Infestation: Survivor Stories Image
Metascore
20

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.7

Overwhelming dislike- based on 4037 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be(Formerly known as "The War Z") It has been 5 years since the outbreak, giving rise to a post-apocalyptic nightmare with 95% of the human race wiped out. To survive, you'll require food, weapons, and other supplies. Some of you will scavenge as you negotiate the terrain, others will be forced to fight for survival as they encounter zombies and other players. Every decision has an effect on whether you live or how quickly you meet your death. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 13 out of 13
  1. Jan 15, 2013
    39
    The War Z is plagued by too many mistakes, but the developers seem to be unprofessional. I've watched the development of the game for too long now - without realizing improvement.
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    36
    The War Z might use the same elements that make DayZ an enthralling experience. But it puts them together so halfheartedly that you have to turn away in disbelief.
  3. Jan 27, 2013
    30
    A shameless knock-off that repeats many of DayZ's problems. Worst audio ever. Bullets for sale? Really?
  4. 20
    The War Z: The foundation-release of Hammerpoint Interactive's zombie-mmog is just a disaster. Missing features, technical problems, bugs, server hacks – there are so many things to be fixed, that it's hard to believe this project could ever be a smooth-running game.
  5. Jan 18, 2013
    20
    The only way to draw even the tiniest bit of entertainment from the game is by playing on nearly empty servers to avoid the player-killing cheaters and focus on the undead. Even then, you soon get fed up with the dreary zombie combat, or some hacker shows up and puts you out of your misery. Fighting zombie hordes in an apocalyptic wasteland has never been so depressing.
  6. Feb 22, 2013
    17
    The War Z has about as much value as its crappy in-game melee weaponry and that’s not much at all. At least it doesn’t cost anything to play after you buy it, and the cash shop items are fair enough, so you won’t see people running around with machine guns just because they spent money. If you’re going to give your money to a zombie-survival game, grab ArmA II and a copy of the DayZ mod, or wait for the full retail version of DayZ to arrive on digital store shelves and check that out. Do not buy into The War Z.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 7, 2013
    0
    Its mechanical foundation - like this Foundation Release - crumbles at the lightest touch. [March 2013, p.94]

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    This game is great. I've played it since November 27 and, while there are some miscommunications and glitches, this game is overall great. ItThis game is great. I've played it since November 27 and, while there are some miscommunications and glitches, this game is overall great. It is still in development, but has many great features. There are a mid-range of weapons to choose from, with more on the way in the future. The map, over 100sq km, is big enough for the moment. I hardly ever run into hostile players, and nothing of any hackers that have been reported. I've managed to get guns several times, as well as rare armor and items. As an overal game, I give it an 8/10, due to the fact it has some features missing and the developers are sometimes distant on information. Expand
  2. Jun 24, 2013
    8
    I picked up WarZ on day one and it was really buggy, but still in alpha/beat so I didn't complain. I've watched it for a while and haveI picked up WarZ on day one and it was really buggy, but still in alpha/beat so I didn't complain. I've watched it for a while and have recently started playing again. I've been having more fun in Infestation: Survivor Stories, as it's now called, than I have any many other pvp games in quite a while. It's worth giving another chance if you still own it. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2012
    2
    Probably would have rated this a little bit higher as I have had fun playing it, however:

    - Hackers are a massive problem, nothing has been
    Probably would have rated this a little bit higher as I have had fun playing it, however:

    - Hackers are a massive problem, nothing has been done about it, other than implementing one of the stupidest things ever - loot bait. Placing items inside of walls which only people using ESP would know about. This led to a lot of legitimate player accounts being banned. There's a so-called anti-cheat system which analyses player patterns - this isn't good enough. I might as well go and buy some hacks now, I'll never get caught.

    - Each patch seems to fix 5 bugs, and introduce 10 more. Patch release dates as well as promised features are constantly late, or not implemented at all. Other patches introduce things which are blatant money making schemes. Changing revive times to 4 hours, but then adding an option to PAY to revive instantly for example, right on top of Christmas, when they know more people will be playing, and have money to spend - despite the fact that you're probably going to die to hackers more often than not.

    - Lying about features in the game - and then blaming customers for 'misinterpreting' information - the information could only be interpreted one way - it's a blatant case of false advertising (STEAM removed it from sale the same day it was launched on there. Also, check out the article on Forbes and GameSpy for more info.)
    Expand
  4. Nov 21, 2013
    0
    No not buy this game, just don't. Any reviews you see that are giving this any more than a 3 are probably getting paid by the developers.No not buy this game, just don't. Any reviews you see that are giving this any more than a 3 are probably getting paid by the developers. Since this game's release, it has changed very little, a lot of the boring game play, bugs and glitches hackers and extortion by the developers remains with little attempt to fix them since.

    Not to mention hammerpoint's appalling business practices, suppressing negative opinions of their game, paying people off to hype their game among other things.
    Collapse
  5. Jun 18, 2013
    0
    it's a scam don't ever buy this garbage all they did was copy and paste everything from War Inc and add some zombie skins not only that butit's a scam don't ever buy this garbage all they did was copy and paste everything from War Inc and add some zombie skins not only that but they copied the terms and conditions from League of legends it also got removed from steam for false advertisement how it got back on steam is beyond me but it really needs to be removed forever it's also play to win if you die pay real money and revive yourself! can't find supplies buy some with real money! because who needs to scavenge in a zombie apocalypse when you can just buy it with real money? Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    0
    The game company lied openly to it's customers. Fact: They posted the wrong information purposefully on Steam to lure customers in a "cashThe game company lied openly to it's customers. Fact: They posted the wrong information purposefully on Steam to lure customers in a "cash grab" in many ways including and up to charging players real money to "respawn" or they would wait 4 hours. It was stated by the developers no extra money would be required beyond buying the game to "play" the game. FACT: A developer is recorded stating he will have access to a "god mode" command, where he will then kill any bandits he does not like in the game.

    FACT: The game was stolen from DayZ, and covered up to make it look like it was in development before days. It tries to copy the systems of DayZ, yet cannot own up to it in the slightest.

    FACT: Asking for a refund may result in you being threatened with legal action, up to and including being "blacklisted" so that payments cannot be made using certain services.

    FACT: They have no system to prevent hackers, yet are charging real money for items you lose when you die to hackers.

    FACT: They have an illegal clause in the TOS which states you are not allowed to obtain a refund, even though in just about every country this is breaking the law in itself.

    This needs to be exposed now. Everyone who has power in the gaming world needs to come forward, and put an end to this. If this company is allowed to continue, there is no telling what else will be allowed. Please, for the sake of the future of gaming, of Steam... to show people how blind they are. I still see many people saying the game is "fine" even though they are the minority, even with the proof they have been lied to, and cheated they still defend this company. I'm not sure what this generation needs to see through it, I really don't. It makes me physically ill at times when I'm reading the comments of people praising Hammerpoint. How can you not see through it? He isn't even doing it intelligently, he's calling YOU the idiots for reading something correctly that they put up incorrectly.

    I feel like I'm beating my head against a solid steel wall right now. Is there no hope left for this world?
    Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    0
    really bad gamereally bad game just like this review. Expand

See all 1673 User Reviews