User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3870 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    Yes this game has its flaws. But I have had so much fun with it, that I have to rate it at least a 9. I bought it before the steam launch and I do not regret it one bit. I had been looking at DayZ videos, looking at how cool it was, but did not want to purchase ArmA II: CO to play it. I decided to wait for the DayZ standalone. Then a friend told me about The War Z, so I bought it and have enjoyed it all this time. Met some great people in the game, going around in a group of six is so fun! While I do enjoy The War Z, I have never yet played DayZ and do plan on purchasing the standalone when it's released and playing a bit of each. Expand
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    5
    I came into this game with high hopes, I have been playing many games in alpha like minecraft and dayz and they have both been amazing experiences so I thought this would be different. Unfortunately, with it's constant bugs, laughable animations and frequent hackers the experience was ruined,the graphics remind me of playing on my NES. However, although I dislike a lot of it I have to admit there are some parts that I really like such as the inventory system, the character customization and the option to spawn with your friends when you start a game. I feel this game meant well but was in the wrong hands, give it to people like Crytek or Bohemia to finish the job. Overall I would avoid this game until it's out of alpha. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    Great game from an indie developer, not polished, but I like to see it as a work in progress, and I've already got more than 10x worth out of the cheap game cost
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    1
    I have no idea why I bought this game. It started off very enthralling and very entertaining and then I started to realize the issues. Apart from all of the other ones listed by other members my main issues were this: Items bought with real money only apply to one character and are dropped whenever you die. "settlements" are no-pvp safe zones but they're RIDDLED with campers sitting outside of the safe zone waiting for people to come out so they can get free gear. Spawn points are very often camped. Areas that spawn Guns/Melee items are ALWAYS camped. There are so many griefers in this game it makes any sense of community absolutely pointless. Clans will stack their members in "camp" sites and kill -anyone- including new characters. Another thing that makes this game silly? New characters only start out with a flashlight, and that's -IT-. Being as all the weapon sites are camped you HAVE to spend REAL MONEY in order to get an edge.

    To hell with this game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2013
    10
    All the hate is just some DayZ Fan boys hating The WarZ, The warZ is just like jumping right in to the strawberry river, its the best thing can ever play, ok thoe, it has som bugs and glitches but SERUSLY. its the best game ever made, Im a real fan of The elder scrolls, and i need to say bye bye to Skyrim because Im going to play The WarZ. i promisse you its worth evry single penny!!. by the way dont trow hate on it because u died 10 seconds after you spawned (if thats true then Ur a EXTREMELY NOOB) just make a new character and give it a new chance. The WarZ 10/10 Easy! And Remember its just in Beta now.... Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    5
    All in all my hope for The War Z is crumbling. The standalone version of the Arma2-Mod DayZ is going to kick WarZ's ass if it does not get quickly better There were some minor improvements but still it tastes like a DayZ clone.
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    1
    You know, it's true what people say. A blowjob in the morning DOES make your day better. Oh this has nothing to do with War Z, you think? Good eye, brother! That's because this game is a money making scandal that copies everything about Day Z (The Arma II mod) and puts a price on it. I'm going to give you one simple hint: keep those 15 bucks, buy yourself some candy and enjoy yourself with that. You'll have more fun with the wrappers than War Z, trust me. Expand
  8. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    I've played this game for a couple of months now and have been amazed at some of the advancements it has made over its life cycle. I thoroughly enjoy this game on a daily basis, alone, with friends, any time. While it can be frustrating at times when a hoard of zombies takes you out or a group kills you, it is still some of the most fun I've had in a long time. The zombie AI far exceeds Day Z's Zombies. Would I recommend this game? If you can get over a few bugs here and there, and a few of the inevitable hackers... I would most certainly recommend this to you. Expand
  9. Feb 23, 2013
    8
    Even if this game has bugs,glitches ,and unfair player killing.this game is actually not that bad there coming up with more updates more guns more items and more maps.And who could
    forget the character customization.It just had a bad start.
  10. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Best game ever everthing is perfect Inglés Español Portugués graphics, story, sound, animation, weapons, maps, pvp, stock the best are the zombies, zombies never saw better, look real
  11. Feb 27, 2013
    10
    I thoroughly enjoy this game. It has had many ups and down along the road and has had flamers the entire way who simply did not want to credit someone whom they feel stole the idea when they simply wanted to make something to be enjoyed. I still credit most of the hard times in developing this game to the people who have made hacks for it. Really? :P They slowed this entire process down with their easily avoided issues. However, with the death of around 90% of the hackers the game has finally started releasing good content and frequently doing so. I can only see it going uphill from here on out. Expand
  12. Mar 1, 2013
    10
    bad comments refear to december ..so the pre alpha, worst way was to launch a non finish game;
    btw i'm playing from a month and the game is really cool, i'm having fun with friends
  13. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    This game is not bad, It's even worth buying the weapons, and extra supplies with real money. I got banned for the first time buying it, but I bought another one, so it works out well.
  14. Mar 5, 2013
    6
    The War Z, where to start...
    Firstly I'm amazed of the poor "critic" reviews, highly unprofessional, for instance PC gamer, whom I thought were serious goes on and on about it beeing a DayZ knock off, same goes for MMORPG.com et.c.
    Of course it´s a knock off, we'll be seeing more of them too, hell DayZ IS knock off period.
    Also, before I get labeled a "fan boy" you should know that I am
    a Day Z fan (teh horror a day z fan beeing positive about the war z..) and are eagerly awaiting the stand alone game.

    Anyway, the War Z, I've been around since the alpha release and have seen all the problems people go on about there still are tons of problems and all the promised features haven't been put in yet, however it is playable and quite enjoyable at that.

    However, if you´re looking for a finished product my advice is to wait, this has a ton of potential, but isn't quite there yet, as I said it's allready quite enjoyable, but still.
    Expand
  15. Mar 7, 2013
    6
    Jeux encore en BETA, donc plein de bug de son, surface a corriger!
    Sinon le principe est assez simple.. et accessible a tous le monde!

