User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 4041 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    They ban players from forum, they ban players from the game. 5 days without aswer to suport tickets. this is a scam to take our money....
    This game is TERRIBLE. The features are all crappy rip-offs of features DayZ has, and the Dev's wishlist is the same. The screenshots featured in advertisements are LIES. they feature actions that are literally impossible in the game. The clan feature
    They ban players from forum, they ban players from the game. 5 days without aswer to suport tickets. this is a scam to take our money....
    This game is TERRIBLE. The features are all crappy rip-offs of features DayZ has, and the Dev's wishlist is the same. The screenshots featured in advertisements are LIES. they feature actions that are literally impossible in the game. The clan feature is only available in the in-game store, usually a free feature in MMO's.
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    The game should have never been released on Steam I'll give it that. But this game is not a complete game ether, the Dev's need to come out and admit to that and then start fixing it. If they can do what they promise when people bought the Alpha pre-release then they will be solid.
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Terrible, unfinished game made by the guy who brought you smash hits like "Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing." Nothing but a complete ripoff and cash grab from the success of the highly successful Arma 2 mod "Day Z." Avoid at all costs.
  4. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    THIS GAME SUCKS

    i rather shoot myself in the head then too ever play this crap again i rather be tortured with a chainsaw then this this game is soooo bad that it should have died on the drawing board END OF REVIEW
  5. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    o7 all,

    First of all: I´m a Gamer! mainly all said in the first 2 articles, but its insane how nearly ALL game communities raging about this Scam. I bought it Pre Alpha and don´t whine about the Fail of itand also doesn´t care about the 20 bugs i paid. The Money is not the point in this case, its about Devs keep constanty lying a honorable Community that where
    o7 all,

    First of all: I´m a Gamer!

    mainly all said in the first 2 articles, but its insane how nearly ALL game communities raging about this Scam. I bought it Pre Alpha and don´t whine about the Fail of itand also doesn´t care about the 20 bugs i paid. The Money is not the point in this case, its about Devs keep constanty lying a honorable Community that where extremly excited about the upcomming Game War Z.
    You all know the Game i mean, wee saw awesome Screenshots with Hordes of Zombies attracted by a Flare that this character lighted up. (http://media.pcgamer.com/files/2012/07/WarZNight32.jpg), remember huh? .... but i didnt bought this game obviously. I bought this Game (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RtKAm3nzg6I)

    I personally stopped playing after the first 3 Weeks beacause no evident game Change came up. Also the Hacker took the Wrath of God onto every Server and you can see every Day people complaining about getting killed by hacker, esp botter etc. the shady behavior of the Dev Team and their Forum Mods is the wrong way. they constantly deleting EVERY negative Thread posted on the official and the Steam Forums. EVERY DAY !! Also the good written ones where no one is flaming: TH!S GAME§ SUC(KS and so on. They´re not trying to solve problems with their community they just keep shutting eyes in front of it.

    The Steam Advertisement still telling potetial "NEW" Customers through Steam FALSE Game and Key Features, anyway today Steam removed the Price Buttons because this isn´t near to be ready. Speaking the Truth this Game is REALLY FAR from ready, its a late Alpha Stage, maybe a Testing Beta Phase of this Game. I played a lot of Games since my starting Days in '93, also helped in a lot of Alphas and Betas to build and grow up but I recently never saw a Company and Developer Team that where so Fail in their Jobs like these Guys. A real Shame for every honest Gamer and hopefully newcommin Devs doesn´t show the same disrespect to such a great Com than these we are, The Gamers!

    http://www.pcgamesn.com/article/how-big-war-zs-map
    http://mmoattack.com/mmo-news/critical-hit-opinions-on-the-war-z
    http://pc.gamespy.com/pc/the-war-z/1226980p1.html?utm_campaign=twposts&utm_source=twitter
    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2012-12-19-the-war-z-dev-apologises-to-gamers-who-misread-steam-page-hits-out-at-dayz-fanboys
    http://www.change.org/petitions/hammerpoint-interactive-full-refund-of-retail-price-of-warz-for-everyone
    http://www.24th-meu.com/forum/m/7117428/viewthread/5164880-my-message-to-devs
    Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I feel sorry for the people who have been suckered into purchasing this atrocity... It is clearly a desperate sham of a game to follow in DayZ's shadow. With no leverage above DayZ, in that there's nothing that can in any way make the game compete with the Arma II mod at all, false promises and expectations will be the downfall of the game, and maybe the company.
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Such a scam I bought into the legend pack for 50 bucks played like crazy and after the last patch i got a perma ban and they wont answer my ticket as to why they banned me when ive never hacked. Blam this game is a pile of ****
  8. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The devs couldn't make a decent game so they just reskinned Big Rigs. Within five seconds of playing, it gets pretty obvious. In your first zombie encounter, you'll notice that the zombies are oddly truck-shaped. Okay, well graphics aren't everything, you say. I agree, but the zombies don't even move! They just **** stand there going "Hurdur" while the player smashes its face. How is it aThe devs couldn't make a decent game so they just reskinned Big Rigs. Within five seconds of playing, it gets pretty obvious. In your first zombie encounter, you'll notice that the zombies are oddly truck-shaped. Okay, well graphics aren't everything, you say. I agree, but the zombies don't even move! They just **** stand there going "Hurdur" while the player smashes its face. How is it a zombie survival if the zombies can't even kill you? My biggest gripe with the game is the pre-order bonus. If you bought it before September 31st, you get some naked pics of Sergey Titov's mother. Seriously, what the **** in the **** **** It's just another atrocious example of the dev's blatant false advertising. The picture I recieved was a hairy man with **** nothing like what I expected to get. The devs never try to explain that Titov's mother is an inbred transvestite. The consumer is lead to believe that they are paying for premium pornography. The company's business practices are disgusting. DO NOT GET THIS GAME. Expand
  9. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The game was okay, but it's now Pay2win. The community is **** and the devs are **** Don't buy the game if you want to risk dissapointment. Sergey Titov does not know what he is doing.
  10. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Lies around EVERY corner. Can't you fix anything?

    P.S. I'll admit it, you fooled me. Good thing Steam is doing refunds, and hopefully you all go out of business.
  11. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    There is a reason Steam pulled the product from sale, offering refund to any who bought. False advertising, publishing unfinished product and overall just a broken and a crappy game to play
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    LOL This game is full of butthurt **** Don't even try buying this game, because you'll either get **** over due to the Devs being such greedy **** and for marketing a game that hasn't even finished yet. Not only that, they'll find a way around to stab you in the back, trust me, this will happen soon and finally, the stupid fanboys. Oh man so much hate, lol it makes my tears moist.
  13. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I have nothing else to add that hasn't already been said. The game is nothing more than a gimmick trying to con you out of your money. They lied in their game description and copy-pasted League of Legend's terms of service. DO NOT GIVE THEM A DIME.
  14. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Scam game, soo many promises just to sell a pvp games with somes zombies.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BUrKdAjN4DM&list=UUNFbcu5tU8eFPhjORNPq9pQ&index=1

    True Story.
  15. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    A terrible game by ANY standard no matter the state it claims to be in. Clunky animations, slow even punishing movement speed. Punished by stamina meter for wanting to go faster. Terrible zombie AI. Sound effects are budget game quality. Gun play has little to no physics or bullet drop. Riddled with script kiddies and cheaters. Map is only 10 sq km despite claims it is 100. TheA terrible game by ANY standard no matter the state it claims to be in. Clunky animations, slow even punishing movement speed. Punished by stamina meter for wanting to go faster. Terrible zombie AI. Sound effects are budget game quality. Gun play has little to no physics or bullet drop. Riddled with script kiddies and cheaters. Map is only 10 sq km despite claims it is 100. The devs are shady and like to pretend they do not work for the company while talking up their game.

