User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 4023 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    0
    Seriously what the hell, everything from texture to ToS are copied from else where. Dont fall for this copy and paste scam. Simply a game that's riding the popularity of zombie games, except this game is actually not so enjoyable, downloaded it, spent an entire hour trying to log in, in game items are not worth buying, massive fluctuation in game prices, and using BEING A BETA as an excuseSeriously what the hell, everything from texture to ToS are copied from else where. Dont fall for this copy and paste scam. Simply a game that's riding the popularity of zombie games, except this game is actually not so enjoyable, downloaded it, spent an entire hour trying to log in, in game items are not worth buying, massive fluctuation in game prices, and using BEING A BETA as an excuse to produce sub quality game Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    To start: if you play on a public server, get use to hackers and the "pay-to-win" item mall they have up. You find a few different types of pistols and rifles often but never mags for these weapons. So most the weight/space in your pack are just 7-10 bullet guns that you end up tossing on the ground. Food and water seem abundant in most areas as well. As well, the zombies seem to do someTo start: if you play on a public server, get use to hackers and the "pay-to-win" item mall they have up. You find a few different types of pistols and rifles often but never mags for these weapons. So most the weight/space in your pack are just 7-10 bullet guns that you end up tossing on the ground. Food and water seem abundant in most areas as well. As well, the zombies seem to do some weird congregation into these sometimes large clusters of 3-15 zombies standing all on top of each other. The zombies have no AI at all and just go to the nearest person to them. Aggro radius of weapons and sound do not seem to match up and many people would agree the newly added skill tree doesn't even seem to add the benefits to the character.

    Also the game is ripped off of the well known Dayz mod. Everything they claimed on the steam page (the first go) is not "yet" implemented into the game. You are NOT able to sell items to vendors, you are NOT able to spawn in high population servers without getting aimbot killed or some kind of hack killed, 70-80% of the good items cost REAL MONEY to get, the other items cost an absurd amount of in-game money to purchase. There is only 1 map maybe about 90-100km2 and no transportation other than walking so trips start taking hours depending on where you start on the map (assuming you do not get killed by another player instantly). There are only 2 buildings in each settlement even in use currently; the vault where you store items and gear, and the vendor for purchasing ammo and other useful items. You are NOT able to leave notes for players other than with time capsules which cost REAL MONEY to obtain or you may get lucky enough to find one.

    The Steam page does NOT mention the game is in so called beta stage (when in my opinion the game is so broken it should be alpha if anything). You glitch through buildings often hoping up on top of the roof or just falling straight through dieing.

    All in all with all the broken mechanics of the game, the shotty graphics that still seem to eat up all your computers resources, and the pay-to-win item mall, I would say stay away from this game if at all possible or get buddy buddy with someone and a private server. In all honesty with all the blatant lies and all the false advertising, I'm surprised the customer base hasn't started a class action suit against them (or what ever it would be called lol I'm no lawyer). For this I give them a 0/10 but the game concept would be awesome with a competent company behind it.
    Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    this game is a piece of crap go buy amra 2 or 3 there better than this ecspalialy with the dayz mod this is a rip off of dayz but dayz is free so f this game
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This game is unbelieveable so many bugs and glitches zombies sound like dogs anyone you see kills you takes hours and hours just to get to an area. The fact that you are an ex military character you cant even run for at least 10 seconds before getting tired. poorly executed game. it's broken!! The fact that you have to wait 1 hour just to respawn because of when a zombie hits you, yourThis game is unbelieveable so many bugs and glitches zombies sound like dogs anyone you see kills you takes hours and hours just to get to an area. The fact that you are an ex military character you cant even run for at least 10 seconds before getting tired. poorly executed game. it's broken!! The fact that you have to wait 1 hour just to respawn because of when a zombie hits you, your character takes damage 3 seconds later and you have to pay for items such as ammo or food with real money!! NO WAY!!! I paid $15 already! It should have been like every zombie you kill, you earn points so you can buy melee weapons or guns not pay with real money! Also everytime you die all your stuff that you spent hours looking for just disappear and when you spawn are left with nothing at all! A complete waste of time and money. This game is not finished. Hackers are also common my DAYZ the list goes on! Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    This game is a festering pile of camel dung. It is not even a completed game it is a ALPHA it's not even a beta as it's PLAGUED with problems, glitches, players who will kill you sooner than look at you and a mod staff that bans people for NO REASON AT ALL. Yeah. Go screw yourself hammerpoint and go buy The Day Z standalone when it's released later this year. At least THAT game will beThis game is a festering pile of camel dung. It is not even a completed game it is a ALPHA it's not even a beta as it's PLAGUED with problems, glitches, players who will kill you sooner than look at you and a mod staff that bans people for NO REASON AT ALL. Yeah. Go screw yourself hammerpoint and go buy The Day Z standalone when it's released later this year. At least THAT game will be FINISHED and not a piece of crap alpha that we spent hard earned money on Expand
  6. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    The WarZ startet out as a promissing DayZ clone. It ended as scam...a rip off of the ideas that DayZ made so enjoyable. I really would like to go into detail but even thinking about all the bugs, not available features, bad support, horrible graphics and nearly criminal behaviour of the developers, I simply can't.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid this game whereever you can. Can one call
    The WarZ startet out as a promissing DayZ clone. It ended as scam...a rip off of the ideas that DayZ made so enjoyable. I really would like to go into detail but even thinking about all the bugs, not available features, bad support, horrible graphics and nearly criminal behaviour of the developers, I simply can't.

    Do yourself a favor and avoid this game whereever you can. Can one call that piece of code even a game?! And DON'T mistake it for DayZ. That's a whole different game with a whole different developer.
    Expand
  7. Mar 20, 2013
    0
    Blatant rip off of DayZ. They lied to the community about their origins only to then have the title pulled from Steam. Now it's back avoid at all costs, wait for Day Z to launch!
  8. Mar 23, 2013
    0
    This game is a the developers don't care about the players, they don't fix the bugs and just want money. this game. DayZ copy. Terrible gameplay, bad controls, boring gameworld, tons of bugs, tons of cheaters.
  9. Apr 3, 2013
    0
    This game is about as bad as it gets, how can you even call this a zombie survival game. The game has fully released and yet the dayz mod is about 30x better than this game. I feel outraged that a game that had so much potential has just fallen to the lowest depths of hell. This game is filled with hackers making it almost impossible to survive and overall the slot system is outrageous. IThis game is about as bad as it gets, how can you even call this a zombie survival game. The game has fully released and yet the dayz mod is about 30x better than this game. I feel outraged that a game that had so much potential has just fallen to the lowest depths of hell. This game is filled with hackers making it almost impossible to survive and overall the slot system is outrageous. I tend to die 10 min into the game due to the 1 and only puny map on the game and then i have to wait an hour just to play on one of my characters unless i spend even more money to revive myself early on. Do not buy this game unless your into zombie survival games, its the joke of the century. Expand
  10. Jun 15, 2013
    0
    Dayz ripoff played for 5-10 hours total and i felt part of my brain dieing. Total ripoff game buy stuff with money from shop and you lose them when you die LOL how money hungry can you get .

    **** graphics AWFUL gameplay 50 player servers instead of the 100 they promised boring gameplay . Also 90 of the time you are going to be looking for food becouse there isint enough of it
    Dayz ripoff played for 5-10 hours total and i felt part of my brain dieing. Total ripoff game buy stuff with money from shop and you lose them when you die LOL how money hungry can you get .