    Ya plusieurs mauvais point, comme des bon!
    A vous de voir... Personnellement jaime bien le jeux.. sa vos 15$
  16. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    i pre-ordered this game glad i did, you people need to stop sucking on the balls of dayz arma leave us the hell alone. if you actually played the game or spoke to some of its real players maybe you would have a different opinion but no you are all small minded fools being led a merry dance. just get on with it, you play your game and we will play ours. all warz haters are dayz fanboys, typical ain't it, trying to get the game to fail. i got news for ya, AIN'T GONNA HAPPEN. Expand
  17. Apr 25, 2013
    3
    AWFUL GAME. Those who rate it highly obviously have some sort of brain damage, as that is all I can conceive that could make you enjoy such a hack job ripoff of Day Z. Seriously people, even DayZ isn't THAT good. This game is AWFUL people, sure maybe you and some friends can have some fun, but not as much as say playing ANY OTHER GAME, download TF2 a FREE game with much more content and substance.
  18. Apr 5, 2013
    8
    I'm not here to claim the game is perfect; It's far from that. What I will say is that I have logged almost 200 hours on this game, largely with a group of college friends, and it is one of the most satisfying MMO experiences I have ever had, despite its flaws. Yes, the AI is glitched. Yes, there are still some game mechanics that were promised by the developers that aren't in the game. For the $15 I payed for the game, I have been more than happy with the play I have had. The developers haven't been as active as they probably should be, but I enjoy the game, and that is what is most important for me. Expand
  19. Apr 13, 2013
    9
    This game is fantastic! The only problem is that you have to wait for an hour to play again,but the game is real cool!I like the graphics,the controlling and I think this game is better than DayZ
  20. Apr 24, 2013
    3
    The WarZ development was very hyped and full of hope that we would get a game the resembles the popular mod DayZ but in a more finished and improved sense it sickens me that the developers has made the development in my mind to the finished product so poorly having still bugs and issues in hacking and server lag stating that they would finish there promises and also fix the bugs in a later date That alone is not a big problem many games sometimes has a rocky start what really butchered this game is the Devs I commend them for at least trying to make the game but they just ruined it by trying to branch themselves out of DayZ making somewhat shady claims and calling Bandits a very important kind of people who made DayZ the mod enjoyable not knowing who is stalking you in "Sniper Hill plotting to take your stuff adding fuel to the fire. The price of the game is alright and micro transactions are somewhat understandable but the content is not as of yet is not near "Fun" as "Boring" is.It still holds promise but for now it's to most peoples Index in the Section. I hope they prove me and the gaming community wrong. Bottom line $15-16 bucks is OK for a chance/gamble of this bouncing back. Expand
  21. Apr 21, 2013
    9
    I've had the War Z for 6 Months now, and I've not once been disappointed, even if spending half an hour running across a map can be annoying. Even if many critics or users say that the game is unfinished, it's still not "Finished" at least once a week you'll log in to find they've added some new weapons or bigger updates Voice communication, Skill Tree, Clan's etc...)

    I must say that
    the only thing stopping The War Z from being amazing is the lack of Vehicles or some sort of transportation. In short, if you are going to buy this game, make sure your going to play with Friends, because alone its very boring. Expand
  22. Apr 24, 2013
    1
    The worst survival zombie game ever made.
    Bugs and hacks everywhere. The engine is a crap, and the cash shop is ridiculous.

    It look like an alpha of a game.
  23. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    A very controversial game but the truth is that if Day Z had never existed this game would be a classic. The tip I would say is imagine it as it's own game with no comparison to any other and you will h=enjoy it. The bugs aren't common now and updates keep adding more enjoyable content.
  24. Apr 28, 2013
    3
    The only reason that I not giving this game lower, is because I did have a small amount of fun when I first played the game. I honestly did have a little fun during the first week with this game...then...i realized that I wasn't having that much fun. I realized that the only way to not die, was to not make any noise and stay as quiet as possible. Now, where as that sounds fun to some stealth fans, I'm not being stealthy to have fun, I'm doing it BECAUSE THERE'S ABSOLUTELY NO INCENTIVE TO WORK TOGETHER!

    The hell?! In my little mind, I think that in a zombie game, people should band together to store food, secure boundaries, and just live. If you were try and do that, you'd make that in a safe zone, which people can just camp at and get easy kills. The game, is flat out broken. It has several features that aren't even in the game yet, the microtransactions in it piss me the hell off (even though there can be vendors and such in a town, so it's not completely terrible), and the game is just missing so so much. This game is a broken mess. Please, for the love of god, stay away from it.
    Expand
  25. Jun 21, 2013
    3
    I had to admit the idea of a zombie apocalypse mmo sounded cool at first but this game is utterly and completely BROKEN! ITS HORRIBLE! AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS!
  26. May 23, 2013
    7
    Despite all the criticism of OP productions and the poor job of the developers, this was still a fun game. Once the first hacker purge occurred you could actually play it. Lack of actual content was its downfall. This game shines when you are in a clan. Traveling with your mates is a fun time.
  27. Jan 12, 2014
    0
    So many people making sarcastic ratings and giving them 10's when they should be helping inform the public, this game was a quick cashin with many models being taken from their previous "tdm" game that they have largely ignored since moving to their next cashin their business model focuses on you losing all your stuff ingame and having to use the ingame store to even have a chance, makes the cost to an already overpriced 15$ to100+ dollars depending on how long it takes you to realise its a scam Expand
  28. Jun 21, 2013
    7
    Personally I love Infestation. I've played The War Z since launch and have always had a good time while playing. I feel that if Steam Early Access was available when this game came out the reviews would be different but everyone is giving reviews on a game that is being worked on. I tried to keep my review to myself till it was out of beta but some people just don't read the website or are too thick skulled to realize the game isn't finished. Expand
  29. Jun 16, 2013
    3
    The game could be good if the developers took some time to fix things. The game is like Superman 64 a really bad game, Bad sound, Hackers, Textures suck, The Zombie AI is awful.
  30. Jun 17, 2013
    7
    LET ME SET THE RECORD STRAIGHT.

    The War Z is a decent game. All of the reviews from pre March, 2013 are accurate for the time they were posted, but the game has evolved drastically since then.

    >Hackers are an issue. The addition of Punkbuster anti cheat has helped this issue. Now, hackers are ever advancing and will always exist, but the developers have reported they ban 7000 people
    per week. FairFight anit cheat helps ban the actual offenders.

    >Graphics are actually good. Personally my computer can't support ultra graphics but I've set it to ultra and the water, shade, foliage, and weapons actually look great!

    >Skill tree actually exists. They promised it, and they delivered it. Cars are coming out soon and they are always adding new advances. They are also coming out with a new map: CALIFORNIA.

    >Always updating the game for FREE! You pay the $15 and the game will automatically receive updates and download them free of charge. There are no subscription fees, DLC, or additional charges.

    >If you don't like the game, come back in a month and it will be better. Its always getting better and they are still developing it. Early stages were terrible (no guns, rampant hackers, terrible graphics, etc) but the updated game as of June 17, 2013 is good!