    DO NOT BUY
    Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    the problem with this game is.. people didnt research before they bought this game. i however love it. so..it sucks if you dont like it. just means more zombies for me :)
    NEXT TIME: do your research before buying a game.
  17. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game doesn't live up to the hype. Misrepresented screenshots and features misled many to prepurchase this game. I was one of the unlucky ones that bought this before there were reviews available on the internet. I tried to like this game, I REALLY did, but the behavior of the dev's is unprofessional and accusing when addressing issues from the community. Ban's have been dished out toThis game doesn't live up to the hype. Misrepresented screenshots and features misled many to prepurchase this game. I was one of the unlucky ones that bought this before there were reviews available on the internet. I tried to like this game, I REALLY did, but the behavior of the dev's is unprofessional and accusing when addressing issues from the community. Ban's have been dished out to people for showing criticism on the forums or in game chat. Behavior issues aside, this game is not good. It will take a lot of work to get where Hammerpoint wants it. Multiple issues take away from this game. The textures look like something out of an original Xbox game as well as a lot of the modeling. There are numerous hackers in every server. Many others started using hacks to stay alive from the hacking bandits. The models are poorly put together in some places and leave gaps that are only visible from one angle. Few are friendly and a 4 hour wait to respawn makes it apparent the developers don't really want you to PLAY, just give money. Speaking of money, it costs 50GC (which equates to $0.40 USD) to revive yourself early (and definitely is part of a Pay2Win feature in my book.) Ridiculous. As someone who bought into the hype and have already purchased this, I recommend skipping this game. Expand
  18. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Looked really promissing, but turned out to be overhyped and unfinished. Defently not something i would recommend. It is a blatant ripoff of the DayZ mods ideas, but there is no real improvement to the table . Unlike the dayz mod, which is free, they actually charge money you for this buggy half baked piece of crap.
  19. Dec 19, 2012
    8
    Played it for several weeks now, and having played Day Z, this game is fun and more polished. Sure it's got a long way to go and they've made mistakes, but at $15 it's hard to go wrong.
  20. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Fun, lot of stress, but we have to play with friends for more survivability! Dont believe rage comment, they dont know how to play, and this game will be improve by devs.
  21. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Do not buy this game they are braking many laws and are one of the worst developers i have ever seen.
    They have no respect for there customers and cheat the system.
    Im glad i can get a refund from steam.
  22. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I bought this game on 18-12-2012. I was expecting a polished game with the stuff they promised but noooooo. Not a single F*CKING thing. First they changed the respawn time from 1 hour to 4 hours per character, second they let you pay for almost everything, third everything is buggy as hell, fourth its just a complete port from War Inc. I could continue all day long but this game isI bought this game on 18-12-2012. I was expecting a polished game with the stuff they promised but noooooo. Not a single F*CKING thing. First they changed the respawn time from 1 hour to 4 hours per character, second they let you pay for almost everything, third everything is buggy as hell, fourth its just a complete port from War Inc. I could continue all day long but this game is deffinitely not worth its money.
    So people DONT BUY THIS PIECE OF GARBAGE!!!
    Expand
  23. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Clearly the developers of this game have no respect for their intended market, intellectual property law, criminal law or otherwise. Their actions are literally illegal, not to mention incredibly bad business practice. In my opinion they should offer everyone who purchased the game under false pretenses an immediate and full refund with no exceptions as they clearly are not interested inClearly the developers of this game have no respect for their intended market, intellectual property law, criminal law or otherwise. Their actions are literally illegal, not to mention incredibly bad business practice. In my opinion they should offer everyone who purchased the game under false pretenses an immediate and full refund with no exceptions as they clearly are not interested in selling a product that is fit for purpose. Expand
  24. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I played this game since ALPHA as I am a huge Zombie Fan. I bought the $40 pack in an effort to support development and the company. From day 1 the game was unplayable as advertised. There is NO zombie game component, the game is 100% PVP. You are never killed by zombies, there are simply slow moving, easy to bash with any weapon distractions.

    The game has no hack protection built in.
    I played this game since ALPHA as I am a huge Zombie Fan. I bought the $40 pack in an effort to support development and the company. From day 1 the game was unplayable as advertised. There is NO zombie game component, the game is 100% PVP. You are never killed by zombies, there are simply slow moving, easy to bash with any weapon distractions.

    The game has no hack protection built in. Youtube has dozens of examples of free hacks, videos of hacks ect. Let me be clear, the game is unplayable without hacks .. I am killed within 10 mins of logging into the game EVERYTIME and I never see the person.

    Everytime you die you have to wait 1 full hour before you can play that character again. Everything you were carrying is lost and you start over with NOTHING.

    Having NOTHING means you can not kill a zombie, (hands sare not weapons) so you are forced to crawl around trying to hide from zombies in some weird stealth game throwback .. unfortunately hackers see you from anywhere on the map and simply run over to kill you.

    Now that they have reduced the servers and packed 70 players (reduced to 50) on a server I am spawn killed all the time. I honestly can not play the game.

    Finally, the company simply lies about the game features, They say the maps are 100-400 km .. unfortunately there is only 1 map that is about 75km but there are only 7-8 small areas that have spawnable items .. the rest of the world is wide open and since you starve in less than a day you are forced (weaponless) into the small number of 10-25 building towns. Even worse each town only has 2-3 areas where good items spawn .. those are camped by hackers or just clan groups of "bandits" who kill everyone on sight.

    This game is dead on arrival, do not buy it .. do not support this criminal company.
    Expand
  25. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    DO NOT buy this game. This is a complete fraud and scam. The developers and everyone involved should go to prison. They are banning people without reason, just because they criticize the game or go against what the developers want to hear. I would say this is a joke, but it's way more serious than that!!
  26. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game could of been good... But copying a mod and then failing at doing that... The fact of the matter is that they try to sell a alpha trying to say its a finished game. Then they try to sell power... It's pathetic... So pathetic valve removed it off steam... Horrible games are like bad rats... There is so much more it isn't funny...
  27. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    First off I have been playing this game since it came out back on October 15 th, and i will be the first one to admit it has a lot of problems and the Dev's have not followed through with some of the things they said they would. Many things need to be fixed and/or completed but still a enjoyable game none the less especially in a group setting. The zombies are not what they should be andFirst off I have been playing this game since it came out back on October 15 th, and i will be the first one to admit it has a lot of problems and the Dev's have not followed through with some of the things they said they would. Many things need to be fixed and/or completed but still a enjoyable game none the less especially in a group setting. The zombies are not what they should be and the game does need some serious optimizing but i am able to run it just fine on high settings, not with the FPS i am use to but problem free none the less. This game is a work in progress and has great potential and should not be written off so quickly , especially if the Dev's would stop worrying about the little things in the game and move on to the RPG side of the game to give it more balance. Long story short this game is enjoyable it will make you laugh it will make you cuss and yes maybe some crying in there as well. Happy gaming. Expand
  28. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is a spamming, lying, ripoff of DayZ! They make micro-transactions and are censoring their forums! This is a total disgrace to DayZ and should never have been made! Don't buy it as refunds aren't allowed!
  29. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Lots of problems with the game, honey traps to trap hackers that catch real players, zombies not strong enough to be a danger...
    Though the game has some strong points, such as how tactical it can be in some cases, they released it too early to do the game any justice. A few more months to iron out bugs, strengthen the security on the game, and to check the dev list. The mods on the
    Lots of problems with the game, honey traps to trap hackers that catch real players, zombies not strong enough to be a danger...
    Though the game has some strong points, such as how tactical it can be in some cases, they released it too early to do the game any justice. A few more months to iron out bugs, strengthen the security on the game, and to check the dev list. The mods on the forums shut down any threads that complain about any aspect of the game, especially admin abuse in game.
    I bought this for a friend, and I'm horrified that the game was this half-baked.
    Good potential, but too much junk to deal with now to get a good rating, as friend was banned an hour into playing for shooting an admin with a handgun.
    Expand
  30. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Bought this game a few months ago after all of the hype. Probably the worst $25 I have ever spent on any game in my entire lifetime. The developers say "This game isn't pay to win!" Yet you can spend REAL money, to buy items in-game, to help you beat another player that you fights, or help fight of an oncoming hoard of zombies. Who the **** adds in a store where you can buy **** to aBought this game a few months ago after all of the hype. Probably the worst $25 I have ever spent on any game in my entire lifetime. The developers say "This game isn't pay to win!" Yet you can spend REAL money, to buy items in-game, to help you beat another player that you fights, or help fight of an oncoming hoard of zombies. Who the **** adds in a store where you can buy **** to a ZOMBIE SURVIVAL GAME. The whole ****ing point is to survive off the land, and find stuff around the map. Not to mention the terrible optimization of the game, accompanied with absolutely **** graphics that looks like my dog has just eaten something green and then shat it our onto the computer screen. The developers are full of lies, and there isn't ONE thing that is remotely true on their webpage or steam page.