    **** graphics AWFUL gameplay 50 player servers instead of the 100 they promised boring gameplay .
    Also 90 of the time you are going to be looking for food becouse there isint enough of it rest 10 of the time you are looting weapons oh and you find more weapons than bullets.

    TLDR: Unfinished game total ass developers that speak rude to theyr customers Shop with real money and lose items -10 10
    Expand
  11. May 30, 2013
    3
    This game is incomplete. You cant play fine with your friends because you kill him.
    All the time playing is wasted walking to differents places.
    The engine is very strange. A lot of cheaters, bugs and always the same, kill zombie, kill zombie, kill zombie... OH! A weapon, with only 4 bullets... what shall i do to have more ammo? Kill zombie!!!!!!!! Only 1 map If you want good things
    This game is incomplete. You cant play fine with your friends because you kill him.
    All the time playing is wasted walking to differents places.
    The engine is very strange.
    A lot of cheaters, bugs and always the same, kill zombie, kill zombie, kill zombie... OH! A weapon, with only 4 bullets... what shall i do to have more ammo? Kill zombie!!!!!!!!
    Only 1 map
    If you want good things you must pay or waste a lot of time playing this bad game
    Expand
  12. Aug 6, 2013
    1
    I finally let curiosity get the better of me and bought this game as the concept intrigued me.......I should have placed a little more faith in the reviews and not bothered, its awful! The learning curve is just too steep to really keep you interested in the game, you'll die, and lose all your stuff at which point you can either try and gather new stuff, which is almost impossible withoutI finally let curiosity get the better of me and bought this game as the concept intrigued me.......I should have placed a little more faith in the reviews and not bothered, its awful! The learning curve is just too steep to really keep you interested in the game, you'll die, and lose all your stuff at which point you can either try and gather new stuff, which is almost impossible without any weapons, or go and buy new stuff which will cost you real money, this stuff will then be taken off you as soon as you bump into another player and you will die again....that's pretty much the game...apart from the graphics are poor and glitch ridden, even with a high spec pc you'll be lucky to hit 20fps, its just poor in every way. There are constant problems with servers/forums etc and the fact that if you question them about the short comings of the game on their Facebook page expect a ban! There are some people who seem to enjoy it, I'm not sure what they are doing that is so much fun except kill newbies! Trust the reviews and don't waste your money on this, there will be far superior zombie mmo games coming! Expand
  13. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    Terrible gameplay, bad controls, boring gameworld, tons of bugs, tons of cheaters, lying devs and the list goes on.

    If you want to enjoy, download some hacks, so you fight fire with fire. If you are looking a good game to play with friends and kill zombies, just go Killing Floor or Left 4 Dead, cause Infestation is one of the WORST games on the videogame history, even worst then
    Terrible gameplay, bad controls, boring gameworld, tons of bugs, tons of cheaters, lying devs and the list goes on.

    If you want to enjoy, download some hacks, so you fight fire with fire. If you are looking a good game to play with friends and kill zombies, just go Killing Floor or Left 4 Dead, cause Infestation is one of the WORST games on the videogame history, even worst then superman 64, so you buy the game, and then you need to pay to host or buy items, nice work hummerpoint fraud of the Century.
    Expand
  14. Sep 23, 2013
    0
    Almost everything about this game, from the people that developed it to the finished product is an embarrassment to the industry. Its one and only redeeming quality is its concept.

    There is little question that idea of an open world zombie apocalypse shooter has merit. If you don't believe me, just look at the adoption for War Z and the emerging competitors like 7 days to die, Rust,
    Almost everything about this game, from the people that developed it to the finished product is an embarrassment to the industry. Its one and only redeeming quality is its concept.

    There is little question that idea of an open world zombie apocalypse shooter has merit. If you don't believe me, just look at the adoption for War Z and the emerging competitors like 7 days to die, Rust, etc. The problem is that the game is so poorly implemented that anyone familiar with the industry has to question either Hammerpoint's technical competency or intentions (if not both). This game has been in "production" for over a year and it still lacks core functions advertised during pre-release. To make matters worse, for a product that should be on the upper end of the maturity curve (for the gaming industry) it still features a host of very serious bugs that should not have even been tolerated at their "Go-No Go" meeting.

    The best part? It is not getting better. I have never seen a development team that, with each new fix, introduces such rampant breaks to other parts of the game. Does Hammerpoint even perform user acceptance testing?

    Gamers, avoid this dog pile at all costs!

    Note to Hammerpoint: Fire your modellers, animators, terrain mappers, and engine development team. Start over. And, while you are at it, find someone to handle public relations for you. You guys are clueless with the press and user community.
    Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2013
    0
    banned without even playing the game, contact support and still no response after a week, avoid like the plague, last time i buy most expensive package to help this company.
  16. Mar 19, 2014
    0
    There is a reason there is a -90% promo on this game at the moment and this reason should not make you buy this game. I made the mistake do not repeat it.
  17. Jan 8, 2013
    2
    for goodness sake do not purchase this game, due to their quarrels over a lawsuit War Z has been removed from steam to prevent steam from becoming involved in this sham, the game itself is appalling and requires several fixes (more than that of Day Z mod for Arma 2) the servers are limited in size and people and have many issues attempting to connect to them from any day. the price for thefor goodness sake do not purchase this game, due to their quarrels over a lawsuit War Z has been removed from steam to prevent steam from becoming involved in this sham, the game itself is appalling and requires several fixes (more than that of Day Z mod for Arma 2) the servers are limited in size and people and have many issues attempting to connect to them from any day. the price for the game no matter WHAT OPTION you pick is a joke, if you insist on trying this game, find someone silly enough to have purchased it and use a day pass for 24hours, then you may have a faint incline of how poor this game really is. to top it off, the devs are refusing refunds to loyal customers who have stayed since its beta, due to the fact they have been fed false promises of repairs and new patches for the terrible bugs (which is illegal as i understand it) the in game cash system is also flawed, not only are you paying for an atrocious game the in game cash system offers you nothing unique such as custom gun or character skins, or something that will stay with the account forever, when you die, whatever you spend you lose (just imagine that £50 you just wasted) the only good points i can think of is that if the devs and mods listened and solved this game and improved it, it could have potential Expand
  18. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I urge anyone, do not buy this sick scam of a game. The developers tried to cash in from the popularity of the mod Day-Z and are also using an ILLEGAL TOS agreement to stop victims from getting a refund.
  19. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Absolutely shocking behaviour by this developer. DO NOT REWARD THIS DEVELOPER WITH MONEY.

    In case you need more info - this guy made Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing. Google it.

    Rip-off merchant.
  20. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    It is clear that the creators of this game care nothing about the game/community/dignity, as they have created a scam of a game to gather up as much money as they can before fizzling out of existence.
  21. Jan 9, 2013
    0
    I was extremely looking forward to playing this game with all build up and fuss i was excited i followed the game closely for months and months on lead up to beta and even pre ordered the legend pack.

    But once i started to play the game it was extremely disappointing it felt cheap and slapped together and very dodgy it promised survival but did not deliver you spend more time dodging
    I was extremely looking forward to playing this game with all build up and fuss i was excited i followed the game closely for months and months on lead up to beta and even pre ordered the legend pack.

    But once i started to play the game it was extremely disappointing it felt cheap and slapped together and very dodgy it promised survival but did not deliver you spend more time dodging PvP rather than trying to survive the zombie crazed landscape They talked this game up so much prior to release that once they did allow people access they were extremely disappointed it really just arcade version of DayZ There is no real value to it you cant make a base and you cant make fire you cant hunt for animals there is no fatigue level and you cant break bones catch a cold none of the real survival aspects are there which makes the game become very boring very quickly The only survival is basic food water and occasionally you find a weapon but getting it back to safe zone is very low ratio of success you either get killed by another player get done over by hacker or get griefed by server hopper.