    >>>In time, updates will make this game a solid 10! But for now its good, but could be better. So 7 it is.
    Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2013
    1
    *CORRECTED*I purchased this game's pioneer package in high hopes that the screen shots of the game would be proved accurate. However, when I got into the game, I was presented with graphics (I was on ultra), in which I couldn't even tell grass was grass when I got close. It was a flat mix of textures. I also had hopes for the features it promised such as the skill tree and the Stronghold server hosting we where promised with the pioneer and Legendary packages. If not just the Legendary which my friend bought. We haven't gotten any of these features yet. It has been to long waiting and I have given up. There is nothing positive I can say for this game anymore. I used to stand up for it but with the disappointment I have attained throughout the patches. This game, in my honest opinion, was, and I mean every word of it, a giant pile of donkey Sh1t. I wanted to punch my screen every time I got D/C'd from a server for no reason. Also, the amount of hackers in this game made me want to cry. There was no playing legit. So i just stopped and I do NOT regret it. This game is terrible and i want my money back. TL;DR,: This game sucked barb-wired Dild0s And I mean that.
    #Barb-WiredDild0Guy #YOROSHWAG #DoNotBuyOrYourPeePeeWillBeSore #DizzNegga
    Expand
  32. Jun 23, 2013
    9
    In the launch the game sucked it had a lot of hackers and bugs! But actually the game has improved a lot with the Punkbuster which make the hackers stay out of the game! The game worth your money!
  33. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    I picked up WarZ on day one and it was really buggy, but still in alpha/beat so I didn't complain. I've watched it for a while and have recently started playing again. I've been having more fun in Infestation: Survivor Stories, as it's now called, than I have any many other pvp games in quite a while. It's worth giving another chance if you still own it.
  34. Jul 20, 2013
    1
    This game had so much potential but is no more than a cash cow. I pre-ordered this and got beta access, promised so much and a year on the game has progressed very little.
    The only real progression for the game is in the in-game purchasing, that's it really.
    The game has a rotten community due to the hatred towards the lazy developers. They've only worked on features that make themselves
    money and no real benefits to it's players. This is no more than a rushed clone of DayZ and the hatred is mostly deserved. Expand
  35. Aug 7, 2013
    9
    Great game, getting better now just taking a little bit of time here and there. Game in my opinion was released early and had many bugs which is why many people complained the game was bad for Hackers etc... The game still remains to have Hackers on but from the 200 hours i've played of it i've only ever witnessed possibly 1 and he got banned too. The developers are hunting down on hackers and are concentrating on bringing in new updates to make the community happy. From what i've seen the Hammerpoint company have been looking into the game more and have been trying to release some awesome new stuff. Only problem i would say is the 'Market place' i dont really like the idea of it. It makes an unfair advantage to players who can buy things and to players who cannot. Also GC is quite pricey in the Market place and items have been given a higher GC count for example; the personal locker was 110 GC the next day i checked it was 250 GC...
    Overall this game has been fun and exciting to play especially with a team! I just hope the company decides to not ruin the game too much and improve by adding things the Community wants more often.

    -Fix the bugs
    -Fix the FPS for players with certain PC's
    -Add cars? Add the new maps?
    Game would be 10/10 then hopefully!
    Expand
  36. Aug 17, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is pretty much a DayZ clone with horrible balancing and a timer for respawning after death, if you are a casual gamer i would not suggest this one for you but if your a hardcore gamer who fancies avoiding other players at all costs and are fine with the massive PvP and lag spikes that can happen at certain points in time then i would suggest it. But yes just like DayZ most players like to be bandits i got this game from a friend as a gift about 6 months ago but seeing how this game is not well optimized for casual gamers i would rather be playing the Kickstarter zombie hybrid known as 7 days to die or 7D2D that is pretty much minecraft based in a zombie apocalypse, a factor that i believe also makes this a bad game is how they made it so that you need to pay Cash IRL to receive certain items from the store and to revive yourself instantly if your heavily skilled CQC zombie killing character is killed by a sniper from far off distances this i honestly cannot say is good but if your able to handle it or you just like killing people who wasted 15 dollars on this game then i guess its the type of game for you? Expand
  37. Aug 21, 2013
    2
    Aburrido juego de senderismo en tiempo real, vagaras por los campos de Colorado(se supone que iba a tener más mapas pero nunca llegaron) sin nada más que hacer que matar zombies, no hay más misiones. La supervivencia que se vende consiste en mantener a raya 2 barras, una de sed y otra de hambre; lo cual es bastante fácil de conseguir.
    Tras jugar durante un par de horas descubres que el
    único interés del juego consiste en coleccionar armas de fuego que es inútil usar contra los zombies.
    Al final todo se reduce a un triste e injusto PVP en 3 zonas del mapa donde los chetos campan a sus anchas sin ningún tipo de control. Una pena porque con un buen equipo detrás habría sido bastante interesante
    Expand
  38. Sep 26, 2013
    1
    Do NOT buy this game. Don't even think about it. Do some research and you'll understand why. These guys should be in jail for all the false advertising they did. SCAM!

