at this point today I am actually doing well, having some backup gear in my global inventory and always a gun and some bandages at my side. All the reviews I've read is stating that it was made to rob you from money by the real-money system, but looking further into it, you can buy almost the exact same things from in-game money which is dropped by zombies. And yes, you'll most of the time see 2 dollars, 4 dollars, 38 dollars, but it doesn't take many zombies untill you find a stack of 1000 dollars. I was so lucky to find 10k in a stack. Yes, the zombie AI is pretty low, but it is a dead guy walking. All zombies in every movies/game ever is stupid as hell. So, yes, the zombies are stupid and 1 zombie or 5 zombies doesn't compose a big threat, but when you find yourself in the middle of the night in an airport, or militarybase, and the noise you make suddenly requires you to run or even open fire, those 500 zombies who rise from the grass and chases you suddenly becomes a bigger priority than anything else. When people complain about being shot all the time, I can't help to think it's their own fault. You run around on a big map, and of course you wanna get from point A to B as fast as possible, but if you start running in a straight line on an open road you make yourself a human target. That's why there's grass, trees, crouch and prone mode to sneak around. Check your back, stop up and look around, before charging into a town or city. I think the people behind was at the same stage I was at my first few days. When you get into it, this game is so amazing and has so much to offer. They have great graphics, the atmosphere is tense and depressing so you really get the feeling that you are all alone, and there's no dear momma. You will never feel as frightened as when you hear a nearby gunshot, or when you see another player walking around. It's like when you hear a noise in the dark all your senses are are crystal clear and focused in a split-second. I've never stumpled upon a game that gives the same excitement as Infestation: Survivor Stories when you find a nice item, the same reward whether it be loot or just the feeling inside, when you've won a fight or the same tense feeling when you see or hear any sign of another player because you'll never know if it will be you or him who leaves alive.

    I'll give it an 8. It has been out for half a year now and they have had plenty of time to make even simple fixes. Implementing Punkbuster seems to have gotten rid of hackers (and still is, as you find your chat spammed with players who are banned!) Infestation: Survivor Stories is a game that puts you on the edge of your chair with a raised heartbeat and adrenaline pumping, it is truly a game worth giving a(nother) shot!
    Expand
  49. Aug 6, 2013
    1
    I finally let curiosity get the better of me and bought this game as the concept intrigued me.......I should have placed a little more faith in the reviews and not bothered, its awful! The learning curve is just too steep to really keep you interested in the game, you'll die, and lose all your stuff at which point you can either try and gather new stuff, which is almost impossible without any weapons, or go and buy new stuff which will cost you real money, this stuff will then be taken off you as soon as you bump into another player and you will die again....that's pretty much the game...apart from the graphics are poor and glitch ridden, even with a high spec pc you'll be lucky to hit 20fps, its just poor in every way. There are constant problems with servers/forums etc and the fact that if you question them about the short comings of the game on their Facebook page expect a ban! There are some people who seem to enjoy it, I'm not sure what they are doing that is so much fun except kill newbies! Trust the reviews and don't waste your money on this, there will be far superior zombie mmo games coming! Expand
  50. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    Terrible gameplay, bad controls, boring gameworld, tons of bugs, tons of cheaters, lying devs and the list goes on.

    If you want to enjoy, download some hacks, so you fight fire with fire. If you are looking a good game to play with friends and kill zombies, just go Killing Floor or Left 4 Dead, cause Infestation is one of the WORST games on the videogame history, even worst then
    superman 64, so you buy the game, and then you need to pay to host or buy items, nice work hummerpoint fraud of the Century. Expand
  51. Aug 12, 2013
    3
    Infestation: Survivor Stories is a terrible game on paper. It's plagued by bugs that effect both the visuals and the gameplay, the game is full of hackers and the "patches" that get pushed out do not address enough of these issues.
    However, the game is surprisingly still fun. I have a ball trying to get in and gather supplies necessary to survive, and get a genuine scare when another
    player starts shooting at me. I'll be dropping this almost instantly for Day Z when it gets a standalone release, but this rough excuse for a game has it's entertaining qualities. Expand
  52. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    Lets just say that when I started the game it lagged a lot, the zombies didn't chase me, the textures where really bad and when I got in the city a random sniper killed me. I think I'll come back to this game in a few years... or maybe never again.
  53. Aug 22, 2013
    0
    the devs are lying to us. Nothing they promised has been made...