    This game had the potential to be something big and great but was let down by a money hungry production team thinking about only profit and a DEV team with little imagination and vision to produce something exciting and challenging.

    I believe this game will be short lived unless major changes are made as there is so much controversy and complaints about the game such as trademark issue over the games name god knows why they wouldn't apply for trademark before production the game is struggling despite what the games production managers say the games player count is getting smaller by the day and may be little to late to save the game by giving gifts to community because at end of the day they want what they payed for not empty promises and broking dreams i just think they bit off more than they could chew.

    I normally would not score a game 0 but this game cost alot of money and gave me nothing in return
    Expand
  22. Jan 10, 2013
    0
    Cloning a F2P game on a terrible engine including the same F2P pay for items mechanics really isn't the way to go about things. The game is far from finished, barely any of the features advertised are available and many parts of the game do not actually function correctly. Avoid at all costs.
  23. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    This game company committed intentional fraud. They should be prosecuted to protect the consumer so that other companies don't do the same, with false advertising and draconian methods of punishing anyone who complained or even requested a refund.
  24. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game raped my mother and killed my father. Do not buy this game unless you want to see your money go to an incompetent, lying dev. Worst Game of the decade.
  25. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    Garbage game. Game engine is terrible, glitches everywhere, and have to pay for in game content, even though the game isn't f2p... Noticed it was a bad rip off of DayZ, which while buggy, is still much better.
  26. Jan 27, 2013
    0
    ToS plagiarism + DayZ ripoff + poor graphics/textures + poor sound quality + poor animation + poor gameplay + bad UI + overpriced IAP + one hour respawn time = SCAM.
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    worst beta ever broken promises and add more grass! pls more grass and broken promises, pls grass! /GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!/GRASS! GRASS!
  28. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Worst game ever. Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.Worst game ever.
  29. Dec 21, 2012
    1
    They lied saying it was a Zombie MMO. The quest are still not in the game. Can't play with friends. You buy the game then they nickel and dime you to death in the The WarZ store.
  30. Jan 17, 2013
    0
    The child of all cash cows.. the mother load of **** , how dare they lie to steam about the features they have promised for the people that bought this tentacle grope .
    Arktos Entertainment , I would suggest you all to design a game from your originality and have a better person on those ****ty engines.
    Yeah?
  31. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    God-awful game, and the developers are lying and deceiving all of their customers. You're essentially paying $20-30 to alpha test the game for the developers. The game was released on Steam without any mention of the fact the game is still in alpha, and the description includes numerous key features that simply do not exist in the game. Don't fall for it!
  32. Dec 18, 2012
    3
    If you enjoy another PVP/deathmatch. Then this is the game for you!! Just be prepared that if you lose your pvp fight to wait, 1 hour.. no wait 4 hours now.. and they are saying it will be 24 hours sometime in the future to respawn if you die. OR you can give them money to respawn quicker.. Let there be no illusions there is NO PVE content. This is all pvp survival, so don't buy theIf you enjoy another PVP/deathmatch. Then this is the game for you!! Just be prepared that if you lose your pvp fight to wait, 1 hour.. no wait 4 hours now.. and they are saying it will be 24 hours sometime in the future to respawn if you die. OR you can give them money to respawn quicker.. Let there be no illusions there is NO PVE content. This is all pvp survival, so don't buy the game expecting to see pve servers or RP servers. If you are looking for a PVE, zombie survival game "this is not the game for you" as many of the community players will tell you. The game is below average at best, that will try to sqeeze you for money at it's current state. IF you do buy the game don't buy anything from the cash shop.. If you die, you lose everything on your person even stuff you have paid for with real world cash. Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    The War Z is an cash grab low grade scam. It does at least run and offers some distraction so isnt deserving of a 0-2 as it succeeds in some areas. It however fails in many many more.
    Its a laggy, ugly, buggy, game that makes promises it doesnt deliver on and ultimately tries to cash in on the popularity of another title while failing to even meet the level of that title which is a buggy,
    The War Z is an cash grab low grade scam. It does at least run and offers some distraction so isnt deserving of a 0-2 as it succeeds in some areas. It however fails in many many more.
    Its a laggy, ugly, buggy, game that makes promises it doesnt deliver on and ultimately tries to cash in on the popularity of another title while failing to even meet the level of that title which is a buggy, ugly game as well. Except that the other game is a free mod in Alpha. Dont waste your money on this garbage.
    Expand
  34. Dec 18, 2012
    1
    This game is a perfect example of a great idea with absolutely horrible execution accompanied by an anti-consumer business model. Too bad the one good thing it's got going for it (the idea) is ripped off of someone else's work.
  35. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Description of features were basically a pack of lies, this does little it promised, feel saddened that Steam let this happen. In an interview on IGN it seems the publishers do not see that saying there are features in the game that do not exist is lying, just creative advertising. We don't need publishing houses like this.
  36. Dec 18, 2012
    0
    Everything surrounding this game is bad. The developers: The developers of this game brought you lack luster hits like The War Inc, and the lead developer is responsible for one of the worst games ever created. So you ought to not expect much from this team, but it gets worse since they constantly lie to boost sales by lying about what is actually in the game, what can we expect, how longEverything surrounding this game is bad. The developers: The developers of this game brought you lack luster hits like The War Inc, and the lead developer is responsible for one of the worst games ever created. So you ought to not expect much from this team, but it gets worse since they constantly lie to boost sales by lying about what is actually in the game, what can we expect, how long they have been working on it, etc. This game is an obvious cash grab on dayZ's success which is why he made all these false claims and promises prior release and charged several times the retail price for the game during it's alpha stage. If you think that you will cease to spend money once you purchased the game you are sadly mistaken. This guy is trying to squeeze as much money from their suckers as they can. They wanted to charge 750 in game currency to create a clan. They later changed this after community outrage. Currently they are charging you 50GC to respawn your character. If you don't pay this fee you will have to wait 4 hours to use your character again.

    The gameplay: This game fails at everything it tries to be. This game is supposed to be an open world survival mmo with zombies, but at best only manages to capture the PVP aspect of dayZ. This game survival implementation lacks any depth to it. It is reduced to just finding food and water which are fairly common. You eat food instantly so you do not have to be off guard to eat, and same for healing yourself, scavenging, and switching weapons. This game is missing many animations that you would expect, and the ones that exists are god awful. This game doesn't have the fun of setting up a camp site to store items or make your base. The zombie AI is way to simplistic especially for a game that suppose to have harder zombies. Stealth in this game is poorly implemented. This game is suppose to appeal to hardcore gamers but has many carebare features. Like safezones and global inventory. Stuff like this takes away from the survival aspect and the genre is general. This game is horrible, and I would not recommend it to anyone.
    Expand
  37. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I don't need to write a review because you can just read all the others saying how bad this game is, but to reiterate the point and reach the 150 characters quota, the people who made this game are just cashing in on dayz.
  38. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    A lot of lies, zero communication between costumer and developer. A lot of bans many times with no logical explanation, some of developers did unprofessional work by giving not yet released items to some of player in the game, bad handle with hackers.
  39. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Misleading advertising on STEAM. . A sham designed just to make money off Day Z's coat tails. No freelook spoils almost any sense of immersion when hearing zombies or being chased. No in game VOIP means stupid overly bright a large global chat window that cannot be turned off. Maps are too small and mainly pvp. It feels like a constructed artificial game world rather than an open realMisleading advertising on STEAM. . A sham designed just to make money off Day Z's coat tails. No freelook spoils almost any sense of immersion when hearing zombies or being chased. No in game VOIP means stupid overly bright a large global chat window that cannot be turned off. Maps are too small and mainly pvp. It feels like a constructed artificial game world rather than an open real world location...unclimbable cliffs etc to funnel you to certain areas. Stupid wait for 1 hour to re-spawn...or pay some real world money to re-spawn instantly..wtf is that about????