    Now they changed the name from "War Z" to "Infestation: Survivor Stories" just to try and scam more people. Sad.
  39. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    This game needs more recent reviews. In the past year it has updated and made so many changes that half of the negative points made in every bad review have already been fixed and addressed. I think its heading on a road of improvement and it just needs some time to get it wrong the first couple of shots at it. Honestly the community is the worst part about this game. If they had Public PVE only servers i would be playing it every single day. I mean dont call it a zombie game if other humans are the greatest threat! Unless you adapt and find a method to play whilst there arent any humans around you, its an okay experience. It could be ten trillion times better as a game if it dropped the lone wolf pvp style approach but made it co-op left for dead style, sure keep the losing your items upon death feature but add an option for zombie enthusiasts that arent simply looking for just another sandbox call of duty pc game that you hack in. Seriously the co-op a d hackers need fixed and it would be prefect! Enable an option, request pvp duel or you cant kill ppl. That way pve-ers can safely encounter pvp'ers. So many better ideas could be implemented than what is already at hand. Expand
  40. Oct 7, 2013
    1
    So infestation? worth playing? niope 99.9% of the players do use the ESP cheat.. if you dont die to zombies you will die by a player... it isn't worth spending your GC or BD... And you most likely will download a trojan.. made from players who play the game 'WarZ' to take all your items.. today it happened to me... 7 month of farming and everything is gone.. SUCKS. don't play this game your gonna have a bad time O_o Expand
  41. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Most of the negative reviews for Infestation:SS are due to a buggy (and arguably incomplete) launch of the game. The game has gotten much better since then. You'll either love or hate this game. I love it. It's very challenging an not very noob friendly but once you get the hang of it it's a rush. And with the developers working hard to improve it, it has the potential to be a 10 out of 10 (that is, after they add vehicles, give a PVE area and extra water for noobs, and get punkbuster to quit kicking people). IDK if the PB kicking issue is the game or just PB but that is the only major bug I've had trouble with. Give it a chance, it's addictive! Expand
  42. Oct 18, 2013
    7
    Graphics [7] pretty good graphics, but badly optimised... AI zombies[8] you have to sneak past them, but they are strong in groups. Loot [6] Low ammunition Players [4] Most players kill you at sight, just for your loot and for their safety Graphics are badly optimised, you need a pretty good PC to run the game smoothly. The zombies are way less deadly as the players who just go out and kill everyone.
    The low amount of ammunition is kinda part of the game though.
    Expand
  43. Nov 18, 2013
    1
    Takes the biscuit as the worst game I've ever bought... Massively regret buying it. Save your money and your heartache and buy something, anything else.
  44. Nov 3, 2013
    5
    This game really has all its problems as Hacking glitches and crashes but its still fun to play with friends and that's what matter for me .
    I won't recommend but its pretty fun though and i hope if u really want to check it out see videos first and then buy it if u really want
  45. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    Worst game ever for many reasons. It is a rip-off, the developer doesn't care about it's customers, it is still full of bugs, PONG has a better A.I. than this game, this game has been falsely advertised many times, the controls are weird, the game is filled with cheaters.. I could continue forever.
  46. Dec 30, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Do not purchase this game. They can delete/ban/block your account with reason or without reason *READ THE CONTRACT* Admin can ban you if he think you are using cheaters... *they will not help you if you lose items on your inventory* Well you can try the support it will take more than 1 month to they get back with you. The game should be great only thing need to fix is the administrator of it *more like they run it on the back of a garage* A word SCUM they are* Expand
  47. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I bought this on sale for less than a fiver a while ago. After all the bad press and controversy I thought to myself, "Meh, how bad can it be?" Turns out it can be bad, real bad. With terrible textures, next to no animations, microtransactions for crap you'll use or lose within minutes, hackers, fraudulent developers, a tonne of copyright breaches, and some of the worst false advertising I have ever seen... this is BAD... I could have discarded this as just a badly made game but all the things happening behind the scenes just shames the title even further. Expand
  48. Nov 19, 2013
    0
    I have purchased this game because i played Day Z before.. this game was from start very bad, buggy and there was lot of cheaters.
    Now after 6 months.. they made so many bad updates and core misleads. I spend here lot of money for gear and they had limited global inventory. Maybe is time for asking for refund. Warning, don't buy this game if u don't want leave it after year with tears in
    your eyes. There are still lot of cheaters and amateur developers. Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2013
    0
    worst game ever. they recently had a patch that limits their player's global inventory to 200 slots. the developers are so greedy that they will find any way to make you spend money on their game. i.g. making slots from unlimited to 200 slots so that players would have to buy lockers. greedy bastards! this game should not even be on steam. they are so slow at developing the game too. A LOT OF HACKERS ALSO! Expand
  50. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    No not buy this game, just don't. Any reviews you see that are giving this any more than a 3 are probably getting paid by the developers. Since this game's release, it has changed very little, a lot of the boring game play, bugs and glitches hackers and extortion by the developers remains with little attempt to fix them since.

    Not to mention hammerpoint's appalling business practices,
    suppressing negative opinions of their game, paying people off to hype their game among other things. Expand
  51. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    I really only have these words to say about this... this monstrosity of a game...

    Pure. Utter. Garbage.

    Do not ever buy this game, ever, be smart with your money, get DayZ instead, its SO much better I assure you.
  52. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    DO NOT BUY! The Dev team are a complete joke, (led by ArtemisKnives an arrogant immature 26 year old sellout who acts like he's straight out of highschool) and they constantly troll their community out of money. It's broken promise after broken promise They put the game on steam sale then SCAM you out of your money by removing gameplay mechanics to suit their needs. The Devs make fake forum accounts to support their own game in hopes of keeping people from leaving. Look to Youtube for honest reviews.. this game is better known as scamZ for a reason! Expand
  53. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    Oh man, this is just evil. I think it is pretty accepted that The War Z is one of the worst games made in the past few years. Or decades. The reasons have been stated time and time again Blatant lies from the company, utterly broken mechanics... The list goes on.
    But now, just to prove that you can sink even lower, they're trying to scam new players by changing their name and rereleasing
    the same garbage. No fixes. No nothing Just a new name. The "0" score applies to both the game and those that made it. Expand
  54. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    There is no reason to give more than 1 "star" to the game, this is all a crap, poorly designed, and it appear like the devs automatically ban some players just to make money, when the players buy another account. DON'T BUY THIS GAME
  55. Nov 28, 2013
    0
    Its a true piece of $#!T, i put my money on a... i can't complete this with no offense.
    I lost my money buying this.
    Do not purchase this game.
    Frustation: Hackers Stories, this is the real name of this
  56. Nov 29, 2013
    0
    I came back to write a review just because I saw that this game has not improved. I bought this game when it came out on Steam and was one of many that got a refund for this game via Steam.

    They seriously changed their name from WarZ to Infestation: Survivor Stories? It's more like an infestation of crabs on any attempt of a good gaming experience. When this game came out, they promised
    vehicles, more maps and a no "pay to win" set-up.

    I'm glad I got my money back. Knowing that I saved myself unspeakable rage.

    As people say, get DayZ mod. If you don't mind single player open world zombie survival, give State of Decay a go. It's far more enjoyable the this garbage, it plays better, and you don't have hackers killing you and magically flying back onto roofs.

    This review was my survivor story!
    Expand
  57. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    Waste of time and money, just it. I have nothing more to say, just to full this 150 characters. This game sucks, I play since the alpha, and almost nothing changes, the developers only care about the money.
  58. Nov 30, 2013
    0
    Very bad ripoff of DayZ. The game was previously called "The War Z" before they changed it to avoid the bad press. In addition to being a complete ripoff, the game is very poor quality and has many bugs. The company has very bad customer support, often bans active players with no reason and no way to get your money back.
  59. Dec 1, 2013
    0
    ce jeu est fait avec le derche...--' une mise jour ultra bugé tous les 6mois... les vidéo de présentation ont 15ans d'avance par rapport au jeux c'est juste une machine fric...une véritable arnaque un conseil ne le prennez pas attendez plutot la suite de state of decay avec son multi prévus pour l'année prochaine, celui là est complètement merdique honnetement...et je me suis accroché pourtant Expand
  60. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    This is the masterpiece from the biggest money horny producer ever.
    I thought that the game will show potencial but nothing.
    MONEY MONEY MONEY
    Taking a free 2 play engine and trying to use pay 2 pay pay 2 win
  61. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Jogo muito FODAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
  62. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    Do not buy this game if you're thinking of buying something! If i were you i'd rather buy Day Z (since War Z, or as it is now Infestation: Survivor Stories or something, is basically a ripoff of Day Z.) Also they keep saying that there are things in-game which is really not there. I'd rather go buy Day Z, 7D2D (7 Days To Die) or Rust.
  63. Dec 23, 2013
    0
    My god... This game is win or forever be mad... Also have a beastly PC or die... Which in my case I don't have a great computer at the time of writing this up. I do like this game at times but they really need to do more stress testing on different built PCs because honestly the amount of times I have had to just endure the problems with AMD/ATI graphic issues have been too much for my money to be well spent. I would assume that after they got the word about people selling GC for a far cheaper price they got working on removing the feature to trade it slowly. This game had the portential but has been ruined by people who might be good at making a game but only make them selfs look like they do their job the part where money comes in. I do not recommend this game to people who don't have the time/skills to play this game. I have not had the skills nor the PC to play this game and PVP only PVE. Expand
  64. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    Since the beginning of the game, people have been B*tching about how the Devs are so terrible, and people even claimed that they planned on sacking the project and running away with our money.
    Here we are, almost in 2014, and not just is the game still around, it's better than ever! There are VERY FEW issues, that I've experienced in my ~240 hours of game-play, and playing CO-OP with a
    friend is the highlight of the game.
    The Devs have learned from their early mistakes, and are doing things much more professionally now. I do not consider myself very good at this game, but it's still fun to play, and well worth the $7.49 that Steam is selling it for right now.