    The gameplay is boring. It isn't a survivor game anymore, it's now a mmo pvp game...

    The concept was great but, devs seems to be unprofessional... They are just kidding us at every update. Actually no cars, no different zombies animations, tons of bugs, no loots in some place where you'll find hundred zombies...


    Moreover the crape is unplayable... I have a decent computer and i only have 15 fps.
    Expand
  54. Aug 27, 2013
    1
    The game costs 13 euros and what do you get? Nothing. poor copy of DayZ(in ALFA version). This game it is one big LIE. And 9 of 10 players its hackers.
  55. Aug 31, 2013
    0
    Do not purchase this game.Absolutley unplayable re-branding of War z.All of u can read about gameplay is lies(included SGI Pre-Render game screenshoots).Also this game included bug on every u can see on it,awful animations,mega-retared zombies who looks like russian alchogolics who develop this game,donate on everywhere,hacking acounts and stole stuff,lost money and making u mad,only for 15 $.
    Do not purchase this game
    Expand
  56. Sep 21, 2013
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. This game is horrible in every way possible. If you're looking to buy an open-world zombie MMO, I'd recommend DayZ. It's like this game, only better. A lot better.
  57. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    Almost everything about this game, from the people that developed it to the finished product is an embarrassment to the industry. Its one and only redeeming quality is its concept.

    There is little question that idea of an open world zombie apocalypse shooter has merit. If you don't believe me, just look at the adoption for War Z and the emerging competitors like 7 days to die, Rust,
    etc. The problem is that the game is so poorly implemented that anyone familiar with the industry has to question either Hammerpoint's technical competency or intentions (if not both). This game has been in "production" for over a year and it still lacks core functions advertised during pre-release. To make matters worse, for a product that should be on the upper end of the maturity curve (for the gaming industry) it still features a host of very serious bugs that should not have even been tolerated at their "Go-No Go" meeting.

    The best part? It is not getting better. I have never seen a development team that, with each new fix, introduces such rampant breaks to other parts of the game. Does Hammerpoint even perform user acceptance testing?

    Gamers, avoid this dog pile at all costs!

    Note to Hammerpoint: Fire your modellers, animators, terrain mappers, and engine development team. Start over. And, while you are at it, find someone to handle public relations for you. You guys are clueless with the press and user community.
    Expand
  58. Sep 24, 2013
    0
    Game itself isn't so bad but Terms of Use said that you are not owner of your paid account and developer can do everything with your account delete, ban, modify with or without reason. Moreover after 10 months of honest play i was banned and developer said that i was banned because i trained my characters too much. Think yourself if you want to play game in which developers ban you for too much progress in game. Expand
  59. Oct 11, 2013
    1
    Beyond the fact that this game is an absolute false it does have some minor excitement and play value. Within that 2 day period of enjoyment (if you're lucky) you will have to avoid the terrible community, unsportsmanlike players, and unrewarding combat. Players are banned without solid proof as their anti-cheat system has to be developed by a middle school student and obvious hackers run rampant ruining the small chance the game had. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone, and if you are really curious I suggest just researching the developers. Expand
  60. Oct 20, 2013
    4
    I've tried to defend The War Z as much as i possibly can but i understand why people would dislike this game, it's unfair and it WILL steal your money.... The game is pay to win(more) and is filled with hackers.