    3rd person view in terrible with out freelook and first person views FOV is too tight. Its obvious how many ideas they stole from Day Z...but sadly they haven't really done anything fun with them..just cut and pasted them into a cardboard generic smaller map. It may be fun for some 14 year olds to run around for a day or 2 clubbing fresh spawns to death with a baseball bat but there is not much actual gameplay or deep sp experience to loose yourself in like Day Z. Join a private server that keeps a tight watch on hackers in Day Z and enjoy a far far superior product and a much better gaming experience. I wanted to like this game but it dissapoints on so many levels, let alone the arrogant attitude of the Russian potato farmer developer about his scam. God bless the kiwis who gave us Day Z, Lord of the Rings, Bungy Jumping, LnP, and marmite! :-)
    Expand
  40. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The developers of this game obviously had evil intentions to make this game a pay to play but wasn't quite finished with the game so they charged people for it. Just recently they updated a in game payment for respawning???? So to the people that paid money here comes some more cash for you to throw at the game already. What's next? DO NOT BUY THIS GAME... You're NOT supporting theThe developers of this game obviously had evil intentions to make this game a pay to play but wasn't quite finished with the game so they charged people for it. Just recently they updated a in game payment for respawning???? So to the people that paid money here comes some more cash for you to throw at the game already. What's next? DO NOT BUY THIS GAME... You're NOT supporting the original creators of Day Z... They obviously rushed this to get the sales and screw everyone over. Just a side note the guy Kewk one of the developers http://steamcommunity.com/id/xkewk has Activision in his group profile so that basically says everything around the direction this games going.... Money grabbing... Save your money for Day Z they won't do something like this... Expand
  41. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    A cash grab gamed base off of the success of the DayZ mod. Nothing good about it at all. Also has in-game cash store where players can buy supplies!! how is that survival?!?
  42. Jan 25, 2013
    0
    Terrible game that is only further backed up by their customer support. War Z is not ready for official release by a long shot and should have never been released. Avoid this game like the plague. Maybe in a year or two will it be semi-functional based on their recent updates.
  43. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The game is an awful mess of an alpha which was said to be a full game. They blatantly lied about the features on their steam page, so much so that steam took it down and is investigating them. On top of that the support that they give to their customers is **** They basically tell you that you won't get a refund and threaten to put you on a blacklist for asking for a refund. They stoleThe game is an awful mess of an alpha which was said to be a full game. They blatantly lied about the features on their steam page, so much so that steam took it down and is investigating them. On top of that the support that they give to their customers is **** They basically tell you that you won't get a refund and threaten to put you on a blacklist for asking for a refund. They stole their TOS from LoL and only recently changed it. The guy "Sergei" who is the head of this game happened to design the engien for big rigs, you know? The worlds worst game, the game where the box says you will be transporting illegal cargo and racing cops despite that never happening, and how the trucks you race against have no ai so they sit in spawn. Yeah, worst game ever and this guy who made the engine is the lead on this game. This game is what you get when a couple of scummy no good **** decide to, instead of build on what rocket made (Day Z) decide to take their terrible F2P combat arms rip off and turn it into a open world zombie game, falsely advertise it, and the only innovation they do is adding a micro transaction shop to get more money out of customers. DO NOT BUY IT. The forums are like a damn gulag. DON'T BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  44. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely horrible. Horrible textures, horrible animations, horrible map, horrible physics and on top of it all pay to win. It is also filled with hackers and glitchers.
  45. Dec 21, 2012
    1
    These developers should straighten up and do their work properly. This is a GREAT concept being drained down the toilet. I really hope some real people will start thinking about a game like this, maybe they will manage not to screw things up.
  46. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game is a bait and switch, where the customer is the mark. Hammerpoint sells their games as if it was a feature-complete game, while it is, for all practical purposes, in alpha-stage. That is quite apart from the blatant lies in the marketing (still present on the WarZ homepage, nevermind the Steam store page) and the ludicrous claim that it is an "MMO".
  47. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is essentially the story of the mad king. But first we need to understand the background of the company. The entire games history is half truths and down right lies. According to their forum rules you must not "Steal Copywrited Work" unfortunately this doesn't seem to apply to them. Not only did they STEAL League of Legends ToS - the best part is they left the link of league ofThis game is essentially the story of the mad king. But first we need to understand the background of the company. The entire games history is half truths and down right lies. According to their forum rules you must not "Steal Copywrited Work" unfortunately this doesn't seem to apply to them. Not only did they STEAL League of Legends ToS - the best part is they left the link of league of legends inside the terms of service for War Z. Then their great zombie logo is actually stolen screen grabs from the t.v show The Walking Dead photoshoped. Oh but lets get onto the game. The War Z is actually just a Mod of War Inc.. A Free 2 Play game owned by the parent company Hammer Point. Essentially what they tried to do is the reverse of DayZ. In DayZ's case, they used most of the models and gameplay concepts from ARMA 2 and released a mod with a few changes. In WarZ's case it was almost the opposite. You are actually paying for the Mod. They used alot of the assets and same engine from War Inc., changed a few things around, and made you pay for the mod Instead. Essentially if you played War Inch, add a bunch of zombies and shoot, an you got War Z. Now onto the business side of War Z. War Z has a great reputation for banning dissenters. You say anything bad anywhere, your account gets banned - no reason given. Essentially its like a mad king killing those who oppose him. Not only that, this king blames his subjects for "mis-reading" his words, instead of manning up saying he didn't correctly explain the product description. So if you want to support a company that steals other products, blames its customers, bans accounts without reason. Support War Z. Otherwise Down with the King. Expand
  48. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is not sold as advertised and is a blatant cash grab. It is badly made and has so many things wrong (bugs/poor graphics/bad game mechanics etc) with it that I am stunned that Steam put it in their store. Also, a new feature has been added that prevents your character from respawning for 4 hours after death unless you pay real life cash! Allegedly, the EULA contains a clauseThis game is not sold as advertised and is a blatant cash grab. It is badly made and has so many things wrong (bugs/poor graphics/bad game mechanics etc) with it that I am stunned that Steam put it in their store. Also, a new feature has been added that prevents your character from respawning for 4 hours after death unless you pay real life cash! Allegedly, the EULA contains a clause stating 'NO REFUNDS'. Do not buy. Expand
  49. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    sorry for my english , this game is so bad i registered here to write about it 1.false advertazing of map size and count : only one map and way smaller when the developers say : no private servers , no skills , no zombie hordes , false advertizing no hidden fees:want to form clan -pay . also removed from steam becouse of false advertising ::: also no anti hacking system , and theysorry for my english , this game is so bad i registered here to write about it 1.false advertazing of map size and count : only one map and way smaller when the developers say : no private servers , no skills , no zombie hordes , false advertizing no hidden fees:want to form clan -pay . also removed from steam becouse of false advertising ::: also no anti hacking system , and they banned me permament ban and unbanned wihout any explanation after 3days aand final in game forums players are asked to rate this game 10 in metacritics if you consider to buy it google first ....i am not day z fan i newer played dayz Expand
  50. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I gave this game a zero not just because of the poor graphics, horrendous gameplay, extremely buggy state, absolutely absurd pay to play mechanics or the fact that it is largely unfinished, unpolished and poorly made...