    PROS: Easy to learn, (compared to other games like DayZ), fun Solo or CO-OP game-play, constant developments in the game make it interesting.

    CONS: Graphics are 50% good, 50% bad Example: The graphics in the background (mountains, trees) is quite good, where as the close up graphics (Zombies, melees, weapons) is quite bad. As a new spawn, you will probably be gunned down by a long time player, with a machine gun.

    Overall I would highly recommend the game. I've played about 240 hours off-and-on, and it's still such a fun passtime. Also, those of you who have declared the game terrible in the past: I urge you to try playing it again. The newest updates have greatly improved the game.
    Expand
  65. Dec 29, 2013
    10
    Is currently the best and most complete game of survival! There is nothing when it was warz! Complete system of crafting, reputation and experience, but is still in development.
  66. Jan 8, 2014
    0
    I played this game from beta and TERRIBLE game with NO SUPPORT. It's only unbalanced PVP it's mean that you will be killed few minutes after log in to some server with some players if you don't take IK from zombie. Support i think that there is not support, I am waiting 14 days for some response from support because i have login problem with email and nobody wasn't sent me no feedback. To my created escalation request they wrote me: "Further tickets on the same issue will be considered spam and can allow us to remove you from the support system. Please wait patiently until we can answer your original ticket." what does it mean wait for what Hate this game, hate their support. If you want play zombie survival game try State of decay or DayZ. Expand
  67. Jan 23, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. just fail game. walk = wall dc and after login you are just dead by random zombies ( before dc i killed all ) .............................. Expand
  68. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    READ!
    YOU PAY FOR THE GAME! AND THEN YOU PAY FOR MORE STUFF IN THE GAME!

    Original title of the game is The War Z Read about it and forget about this **** company and their ways of getting money...

    its basicly a ripoff from Dayz with a pay to win
  69. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    I was tempted into buying a game of relatively new genre. I liked the idea of game being based on relatively realistic survival, developers at that point promised that it will never become pay 2 win kind of game. So i decided to give full version a try.

    What i got:
    1) Game is still in beta, lots of bugs, glitches and all sorts of uncalculated stupidities.
    2) Cheaters. Even in the
    full(paid) version of the game. It tells you about how much devs are "working" on fixing the issue.
    3) At some point couple weeks ago, devs introduced a new feature - access to marketplace at any point of the map with a click of single button(previously you could do it only on the safezones - 4 of them on the huge map):
    Sratving to death? - No problem, press F10
    Bleeding to death? - No problem, F10
    Blood toxication? - No problem, F10
    Out of ammo in a fight? F10
    Need extra meds in a fight? F10
    Survival aspect is gone.

    Basically you'd be spending ingame money faster than you'd be earning it killing zombies if you're playing actively and after a few weeks at most, 99% of players will end up in a situation where they don't have enough ingame currency to utilize that marketplace, which leaves everyone to Cash options, that's where game turns into a freaking pay-to-win, still-broken-and-bugged garbage.

    Not to mention the fact, that devs made a poll (THAT NOBODY HAD SEEN IN PROGRESS) they only showed "final results" where 58% were still against the feature. Open player-made poll on forum showed around 80-90% opposing the feature. And as far as i know that feature is still there.

    Conclusion:
    Game has a potential... or rather had a potential. But money-hungry devs are finishing the game off right now, they ignore every single existing problem and are just trying to squeeze as much money as possible out of the dying thing.

    Stay away from that garbage, if you want to try it - play trial, it's free and you'll get everything you'd get in the full game. In trial you'll get killed by a hacker, in full you'll get killed by a guy with virtually endless medkits and ammo.

    DO NOT BUY THIS TRASH.
    It causes bigger buyer's remorse than a useless thing costing 4-digit-amount-of-$$$$,
    stay away from that dev-team too, save yourselves some nerves.
    Expand
  70. Feb 6, 2014
    1
    Id rather drag my balls across a thousand miles of glass .................................................................................. ...........
  71. Feb 24, 2014
    6
    Отвратительная игра. Графика и физика года 2001-2002. Хотя, последнее и вовсе прошлого тысячелетия. Хуже этой игры вы вряд ли что-то найдете, даже симулятор стройки от немцев вам покажется эталоном игропрома. Одни лишь обещания, море вранья, отвратительное отношение к пользователям и многое-многое другое, вы найдете в этой игре. Спасибо.
  72. Mar 19, 2014
    0
    There is a reason there is a -90% promo on this game at the moment and this reason should not make you buy this game. I made the mistake do not repeat it.
  73. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    I haven't played a game this good since Big rigs, over the road racing, best game ever 10/10 if you can imagine day Z on an epic level, you have this game

    (of course I don't mean it)
  74. Jul 7, 2013
    10
    Infestation is a great game. I have been playing for 20 hours solo and have just introduced it to a pack of my friends. Yes it is similar to Dayz but i had so many issues with dayz that it was unplayable. I also love the slower moving zombies!

    The game is gorgeous too, I spend so much time doing screenshots! there is a lush green environment with thick long grass to use as cover and the
    day/night cycle is incredible.

