Infestation: Survivor Stories Image
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3969 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be forced to fight for survival as they encounter zombies and other players. Every decision has an effect on whether you live or how quickly you meet your death. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    39
    The War Z is plagued by too many mistakes, but the developers seem to be unprofessional. I've watched the development of the game for too long now - without realizing improvement.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    30
    A shameless knock-off that repeats many of DayZ's problems. Worst audio ever. Bullets for sale? Really?
  4. 20
    The War Z: The foundation-release of Hammerpoint Interactive's zombie-mmog is just a disaster. Missing features, technical problems, bugs, server hacks – there are so many things to be fixed, that it's hard to believe this project could ever be a smooth-running game.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    20
    The only way to draw even the tiniest bit of entertainment from the game is by playing on nearly empty servers to avoid the player-killing cheaters and focus on the undead. Even then, you soon get fed up with the dreary zombie combat, or some hacker shows up and puts you out of your misery. Fighting zombie hordes in an apocalyptic wasteland has never been so depressing.
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. I used to play DayZ before i found this game and while they are similar, The War Z has many aspects that make me enjoy it far more than i ever did with dayz. I would defiantly recommend it to other people who are fans of realistic zombie games. Expand
  2. Apr 27, 2013
    8
    A very controversial game but the truth is that if Day Z had never existed this game would be a classic. The tip I would say is imagine it as it's own game with no comparison to any other and you will h=enjoy it. The bugs aren't common now and updates keep adding more enjoyable content. Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    2
    I myself personally think that The War Z has great potential, but sadly, in it's current hands, it has no hope. The saddest part about it all is that you pay $14.99 for a game that stresses it includes features such as strongholds, anti cheat, and many other non-existent features. The steam review is intentionally vague so that they don't need to take responsibility for telling you a specific value, a month ago they stressed it was "100 km of land", when in truth it's 100 km including the empty skybox. The best part is, if you look at the help, they tell you it's not a Pay 4 Win game, but the weapons are so rare (some don't even spawn!) that it seems it is a Pay 4 Win. They nickle and dime you, what I would expect from a pay once then play for life game, is that there is no in-game real-money shop. Though the game has good features, it's the developers that I really dislike. They give you their word, then the day comes, and they say "Sorry, there was a delay!", then you wait, and the same thing is said. The second worst thing in this game, is that they promised you some limited item for buying the alpha version, but they know that hackers can just hack the random items in, and then claim they're legit alpha'ers, plus, they promised the alpha price was cheaper than the beta or gamma price, but is 25 less than 14.99? I don't think so... Plus, they abuse the new players and ban those that criticize their game in a way that forces them to either buy the game again or quit. My thought for all you people out there, quit. The third thing is that they make an in-game real-money shop, but hmm, I wonder, if they put the time and effort they did into the game that they did into the store, it would be even better than DayZ! I give them credit for the base game engine, and I give them a thumbs-up for the survival based gameplay, but it's buggy, you can jump off of a car, [in which the car is incredibly off scale, or you are], and take no damage, but you can crawl down a small hill and take 3/5 of you're health as damage? Plus, the doorways are a bit off scale, and the developers in game are jerks, some even encourage hacking. If you put this all together, the game would be horrible if it got better, and with a good company governing over it, it would become an actual MMO, and way more enjoyable for the players. I like the game, just not the creators. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2014
    0
    If you support this game, you support Sergey Titov. Sergey is friends with the top ISS item and hack seller, as he was busted partying with at E3.

    If you still decide that is not enough, they have not delivered on any promises made.

    No hardcore mode
    Bandits can still access safezones
    No bandit only safezones

    are just some examples.

    Bigest scam part of this game was the removal of PunkBuster. PunkBuster was banning players Sergey did not want banned. The only resolution to this was to remove PunkBuster.

    Instead they now only ban players they want. Including players who have never hacked on any account.
    Expand
  5. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    I don't believe that I bought this stupid game for 30$ as pre-order. I feel to cheated. Now any can buy this game for only 3$. Game seems great but really this is much Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    0
    Total failure. This game is not successful copy of DayZ. The worst spent money. I completely don't recommend. The authors of WarZ are hyenas, which can't invent their OWN idea for game. Expand
  7. Scx
    Dec 19, 2012
    0
    As an avid fan of zombie games and survival horror, I specifically signed up to metacritic to warn everyone about the atrocity and utter abomination of a game this is.

    Graphics: 0/10, running on very high, textures, terrain and models looks like they belong in Half life, the original, released in 1998...14 years ago.....

    Gameplay: 1/10, Stealth does not function properly, zombie AI in this game behave like walls and objects do not exist and will detect you no matter where you are, zombies kill you in 4 hits(intentional as you will have to pay more money to play, hence why its so brutal), when you die there is a 4 hour respawn timer, which means if you die with all 5 characters, you will essentially have to pay more money to revive your character if you want to continue playing. No in game voice chat, only text, object spawn in places you cannot get to, hats occupy 99% of the item spawns.

    Sound: 0/10 A random collection of noises, that seem to drive you insane after the first 5 minutes.

    Bugs: there are so many bugs and glitches, invisible players, invisible weapons, sliding down a meter down a hill takes away half your health, glitches through buildings, teleport glitches, invisble walls, broken animations, texture bugs, the list goes on

    Microtransactions: once you buy an item and you die, you loose it for good BE WARNED.

    False advertising ! On the steam page, it advertises for multiple maps up to 400square kms, skill points, private servers, up to 100 player servers. The game currently has ONE map with 100kms, NO skill point mechanic, Servers with max of only 50 people, NO private servers available.

    STAY as far away from this game as possible, this has the be one of the most disgusting piece of work, i have ever played
    Expand

See all 1655 User Reviews