    No, what tipped me over the edge was the way the development team has handled this game, its players, its advertising and almost every single aspect of its existence.
    I gave this game a zero not just because of the poor graphics, horrendous gameplay, extremely buggy state, absolutely absurd pay to play mechanics or the fact that it is largely unfinished, unpolished and poorly made...

    No, what tipped me over the edge was the way the development team has handled this game, its players, its advertising and almost every single aspect of its existence.

    From blatantly lying about the game's features to insisting it was the player's fault for "misreading" what they specifically stated was included, to ripping off the terms of service from League of Legends, to being a direct port from War Inc. with a few NPC's changed... to everything.

    This game is a catastrophic disaster.
    Expand
  51. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    A blatant cash grab by an incompetent developer, trading on the breakthrough success of the mod which they are attempting, poorly, to copy. Bottom of the barrel crap that would be 'bargain bucket' in an era that still had such things, presented on Steam as a top-tier release. A perfect storm of lazy, dishonest scumbaggery which should warn gamers away from any future releases associatedA blatant cash grab by an incompetent developer, trading on the breakthrough success of the mod which they are attempting, poorly, to copy. Bottom of the barrel crap that would be 'bargain bucket' in an era that still had such things, presented on Steam as a top-tier release. A perfect storm of lazy, dishonest scumbaggery which should warn gamers away from any future releases associated with the name Sergey Titov. Expand
  52. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is terrible. I bought it long before its "release" and its done nothing but sink in price. I'm not a fan of dayz was looking for a decent zombie survival and while it looked very promising you can't help but feel ripped off. The world is TINY. It's boring the in-game store has been expanding there's no zombie survival about it just surviving people shooting you . The gear isThis game is terrible. I bought it long before its "release" and its done nothing but sink in price. I'm not a fan of dayz was looking for a decent zombie survival and while it looked very promising you can't help but feel ripped off. The world is TINY. It's boring the in-game store has been expanding there's no zombie survival about it just surviving people shooting you . The gear is boring and bland. And all the dang features they swore would be in the release are still missing. The dev team to top it off is some of the biggest deniers I've ever seen. I hoped it would get better but this is an outright money grab and bail Expand
  53. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    If you click the TOS, no refunds. AKA fraud, AKA these motherfuc*ers are breaking the law with their TOS. GG WarZ devs, GG. Also, they claim to 'ban' hackers, yet they ban innocent accounts with alot of play time just so they have to buy the game again, and there is a **** load of hackers.
  54. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The first build was good. Now it's Pay 2 Win, PVP fest game with lots of bugs and ugly graphics. Don't buy this PoS game. I think this game was made because of the succes of DayZ. Well Hammerpoint Interactive, good job. Operation Cash Grabbing is succesful ;)
  55. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Worst game of all times. Complete rip-off. An obvious, though a VERY BAD one at that, clone of Day-Z.

    You want a zombie survival ---> Day Z is what you want!!!
  56. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game gave me diarrhea the first time I tried to play it, so I wouldn't ever suggest trying it yourself. It's an atrocity that rests in the absolute worst events of history, a true crime against humanity, really. Buggy, Laggy and nearly unplayable due to spawn camping and other goodies, this game proves once and for all that you shouldn't try to rip off the competition, especially whenThis game gave me diarrhea the first time I tried to play it, so I wouldn't ever suggest trying it yourself. It's an atrocity that rests in the absolute worst events of history, a true crime against humanity, really. Buggy, Laggy and nearly unplayable due to spawn camping and other goodies, this game proves once and for all that you shouldn't try to rip off the competition, especially when your ripoff makes Chinese copies of American products look good. Expand
  57. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Negative points about this game:

    * Majority of content appears to be directly lifted from other games, shows, or artwork, with minimal to no changes * Developer provided blatantly false advertising when the game was published on Steam, then blamed it on gamers "misunderstanding" what they said * Developer waited until *after* mass purchases on Steam to increase respawn delay from 1 to
    Negative points about this game:

    * Majority of content appears to be directly lifted from other games, shows, or artwork, with minimal to no changes
    * Developer provided blatantly false advertising when the game was published on Steam, then blamed it on gamers "misunderstanding" what they said
    * Developer waited until *after* mass purchases on Steam to increase respawn delay from 1 to 4 hours, and implement a real-money payment option to bypass respawn delay. Blatant cash grab move, and this after advertising "no hidden fees, no paid DLC," etc.
    * Speaking of no paid DLC, items you purchased with real money are lost when you die, meaning you have to re-purchase them.
    * Game advertised up to 100 players, multiple areas with maps (plural) ranging from 100-400 square km, and spending experience/skill points to upgrade skills. Buyers of the game learned that it came with one single map with only approximately 73 square km playable (the rest was locked), capped at a maximum of 50 players rather than 100, and no hint of skill points or skill upgrades.
    * When challenged about claims and releasing a game that was effectively a beta that was nowhere near done or ready, the developer claimed that the game was fully out of beta stage, but would never be "finished" because online games are always evolving. This in the face of a clear message in the version released on Steam that stated "ALPHA TEST FUNCTIONALITY SUBJECT TO CHANGE."
    * Developers have reportedly randomly banned players through the use of "lure" items that will trigger its automatic anti-hack system, permanently banning game accounts of those players. Complaints on the developer forum about unethical bans like this are ignored or deleted.

    This developer is also the genius behind "Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing." If he was not notorious for releasing shoddy, barely finished junk to the public and trying to scrape cash in while doing the absolute bare minimum and never actually providing a working final product, he should be now. He insults you for "misunderstanding" his lies, makes lots of claims that are not true, lifts most of his work from previous projects (some that aren't even his own), and is in just about every way a perfect example of what NOT to do as a game developer.

    This game is absolutely not worth your money. Check the official forums or do some Google searching if you question any of this.
    Expand
  58. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    Heard how bad it was going to be, but wanted to try it anyways. The game is fun with friends to just hop right in and try to find each other in a post-apocalyptic world while avoiding hordes of zombies (barely) and sly bandits, who are out there trying to take your supplies by killing you. It was fun before the 4-hour patch to just jump in, survive, die and repeat. But after the 4-hourHeard how bad it was going to be, but wanted to try it anyways. The game is fun with friends to just hop right in and try to find each other in a post-apocalyptic world while avoiding hordes of zombies (barely) and sly bandits, who are out there trying to take your supplies by killing you. It was fun before the 4-hour patch to just jump in, survive, die and repeat. But after the 4-hour re-spawn timer, if you delete a character (Why is there even a re-spawn timer anyways? If you die, you die.) and create a new one, you get nothing. Not even food or a flashlight. Seriously? You join a server and spawn in the middle of the damn forest with NO FLASHLIGHT?! On top of that, even to survive just to find food would be impossible without some type of defense. All I can say is, this game had a TON of potential. Probably the only reason I bought it. While it was play-able, after the 4-hour re-spawn patch/update, it's pretty much unplayable. To buy or not to buy? It was a buy game, but not anymore. I even had three of my friends get it because it was quite enjoyable in the beginning, but now we are all getting our refunds. Expand
  59. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game has continued to disappoint those who were looking for a DayZ clone and those who simply wanted another zombie game. No matter the case, the game is obviously deeply flawed at its core level with heavily ingrained in-game-purchased, hardcoded mechanics to force you to purchase those IGP items, and more still to punish those who try to play for free.