    Dont listen to anyone that reviewed it while it was in beta, I guarantee that a huge portion never even played it. Make sure to get the pack that gives you a little in game currency just to get started.
    Expand
  75. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    I don't understand the hate this game is receiving, yes it was prematurely released and it had a ton of problems. The key word in that sentence was HAD. This game has had a rough start, but despite that it has got better and better. I've read through many posts hating on this game and some points are valid and I agree but many others are belatedly retarded. I've seen people hate on this game because it's a copy of dayZ, I've got 2 things to say about that, this maybe is a copy of dayZ but sure as hell with my experience has less glitchs and bugs than dayZ and second being welcome to the new world where everything is "stolen" from one another. Another major grunge I have is there were 13 critics who reviewed this and tons of users and all the critic reviews are from the early stages of the game and many many user reviews are back from the accidental pre-release which i find is unfair towards the game that it got this storm and now is getting to it's par and people are holding on to the wrong beginning and not letting go of it. To which I say don't be ignorant and try the game now, that it's been out for a while and been fixed. If you don't like it then feel free to disagree, but just give it a new chance. Expand
  76. Dec 22, 2012
    5
    I've been following this game since it was announced, the currently version still far from the promised but the patches are coming and it seems that we are getting these features sometime. But Hammerpoint made a mistake by releasing this game into a bigger market and label it as "foundation release", it still lacks of many planned features like the friends system, hardcore-only, private and stronghold servers, vehicles, bigger maps, NPCs in the safe-zones ways to get GC in-game etc. And it also lacks of some (still) unplanned features, like a better balance between money rate drop and the prices of the items in the marketplace, proximity VOIP (to try to avoid shooting on sight), a limit of time when changing between servers (like a system to block chars changing servers for, let's say, 30 minutes to avoid server hoppers). And still in need of some fixes on zombies (at the moment, they can clip through objects to reach you in/upside; also, they can aggro on players even if they are on the other side of a wood fence or wall, for example) and cheating problems. Surprisingly, it's a game that can provide enough fun for hours and leave us on the nerves every-time we hear a shot (hell, not once I've even scared with my own shots!), and think before making any action, just like a survival game should be. It has potential and depends on Hammerpoint to bring it all out, I'm really excited about the next months to come to see what we get for WarZ and if it will deserve at least a 9/10. If it doesn't... well, at least we'll have DayZ Standalone at this time. Expand
  77. Dec 6, 2013
    5
    Played the trial, it is average across the board in every department and very slow paced. Firearms fun but lack ammo and melee is so underpowered. Well thats if you survive the zombie encounters? SP on your own this just fails to entertain that much and is a slow grind. If I buy this I think I'd only play it with a clan not on my own again.
  78. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good game to play with friends and make clans... very good pvp and good pve
    i have more than 200-300 hours in this game... better than dayz mod....
    Expand
  79. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    I bought into this game in early alpha and it has come a long way. I really enjoy the game but they do over promise. Over all it was worth the buy 100% Get a group of friends and the PvP is unlike any other game. Just so much fun seeing a group of people and you rush to them guns blazing only to attract 100 zombies and now both groups are shooting at eachother and fighting off zombies at the same time! Priceless Expand
  80. Apr 23, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome! I love zombie survival games, and this is one of my favorite ones! I have played DayZ, but I might think this one is a little better! It is always fun to find food, water, weapons, etc.
  81. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    The game is alright, they have been working hard on banning hackers, adding bug fixes. But they have moved away from beta and alpha WAY too fast, I've noticed them change the buy page on the warz website more then the game. And how they have added a way to revive your char with Real money is a huge let down. This game feels like it was made to be Free to play. I do feel mislead on the game, There's just something about it that just does not complete it, It might be the lack of surviving. You can easily survive in this game, The zombies are not that much of trouble. So what is there left to do in the game? Nothing really there's no objective, all you do is grab loot and store it in the safe zone. They have advertised this game as a MMO, in a MMO there is suppose to be missions right? So lets face it all you can do that is 'Fun" is killing other players. I find that quite dull. There's so much features that they promised missing I feel like I was lied to. If you have not bought this game yet I recommend you wait for some more things to be added. Expand
  82. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    Here is a honest non biased review.
    First off I have followed this game even before the forums went live (registered within first 3000 people)
    I would class my self as a "FanBoy" because of the way they described the game sounded AMAZING. but so far I don't think they have met a single promise. And disappointing very much. They have their priorities wrong and the community tells them
    what those are but still. no. They don't listen.
    - No cars. "yet"
    - No VOIP! SO IMPORTANT!
    - Seems like money making. pure money making.
    - The pre-order packages didn't turn out to be the best value (they promised that)
    - The map isn't as big as promised and not true to size. They said it would be close to the same size as DayZ without the water(160km). Now they say its 100km.
    -No private servers yet
    -Flaws in the system. you need 20 hour game time on a character in order to create a clan. Nice feature but Hardcore characters can't do this unless they are very very good. But also what happens once you delete the character. What happens to the clan?
    - Way too much banning and deleting threads on the forums and hate. the search function is broke! and people don't add tags!
    - Animations are still **** Yes I can complain because foundation release was on the 17th.
    - Hackers are still an issue. All hacks seem to be updated and they need to make it a lot easier to report people (I can't even find the thread with the link where you need to report hackers to)
    - way too many bugs still. I got killed by a zombie after shooting him in a head 3 times. and I know i hit him.
    - repetitive areas



    But to be honest. with friends it's a fun TDM type of game. That's about it though.
    Expand
  83. Jan 31, 2014
    0
    This game is useless. It is by far the most overprized piece of crap ever launched on Steam. I want my money back. This is a pure ripoff of the actually interresting DayZ. Developer claims things like they were first and what not which is totally wrong. Also people are getting banned from the official forums if they post critisism.
  84. Mar 13, 2014
    0
    My original review of this title when it was known as "The WarZ" was incredibly generous, but now I see this game for what it is, a scam. It places you in an unattractive glitchy world full of terrible zombie animations, ugly textures and unused space. The game runs awful and their coders have no clue what they’re doing. They are constantly changing the game, in bad ways. Loot has never been stable. It’s either out of control and you’re being flooded with finding chemlights at every spawn or you’re finding nothing. Hammerpoint is constantly finding ways to get their players to spend money. You can buy items in the marketplace, buy your own private server to avoid dying against players and buy premium which allows you to only have a hope at finding something of better value at a spawn point. The lead guy behind the title released a forum post saying that if people didn’t buy from the marketplace the game would eventually have to go offline. They even included a hotkey that opens the shop in-game for you to buy items and have them instantly (which has now been removed with the latest patch). If you’re looking for a “survival” game, this isn’t it. Infestation: Survivor Sandwiches (Kappa) is nothing but a money grab and is ran by a shady company that has no interest in making a quality title, but instead snagging as much money as they can while they kill off the game. I feel like I’m being generous with this again, but my score is definitely changing. Please, if you’re looking for a survival game avoid this piece of trash at all costs. Expand
  85. Nov 21, 2013
    1
    Theres alot of rumors around this game, I'll just tell you the hard facts. nough people are voicing themselves about the unjust bans, DevinH a former mod of the forum was banned for this reason. Just google Warz bans DevinH. Reason why I don't call that a rumor is because there is some evidence to it. Sergeytitov the admin (and executive producer) of the new warz forums gave an apology to the fanbase about us "misreading the steam page", its the worst apology ever.