    The game is ruined because of how unprofessional the Dev's are and how much of a douche-bag Sergey is.
  61. Nov 2, 2013
    0
    simply put... it is S***. don't waist your time or money. Get DayZ if you want a survival zombie game. now to fill the character limit this game is S***
  62. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    as one above me said Do not purchase this game. Many features listed on Steam are completely missing.I repeat: do not purchase this game, you will not get what you think you are getting. Just look at the War Z forums to see the problems. developers are scamers dont trust wheir word today they promise one next day they forget their promises and whats worse whey where removed from steam do to violations Expand
  63. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    banned without even playing the game, contact support and still no response after a week, avoid like the plague, last time i buy most expensive package to help this company.
  64. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    Worst game ever for many reasons. It is a rip-off, the developer doesn't care about it's customers, it is still full of bugs, PONG has a better A.I. than this game, this game has been falsely advertised many times, the controls are weird, the game is filled with cheaters.. I could continue forever.
  65. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    This game should really be avoided. I tried it on a trial, so luckily i haven't spent any money on this.
    I have been killed 3 times by hackers in my short time of playing (around an hour or so overall). One flying, second one shooting me through a rock, third one running at light speed.
    Then there's this annoying crash bug that randomly crashes whole pc without any other option than to
    push a reset button. Happened to me 4 times. I did try every solution available on the forums. Including ridiculous ones like reinstalling whole system. It only happens to me on this game and i have a high end PC.
    I also got stuck in the texture 3 times.
    All this in around an hour. I did try to give this a chance, but i just give up. Ridiculous.
    There should be a huge sign "work in progress" on steam. They claim it contains features it does not for what they can surely be sued.
    Also, the support is almost non existant. Going through forums i've seen problems that were totally ignored by devs (the crashes for example).
    Great idea served the worst way possible.

    Do not play. Even for free. Even if they pay you.
    Expand
  66. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    This game has potential. While most don't see it, this could easily be a very good game, but it's going to take a lot of work in order to get it good. As it is, it's pretty much unplayable. It tries to be like DayZ, putting you into a zombie world, with zombie things, and lots of guns, but they messed this up entirely. Zombies aren't your issue, other players are. They'll kill you before you even see a zombie, and this is just one of the few issues. And when you do encounter a zombie, good luck killing it. It takes them 20-40 hits to kill, and it only takes them 3 or 4 to kill you. Do yourself a favor; stay away from this game. Expand
  67. Dec 18, 2013
    0
    At first we found this game very addicting and fun with my friends. We played it almost everyday and had fun at the same time. So one day they said that they will make it look better(graphics), we were a bit excited but when it was released, we were extremely disappointed. Two of my friends couldn't play it anymore, because the developers raised the graphics card requirement. I could only play with one of my friend, because he had a more powerful computer.
    Everyone started asking for the graphics to be lowered back to normal or give us a chance to set shadows OFF and lighting on LOW. So some weeks later they announced a new patch, that they now gave us a chance to turn off shadows. We thought we could play again. But we were disappointed again.
    The only settings before were High/Ultra, they only changed the labels not the real effect. After that people started asking on the forums about it and complaining and the got banned for it and posts were removed. You couldn't even search a post with a tag "fps" in it, it was not allowed.
    They just ruined a good game
    Expand
  68. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    Its a true piece of $#!T, i put my money on a... i can't complete this with no offense.
    I lost my money buying this.
    Do not purchase this game.
    Frustation: Hackers Stories, this is the real name of this
  69. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    Waste of time and money.
    Poor graphic, missing features from description, lots of bugs, poor animations, broken mechanics.

    If you want to enjoy your evening just buy bottle of vodka and some sushi.
  70. Dec 24, 2013
    0
    Absolutely terrible gam and unprofessional devs that give indie games a bad rap. On their stream you can watch and listen as developer Artemis knives berates customers in the most profane and vile manner.
  71. Feb 6, 2014
    1
    Id rather drag my balls across a thousand miles of glass .................................................................................. ...........
  72. Feb 8, 2014
    0
    This is the worst game to be ever created.
    u will get perma baned, for no reason.
    u will get hacked.
    u will lose money u spend.
    They will make u rebuy it if u get baned.
    liers.
    cheaters.
    should be sued and taken off steam.
    thanks.
  73. Mar 11, 2014
    0
    Please guys Dont buy this game or you will regret about!
    This game is a complete ****
    The devs are taotally corupted
    BANS ARE RANDOMLY!
    ITS FULL OF HACKERS!
  74. Mar 19, 2014
    0
    There is a reason there is a -90% promo on this game at the moment and this reason should not make you buy this game. I made the mistake do not repeat it.
  75. Apr 19, 2014
    1
    This game is full of lies and is broken in every way possible. DO NOT BUY!
    Even if you do get past the lies and brokenness then all there is to do it horde 100's of guns (which you can buy ammo for.)
    As I said earlier do not buy this broken pile of lies.
  76. Apr 20, 2014
    0
    Worst Video Game ever, it needs to be buried in Alamogordo, New Mexico with "E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial"