    The game itself was
    This game has continued to disappoint those who were looking for a DayZ clone and those who simply wanted another zombie game. No matter the case, the game is obviously deeply flawed at its core level with heavily ingrained in-game-purchased, hardcoded mechanics to force you to purchase those IGP items, and more still to punish those who try to play for free.

    The game itself was mismarketed and the developers behavior has been despciable. Stay away, or get a refund.
    Expand
  60. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is an absolute scam. Nothing has been added to it since it was released yet the company making it claims that they have already gone through alpha and beta and the game is now released. They sell the game based on lies, false promises, and doctored screenshots which show impossible in game situations and features that simply do not exist.

    Almost none of the features the
    This game is an absolute scam. Nothing has been added to it since it was released yet the company making it claims that they have already gone through alpha and beta and the game is now released. They sell the game based on lies, false promises, and doctored screenshots which show impossible in game situations and features that simply do not exist.

    Almost none of the features the company lists and being in game currently actually appear. When they first put the game on Steam they claimed to have multiple maps and hundred player servers and even these simple basic game elements they were lying about. Even after having to edit their Steam page to better reflect how the game actually is they just put up another list of features that aren't actually in the game and then lied about the map size and players per server some more.

    The entire game is just a poorly executed mod for the companies other FREE 2 PLAY game War Inc: Battlezones. The only difference being the UI and that there are now zombies (which have horribly broken AI and don't even perform as shown in screenshots). That is it other than that you are just getting a failed Free2Play shooter on a different map (a map which is much closer to 10 square kilometers than the 100 the company tries to claim it is).

    This game has now been removed from being purchasable on Steam and Valve even went so far as to post a public apology for even placing this game in the store in the first place with all of its false advertisements and the fact that it is nowhere even close to being a finished product.

    The screenshots that they use to advertise their game and claim is actual in game footage shows multiple features that the company hasn't even started working on yet. They also show tons more zombies than actually appear in the game. They recently tried to up the zombie count (even still it is nowhere near what we see in their screenshots) and all they managed to do is cause every single person, even those running top of the line machines, to get a severe drop in performance.

    The same day that the released the game on Steam they also made it so that when you die in the game you have to wait 4 hours to respawn. That is unless you visit their cash shop and purchase the new insta-revive which was also added the day it went one Steam. This is the definition of Pay2Win.

    This game expects you to not only buy the game, which is simply a mod for a Free2Play game by the same company, but then in addition to this they run a cash shop filled with almost every item in the game (for instance you can buy 100round drum mag NATO rounds which are used in about 8 different not even rare guns in the game). They also expect players to pay for additional clan slots if you want more than 4 people including yourself in the clan. You will also be renting the game servers when they decide to start letting people do that.

    I gave this game a 0/10 because it is not even a game it is a poorly executed modification for a failed free FPS and is being sold on nothing more than a pack of lies and doctored screenshots. How this game hasn't been sued yet for false advertising is beyond me and I bet it is just a matter of time.
    Expand
  61. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is a scam. Spent hard earned cash on it, and it really hurts knowing that Titov the scumbag is making off with it now. Don't care about the merits of the game-- it was blatantly false advertising.
  62. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I have been banned from the "community forum" for voicing my concerns about the game. It seems they do not want ANYONE saying anything but good things. And that is not possible because they have delivered about 10% of what they promised. Their treatment of customers is horrific, and the forum is moderated by horrible egotistical self absorbed nubs. Its a horrible game with terribleI have been banned from the "community forum" for voicing my concerns about the game. It seems they do not want ANYONE saying anything but good things. And that is not possible because they have delivered about 10% of what they promised. Their treatment of customers is horrific, and the forum is moderated by horrible egotistical self absorbed nubs. Its a horrible game with terrible graphics, with atrocious animations and as far as I see no real future. This game will always have a core following of hardcore Sergey c**k suckers but they are all ruining what could have been a good game. If the dev team listened to the critics and not the butt lickers and realized how bad a job they have done then maybe they could redeem themselves, but i think it is to late for that, so RIP WarZ. Expand
  63. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is absolute garbage. In the best case scenario it could be called an alpha version, yet the developer claims it's a "Foundation Release" and does not mention the game is an alpha or beta version. Many promised features were never released so far though the marketing and advertising about this game is very strong and attractive. With the false advertising aside, the game is andThis game is absolute garbage. In the best case scenario it could be called an alpha version, yet the developer claims it's a "Foundation Release" and does not mention the game is an alpha or beta version. Many promised features were never released so far though the marketing and advertising about this game is very strong and attractive. With the false advertising aside, the game is and plays garbage. Game mechanics, visuals and audio are terrible. Stay away. If you bought on Steam ask for a refund. Best thing you can do with this game is get your money back. Expand
  64. Dec 20, 2012
    3
    I have put 20+ hours into this game. Initially it was TONS of fun, until the hacking and griefing became unbearable and the game is basically worthless as anything other than open world PvP. The recent revelations of all the shady Dev actions, the permabans, the blatant lying about the games release features,etc...all that factors into my decision to not rate higher, but I'm trying to beI have put 20+ hours into this game. Initially it was TONS of fun, until the hacking and griefing became unbearable and the game is basically worthless as anything other than open world PvP. The recent revelations of all the shady Dev actions, the permabans, the blatant lying about the games release features,etc...all that factors into my decision to not rate higher, but I'm trying to be objective about the game itself.

    The best part of the game is the tension. But the tension doesn't come from inside the game...it comes from the other players. The zombies are easy to evade and easy to kill. Its the other players you have to watch out for. Rarely EVER did I find other players that didn't try to kill me. If you see someone, you can assume they are going to kill you for your loot...or just to grief you. It makes this game into nothing more than an open world PvP game...so if you are into that, great. But if you think there is any PvE in here...go elsewhere because that feature disappeared within hours of the Alpha release.

    Overall I simply cannot recommend this game. The cheating is out of control, there are no PvE servers, the maps are too small for 50-100 players unless you are really into PvP. The recent actions of the Dev's have really illustrated their underlying shadiness and really, I doubt the game will be around for more than 6 months.
    Expand
  65. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    dirty tactics, scamming, micro-transactions in pre-payed game, acting as refund is a fraud... The game itself would be OK (4/10) as a free to play, but now it's a complete garbage with terrible studio behind.
  66. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Seriously, don't buy this game. I've had this since Beta and if anything it's getting worse. The creator of this game bans people for posting negative comments on their forum. Worst of all the newest service agreement makes you sign away your rights to request a refund.