    Google Mad Mack warz open letter, he'll outline the unjust bans & bs. But what it comes down to is this. They falsely advertised it, saying it had all kinds of features that the actual game doesn't have.. they stole art from Walking Dead, and used it in their own promotional campaign. They copy pasted the terms of service from league of legends.. they couldn't even be bothered to make a proper legal document for the bloody game they are trying to sell us..

    What it comes down is this... its boring. It's Dayz with alot of features missing, and 1 or 2 convenience features thrown in.
    Expand
  86. Mar 31, 2013
    10
    WarZ is a game that about survival you have to find food water supply weap for survive and survive thousand zombie (Infected) you can make a team to stronger and you can choose to be Bandit Or Lawman killing people for supply or giving people a supply this game is very very awesome I LOVE THIS GAME but it's have a some glitch and bug but it's ok
  87. May 10, 2013
    10
    The game has a lot of bugs and cheaters but fix everything. Banish those who use booster, apologizing for various problems and give gc. I would recommend that fun to play with friends.
  88. Apr 1, 2013
    8
    The War Z is a PvP large-scale map post-apocalypse game. The first thing I have to point out that this game has an abnormal amount of bad reviews, which angers me; because this could persuade the creators to stop focusing on the game all together.
    The game is very stressful, if you die you must wait one hour before being able to "revive" your characters, unless of course you have
    purchased in-game money, in which you can instantly revive your character. The hour wait is actually not a bad idea, as it keeps players from throwing themselves out into the open, this means you are better off doing guerilla warfare against players rather than just running around the roads and towns.
    In this game you can find a huge variety of guns, melee weapons, and other useful tools. The discouraging part here is that the game does support the "Pay to Win" system, where players who buy in-game money can purchase all the ammo they need to slaughter, along with body armor. My defense for this however is that you buy this at your own risk, if you die you lose everything you bought. (Unless it is kept in storage.)
    Upon playing for 20 hours, you can establish a clan in which you may invite players, but you can also form groups with other players which will mark where those players are on the map. Groups can be used innocently to locate allies, but be warned; this also reveals your location to other group members, a trap waiting to happen.
    My main issue I come across, is not ONE person on this game thinks like me, don't even try negotiation with the community, they will ALWAYS try and kill you no matter what. Save a player from a zombie? Dead. Give someone medicine? Dead. Find someone with only a flashlight in a city? They will attack you. There is NO cooperation unless you make contact with them through chat long before you actually meet them. So just a heads up from my experience, trust noone. I don't blame the game however for this annoying factor however; so I do not deduct ratings for this game because of the god awful community.
    One complaint is that the zombies will not die from melee weapons easily, unless you continue to make headblows, you could find yourself whacking a zombie for almost a whole minute before it finally dies. This is bothersome because: A. Another zombie may attack you during this. B. A player may appear and simply kill you while you are doing this. A major flaw in the game, but just aim for the head and you should be through them within 5-15 seconds.
    A typical complaint is that this game is full of hackers, this is a little exaggerated by the bad reviewers, yes it is common to find them, but really...I mean come on, just change servers if it is really such a problem it takes about 15 seconds afterall.
    Another big complaint is "glitches" I personally have not come across any of these glitches, but I am sure that I am to find one eventually. This game is still underdeveloped and is working to improve these issues (Unless of course the 2,000 bad reviews persuades them to stop. Thanks.) An issue I do see however is that occasionally I spawn right in the middle of a hotzone of zombies, which is kind of serious...
    The blood is insanely unrealistic, a flashlight sending gallons of blood into the air? Come on...
    Overall I am "pleased" with this game, but improvements could be made. I still recommend this to other friends of mine, as this game is still a great adventure for any zombie apocalypse fan. The biggest thing I hear in every single review, is that it is a blatant copy of Dayz. NO DUH XD. But still, the two games still have huge differences, one has bigger maps, has vehicles, better graphics. The other has melee weapons, helmets, an mmo feel to it, and skill perks. So for now I wouldn't completely shoot down this game, I bought it while AWARE of the fact that it was being encircled by bad reviews and had a metascore of 20 on steam. I do not regret it.
    Expand
  89. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Alright everybody looking at this review please don't even pay any mind to the negative feedback coming from most of these people. I purchased this game a few days after launch. Most of these people are very upset over a misunderstanding that occurred in its steam description. They listed features that were going to be added in the future because the game was still in ALPHA. Yeah people I say that again ALPHA. A simple misrepresentation on steam led the entire world to crash down on this fantastic game. I guarantee if you like zombies and shooters and lots of other players, you will adore this game. Expand
  90. Jul 8, 2013
    7
    I don't understand most of you guys, you rate the game as it was still in alpha.. The game has changed so much but it's not perfect. But you guys keep giving 0 points but it doesn't deserve 0 because Hackers are gone now. They are trying to make the game better and they are successful.
  91. Sep 17, 2013
    3
    -Graphics- 5/10. They are not equal to what is being put out today. The graphics are a bit old looking, and everything just looks dull. There isn't much variety in between places, and everything looks gray.

    -Performance- 4/10. Luckily, it did not slow my computer down, so I did not experience lag, but boy, it was buggy...nuff said.

    -Gameplay- 1/10. Sadly, this is true. I began in the
    middle of nowhere, and only had a flashlight. I wasn't with any other survivors, but I was in the middle of nowhere. It took me about 5 minutes to get to the closest city, only to be taken down by horde of zombies. With no tutorial or any help, I had no idea what to do, so I was pressing random keys. Once I died, I had to wait for about an hour (If I remember correctly) to play again. So I waited, and again, I spawned in the same place, but I went to less populated city. It was hard to play, sadly, because it was so appealing to me.

    -Sound- 4/10. The same zombie sound...Sadly, it is higher because who can't go wrong with a moaning zombie?