    Personally I do not even know why Valve added this game to steam, or why the developers are still updating the game, or why the fanboys can't just get the **** over the fact that they WASTED their $25-50, and stop defending the **** stain that lies on my computer screen.

    Please. PLEASE! Do not even bother thinking about buying this game, but if you do, don't bother asking for a refund, because they will just blacklist you.

    OK I have said enough.
    Expand
  31. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Scary thing is I almost bought this piece of crap! Before I clicked the "purchase" button and confirm payment I decided to check the death penalty. If it was like DayZ, no problem... That is when I saw 1 hour of waiting time, 12 hours planed... 5 character slots. Bugs, bad animation, recycled crap, tiny map... Then I found out about the Big Rigs game and the head honcho who worked there isScary thing is I almost bought this piece of crap! Before I clicked the "purchase" button and confirm payment I decided to check the death penalty. If it was like DayZ, no problem... That is when I saw 1 hour of waiting time, 12 hours planed... 5 character slots. Bugs, bad animation, recycled crap, tiny map... Then I found out about the Big Rigs game and the head honcho who worked there is the same as the one working in "the War Z". I quickly closed it, took it out of my wish-list and spread to all my friend virtual and real how crap this thing is.

    AVOID IT.
    Expand
  32. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    DON'T

    Better than big rigs I'll tell you that much.
    Unless you think big rigs was really good.
    You never know.

    I won't buy it.
    Too many problems with this game.
  33. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    The only people that votes this game so low are dayz fanboys that wish to see any other zombie survival game similar to dayz fail, and noobs that die from bandits (they then blame hackers). I play bandit in game, and I love it when whenever I kill a noob, they will then yell out "HACKER"!.. haha.. But most of the haters are dayz fanboys. Seriously guys, stick to your dayz.
    The game is not
    The only people that votes this game so low are dayz fanboys that wish to see any other zombie survival game similar to dayz fail, and noobs that die from bandits (they then blame hackers). I play bandit in game, and I love it when whenever I kill a noob, they will then yell out "HACKER"!.. haha.. But most of the haters are dayz fanboys. Seriously guys, stick to your dayz.
    The game is not terribly buggy. I've been playing alot, and only once or twice I have come across a glitch, where I would accidentally go through a wall.. Other than that, gameplay is not that bad. Those that say that the game is filled with bugs to the point where the game feels broken, is obviously lying and trying to make people hate the game.
    Expand
  34. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    This is only alpha they will improve everyting im sure about th
  35. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Purchased the game on steam expecting 100 players and several maps only to find that I was mislead as to the amount of content and the max concurrent players. I am very disappointed with this game overall, the game feels like a cheap clone of Day Z with less maps and players. I am getting a refund through steam for this as it now requires you to sign a TOS agreement stating that no refundsPurchased the game on steam expecting 100 players and several maps only to find that I was mislead as to the amount of content and the max concurrent players. I am very disappointed with this game overall, the game feels like a cheap clone of Day Z with less maps and players. I am getting a refund through steam for this as it now requires you to sign a TOS agreement stating that no refunds will be issued.

    This game is a money grab and does not deliver on its promises, I cannot recommend it any less.
    Expand
  36. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    It is completely inexcusable for a company to mislead its customers. What's more, it's even worse for the company to blame its customers for 'misreading' the information.
  37. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Worst game I've ever purchased and the one and only time I've ever gotten a refund for a game purchase. I won't be buying another product from hammerpoint studios as a result of their shady business methods and blatant false advertisement.
  38. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    I have played this game for many weeks now, since the first initial alpha release and i have to say, it's not as bad as everyone claims. Sure, there is need for improvement, but at it's core it is a fun game to play. BUT, the developers are misleading and ignorant. The whole deal with the steam page is just disgraceful and they're blatant ignorance of hate towards the game as "DayZI have played this game for many weeks now, since the first initial alpha release and i have to say, it's not as bad as everyone claims. Sure, there is need for improvement, but at it's core it is a fun game to play. BUT, the developers are misleading and ignorant. The whole deal with the steam page is just disgraceful and they're blatant ignorance of hate towards the game as "DayZ Fanboys" is stupid. I find this game more fun than DayZ personally (was addicted to DayZ for months). Both have glitches, both have hackers. Both are fun. The only thing i dislike is the attitude of the devs in WarZ, they just seem to want to get as much money as possible and don't listen to the community as much. Rest assured they are trying to make a better game, but I feel that the overwhelming hatred from the community will eventually force them to quit and people will say "I told you so" when they caused the problem. I'd wait to full release to play. Expand
  39. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    I regret buying this. Next to the false advertising the game is probably the worst game i ever played. It's clearly not finished, yet micro transactions are enabled. Textures are worse then it's mod counterpart ... Im dissapointed in steam on approving this game
  40. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I bought this game at the time of this review 3 months ago. It claims it is Beta which is complete and utter nonsense. I spent $20 on this game off their website and now it is on steam, I implore you not to get this game!

    This game as a whole, feels like a Duke Nukem where it has been in apparent development for a few years yet as it seems from playing it two days ago and I have hated
    I bought this game at the time of this review 3 months ago. It claims it is Beta which is complete and utter nonsense. I spent $20 on this game off their website and now it is on steam, I implore you not to get this game!

    This game as a whole, feels like a Duke Nukem where it has been in apparent development for a few years yet as it seems from playing it two days ago and I have hated every minute of this. The whole sound system with walking (It sounds like you character is wearing concrete shoes!), a graphic quality where even playing at ultra which i currently am, looks like in some places the texture of a Xbox / Ps2 console generation and a combat system where smacking a player can kill them in two hits with a torch yet if you do it to a Zombie, you could be there for hours!! This game apparently is beyond alpha and is ready for steam (which it has been removed) which is pathetic and steam made a huge mistake there by promoting it!

    Another thing which i want to bring up is the revival system (when you die you have to wait to revive your character to use it again) which at first is a clever thing in my own opinion, however, the notion of paying money to revive a dead character with real life money and then forcing you to agree to a T&C (terms and conditions) that removes your right for refunds and you cannot argue back is pretty much illegal and that side of it is pathetic and i personally cannot condone! Also with this the notion of using your own money to buy items where when you die you loose it is stupid and in no way shape or point worth it.

    The things that are promised are not there, the game has had incredible bad reputation and quite honestly i can understand from their previous exploits of banning people who are requesting refunds etc of high ranking online banking systems etc.