    0/10 Because this game blows chunks waste of my money and it was only $7.99 and I still felt ripped off.
  77. Apr 25, 2014
    0
    I bought the game when in came out in 2012 and tried to play it until mid 2013. At that time, in became obvious this was a huge scam and the company just wanted money.
    If you like a game, that could not be a big deal, but when the game mechanic is "you die, you loose everything", hacking become a major issue. They never solved it.
    Now, the game price is so low that hacker can buy 2
    accounts for 5 to 10 dollars (depend on discount). One legit account for storing stuff, one hacking account for "fun".

    As a legit player, you have not a single chance to have fun in this game.

    Stay away from that "game" and that company.
    Expand
  78. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    This Game is Crap! Good potential but the maker of this game dont do anything good!!!!!
    AVOID TO BUY THIS GAME!!!
    WASTE OF MONEY GUARANTEE! Trust me!
    So many hackers on this game and developper dont do nothing about it.
    It make one year they promise us cars and other **** and never happen at all
    thanks
  79. May 28, 2014
    0
    Hold W for 10 Minutes or so, find zombie, hit the Zombie in the head with a Flashlight until dead, get killed by Glitches and Bugs

    Rinse and Repeat until your soul dies
  80. Jun 9, 2014
    2
    Good game, but **** game at the same time. This game has the potential to be a good game a lot of good items in games, good map, and like the concept. However it has more negatives the positives. poor melee animations is one, running looks weird, then we have 9/10 people hacking and the game is buggy and the community is utter crap in general
  81. Jun 19, 2013
    1
    This game is a game. The only worse scam I can think of is colonial marines but its a close call. It was removed from steam as for being false but steam brought it back recently. Nothing has changed, steam dont really care and just want to rip you off, The War Z developers are still incompetent. The only upside if that if your a developer and you see a CV with any of "those" names on it you can put it straight in the shredder without wasting your time. As a scam it was lucky. Steam actually did more to create a successful scam than War Z did though as most of us probably wouldnt have touched it otherwise. The sad thing about games like this is that they undermine community funding and support for titles which are realistically positioned advertised and supported. Many indie companies ARE doing a good job and DO try to meet expectations. These guys never did. Expand
  82. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Pay for beta access. Then pay to win. Then pay to respawn. What? Yeah. Developers are frequently less than truthful, sometimes flat-out lying. Recent patches are steps backwards, not forwards. Now half of the items that spawn in-game are stuck in meshes and can't be picked up, and dropping items (including those you paid for) can result in them falling through the ground and being lost forever. Server reliability has gone from iffy to just plain bad, with no real explanation given. Hackers are a chronic problem and the anti-cheat system has a tendency to ban innocent players, who then have to deal with less than supportive customer service. The game was fun a few months ago, now it's just a money sink that you couldn't pay me to enjoy. Expand
  83. Dec 20, 2012
    6
    This game is not for everyone.

    It's pretty hardcore. You lose everything when you die, and you will die alot. It's not for people who want to jump right in and start killing 300 zombies at once. It's more of a sneak around, scavenge, return to safety and offload your stuff kind of game.

