Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Infested Planet is a tactical RTS, giving players the command of 5 soldiers and pitting them against a swarm of 100,000 aliens. To defeat this numerous enemy, players will have to employ their entire arsenal of weapons, buildings and technologies. Constructing everything from artillery cannons to heavily armoured minigun specialists, the marine team must push back the encroaching alien menace. The aliens have a few tricks at their disposal as well. They can mutate to gain new abilities, challenging the player with new problems. Potential commanders will need to adapt quickly or risk being overrun. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    100
    Infested Planet is all about the flow of this dynamic give-and-take, back-and-forth, thrust-and-parry, feint-and-regroup, upgrade and counter upgrade. Other real time strategy games are battle lines smashing into each other, often won by sheer force or snowballing advantages, messy, fraught with loss. Infested Planet is a dance.
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    80
    All in all, this is a wonderful little game, and everyone who likes strategy and tactics should give it a try.
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    80
    A refreshing, frantic, difficult but above all incredibly entertaining game. Such is Infested Planet, a 2D shooter with strategic elements. If you take pleasure in aliens bloodbaths, do not hesitate and get it.
  4. Mar 10, 2014
    75
    This is a very interesting game, since it takes many ideas from its genre, but makes them addictive and accessible.
  5. Mar 17, 2014
    74
    If you are a die hard RTS fan looking for a new challenge, Infested Planet's mutated hordes might be just what you are looking for. Everyone else be wary. Infested Planet is easy to pick up and play, but its alien army wants nothing more than to tear you apart.
  6. May 7, 2014
    70
    Aliens and soldiers meet again in Infested Planet, making for a various and good enough game to make you come for more, but not enough to leave a mark.
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    68
    Thousands of bugs against eight soldiers: The mix between real time tactics and tower defense has its moments, but the mechanics get stale too soon.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 29, 2014
    10
    This is a pretty awesome little realtime strategy game. The capture-and-hold elements along with various upgrades have kept it interesting while the constantly-overwhelming-feeling gameplay has stayed entertaining. 15hrs in and one level left to go. It has gotten pretty challenging, but not unfairly so (with upgrades and money flowing in regularly from side missions). I bought this while it was on sale on steam and it is my most played game from the steam summer sale so far. Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2014
    9
    Infested Planet is a RTS/Tower Defense game that takes a more aggressive approach to game play. The game starts you off with 4 marines, though the graphics are a little weak and so realizing they are people might be a challenge. The goal is to go from alien base to base, disabling them and capturing the point so you can move on to the next while defending the previous. If you've ever played the Special Forces mods for Starcraft and Starcraft 2 then you've played something very similar to this. The game seems to have quite a bit to offer in upgrades and expand-ability. While I'm only a couple hours in I've enjoyed what I've played so far and look forward to losing myself in once again soon. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Bought the full release game on the steam sale for 20% off, and after 10 hours, I must say it's worth every penny. It's a fantastic alien zerg shooter with a variety of strategic troop upgrades and buildings which you must carefully select each mission to attempt victory. The game offers lots of challenges and an in-game shop where you spend your mercenary money on new upgrades and one-time-use buffs. For anyone that enjoys a simple yet complex RTS involving the deaths of hundreds of thousands of aliens, pick this one up! Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    9
    Fun new take on tower defense. baddies spawn from set places but upgrade abilities as each level progresses. Although it has rts mechanism, because your defense and the baddies are often in equilibrium states, it often has more of a turn-based feel as you make particular 'moves' to change from one equilibrium position to another.

    simple but clean graphics. great random reply levels. progression of available troops and defenses.
    Expand
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    I must start off by saying that this game is currently in BETA and is thus not the completed project, keep that in mind. Infested Planet is considered an RTS but it is so much more than just a label, Infested Planet not only keeps your attention but constantly causes you to rethink what you thought you knew. For example the aliens are continuously mutating and adapting to your efforts to overcome them. This game will have you pausing it over and over just so you can take a look at the big picture, the overarching strategy so to say. Should I send my men there or would they be better served elsewhere? Do i need another medic or flamer? Micro-management is key and in the later levels you will be forced to hone those skills.
    Once again I say that this game is in BETA but has so much room to grow and is already a good game.Time will tell if it will become a great one, I have hope in the game and the developers of it, that they will do their utmost to create the game that they dream of.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    8
    This is an early access review.
    Really unusual RTS that actually no modern graphics and other bells and whistles needed.
    Pro:
    - Exciting,
    is not boring even after many hours
    - Allows you to very individual style of play
    - Randomly generated maps and campaign maps
    - Randomly generated opponents tactics
    - Acceptable Atmosphere
    - Rewarding System

    Cons:
    - Price should be around 10 but cost around 15
    - Sound and voice output, very monotonous
    - Research, confusing
    - Mission selection, cluttered, ugly

    All in all, I like it. A successful implementation of a good idea. Highly recommended for RTS fans, but TBS Lover and graphics fanatics stay away.
    Expand
  7. yar
    Jul 24, 2013
    5
    Infested planet is an RTS that revolves around a quite simple concept. Aliens spawn in countless numbers and you kill them in equally countless numbers. Stuff dies by the veritable bucket loads. I am all for gratuitous violence but the fact that it is completely unending sort of dulls you to it by the end.

    The game itself is quite simple and figuring out how to exploit it is even easier. I jumped right into the games skirmish mode, which pits you against the AI in a randomly generated level. I played intermediate AI the first few games until I learned how to play and then tackled the abyss (which is supposedly the hardest difficulty). The game takes forever as you slowly wade about knee high in alien entrails trying to reach your objectives in levels that all look and feel the same.

    I beat the hardest difficulty on my first try in under an hour. The AI is a complete let down as it simply applies mutations at random on a very predictable schedule. The game also doesn't have a whole lot to hold your interest. Everything takes too long and all the while things are dying and you know what? It doesn't matter, because stuff is always dying. Your marines die and respawn just like the enemies, you can sell everything you make for 100% refund. It's hard to actually lose too- everything you do can be changed later. The biggest problem I notice is that the game-play is very flat in that their are no moments of immediate all or nothing importance or even moments of greater importance. If the aliens take a point, you haven't really lost anything, if you lose a marine it doesn't matter. It would be like playing warcraft with a food cap at 10 and an opponent who only builds peons to send at you.

    Its a straight forward, time consuming experience that left me uninspired. In all fairness though many may enjoy this. The pace is slow enough to keep up with whats going on and there is always the option of pulling back and reassessing your plans. If you like methodical, plodding, strategy, this might be your thing. If you are hoping for a high action, necessary split second reaction, tightly balanced play, and an opponent who always throws something new at you... You probably should keep playing SC on the ladder.

    I hope they add more to it. I don't really plan on playing it unless they do.
    Expand