    Seriously, don't buy this game.
  67. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The concept is good. The execution is poor. At minimum there should be a new player server, without PvP. This would allow new players to get a foothold in the game, and make some in game friends, without being murdered 24/7/365 by the established players. A faster transportation system is need. Maybe swap stamina, and some food for instant movement to a new location. The further theThe concept is good. The execution is poor. At minimum there should be a new player server, without PvP. This would allow new players to get a foothold in the game, and make some in game friends, without being murdered 24/7/365 by the established players. A faster transportation system is need. Maybe swap stamina, and some food for instant movement to a new location. The further the transfer the more resources are required in exchange. Walking for hours to collect scraps sucks, when the established snipers pick you off for a granola bar. Also I can jump off a Humvee without getting hurt, but walking down a slight incline sometimes hurts me. There are many other issues, but I think everyone covered those just fine. The initial rate of purchase from Steam shows that a game with this concept would perform well financially. However, as of Dec 19, 2012 this is not an enjoyable game as is. However, if the developers fix some serious game balance issues it could be fun... Expand
  68. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game can only be referred to as a scam, it is buggy and has not promised any of its improvements. Although its rather hard for Beta game to get worse as it goes through, it is managing it. The game is buggy and crashes often. The game is highly focused on "Paying to win" and will ask you to waste more of your money as time goes on. Assuming you do enjoy the game, but ever need toThis game can only be referred to as a scam, it is buggy and has not promised any of its improvements. Although its rather hard for Beta game to get worse as it goes through, it is managing it. The game is buggy and crashes often. The game is highly focused on "Paying to win" and will ask you to waste more of your money as time goes on. Assuming you do enjoy the game, but ever need to contact the support department, good luck, you will need several weeks to wait, if you are lucky you will get through to the extremely rude staff quicker. Expand
  69. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is not even close to being a beta lots of features missing and a new patch that makes it so you have to pay real money if you want to spawn more then once every 4 hours. A developer who commits fraud then blames it on the customers inability to read his mind. God forbid you have a problem and have to use their forums good luck not getting banned for simply stating what wrongThis game is not even close to being a beta lots of features missing and a new patch that makes it so you have to pay real money if you want to spawn more then once every 4 hours. A developer who commits fraud then blames it on the customers inability to read his mind. God forbid you have a problem and have to use their forums good luck not getting banned for simply stating what wrong with the game. All in all one of the worst customer experiences I've ever seen. Going back and playing Big Rigs would be less painful. Expand
  70. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    This game is a ripoff of WarInc models, textures and codes and DayZ idea.
    False advertising makes you believe this game is AAA but its unfinished, unpolished...
    I regret buying it. Thank god it was taken out of Steam for being a FRAUD.
  71. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is actually frankly considerably utterly **** The graphics / low-res textures, bad Zombie AI, no Voice Chat, nothing that makes people think about their consequences, small map, fast paced (Call of Duty style) zombie survival with terrible mechanics. They have managed to copy nearly everything from other games (I.E Crisis, Day Z mod for ARMA II, Call of Duty, and War Inc (justThis game is actually frankly considerably utterly **** The graphics / low-res textures, bad Zombie AI, no Voice Chat, nothing that makes people think about their consequences, small map, fast paced (Call of Duty style) zombie survival with terrible mechanics. They have managed to copy nearly everything from other games (I.E Crisis, Day Z mod for ARMA II, Call of Duty, and War Inc (just straight up using same models as that). DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. Expand
  72. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I purchased this game thinking it might be a worthwhile alternative to spend my time on until Day Z standalone is released. It's not. The gameplay is not up to par, the advertising on Steam was misleading, and it feels like a cheap Day Z clone. Thankfully Steam have offered a refund, and I've returned to playing the Day Z mod. Not worth your consideration for purchasing.
  73. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    They ban players from forum, they ban players from the game. 5 days without aswer to suport tickets. this is a scam to take our money....
    This game is TERRIBLE. The features are all crappy rip-offs of features DayZ has, and the Dev's wishlist is the same. The screenshots featured in advertisements are LIES. they feature actions that are literally impossible in the game. The clan feature
    They ban players from forum, they ban players from the game. 5 days without aswer to suport tickets. this is a scam to take our money....
    This game is TERRIBLE. The features are all crappy rip-offs of features DayZ has, and the Dev's wishlist is the same. The screenshots featured in advertisements are LIES. they feature actions that are literally impossible in the game. The clan feature is only available in the in-game store, usually a free feature in MMO's.
    Expand
  74. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Terrible, unfinished game made by the guy who brought you smash hits like "Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing." Nothing but a complete ripoff and cash grab from the success of the highly successful Arma 2 mod "Day Z." Avoid at all costs.
  75. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I feel sorry for the people who have been suckered into purchasing this atrocity... It is clearly a desperate sham of a game to follow in DayZ's shadow. With no leverage above DayZ, in that there's nothing that can in any way make the game compete with the Arma II mod at all, false promises and expectations will be the downfall of the game, and maybe the company.
  76. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Such a scam I bought into the legend pack for 50 bucks played like crazy and after the last patch i got a perma ban and they wont answer my ticket as to why they banned me when ive never hacked. Blam this game is a pile of ****
  77. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Lies around EVERY corner. Can't you fix anything?

    P.S. I'll admit it, you fooled me. Good thing Steam is doing refunds, and hopefully you all go out of business.
  78. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    LOL This game is full of butthurt **** Don't even try buying this game, because you'll either get **** over due to the Devs being such greedy **** and for marketing a game that hasn't even finished yet. Not only that, they'll find a way around to stab you in the back, trust me, this will happen soon and finally, the stupid fanboys. Oh man so much hate, lol it makes my tears moist.
  79. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    A terrible game by ANY standard no matter the state it claims to be in. Clunky animations, slow even punishing movement speed. Punished by stamina meter for wanting to go faster. Terrible zombie AI. Sound effects are budget game quality. Gun play has little to no physics or bullet drop. Riddled with script kiddies and cheaters. Map is only 10 sq km despite claims it is 100. TheA terrible game by ANY standard no matter the state it claims to be in. Clunky animations, slow even punishing movement speed. Punished by stamina meter for wanting to go faster. Terrible zombie AI. Sound effects are budget game quality. Gun play has little to no physics or bullet drop. Riddled with script kiddies and cheaters. Map is only 10 sq km despite claims it is 100. The devs are shady and like to pretend they do not work for the company while talking up their game.

    DO NOT BUY
    Expand
  80. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    purchased this game back in alpha. the game was buggy and crashed often which i would expect from a alpha. when it came time for beta it was pushed back a month, then when the next time came it was pushed back until it was ready. the graphics engine is not optimized at all, i'm running two 7970's and a 3930k and was averaging 18fps, same system gets about 100fps running eyefinity inpurchased this game back in alpha. the game was buggy and crashed often which i would expect from a alpha. when it came time for beta it was pushed back a month, then when the next time came it was pushed back until it was ready. the graphics engine is not optimized at all, i'm running two 7970's and a 3930k and was averaging 18fps, same system gets about 100fps running eyefinity in battlefield 3. you would often, hacking is a huge problem which makes it near impossible to play, and on average you would die in the first few minutes of trying to play from another player. if you try to get help on there forum your thread just gets deleted. when you try to get a refund they ban you for "hacking" and tell you they lost your payment information. this game is horrible and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. save your money and buy a game where the company actually cares about its customers. Expand
  81. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Hammerpoint is the shadiest company I have ever seen, I pre-ordered this game OCT 10th and was refunded DEC 12th . I was banned for no reason and after 4 days of waiting on customer support I have yet to receive a reply. I am quite happy to see this turd finally flushing down the toilet. If you are smart you would steer clear of these immature drama filled developers. (I have beenHammerpoint is the shadiest company I have ever seen, I pre-ordered this game OCT 10th and was refunded DEC 12th . I was banned for no reason and after 4 days of waiting on customer support I have yet to receive a reply. I am quite happy to see this turd finally flushing down the toilet. If you are smart you would steer clear of these immature drama filled developers. (I have been following this game since before the Alpha was released and the amount of lies are CRAZY!!! Expand
  82. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Oh come on! 0 could be a great thing! Just look at the bright side.
  83. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    This game should still be in Alpha. The amount of game breaking bugs are incredible. From jumping inside trees, buildings. You can die by walking down a hill. Items now glitch inside objects and are no longer obtainable.

    The game went from Alpha to Beta with no noticeable change other then constant crashing. The same thing happened from Beta to 'Foundation Release'. They do not go from
    This game should still be in Alpha. The amount of game breaking bugs are incredible. From jumping inside trees, buildings. You can die by walking down a hill. Items now glitch inside objects and are no longer obtainable.

