Infestation: Survivor Stories Image
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 4006 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be(Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be forced to fight for survival as they encounter zombies and other players. Every decision has an effect on whether you live or how quickly you meet your death. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    39
    The War Z is plagued by too many mistakes, but the developers seem to be unprofessional. I've watched the development of the game for too long now - without realizing improvement.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    30
    A shameless knock-off that repeats many of DayZ's problems. Worst audio ever. Bullets for sale? Really?
  4. 20
    The War Z: The foundation-release of Hammerpoint Interactive's zombie-mmog is just a disaster. Missing features, technical problems, bugs, server hacks – there are so many things to be fixed, that it's hard to believe this project could ever be a smooth-running game.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    20
    The only way to draw even the tiniest bit of entertainment from the game is by playing on nearly empty servers to avoid the player-killing cheaters and focus on the undead. Even then, you soon get fed up with the dreary zombie combat, or some hacker shows up and puts you out of your misery. Fighting zombie hordes in an apocalyptic wasteland has never been so depressing.
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. I used to play DayZ before i found this game and while they are similar, The War Z has many aspects that make me enjoy it farExcellent game. I used to play DayZ before i found this game and while they are similar, The War Z has many aspects that make me enjoy it far more than i ever did with dayz. I would defiantly recommend it to other people who are fans of realistic zombie games. Collapse
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    8
    This game needs more recent reviews. In the past year it has updated and made so many changes that half of the negative points made in everyThis game needs more recent reviews. In the past year it has updated and made so many changes that half of the negative points made in every bad review have already been fixed and addressed. I think its heading on a road of improvement and it just needs some time to get it wrong the first couple of shots at it. Honestly the community is the worst part about this game. If they had Public PVE only servers i would be playing it every single day. I mean dont call it a zombie game if other humans are the greatest threat! Unless you adapt and find a method to play whilst there arent any humans around you, its an okay experience. It could be ten trillion times better as a game if it dropped the lone wolf pvp style approach but made it co-op left for dead style, sure keep the losing your items upon death feature but add an option for zombie enthusiasts that arent simply looking for just another sandbox call of duty pc game that you hack in. Seriously the co-op a d hackers need fixed and it would be prefect! Enable an option, request pvp duel or you cant kill ppl. That way pve-ers can safely encounter pvp'ers. So many better ideas could be implemented than what is already at hand. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2013
    2
    I tried to look passed the poor behavior of the developers (which I definitely regret), but the game still failed me. I first tried playingI tried to look passed the poor behavior of the developers (which I definitely regret), but the game still failed me. I first tried playing on a server with about 70+ people. I ran around killing zombies with my flash light while players were continuously banned. Eventually as I was running clueless through an endless forest, I got banned. I joined another server after that and it didn't get any better. The zombies were very glitchy and got stuck a lot, but other than that it ran fine. I had no lag or anything (and usually do not with my internet connection), so I'm not sure why I got banned. Not worth the measly $4 I paid for it. Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2014
    0
    Don't buy this game. No. Never ever. Even if you see it on sale for like a buck, or even like 50 cents or something... NO! DO NOT! That moneyDon't buy this game. No. Never ever. Even if you see it on sale for like a buck, or even like 50 cents or something... NO! DO NOT! That money can go towards helping a starving child or some sh#t like that, hell maybe even towards a game that deserves that kind of money!

    Wait, did I just mix up my priorities? Eh, I'm sure it's nothing...

    Pros:
    *Makes for a good present if you want to breakup with someone
    *Makes for a good present if you really want to breakup with someone
    *Look by this point if you're going to buy it for someone, you must really dislike them because you're essentially spending your hard earned money on something you can do for free, like for instance: Take a sh#t in a paper bag and say it's an offering of what you think of your relationship with them.
    *If you ever go on Metacritic, there's like 600 or so positive reviews, and you just have to wonder, how was someone this stupid to rate it high in the first place... then you read the reviews... and you immediately want to never go to Metacritic ever again...
    *aaaaaaaaaaaand that's about it... I'm sure there's one guy that will say "aefujhkhl but therz thingz it duz betta then Day Z"... f@#k em...
    Cons:
    *Yeah... not going to list the plethora of cons... I have a life to live

    Overall score... a F@#kNo/10
    Expand
  5. Izz
    Jul 19, 2013
    0
    I'm a DayZ lover. I bought this game because I wanted it to be good.

    It wasn't. The game itself is terrible, it tries to copy everything
    I'm a DayZ lover. I bought this game because I wanted it to be good.

    It wasn't. The game itself is terrible, it tries to copy everything DayZ does but fails miserably. The gunplay is awful, the graphics are awful, the map is tiny, it's beyond buggy and it's not only a disappointment, it's disgusting how the developers act. They've been kicked off of steam for what might as well be described as fraud, they ban innocent players, often before they've even played once, they ban LEGITIMATE players because they KILLED a developer (The whole god damn point of the game) their support is terrible, and they recently got hacked and details stolen from them. Having an email telling me to change P/W their ass launcher wouldn't let me in the game to do it, or do it via the launcher as it was out dated, but wouldn't update because they shut everything down due to being hacked for weeks, I couldn't do it on the site and the whole thing was a joke. The game is riddle with hackers, the players are for the most part, childish and idiotic and there isn't a single good thing to say about this abomination for a game.

    Graphics 2 (outdated, rubbish and bland)
    sound 1 (repetitive, cheesy and stupid)
    gameplay 0 (non-existent, run around for ages to get 1 shot by a camping sniper, gun play is like a 15 year old FPS)
    longevity 0 (I tried for a week to like it but after 5 minutes I felt ripped off)
    Developers MINUS 10 (The worst possible developers of all time. They treat the game like a joke, the customers like a joke and I'm sure what they are doing is borderline illegal)

    There's a reason this game scores so low. It's been proven the developers have been upvoting it also, that's just sad.

    And lastly, they changed their name....there's many reasons to why this is, all bad.

    Stay away if you value your credentials, sanity from boredom and have ANY value for cash what so ever.
    Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    Game is a straight rip off from Day Z! Unoriginal Garbage that i can't believe steam let this trash even be purchased. a a a a a a a aa a aaGame is a straight rip off from Day Z! Unoriginal Garbage that i can't believe steam let this trash even be purchased. a a a a a a a aa a aa a a aa aa a a a a a aaa a a a a Garbage!!!! Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    There's not much more to be said about this since both critics and users have panned this so badly. However, since I moronically gaveThere's not much more to be said about this since both critics and users have panned this so badly. However, since I moronically gave Hammerpoint my money I think stopping others from doing so is the only retribution I have.

    This game could be fixed by only ONE feature and that's private servers (that you don't have to pay for/host yourself). I think I was under the impression I COULD do private servers when I bought it (had I only known). The game is wrought with so many hackers and bugs it's a vicious cycle trying to spawn, gather, (server-hop if threatened), run to safe zone. What happened to no 'pay-to-win' microtransactions? Buying rare backpacks and ammo in the store certainly seems like a big help in 'winning'.

    I honestly can't even waste any more time on going into further details about why this game is so horrible. If I can get one person considering this game to not buy it I've done my job. Seriously, stop, go buy DayZ or support the ArmA developers and get the original mod.
    Expand

See all 1668 User Reviews