Infestation: Survivor Stories Image
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 3987 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be(Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be forced to fight for survival as they encounter zombies and other players. Every decision has an effect on whether you live or how quickly you meet your death. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    39
    The War Z is plagued by too many mistakes, but the developers seem to be unprofessional. I've watched the development of the game for too long now - without realizing improvement.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    30
    A shameless knock-off that repeats many of DayZ's problems. Worst audio ever. Bullets for sale? Really?
  4. 20
    The War Z: The foundation-release of Hammerpoint Interactive's zombie-mmog is just a disaster. Missing features, technical problems, bugs, server hacks – there are so many things to be fixed, that it's hard to believe this project could ever be a smooth-running game.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    20
    The only way to draw even the tiniest bit of entertainment from the game is by playing on nearly empty servers to avoid the player-killing cheaters and focus on the undead. Even then, you soon get fed up with the dreary zombie combat, or some hacker shows up and puts you out of your misery. Fighting zombie hordes in an apocalyptic wasteland has never been so depressing.
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  7. Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. I used to play DayZ before i found this game and while they are similar, The War Z has many aspects that make me enjoy it farExcellent game. I used to play DayZ before i found this game and while they are similar, The War Z has many aspects that make me enjoy it far more than i ever did with dayz. I would defiantly recommend it to other people who are fans of realistic zombie games. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    8
    Most of the negative reviews for Infestation:SS are due to a buggy (and arguably incomplete) launch of the game. The game has gotten muchMost of the negative reviews for Infestation:SS are due to a buggy (and arguably incomplete) launch of the game. The game has gotten much better since then. You'll either love or hate this game. I love it. It's very challenging an not very noob friendly but once you get the hang of it it's a rush. And with the developers working hard to improve it, it has the potential to be a 10 out of 10 (that is, after they add vehicles, give a PVE area and extra water for noobs, and get punkbuster to quit kicking people). IDK if the PB kicking issue is the game or just PB but that is the only major bug I've had trouble with. Give it a chance, it's addictive! Expand
  3. Dec 19, 2012
    2
    Before i begin i need you to know Ihave had a chance to play this in Alpha, Beta and the current "Foundation Release".

    The game as it
    Before i begin i need you to know Ihave had a chance to play this in Alpha, Beta and the current "Foundation Release".

    The game as it stands today is very broken. It has been plagued by hackers, bugs, and multiple errors created by the developers. Moving past that the game it self plays out exactly as the popular ARMA II Mod "Day Z". You are set in this world to survive and explore. Easier said than done.

    You will travel this world for many hours find very little in terms of items, Infact you will likely run into another survivor, a pack of zombies or maybe even a hacker and die before you actually find good gear.

    Once dead you will have to wait 4 hours before you can play that character again. Unless of course you pay real money. This in it's self is a little shady.

    Graphically the game is really hit or miss. From afar the scenery and world looks pretty whimsical, however once you get a closer look the textures look very awful and out of place. The animations are less than par what they should be. Players and zombies move very statically, almost robotic like, very inorganic. This ontop of the combat animations which are also terrible make the game look very cheap.

    Overall my player experience has been very poor due to the lack of content, Shady micro transactions, Bugs, Hackers and much more. I would not recommend this until it has at least fixed the issues stated.
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2014
    0
    Don't buy this game. No. Never ever. Even if you see it on sale for like a buck, or even like 50 cents or something... NO! DO NOT! That moneyDon't buy this game. No. Never ever. Even if you see it on sale for like a buck, or even like 50 cents or something... NO! DO NOT! That money can go towards helping a starving child or some sh#t like that, hell maybe even towards a game that deserves that kind of money!

    Wait, did I just mix up my priorities? Eh, I'm sure it's nothing...