    Quite honestly, this i a rip off and i feel cheated out of my money and other zombie survival games such as Dayz which is an alpha mod which is free and a game named state of decay which is also an sandbox zombie survival style game (in the same style as dead island) where you can play over multiplayer but doesn't have the pathetic in game money scam. Watch reviews, people playing it already, video's before even going to click the buy button as this game is not worth it!
    Expand
  41. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The War Z is a very feature lacking mod that is developing so slowly the developers kids may have to take over once they retire. The entire Hammerpoint Interactive company has tried to capitalize on the success of the wildly popular DayZ mod and has failed miserably. Hammerpoint is a bunch of money mongering douchebags and you should not buy their ****
  42. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Never seen a game so corrupt in its creation. EULA is copied from League of Legends, game engine and models are copied from War Inc., blatant lies about development for 2 years(was announced out of the blue after DayZ became popular) and rampant censorship on their forums
  43. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The game is not very good, it feels like the animations were last minute.
    It's taken the concept from dayz and tried to re-create it in a more modern-looking setting.
    It's graphics are near cartoon-like, unrealistic.. i already had so many no-clip hackers runing my gameplay. I made a complaint on the forum and they warned me for it as apparently reporting people for hacking is against
    The game is not very good, it feels like the animations were last minute.
    It's taken the concept from dayz and tried to re-create it in a more modern-looking setting.
    It's graphics are near cartoon-like, unrealistic.. i already had so many no-clip hackers runing my gameplay.
    I made a complaint on the forum and they warned me for it as apparently reporting people for hacking is against the rules............... i'd avoid the game, it's fun for a few minutes, not worth your time.
    Expand
  44. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The game is a scam, please do not waste your money. If you need the history of Sergei just look up Big Rigs Off the Road Racing, you won't be disappointed.
  45. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    I've been a registered player for about a month now (bought it around Thanksgiving). The gameplay can be fun but the problem with the game is the developers and management team. They put posts out talking about how they have all these features coming and are fixing issues but never follow-through on it. They also will ban forum members at lock threads as soon as people stop complaining toI've been a registered player for about a month now (bought it around Thanksgiving). The gameplay can be fun but the problem with the game is the developers and management team. They put posts out talking about how they have all these features coming and are fixing issues but never follow-through on it. They also will ban forum members at lock threads as soon as people stop complaining to censor criticism on the forum. Please sell this game to a development company worth a **** Expand
  46. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Game has a good foundation, but the error is how manufacturers are not listening to what the players think. they are downright miserable out of listening to us players
  47. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    MONEY MONEY MONEY, thank god this **** game got taken off steam, and i really hope it never comes back, its nothing but a cheap rip-off from DayZ, you lied about so many features that it says on your forums. + you mean the respawn time 4 hours, or you can pay money, you greedy fat **** All warz is lies, its all lies lies lies, 100 people on a server NOPE, skill tree NOPE,
  48. Dec 19, 2012
    3
    Unfortunately, when a game company acts in a disgraceful way, It's very hard for me to even look at the game. The amount of lies these devs have come out with is ridiculous. False advertising, being rude to customers, lying about statistics, game features and about the company itself. This is clearly a pop up company planned to make as much money off a false pretense and then running. TheUnfortunately, when a game company acts in a disgraceful way, It's very hard for me to even look at the game. The amount of lies these devs have come out with is ridiculous. False advertising, being rude to customers, lying about statistics, game features and about the company itself. This is clearly a pop up company planned to make as much money off a false pretense and then running. The game itself isn't even that bad! The game it's clearly based on is the popular Arma 2 mod "DayZ" and so it has so much room for potential, except they are more worried about money than actually making a good game. Steam is a trusted online store, and the fact that they published these blatant lies on the store page either shows cooperation with this company or that they take no care and attention to what they sell you. Either way, this should hurt Steams reputation a lot more than it probably will.

    As this is a score for the game itself, I feel it is still around a 3, but a little side note. DO NOT GIVE THESE PEOPLE YOUR MONEY.

    To all the people saying to "stop whining" maybe you should research a little, because we all have every right to be pissed off.
    Expand
  49. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Thrown off steam after 24 hours. Enough said? Hackers. more?..... Developer called the players f*ggots. If thats not enough for you its Its simply a miserable game with a trolling griefing abusive community, and forums full of hate.. nothing at all to do in this game. totally filled with hackers. awful graphics. bad framerates. not one redeeming feature. horrible micropayments (pay toThrown off steam after 24 hours. Enough said? Hackers. more?..... Developer called the players f*ggots. If thats not enough for you its Its simply a miserable game with a trolling griefing abusive community, and forums full of hate.. nothing at all to do in this game. totally filled with hackers. awful graphics. bad framerates. not one redeeming feature. horrible micropayments (pay to win) system... endless list of broken or useless features... the guns are **** the sounds are poor, the animations are garbage, and it runs like crap. Expand
  50. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    When The War Z came out, it was an undeniably shaky game - bad textures, laughable animations, bugs /everywhere/. However, many positive, community-driven changes were pushed out in the days to come, and many of us were convinced that, should Hammerpoint maintain its steady stream of attentive updates, there was simply no way The War Z could go wrong in development.

    As it turns out, the
    When The War Z came out, it was an undeniably shaky game - bad textures, laughable animations, bugs /everywhere/. However, many positive, community-driven changes were pushed out in the days to come, and many of us were convinced that, should Hammerpoint maintain its steady stream of attentive updates, there was simply no way The War Z could go wrong in development.

    As it turns out, the game rather quickly became stagnant: new features were not released; what small portions of the map were opened up were, generally, poorly textured, uninteresting, and just a bit of the same ol', same ol'; there was a lot of rumbling about community censorship and refunds going around, and the general atmosphere of The War Z became very hostile.

    Having been with the game since day one of the alpha, I can tell you this: what The War Z boils down to is a very shady Russian man - the mind behind Big Rigs, perhaps the most horrific game ever made to date - who may or may not be committing a very sophisticated, game-oriented adaptation of the pump-and-dump stock fraud method. At the end of the day, you're better off investing in a copy of ArmA II and DayZ, or waiting for DayZ's standalone.

