Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Apr 19, 2012
    80
    Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet leaves you wanting more. With such a well-conceived and beautiful world to explore, it's a shame we can't spend more time in it. But a great short game is more welcome than a mediocre long one, and I do highly recommend you investigate Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet.
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    78
    It isn't a challenge or an epic, but for an arty game that's worthy of a seat next to Limbo, Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet knows how to give you a good time without taking very much of it. [Aug 2012, p.69]
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    79
    This game still is very unique – at least stylistically. And on the PC you get the better visuals, the better controls and overall more value for your money in this intersting MetroidVania variation.
  4. May 30, 2012
    70
    A pure distillation of old-school gameplay, decanted into a laser-cut crystal goblet of 21st Century awesome. [June 2012, p.66]
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    On a PC you get so much better visuals, the better controls and overall more value for your money in this interesting game-creation. I lovedOn a PC you get so much better visuals, the better controls and overall more value for your money in this interesting game-creation. I loved every minute of it. Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2013
    2
    The only thing I can say about this game is that it' is boring. The music is good, the design is good, the controls are good, but the game isThe only thing I can say about this game is that it' is boring. The music is good, the design is good, the controls are good, but the game is just boring to a fault. Full Review »
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    5
    I liked this game for the first couple of hours I played it. But nothing really grabs me, everything is okay but nothing more.
    Windows Live
    I liked this game for the first couple of hours I played it. But nothing really grabs me, everything is okay but nothing more.
    Windows Live is a huge drawback that knocks at least a couple of points off the score. If you like Metroid style games this game is okay, but there is too much backtracking when I've missed something for me to enjoy it. I was often unsure if I was stuck at a puzzle or if I had missed an item that I needed to move further in the game.
    Full Review »