    Pros:
    *Makes for a good present if you want to breakup with someone
    *Makes for a good present if you really want to breakup with someone
    *Look by this point if you're going to buy it for someone, you must really dislike them because you're essentially spending your hard earned money on something you can do for free, like for instance: Take a sh#t in a paper bag and say it's an offering of what you think of your relationship with them.
    *If you ever go on Metacritic, there's like 600 or so positive reviews, and you just have to wonder, how was someone this stupid to rate it high in the first place... then you read the reviews... and you immediately want to never go to Metacritic ever again...
    *aaaaaaaaaaaand that's about it... I'm sure there's one guy that will say "aefujhkhl but therz thingz it duz betta then Day Z"... f@#k em...
    Cons:
    *Yeah... not going to list the plethora of cons... I have a life to live

    Overall score... a F@#kNo/10
    Expand
  5. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    I was tempted into buying a game of relatively new genre. I liked the idea of game being based on relatively realistic survival, developers atI was tempted into buying a game of relatively new genre. I liked the idea of game being based on relatively realistic survival, developers at that point promised that it will never become pay 2 win kind of game. So i decided to give full version a try.

    What i got:
    1) Game is still in beta, lots of bugs, glitches and all sorts of uncalculated stupidities.
    2) Cheaters. Even in the full(paid) version of the game. It tells you about how much devs are "working" on fixing the issue.
    3) At some point couple weeks ago, devs introduced a new feature - access to marketplace at any point of the map with a click of single button(previously you could do it only on the safezones - 4 of them on the huge map):
    Sratving to death? - No problem, press F10
    Bleeding to death? - No problem, F10
    Blood toxication? - No problem, F10
    Out of ammo in a fight? F10
    Need extra meds in a fight? F10
    Survival aspect is gone.

    Basically you'd be spending ingame money faster than you'd be earning it killing zombies if you're playing actively and after a few weeks at most, 99% of players will end up in a situation where they don't have enough ingame currency to utilize that marketplace, which leaves everyone to Cash options, that's where game turns into a freaking pay-to-win, still-broken-and-bugged garbage.

    Not to mention the fact, that devs made a poll (THAT NOBODY HAD SEEN IN PROGRESS) they only showed "final results" where 58% were still against the feature. Open player-made poll on forum showed around 80-90% opposing the feature. And as far as i know that feature is still there.

    Conclusion:
    Game has a potential... or rather had a potential. But money-hungry devs are finishing the game off right now, they ignore every single existing problem and are just trying to squeeze as much money as possible out of the dying thing.

    Stay away from that garbage, if you want to try it - play trial, it's free and you'll get everything you'd get in the full game. In trial you'll get killed by a hacker, in full you'll get killed by a guy with virtually endless medkits and ammo.

    DO NOT BUY THIS TRASH.
    It causes bigger buyer's remorse than a useless thing costing 4-digit-amount-of-$$$$,
    stay away from that dev-team too, save yourselves some nerves.
    Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. El juego en si es un asco, malos gráficos, mala ambientación, mala optimizacion , bugs y glitches en todos lados, pero detrás de cámaras es mucho peor, la empresa a cargo del videojuegos dejara de dar soporte técnico al multijugador si el juego no llega a un numero de ventas determinados, ademas el juego es al parecer un mod mal hecho del juego "war inc battlezone" , graficos similares , armas, modelos e interfaz similar, en los terminos y condiciones del videojuego, robaron el de league of legends. Tambien en la informacion del videojuego se mentia acerca de como era el juego, al igual que en videojuego hecho por el mismo director de este Expand
  7. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    Probably the worst game I have ever played. This game is completely unfinished, yet released on steam as a finished game, asking for a wholeProbably the worst game I have ever played. This game is completely unfinished, yet released on steam as a finished game, asking for a whole $15 for it. Textures suck, Animations suck, and there are bugs everywhere. Hacking in the game is rampant, which is a huge problem considering you loose all your items, and it takes 4 whole hours to play again once you get killed (by another hacking playing in 9 out of 10 cases). It is a cash scam, plain and simple. I am sure this game will not be supported, and there will be no servers 6 months from now. Save your self the time and the money and do not buy this game. Play something else, pretty much anything else. Expand

See all 1664 User Reviews