    The game went from Alpha to Beta with no noticeable change other then constant crashing. The same thing happened from Beta to 'Foundation Release'. They do not go from phase to phase once the game has successfully passed, but simply to sell it to more people.

    The Foundation Release is missing 90% of the content and its introduced old and new game breaking bugs!
    Expand
  84. eM_
    Dec 20, 2012
    1
    Avoid this game, it really is bad. Its a poor mans DayZ, which lacks many of the features it claims to have. Game play feel sluggish and broken, textures look ugly and outdated. Its just not fun.
  85. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game is absolutely crap. It's buggy, unfinished, unpolished, and that's before I even get into the fact they lied about every feature on the steam store website. I didn't want to pay real money for an Alpha game.

    Oh, and the fact I got banned for absolutely no reason within 3 hours is ridiculous.

    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, EVER.
  86. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    After reading the transcripts between Sergey Titov (Executive Producer for this game) and GameSpy, I don't think I can trust this person ever again, and nor should you! Remember his name, just in case you meet him some day.
  87. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    What was Sergey even thinking when he tried to cover up his lies with lies saying the users can't read and calling campers **** This game should not be played at all ever stay away.
  88. oat
    Dec 20, 2012
    0
    I bought this game and have regretted it since. I was annoyed when the vehicles weren't there. I was aggravated when they changed the respawn timer to 4 hours for a game that I had paid for. The hackers are absolutely ridiculous and the anti-cheat system is garbage. But the thing that ticked me off the most was the way the staff handled the criticism and are so blindsided as to blameI bought this game and have regretted it since. I was annoyed when the vehicles weren't there. I was aggravated when they changed the respawn timer to 4 hours for a game that I had paid for. The hackers are absolutely ridiculous and the anti-cheat system is garbage. But the thing that ticked me off the most was the way the staff handled the criticism and are so blindsided as to blame everyone but themselves. I understand that this game is a work in progress but they blatantly lied about many things. I asked for a refund since I purchased directly from their website but have yet to hear any response. Do not buy. Expand
  89. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Bought the game right when it came out and said to myself that it is alpha. Then when beta came and I saw what the hell this a beta it sucks. All they did was fix the bugs but the game is so stiff. The animation are so horrible in every way. Thought it was going to improve since I thought those were just place holders until beta comes out. Then they said it was time for foundation releaseBought the game right when it came out and said to myself that it is alpha. Then when beta came and I saw what the hell this a beta it sucks. All they did was fix the bugs but the game is so stiff. The animation are so horrible in every way. Thought it was going to improve since I thought those were just place holders until beta comes out. Then they said it was time for foundation release and what the heck still looks the same crap animation. Game is crap don't bother buying this game. Expand
  90. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    What shall I say? I believe everything is said in the other reviews!: The devs are liars and make false advertisment- People did not get the game they were told they would get. Then they ban random people, especially people who try to give some constructive criticism.... Mark my words they really don't tolerate any kind of criticism!

    Then there is the game...First of all I did not get
    What shall I say? I believe everything is said in the other reviews!: The devs are liars and make false advertisment- People did not get the game they were told they would get. Then they ban random people, especially people who try to give some constructive criticism.... Mark my words they really don't tolerate any kind of criticism!

    Then there is the game...First of all I did not get what i was promised! Because the features listet on steam wasn't implemented in the game! ... I'm actually pretty disappointed that steam agree to sell such games.. That's not okay! The game itself is pretty boring- and very frustrating to play. It is boring because it features NOTHING. You can drink, eat and run- But that's it. You can't interact with anything. There is no doors to be opened or closed, no objects, except of food, to carry or move around... You can't even use your fists. This is very bad, because after you die the first time you will respawn with absolutely nothing, which means you can't do anything but run if encountered by zombies/bandits. You got a stamina, which means you can run a limited distance, and then you have to stop, breath, and "reload" your stamina.... Nothing wrong with that, it adds a realistic feeling to the game.... but it causes some problems because it happens that you can not run from the zombies, and because you can't beat them or do anything to hit/damage them you die- And you'll have to wait 4 hours to respawn, unless you have plenty of (real)money- then you can buy a "quick revive".
    Then comes the problem with cheats and hackers- There are MANY of them(hackers) and many of them are camping at the spawningspots, the cities and the safezones which means that you'll suffer a quick dead after you have been waiting for 4 long hours to be able to play again.... It is REALLY hard to get any kind of weapon- Even melee weapons such as hammers and bats are in very short supply- And you need to sneak past hackers with wallhack and aimbots just to be able to look after them... You can't host private servers, which means: You can't avoid the many hackers.

    The graphics aren't anything you would brag about... and the sound (of guns, zombies and characters) is pretty lame....

    The idea was good... But because of some greedy, harsh developers they game is ruined- And I have no faith that it will change. Now I'll just sit and hope someone else will pick up the idea where the developers lost it!!!
    Expand
  91. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    A terrible game. Almost nothing like what was promised. Even now what is said to be in the game (100 km map) isn't even true. There is no way the map is 100 km. Probably 1/5 that or less.
  92. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Shockingly bad, avoid.

    For the game itself, it is riddled with hackers, glitches, bugs. Combine that with poor graphics and animation and the fact that it runs so badly, there is really nothing positive to say about it.
  93. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Purchased this game after Oct 31, 2012. As they stated they will be in the beta stage of the game. Game has absolutely no hope - they accepted purchases before the game was even alpha stage. Rushed the game - garbage game - don't you dare buy it. This game has no hope it's a scam and a money grabber due to the success of Day Z....
  94. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Rushed game, animations are horrible, the sound of guns and environment are horrible and buggy. Zombies' AI is horribly bad. Nobody should purchase this game..
  95. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This isn't so much a game as a list of features that don't exist in the final product. To call The War Z a scam would be generous. Stay as far away as possible.
  96. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    Horrible game, there are way better choices than this on the market. Do your self a favour and invest a little extra in getting arma II combined ops, and get dayz.
  97. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    Don't purchase this game,this game is terrible they did so many lies to this game the devs yesterday i got my money back from Steam

    Notice:IF YOU did buy the title(game)on steam request a refund just by having a support ticket and this is the fun part:you must wait until Valve will see that

    I Recommend to buy Arma II:Combined Ops and download the mod "DayZ"
  98. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    Game is bad and everyone who made it must feel bad and everyone who advertised it must feel bad and everyone who is a fan must feel bad and most importantly PR manager must feel bad!
  99. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    Horrible game by a horrible developer, rushed out to cash in on people too impatient to wait for the standalone version of Day Z. Terrible animations, almost non existent AI, uses every underhanded microtransaction trick in the book, Zynga would be proud. They routinely delete criticisms on the forums, ban people for complaining, and blame their customers for misreading future featureHorrible game by a horrible developer, rushed out to cash in on people too impatient to wait for the standalone version of Day Z. Terrible animations, almost non existent AI, uses every underhanded microtransaction trick in the book, Zynga would be proud. They routinely delete criticisms on the forums, ban people for complaining, and blame their customers for misreading future feature claims as actual features. Pulled from Steam for good reason, hopefully Day Z will be out by the time they persuade them to relist it. Expand
  100. Dec 21, 2012
    0
    This isn't a game, it is a SCAM. Developers lie about everything, and their story changes every time they give an interview or talk to public. They claim that game is "ready" to rip off some more money. DO NOT BUY this 'game'. Also, its developer sergey titov is in the companys board that just bought HammerPoint!
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.