    Your worst enemies will be other players. After a few hours you'll figure out how to kill zombies,
    which the combat is about as plain, boring, and montonous as can be when it comes to zombies. They need to fix the animations and make them accurate. Most of the time when I'm hurt by an attacking zombie it is when the zombie's arms aren't even moving. Also, the best way to kill zombies is just ridiculous. You stand still, aim at the zombies head, and just hold your left mouse button down. Trying to be more accurate with 1 strike at a time, or avoid attacks and move in for 1 strike, then back out will just get you killed. Second, guns are a joke. They're 100% accurate, and there's nothing preventing you from easily placing a crosshair on another player. So, it's just point, click, kill with no other factor involved to make you less accurate, miss, etc. You don't even need to adjust your aim based on distance. Your always 100% steady, etc. This is why other players are your biggest, and pretty much only threat. It also creates an atmosphere where you need to be extremely patient or you'll die guaranteed, because even a 5 year old can pull off a headshot at 300 meters in this game. That's not to say there is no fun to be had in this game. I kind of enjoy the whole super cautious, wandering around, and trying to scavenge things. It brings out the competitor in me beause the game is extremely harsh. It's fun grouping with others to take on zombies, and raid towns. It's even fun playing a bandit that murders anyone who he comes across and takes their crap. The bottom line is that this game has a TON of potential. It's a plain foundation of a game at the moment, and if the developers continue to patch/update the game it might just be great one day. The best thing they could do is stop listening to their hardcore forum fanboys who are 90% of their survey repliers, want things like 24 hour respawns, and 1000000000000 people servers where all you can do is spawn and die... They've built a foundation, why not create something worth remembering? Expand
  84. Mar 28, 2013
    5
    It seems the devolopers want to punish the glitchers more then the hackers. This game is ripe full of hacking which defeats the point of even playing at all. I'm a glitcher that never got banned but I've had friends who got banned just to glitch to have a fighting chance against hackers. I have even killed a hackers who have been walling and aim botting by glitching into walls.
  85. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    Don't listen to any of the bad reviews, this is a very good game. I hesitated because of the heat it was under but I regret not getting it earlier, this game is great and tops dayz in every single way. Buy it, it's worth it and if you go into it unbiased you won't be disappointed.
  86. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    I bought WarZ in its relatively early days and it was fun, it was mostly about avoiding zombies and scavenging to try and find food, water and weapons (PvE). Now it's about avoiding other players (Bandits) who just shoot you on sight and take your equipment (PvP). The game has no features that make it stand out, however the dev team are very very slowly adding features that are slightly improving it, like adding more zombies. I am giving the game a 5 because I believe in time, when the dev team do their job properly and all the features they say will be in it are implemented it will be the best Zombie MMO available. (Thats if they ever add them) So wait before you buy, they may never add them. Expand
  87. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    This game is trash, a quick attempt to cash in on the DAYZ buzz. Don't fall for it. False advertisement on steam doesn't help their case any either. Why is it bad you ask? Here are some of my issues. Unrealistic environment: - Can't swim in water - Cities with few enter able buildings - Hodgepodge map design - Copy/Pasted buildings everywhere Zombies: Incredibly buggy pathing and behaviour
    You have to beat on zombies for a few minutes to kill them with a flashlight

    Loot:
    entirely random and nonsensical

    Pay to win:
    respawn for real money instead of waiting
    Expand
  88. Jun 23, 2014
    0
    Steaming pile of you know what, and made by lying scum. It tries to rip you off by cheating you of your time and money. This game scams you of your money, and you are much better off playing something else... anything else.
  89. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Runs like **** Looks like **** Lying devs. This game is looking to ride the success of DayZ, and is nothing but a money grab. Even Steam has removed it from being sold in their stores. Avoid at all costs.
  90. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    This game is a work of art, the graphics are amazing, the gameplay is really fun, it feels so realistic, and don't even get me started on how good the customer service is. Simply amazing.
  91. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    This game was released under false pretense of being a retail release. Amending the features list after release is never an option, especially when the original statement included features that did not exist or were not currently supported. Buggy, broken and riddled with micro transactions, the game should be pulled or listed as an Alpha, and the developer (Hammerpoint Interactive) should be shuttered. Expand
  92. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    This game had every chance to be successful despite it being a blatant cash grab at the success of DayZmod. They took every opportunity and squandered. This games destructive path was lead by their shady leader Sergei Titov.