    To be frank, I've seen drug deals a shade more legit than this game has turned out to be.
    Expand
  51. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    purchased this game back in alpha. the game was buggy and crashed often which i would expect from a alpha. when it came time for beta it was pushed back a month, then when the next time came it was pushed back until it was ready. the graphics engine is not optimized at all, i'm running two 7970's and a 3930k and was averaging 18fps, same system gets about 100fps running eyefinity inpurchased this game back in alpha. the game was buggy and crashed often which i would expect from a alpha. when it came time for beta it was pushed back a month, then when the next time came it was pushed back until it was ready. the graphics engine is not optimized at all, i'm running two 7970's and a 3930k and was averaging 18fps, same system gets about 100fps running eyefinity in battlefield 3. you would often, hacking is a huge problem which makes it near impossible to play, and on average you would die in the first few minutes of trying to play from another player. if you try to get help on there forum your thread just gets deleted. when you try to get a refund they ban you for "hacking" and tell you they lost your payment information. this game is horrible and would not recommend it to my worst enemy. save your money and buy a game where the company actually cares about its customers. Expand
  52. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Hammerpoint is the shadiest company I have ever seen, I pre-ordered this game OCT 10th and was refunded DEC 12th . I was banned for no reason and after 4 days of waiting on customer support I have yet to receive a reply. I am quite happy to see this turd finally flushing down the toilet. If you are smart you would steer clear of these immature drama filled developers. (I have beenHammerpoint is the shadiest company I have ever seen, I pre-ordered this game OCT 10th and was refunded DEC 12th . I was banned for no reason and after 4 days of waiting on customer support I have yet to receive a reply. I am quite happy to see this turd finally flushing down the toilet. If you are smart you would steer clear of these immature drama filled developers. (I have been following this game since before the Alpha was released and the amount of lies are CRAZY!!! Expand
  53. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    A simple google search will show how bad this games community management team is. Sergey is nothing but a liar. From the horrid lies on steam to grab a quick buck from unsuspecting people. The horrid gamespy interview. He Avoids all questions. The Mods are 16 year old kids run by kwerk. they are banhappy you question a simple problem inside the game expect a warning or ban. The gameplayA simple google search will show how bad this games community management team is. Sergey is nothing but a liar. From the horrid lies on steam to grab a quick buck from unsuspecting people. The horrid gamespy interview. He Avoids all questions. The Mods are 16 year old kids run by kwerk. they are banhappy you question a simple problem inside the game expect a warning or ban. The gameplay its self isnt too bad. Most of the stuff is jacked from WAR INC and the textures are Urgh but its still enjoyable. Just be warned of the 32747247 hackers. Oh and the chance of been ban for been legit. cause than you gotta rebuy the game and sink even more money into sergeys pockets. the game recives weekly ddos hits. and wiki hacks of people uprising against sergeys Bs.. Expand
  54. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Don't purchase, save your money. Developers lied, cheated, and stole. They took gamers money with open arms and embraced it, while shoving out an unfinished game.
  55. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Money Grabbers! Ban for no reason at all and take 5-8 days to answer a support ticket and still not unban you! Im a 100% legit professional gamer that has no need to hack / cheat any game i play and i get banned with no reasoning!! I get no response from support yet and it has been 5 days so far and i can only imagine how many more it will take! On a side note i read the steam release andMoney Grabbers! Ban for no reason at all and take 5-8 days to answer a support ticket and still not unban you! Im a 100% legit professional gamer that has no need to hack / cheat any game i play and i get banned with no reasoning!! I get no response from support yet and it has been 5 days so far and i can only imagine how many more it will take! On a side note i read the steam release and it was completely false and they try to cover it up by saying a miscommunication! Thats complete BS! If you have a game getting ready to come out on Steam of all places you make sure you have all your ducks in a row not just HALF ASS it! Then i hear that it takes 4 hours to revive a character? REALLY 4 hours thats rediculour with the amount of hackers in that game because if oyu play you die by a hacker every time you log in to a big server! It used tpo be at 1 hour and that was legit and fine but 4 hours? On top of that if you want to revive early it will cost you GC? REAL LIFE MONEY to revivie early! Thats a money grab folks! Have fun getting ripped off if you buy it!! Expand
  56. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Unfinished, yet was released as "foundation state" or whatever they call it, full of bugs, EXTREMELY micro-transactions dependent, poor support, heavily censured community and CRAP HR
  57. Dec 19, 2012
    4
    i bought this game at its initial alpha release for the price of the legend package (~$50) because the list of features was so appealing. Skill Points, multiple large maps, server hosting, strongholds, Bandit/Hero ratings and a Wanted board, friends lists, build your own bases, trade with other strongholds, time capsules (for messages), missions (from NPCs and players) as well as somei bought this game at its initial alpha release for the price of the legend package (~$50) because the list of features was so appealing. Skill Points, multiple large maps, server hosting, strongholds, Bandit/Hero ratings and a Wanted board, friends lists, build your own bases, trade with other strongholds, time capsules (for messages), missions (from NPCs and players) as well as some beautiful screenshots and it wasnt going to be 'pay to win'. Since then, we have seen none of this except....time capsules. oh, and a weak mission system that has only just been launched. the graphics are awful (the girls are bow-legged and the textures terrible - the trees look like the tent pattern from DayZ), the map is tiny and sparse, and most of the game is spent pointlessly looking for items only to be shot by an enemy you never saw. and im only scratching the surface here...but ill spare you since everyone else has shredded it quite thoroughly. the truth is, this game is not as advertised. i feel misled and cheated. i do not feel like i have gotten $15 worth of playtime out of it yet, let alone what i paid. of the dozen of my friends that bought it, none of us play regularly and over half dont play at all anymore. I was thrilled by the prospect of WarZ. their pitch for the alpha was brilliant. it was like the Dayz i already loved, but with more and built as its own game with a new team and new ideas. man, that game i *thought* i bought was going to be awesome!!!
    but it hasnt happened. and based on the limited input from the developers, it may never happen. i still have hope...that the warz i dreamed of could still be a reality...that i will get to play that beautiful, terrifying game with all my friends and everything will be puppies and rainbows.... rabid zombie puppies..
    but do i believe it will happen??
    i dont know...i just dont know...
    Expand
  58. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I literally made a metacritic account just to give this game a 0. I do not understand how anyone could be defending it. It is complete garbage. More than half of the features it claims to have are missing, it is incredibly unforgiving to new players, they want to charge you to respawn straight away, zombie AI is woeful, I could literally go on for paragraphs. I don't know if/when it willI literally made a metacritic account just to give this game a 0. I do not understand how anyone could be defending it. It is complete garbage. More than half of the features it claims to have are missing, it is incredibly unforgiving to new players, they want to charge you to respawn straight away, zombie AI is woeful, I could literally go on for paragraphs. I don't know if/when it will improve, but for now stay away. Play Day Z, it's free and far superior to this piece of rushed, flawed, unpolished piece of dog poop. Expand
  59. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Oh come on! 0 could be a great thing! Just look at the bright side.
  60. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    this game is crappy, it is really a huge scam dont buy it, just wait for the dayz standalone, like i am even tho i never played the actual mod if arma 2 co will be on sale i will get it just for the mod
  61. Dec 19, 2012
    5
    The War Z is an obvious grab for cash after the Day Z craze, but still has its merits. It improved many things that were flawed in Day Z, such as loading times and UI. Zombies are also much smarter than they were in Day Z, and actually will quit following you after a while, whereas in Day Z zombies would chase you until you made them go up a hill. However, the zombie AI isn't great, andThe War Z is an obvious grab for cash after the Day Z craze, but still has its merits. It improved many things that were flawed in Day Z, such as loading times and UI. Zombies are also much smarter than they were in Day Z, and actually will quit following you after a while, whereas in Day Z zombies would chase you until you made them go up a hill. However, the zombie AI isn't great, and you can pretty much outsmart them by jumping on boxes, where they cannot hit you, or jumping through windows. The zombies are glued to the ground basically, and will not walk through anything that isn't a doorway. If you've played Left 4 Dead, you will be very disappointed in the zombie AI.

    There is no voice chat. Day Z had voice chat, yet this is still not implemented. Honestly, there are a lot of features that are already in Day Z that haven't even been put in War Z. I also feel the sneaking around zombies was much better in Day Z, but that's because the engine was made for that kind of stuff. The game is also a lot smaller than Day Z, which is a good and bad thing. It doesn't feel as much like a hike to get from town to town, as they're pretty close together. This does mean that there is fewer towns and thus more interaction with other players. This is probably the reason that most of the servers are capped at only 50 players. There are 20 servers that are capped at 100 players, but if you go to those expect to be killed by a hacker, because 90% of the playerbase hacks. Oh, and there is a river that flows through the middle of the map that you can't swim through, because you can't swim. The only way to get to the other side is to literally follow it until it ends, then go around. This is really stupid.