    -Conclusion- This game was atrocious. It was on sale on Steam for $3, and I would usually say it was worth the $3, but it wasn't. I have only played it twice, and uninstalled it right after. This game seems like it was made for a highschool project. It seems rushed and unfinished, and could just be one of the worst games I have played in my lifetime. If it goes on sale for 99 cents, don't buy it, it isn't worth the money, I give this game a generous score of a 3/10.
    Expand
  92. Apr 15, 2013
    8
    I love this game but there is a lot of hate i honestly think that it has a lot of potential but you can not be telling me you hate a game just because of hackers! Honestly i am mad about the banning but if you don't do anything to piss off the devs then you will not gt yelled at. Just keep a low profile on servers when your new which means do not use chat. Also to those of you who are mad about dieing so much and the bugs, well think of this, have you ever played a game where they have SO many bugs it can not run, well think of those 60 dollar games and then talk to me. Also hackers are in every single game... And my last point, if you are complaining about being killed by someone who has a gun, we all know that you would do the EXACT same thing. Expand
  93. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    This game shouldn't be judged on the incompetence of its team and the mistakes they have made. the game should be judged on gameplay and as far as gameplay is concerned it passes.

    the game has decent art work and is getting updates frequently. gameplay feels slow compared with other titles and is slightly buggy at times, however it plays well.

    when playing the game with friends, you
    get a great feeling for the game and it makes you feel that protecting your friends is life and death. finding something as simple as a tin of ham, boosts your spirit and makes you want to find more interesting items, up until you get beaten to death by an angry gamer looking for revenge with a flash light.

    the game has seen a lot of bad reviews from people that haven't even played the game and base there judgement on other peoples reviews. it has also has bad reviews about its rival Dayz. the game is similar to dayz in the way that they are both zombie survivals, but they are very different.

    comparing dayz to warz and saying warz is copying dayz, is the same as saying that call of duty copied battlefield, they are the same genre and will have similarity's.

    may rating base only from gameplay is 7.5 (rounded up to 8)

    If a rating was possible for the makers of warz, it would be 2/10 for ruining the reputation of what could have been a successful game by stupid decision making.
    Expand
  94. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    Seit den neuen Updates ist das spiel besser geworden und ich finde dieses Spiel hat großes Potential wenn die Macher des Spiels noch mehr bug-fixes machen wir dieses Game ein voller erfolg
  95. Dec 20, 2013
    1
    I gave this game a chance, but he disappointed me and I regretted buying it. Poor graphics, creppy online service and a ridiculous. And besides, I could not play at any moment due to bugs in the game. I hate this! It's the worst game I ever played.
  96. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    Okay, first of all, I would like to say that the game The War Z in my opinion is surprisingly good despite the many many many many hateful reviews (which by the way were made when the game was first released, not giving the developers time to add fixes). Yes this game has downfalls like most games out there like: hackers, glitched surroundings, lack of In-game comm, etc. But that's the thing everyone points out the flaws in the game, they don't look at the good side, for example: finding guns is as easy as finding the hay in the needle stack; also everyone says that the game is full of hackers and BM kids, when in fact just yesterday I was re spawning and as I was wandering through the forests I found another player who just spawned, at first thought i was like "oh god, he's is going to unmercifully murder me" but actually he took me to the vault in the safe zone and gave me 4 guns, I did not ask for his help, I did not ask for anything he just gave them to me. Now I could go on with the list of benefits of playing the game, but they are just as long, if not longer than the negatives. On to another subject "hackers" I put that in quotes because well frankly every server I go on someone calls out someone as a hacker, and yes he could be a hacker but the most probable answer is, you just suck. Now I'm not trying to be rude but it's probably the truth, I know I suck but every time I die I don't shout out that my killer was a "hacker" that's just childish and makes you look like a bigger fool. And personally if I get called a hacker that would actually bring satisfaction to me because I'm so damn good at killing that people think I have aim bots or whatever hackers use now. One final point I'm going to make is as i was reading some of the User Reviews, a lot of people A.) Don't have a clue what they are talking about it because they have never played the game and B.) Say the game lacks originality, but that's the thing, they weren't looking for "original" they were looking to re-create a stand alone game like Day Z mixed in with some of their favorite game play experiences (which i feel they did an amazing job). Now I know I'm probably not going to get much love but what the hey I'm here to state my honest opinion on how I feel about this game. And my honest opinion is this game though its many quirks is still being developed as the game goes on and if I'm already fully submersed in the wonderfulness that is War Z then I don't even want to know what I'm gonna be like in a couple months! I highly encourage you to get this game despite the many bad reviews it's got, don't let the crowd bring you down, fight the current it's well worth it. Solid 8/10!! Expand
  97. Aug 5, 2013
    6
    Alright, firstly do not flame my review just because I didnt give it 5 and below. I feel that this game has potential, the devs, besides Sergey who perhaps could be a complete from what I heard, are not doing a money grab and running. They are trying to improve the game. Hacker problems have been controlled very well ever since the addition of Punkbuster in which its still being tackled. Of course, this is far from a AAA masterpiece, with its many flaws such as poor FPS at times as well as some bugs here and there but the gamebreaking ones have more or less been fixed. If you are willing to look above a few small hiccups, you might enjoy this game as I did. I was detered from this game due to the poor reviews and of course the thing i hate most ,hackers. However, ever since the addition of punkbuster, and the Steam summer sale, i decided to give it a shot, hey you cant go wrong for $3.74. I must say i really did enjoy this game. No i am not some guy paid to write such but i wish i was. I really liked the open world aspect and the merciless pvp is quite unique. Although it would be a rough start as did i have one, playing with friends and on private servers made this game much more enjoyable. So as a final note, i stand neutral but more to the favouring side of this game. I have no comments for the comparison of it and DayZ. I would say you could try to get it IF you like this genre and have friends to play with. Otherwise, my advice would be wait for a sale and get it. You might end up enjoying it. Peace~ Expand
  98. May 22, 2013
    6
    This game gets far more hate than any game I've ever seen. I feel like the majority of reviews ripping on this game are all due to bugs or cheapness or fraud. I would like to start off by saying that the company's decisions in no way reflect the quality of the game. Sure, their Steam profile had false advertising, but if that's what you're mad about then write to the company, not the critics. Second of all: this game is very stylized. If you don't want to die or risk items in PvP combat, you can't rate it poorly solely off of that.

    The few points I must agree on, however, are its developer's lack of attention to seriously game-breaking issues. As an example, there was once a glitch which caused players to die for no reason other than walking around. It took the developers more than two days to sort this out, when any other online game would've had it fixed (or at least said something about it to communicate with their community) within an hour.
    Expand
  99. Jan 20, 2014
    7
    had fun with the game even if there are some major problems with it..............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
  100. Jun 9, 2013
    7
    First of all, This game has terrible design, horrible sounds/soundtrack, and many bugs (EX: Some rocks sound like metal when you walk on them, you randomly start levitating etc.). But I won't lie it is extremely fun. This game brings out the best of the teamwork aspect and communication skills are ESSENTIAL. I like how they made it when you buy GC you can't get ranged weapons. Some people may complain about that but think about it, anyone that spends money is just immortal. Also, the fact that guns need to be used wisely I think is a realistic factor added. And after reading the critic reviews, one critic thought buying ammo for your gun in the store is dumb. I like it just because guns are so rare to find that using one clip means your gun is useless if you couldn't buy ammo. If only they would spend some actual time into developing this game... Overall, this game is fun (even more so if you play with friends) and definitely worth a measly $15. I give this a buy! ***NOTE I have not played Day-Z so I can't give a personal comparison of it to War Z. Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.