    The game was place on Steam and was blatantly false advertised. When it came time for the usual damage control Sergei Titov actually blamed everyone for not
    being able to read in essence. So instead of issue an apology he insulted everyone who had just purchased the game to which it was promptly removed from Steam.

    This game ia horribly horribly managed and that alone supercedes anything it has going for it in its gameplay which isn't much. If you want a game like this just play the original DayZ game. It is free and Rocket (The lead developer) is an honest guy who knows how to properly deal with people.
    Expand
  93. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    I really don't understand people that write reviews since they didn't even try the game. The only mistake the publisher made was the "Steam question". You can't even think to put something unfinished on Steam. So the self-called "experts" could vomit what they would on this mediocre game. I think War Z is highly improvable but it's not the "Big Rigs" they want us to believe. It's a good idea that have some difficult to separe his idea of gameplay from Day Z's one. Premises and (mostly) promises are really encouraging. The game itself is really fun (if played in co-op) and the "surviving atmosphere" is well-given. Expand
  94. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    I review it from a point with ~15 hours of gameplay, to be honest, it isnt all that bad as everyone says. I have ~200 Hours of gameplay on dayz and all i can say is that, you should also give WarZ a fair Chance...... I give this Game a fair 8, also keep in mind that it is FAR from complete....
  95. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    I have been waiting to give a review since I naively paid for this so called game when it came out. DO NOT BUY THIS DO NOT EVEN PLAY IT you will save yourself a lot of time and trouble.

    The developers are **** and are simply money grabbing pricks who force purchasing of in game items to play. It is a shining example of greed and the shame of the gaming community.
  96. Mar 1, 2013
    1
    I refuse to spend money on scammers. They have lied to their customers, the is no option for 100 players and game is so full of bugs, that it is laughable.
  97. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    this game is just awful, they have a cash shop where you can buy items with real money and if you die with those items you bought with real money well... you lose them. thats gotta be one of the worst systems ever well alongside Big Rigs off the Road racing... the guy who made that game had a part in this game and big rigs is regarded as one of the best games ever made.
  98. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    this game should not have been released yet . it is clearly not finished. it is still fun and i absolutely love it . but by no means is it ready for the general public. when this game is finished and has all the features that they have promised it should be epic. as long as they do away with the pay 2 win elements they are sneaking in with the micro transactions, such as paying to revive early.
  99. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Terrible game, and incomplete. Being sold to capitalize on the holidays. The developer should be ashamed for releasing a game as bad as this. People continue to buy it because it is on steams top sellers list. It should be removed and all purchases should be refunded for false advertising.

    You will walk forever trying to find a weapon that will do something other than annoy zombies.
    And by the time you find something useful, someone else will kill you for it. Items can only be saved if you quit and add it to global inventory. There is also MICRO-TRANSACTIONS in this game. But, you buy items, and someone can steal it within moments of you getting it! Total scam, but i'm sure it must be fun for the trolls to camp spawn points waiting for people to venture out so they can steal your stuff. Expand
  100. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    If you're a fan of zombie games just buy the game and don't listen to all those kid haters. It is the first really well made online Zsurvival game. I like it more than DayZ. Also it has not as much similarity as you may think to DayZ. The War Z is a little more arcade focused but still hard as hell.

    There is just one rule: Don't trust anyone... this applies for hateposts about the game
    and players in the game because you will get shot a lot. ^^ Expand
  101. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    This game is about as bad as it gets, how can you even call this a zombie survival game. The game has fully released and yet the dayz mod is about 30x better than this game. I feel outraged that a game that had so much potential has just fallen to the lowest depths of hell. This game is filled with hackers making it almost impossible to survive and overall the slot system is outrageous. I tend to die 10 min into the game due to the 1 and only puny map on the game and then i have to wait an hour just to play on one of my characters unless i spend even more money to revive myself early on. Do not buy this game unless your into zombie survival games, its the joke of the century. Collapse
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.