    Overall, I rate it a 5 because its an unfinished game, and still somewhat fun. I don't think it's completely horrible; if it gets updated it could be a solid 7. If they, at the very least, add in all the features that Day Z currently has it would be a decent game. I probably would recommend this game if you liked Day Z, its not horrible, but just needs a bit of updates.
    Expand
  62. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game is utter garbage, a very poor port over from War Inc, asking for a refund gets you threatened with being blacklisted for further online purchases!!!. its a total scam, Avoid at all costs. If I could rate this as a negative number I would.
  63. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    no do not buy the game, do not look at the game.
    spread the word this game is a grab for money and if people just don't even bother looking at the game.
    these people should be ashamed of them self's providing false advertising which is illegal in most countries. this company should be shut down and all their games boycotted.
  64. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Bought this game from their website thewarz.com and decided to try it despite the reviews. Off the bat I spawned, moved down a hill and nearly killed myself for going down a 10 degree downgrade that nearly took half my health. So i took my bandages and carried on. I was really excited to play this due to the review Game informer gave it in its latest issue. Absolutely garbage says I.Bought this game from their website thewarz.com and decided to try it despite the reviews. Off the bat I spawned, moved down a hill and nearly killed myself for going down a 10 degree downgrade that nearly took half my health. So i took my bandages and carried on. I was really excited to play this due to the review Game informer gave it in its latest issue. Absolutely garbage says I. Nothing in the review was accessible in game. Guns were few and very far between, constant PKing despite having no gear at all, and random zombie agro (through a wall? I think not hammerstone) This feature should not even be on a paid-for market.. the game is simply that bad. Texture glitches, zombies that get agro from 50 meters away, and losing all of your items (even items you BOUGHT with real money through the GC trade) are Gone! That was probably the worst thing about this game. I paid an extra $20 for some Gold Coins in game which I could buy a hammer or some backpacks or med packs, ALL of which were lost when I died. Complete and utter **** Please save your $15 and wait until this game slowly bleeds to death. Expand
  65. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    2012 War z = 1982 E.T. This might be worse than the 1982 game... I cant get over the blatant disrespect for their costumers, and fans.. This company deserves to go down into the depths of gaming hell...
  66. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I've never been more angry after a game purchase. I bought the game on Steam and found the features listed were blatant lies. There are no multiple maps, there is only one and the size of it is a quarter of the 400 kilometers promised. The servers hold 50 players max, not the 100 promised, and the screenshots on Steam dont look like the actusl game. But all that is inconsequential when theI've never been more angry after a game purchase. I bought the game on Steam and found the features listed were blatant lies. There are no multiple maps, there is only one and the size of it is a quarter of the 400 kilometers promised. The servers hold 50 players max, not the 100 promised, and the screenshots on Steam dont look like the actusl game. But all that is inconsequential when the game is a buggy mess that doesn't work!

    This doesn't even take into account the astonishing way the dev, Hammerpoint, has handled this mess. Their "apology" consists of apologizing for the their customers being too stupid to properly read a features list. I'm sending a ticket to Steam and asking for a refund. If you had the misfortune of buying this POS I suggest you do the same.
    Expand
  67. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Horrible game. After posting about bugs on the forum, I was repeatedly ignored. Once I started demanding a refund since the bugs wouldn't get fixed, they banned me... Terrible game. Don't buy this. If you do, they will suck the money out of you until there is nothing left.
  68. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Summary of the game, Spend 1 hour walking finding stuff, get killed by other players instantly. Wait 4 hours for my character to re spawn, and do it all over again. This game is set up to give people with money a better chance at playing this game more... "Oh all your characters are dead, tough shi*, you have to wait 4 hours for them to re spawn while this guy with money falling out of hisSummary of the game, Spend 1 hour walking finding stuff, get killed by other players instantly. Wait 4 hours for my character to re spawn, and do it all over again. This game is set up to give people with money a better chance at playing this game more... "Oh all your characters are dead, tough shi*, you have to wait 4 hours for them to re spawn while this guy with money falling out of his pockets gets his characters instantly.". Oh you also spend 98% of the time in this game walking, yet they couldn't even get the walking animation down right, I mean if you are going to be spending most of a video game doing something at least make it good. This game is obviously a way to drain peoples pockets. Expand
  69. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    Short and sweet: Cash grab update and multiple lies. Constantly placing the blame on your customers, claiming we "misread" this and that. Inexcusable.
  70. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This game was made by scam artist criminals. I bought this game and shortly after requested a refund on PayPal after realizing how utter terrible it was in every way. I lost my money and the devs banned my game account for trying to refund. FRAUDSTERS!
  71. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Sergey Titov finally got his sh*t out ! He wanted a Big Rigs: Over the road racing for everybody in the world, he created War Inc to reach every pc shooter gamer, and now he's reaching the DayZ/Walking Dead/PlaceZombieGameNameHere hype to get even more money from players !

    When you think he can just put a free2play game as War Inc and get money from micro-transactions, or just sell a
    Sergey Titov finally got his sh*t out ! He wanted a Big Rigs: Over the road racing for everybody in the world, he created War Inc to reach every pc shooter gamer, and now he's reaching the DayZ/Walking Dead/PlaceZombieGameNameHere hype to get even more money from players !

    When you think he can just put a free2play game as War Inc and get money from micro-transactions, or just sell a **** game 20$ for no interest, he's going even further and offering you the ultimate deal : A Free 2 Play that you need to pay to be able to go on 50 players "MMO" servers that you can't even purchase or rent !

    The magic behind it is that he sold it as a DayZ killer, but barely gave us a Big Rigs Killer. Seriously, this game is sooooooo much better than the old Big Rigs !

    ENJOY YOUR GAMES BUDDY ! Hammerpoint will go down in few weeks, DayZ Standalone is coming out shortly, and Sergey will leave with all your money ! GOOD DEAL SERGEY ! GOOD DEAL !
    Expand
  72. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Fantastic idea, ruined by the complete lack of anything that defines a "game". It's simply not playable in this state. If you can manage to not be shot the second you get close to anything interesting (read: an item), you're in for the treat of buggy, lag-filled, horrifyingly bad melee combat with poorly animated zombies. It's not all bad: when my friend and I teamed up to search the cityFantastic idea, ruined by the complete lack of anything that defines a "game". It's simply not playable in this state. If you can manage to not be shot the second you get close to anything interesting (read: an item), you're in for the treat of buggy, lag-filled, horrifyingly bad melee combat with poorly animated zombies. It's not all bad: when my friend and I teamed up to search the city for interesting items and weapons, we had a great time defending each other from zombie attack. We found armour, backpacks, and food, and congratulated each other on our fine zombie-killing form. It was good. We were then gunned down by an AK47-wielding player from the bushes for literally no reason. We didn't even have guns.

    Need more? If you create more than ten characters they do not spawn with anything, even a pathetic flashlight. Died? Four hour respawn unless you want to pay REAL MONEY to respawn immediately.

    It's a terrible PVP game marketed as a groundbreaking zombie apocalypse simulator. Do not buy it. If you have, get your refund from Steam. God help this developer.
    Expand
  73. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Walk around for an hour. Get shot. Start a new character. Walk around for an hour. Get shot. Start three more characters, walk around for an hour on each, get shot. Rinse, repeat. Or, fortunately, request a refund from Steam, which I did get.
  74. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    I was originally excited about this game. The DayZ mod was too graphically intense for me and this game seemed to hold the answer. What followed was a good faith effort by mass amounts of would be fans followed by HORRIBLE mismanagement of every possible step of game production. Feels like this company should stick to spamming Facebook games till it learns some important lessons aboutI was originally excited about this game. The DayZ mod was too graphically intense for me and this game seemed to hold the answer. What followed was a good faith effort by mass amounts of would be fans followed by HORRIBLE mismanagement of every possible step of game production. Feels like this company should stick to spamming Facebook games till it learns some important lessons about business, game mechanics, and community building. Already put my money into this game, at this point, I would not suggest anyone else follow suit. If you have already committed and would like a community to hold out hope in, contact someone in BMFZ. Expand
  75. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    Well, let's see, the game proposal is perfect, a zombie MMO in a apocalyptic world. It were fun in the beginning, in the beginning of November. After that the game become crazy. LOT of hackers, LOT of players who just wanted to kill everybody without reason. I had real fun in the beginning. Now the game looks like **** Their promises looks like "We will do that...just 5 more minutes"Well, let's see, the game proposal is perfect, a zombie MMO in a apocalyptic world. It were fun in the beginning, in the beginning of November. After that the game become crazy. LOT of hackers, LOT of players who just wanted to kill everybody without reason. I had real fun in the beginning. Now the game looks like **** Their promises looks like "We will do that...just 5 more minutes" nothing is working. Skills, engine, animations. nothing at all. I miss my 29 USD. Hope the game gets better, but for now, I've lost money. Expand
  76. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This is by far the largest, most obvious cash in of DayZ yet. However, the sad thing is they didn't even have the audacity to create a somewhat decent game. Its buggy, the textures are nothing short of hideous and the developers outright lied to the consumers about the game, promising things that never came. If you purchased this game, my condolences, as you have bought into a Alpha
  77. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Not only is the game terrible, the devs lied about the features present in the game and then blamed the gamers for not liking it. Then publicly tried to say that 93% of players said they liked it.
  78. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    You couldn't pay me 100 bucks to sit and play this sorry excuse for a game. That is without mention of the horrible lead developer of the project - you might know him from some games such as big rigs racing. Yeah, THAT GUY.
  79. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    A Huge Persistent World: The War Z is an open world game. Each world has areas between 100 to 400 square kilometers. Well there is only 1 world at the moment, which is roughly 100 sq. km. So the latter half is a complete lie.
    Explore, Scavenge, Kill, Survive: You are one of the few survivors and must navigate the desolate countryside exploring cities and scavenging for items. This, sure,
    A Huge Persistent World: The War Z is an open world game. Each world has areas between 100 to 400 square kilometers. Well there is only 1 world at the moment, which is roughly 100 sq. km. So the latter half is a complete lie.
    Explore, Scavenge, Kill, Survive: You are one of the few survivors and must navigate the desolate countryside exploring cities and scavenging for items. This, sure, fine.
    Play with Friends: Hundreds of Servers to Play on and you can also rent and create Public or Private Servers allocating spots for Friends or Clans. Rent and create public and private servers... Nope.
    No Classes check, No Levels check, No Caps ??? check?: Create your own survival campaign, gain experience points and spend it to learn dozen of available skills Yep, can gain experience and can buy ski... WAIT WHAT??
    Expand
  80. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Absolutely terrible game I wish I never traded for this **** they are randomly banning players for no reason, I could easily go on and on how terrible this game is but... The list would just go on and on and on.
  81. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Game is absolute **** Full of hackers. No support from the forums/devs. Get banned from the forums for having a valid complaint. Had to contact my bank just to get a refund, because I have put in more than 15minutes into the game.
  82. Dec 19, 2012
    1
    This game is so bad, no level design, awful graphics, it's a joke ! Don't support these guys, it's a big scam, save your money ! They banned users for spreading the truth, this is totally unacceptable !
  83. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Without playing any previous title designed by Hammerpoint, I had humble expectations of The War Z. Upon joining in its Alpha Phase, I was pleasantly surprised at the gameplay, visuals, concept, etc. as well as the perceived interactivity between the developers and their community of players. However, this luster was short-lived... After a few months, the title released to Steam in aWithout playing any previous title designed by Hammerpoint, I had humble expectations of The War Z. Upon joining in its Alpha Phase, I was pleasantly surprised at the gameplay, visuals, concept, etc. as well as the perceived interactivity between the developers and their community of players. However, this luster was short-lived... After a few months, the title released to Steam in a SLIGHTLY "improved" version of the title at a reduced price. This was already a bit of a stab to those (like me) already spent more on an incomplete game. On top of that, I was made aware of some press releases concerning the issue of the game's incomplete nature and the blatant misuse of Steams 'game description' section. In these articles, I had to remind myself that a game developer - no doubt looking for a career in gaming - was the one answering the questions rather than a slightly handicapped fifth grader. I was astounded at the immense lack of professionalism accompanied by this uncouth nature in press. The developer goes on to blame the community for the lack of positive reviews... The community... He created... For his own game. A developer - yet, a human - that persists in not taking responsibility for his and his company's failures nor any form of reformative action does not deserve a consumer's business. The developer was lucky enough to have lured me in and I am made a fool for buying into this mess of a game. I would urge anyone to not make this mistake. It is clear that the funds of this game have not gone to a team anxious to hire new talent, buy new software (like an actual anti-cheat engine), or seek outside assistance to provide a better product - rather, I feel the funds have provided a higher standard of living for those who have not earned it. This game will be removed from my computer immediately, and I will give this game the rightful score of zero (0). Expand
  84. Dec 19, 2012
    4
    Purchased this game at the end of October/beginning of November. The game is engrossing and will take up a lot of your time. However, there are numerous glitches which make the game rather unplayable such as being stuck in rocks, being able to climb trees (hackers), zombies being able to climb/bump themselves on top of safe areas, no ability to fight without a melee weapon, lack of meleePurchased this game at the end of October/beginning of November. The game is engrossing and will take up a lot of your time. However, there are numerous glitches which make the game rather unplayable such as being stuck in rocks, being able to climb trees (hackers), zombies being able to climb/bump themselves on top of safe areas, no ability to fight without a melee weapon, lack of melee weapons in game, etc. Main issue I have is I bought the game not realizing it was just going to be about pvp and people just killing each other. Its an excellent concept, but isn't being carried out properly. Expand
  85. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I didn't buy the game from steam, so I can't even get a refund for this crap. This game is horrible! Your first 10 characters can start off with flashlights and food and water, then after that they start with NOTHING. You can try to get to a town (if you don't get player killed first) and try to find some supplies, if you do, then you will probably just find garbage. Guns are extremelyI didn't buy the game from steam, so I can't even get a refund for this crap. This game is horrible! Your first 10 characters can start off with flashlights and food and water, then after that they start with NOTHING. You can try to get to a town (if you don't get player killed first) and try to find some supplies, if you do, then you will probably just find garbage. Guns are extremely hard to find and once you find them you are almost guaranteed to get shot in the back of the head by a hacker. I've seen SEVERAL people just walking up walls, jumping super high, and killing me when they are absolutely no where around me. When it is dark you might as well stop playing all together and log on later because you can't see ANYTHING. The only way you can see is with a flash light, which you are no longer given after you have died so many times. Also, the absolute worst thing about the game is the revive timer. It is ONLY there for the devs to make more money. Total waste of money! Expand
  86. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Só nao é melhor porque tem muito hacker... e repito sinto vergonha de 90% deles serem BR....
  87. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    This pathetic excuse for a game is nothing but a cash grab, and a polished turd. No, not even that, just a turd. I've been playing it since the very start and it's not any fun. It looks like arse, it runs like arse, it plays like arse. It's arse. The end.
  88. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Those two links alone should MORE than explain why you should NEVER support this game in any way. You absolutely can not let them get away with lying to you over and over, there is no excuse. I hope they get sued. Regardless of if you like the game or not, letting them get away with this is irresponsible, and downright immoral. This can not stand, if you've already bought it DEMAND aThose two links alone should MORE than explain why you should NEVER support this game in any way. You absolutely can not let them get away with lying to you over and over, there is no excuse. I hope they get sued. Regardless of if you like the game or not, letting them get away with this is irresponsible, and downright immoral. This can not stand, if you've already bought it DEMAND a refund, and don't be afraid to take legal action if they do not let you, which is quite a possibility. If you haven't bought into this then do NOT. If you've looked at my links and still buy into this you are incredibly stupid and your are hurting the entire industry and proving you are a sheep Expand
  89. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    I have played a lot of terrible games in my life, but none so horrible as this. Can't believe I wasted fifteen bucks on this. Bugs, Glitches and well no one really plays fairly. Top that off with being so uninspired.
  90. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    I expect professionalism in a game release.
    If it's paid and not ready, then don't release it on Steam.

    Have some pride for your own work for sake!
    Don't use "inspirations" from other works, movies and games so damn closely. It is bad taste.

    I expect something better on Steam, and not something like on the Android Play Store with shameless Temple Run clones.
  91. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    You can tell how this game was just off War inc and just put out there like a dangling piece of **** if this was a year effort i would hate to see how much work they put in their game if they released it and now that they did its utter **** It seems like they're trying to compete with DayZ by releasing it earlier but everyone knows that DayZ was the real game and just because you releaseYou can tell how this game was just off War inc and just put out there like a dangling piece of **** if this was a year effort i would hate to see how much work they put in their game if they released it and now that they did its utter **** It seems like they're trying to compete with DayZ by releasing it earlier but everyone knows that DayZ was the real game and just because you release your game first doesn't mean its better. Shame on them for not even admitting they copied DayZ completely Expand
  92. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    A Sandbox(without the sand) FPS/3rd person shooter, with zombies getting in the way. You don't buy this game, you pay for Lifetime Alpha Access!

    This is what a true survival horror should be. Not only should you have to endure zombies, and other players trying to kill you, but awful performance, bad frame rates, Lying developers, bugs, hackers, exploiters, and forum moderators too!
    A Sandbox(without the sand) FPS/3rd person shooter, with zombies getting in the way. You don't buy this game, you pay for Lifetime Alpha Access!

    This is what a true survival horror should be. Not only should you have to endure zombies, and other players trying to kill you, but awful performance, bad frame rates, Lying developers, bugs, hackers, exploiters, and forum moderators too!

    If this game ever gets all of its features implemented, I would say this game would be a 5 at best. As of right now, its unreviewable since its downright unplayable so that makes it a Zero in my book. This game is an FPS with a 1 hour respawn timer, and cash shop. Buying items with real money in this game is for stupid noobs, since its a full loot game. You will most likely get killed as soon as you zone into the game.

    Currently you are only given four choices in this game.
    1)Create a Normal mode player to be played on any server.
    2)Create a Hardcore mode player to be played on any server.
    3)Logout.
    4)Uninstall.

    I prefer option 4! And suggest that you stay away from The WarZ, unless you really, really like Zombies, and bad games.
    Expand
  93. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    This game is a scam. Spend your money elsewhere. This is a cash grab with an amateur "game studio" that is attempting to cash in on the success of the DayZ mod for Arma II.
  94. Dec 20, 2012
    1
    This game should still be in Alpha. The amount of game breaking bugs are incredible. From jumping inside trees, buildings. You can die by walking down a hill. Items now glitch inside objects and are no longer obtainable.

    The game went from Alpha to Beta with no noticeable change other then constant crashing. The same thing happened from Beta to 'Foundation Release'. They do not go from
    This game should still be in Alpha. The amount of game breaking bugs are incredible. From jumping inside trees, buildings. You can die by walking down a hill. Items now glitch inside objects and are no longer obtainable.

    The game went from Alpha to Beta with no noticeable change other then constant crashing. The same thing happened from Beta to 'Foundation Release'. They do not go from phase to phase once the game has successfully passed, but simply to sell it to more people.

    The Foundation Release is missing 90% of the content and its introduced old and new game breaking bugs!
    Expand
  95. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Utterly horrible game, obivious cashgrab. You can read about it everywhere so i wont bother to start talking about all of it, this game deserves to die and give everyone refunds :)
  96. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game is the biggest pile of **** since Big Rigs Racing. It's an obvious rip off of Day Z and the developers are **** I bought the game a couple of months ago directly from the website and I requested a refund a couple of weeks ago. I really tried to give this game a chance, I really want it to be good, but it's not in any way and it was most likely a get rich quick scheme requiringThis game is the biggest pile of **** since Big Rigs Racing. It's an obvious rip off of Day Z and the developers are **** I bought the game a couple of months ago directly from the website and I requested a refund a couple of weeks ago. I really tried to give this game a chance, I really want it to be good, but it's not in any way and it was most likely a get rich quick scheme requiring VERY little effort by the developers (models, texture, animations are directly copied from their F2P game War Inc.) and it shows. If you want to play a REAL zombie survival game, play Day Z, this game has nothing on Day Z and that is a free mod. Not to mention all the screenshots and gameplay that come from the developer are complete fabrications. I was supposed to get a discount for buying into the beta early, but it cost me nearly $30 when it cost only $13 now? Trust me, DO NOT waste your money you will regret this purchase. Expand
  97. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    This game is an alpha mod of War, Inc, with the developers charging players money to play. It's being advertised by its developers as something it is not, including history of development and game features. Though this is not surprising given that Sergey Titov, the head guy at WarZ, has a history of half way developing budget titles and abandoning them once initial sales are made. See, forThis game is an alpha mod of War, Inc, with the developers charging players money to play. It's being advertised by its developers as something it is not, including history of development and game features. Though this is not surprising given that Sergey Titov, the head guy at WarZ, has a history of half way developing budget titles and abandoning them once initial sales are made. See, for instance, Big Rigs: Over the Road Racing, noted as one of the worst games of all time due to advertised but missing features, a host of bugs, and lacking basic functionality like AI, physics modeling, or collision detection. In this light, WarZ appears to be another attempt, though more sophisticated, by Sergey at a cash grab. Expand
  98. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    Got my refund. What a terrible game. All a money grab. It's obvious they wanted to get the game out before the Holidays so they could rack up the money. Lawsuits will be raining upon them soon. Pretty much everything involved this game is a rip off of something else.
  99. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    There are a number of things I can't stand about The War Z, and I would just love to share them with you. What follows is a series of remarks addressed to the readers of this letter and to The War Z itself. I sometimes joke about how moralistic maggots suffer from a collective self-image that prefers victimization to success and imposes a suffocating group conformity that ostracizesThere are a number of things I can't stand about The War Z, and I would just love to share them with you. What follows is a series of remarks addressed to the readers of this letter and to The War Z itself. I sometimes joke about how moralistic maggots suffer from a collective self-image that prefers victimization to success and imposes a suffocating group conformity that ostracizes nonconformists. But seriously, it must be pointed out that I find The War Z's ruinous policies and dubious values unacceptable. Its followers probably don't realize that because it's not mentioned in the funny papers or in the movies. Nevertheless, trying to suppress people's instinct and intellect is just as distasteful as trying to subject us to an intense barrage of misinformation, deception, and hidden propaganda. And I can say that with a clear conscience because from secret-handshake societies meeting at "the usual place" to back-door admissions committees, its cultists have always found a way to poke someone's eyes out. If you read The War Z's writings while mentally out of focus, you may get the sense that The War Z's plane of understanding is beyond the realm of human imagining. But if you read its writings while mentally in focus and weigh each point carefully, it's clear that if it can't stand the heat, it should get out of the kitchen.

    The War Z's faithfuls have learned their scripts well and the rhetoric comes gushing forth with little provocation. If society were a beer bottle
    Expand
  100. Dec 20, 2012
    0
    the idea of the game is amazing...
    but this game is just the worst **** i every bought
    not only that, the developers gives you false information (that's why it was removed from steam!!! ROFL) oh and if you didn't like the game, you can't get a refund... no matter what, don't even try get into the support website, they take more than 3 days to answer it if they answer... don't let
    the idea of the game is amazing...
    but this game is just the worst **** i every bought
    not only that, the developers gives you false information (that's why it was removed from steam!!! ROFL)
    oh and if you didn't like the game, you can't get a refund... no matter what,
    don't even try get into the support website, they take more than 3 days to answer it if they answer...
    don't let yourself be scammed like us, DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!!!
    Expand
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]
  2. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.