Inversion Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of young father and husband Davis Russell who is thrust into war when his tranquil city is invaded by an unknown enemy. With his daughter unaccounted for and conventional weapons and tactics useless, this typical cop and his partner Leo Delgado step up to heed the call ofAssume the role of young father and husband Davis Russell who is thrust into war when his tranquil city is invaded by an unknown enemy. With his daughter unaccounted for and conventional weapons and tactics useless, this typical cop and his partner Leo Delgado step up to heed the call of duty, master the fundamental forces of gravity and save the world. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Inversion - CGI Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Aug 31, 2012
    70
    The potential for something strong was here- but the mediocre level design and the repetition of the mechanics, hold Inversion back from 'diamond' status. That's not to say that it's a bad game: the 9 or 10 hours of gameplay are fun, but only that… there's not enough thrill and excitement to hold you from other games. [September 2012]
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Inversion has lots of potential with a gravitational weapon, an interesting starting story and good gameplay elements. Sadly, it cannot use this potential and seems to be that it was not enough time to finish Inversion as an exciting, well-made game.
  3. CD-Action
    Jul 31, 2012
    60
    It's not a bad game, just a lacklustre one. Saber Interactive borrowed a bunch of ideas that are fun on their own but somehow failed to combine them into a great game. [September 2012, p.70]
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 10, 2012
    60
    The game that wanted to be king but was afraid of making the right decisions – sometimes when you copy successful concepts from others and combine them with your own fresh ideas you just waste the potential. [Sept 2012]
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    52
    Inversion is a heavily linear by-the-numbers cover shooter that fails to make the most of its few high points. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    45
    Not every shooter gives you a chance to abuse the laws of physics. Too bad that Saber Interactive could not flesh out its original concept, leaving us with a mediocre Gears of War clone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 25
  2. Negative: 3 out of 25
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling withI don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling with Inversion, and I must say the Idea of Zero Gravity is excellent. The game has a lot to offer and delivers a great Single Campaign and even a better Co-Op experience. The graphics and effects are way better then the ones used in GOW. Actually people should be happy a game like this hits the PC market as we only got one GOW game ever released for the PC. The genre is awesome and people who say the story is dull and has plot holes have no imagination anymore. Not every little detail has to be served on a silver plate for gamers to consume. I really loved this game. Every game has some flaws but critics have been way to harsh on such a good Sci-Fi shooter, I recommend this title very much. Its a A title game and should be treated with a little more respect. Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    Great game ,GOW clone ?? every game has something borrowed from another game, so not a valid reason
    The graphics are very nice ,gameplay is
    Great game ,GOW clone ?? every game has something borrowed from another game, so not a valid reason
    The graphics are very nice ,gameplay is fun ,Cinematics with gameplay blending are well done .
    One of the rarest Cinematics game quality That I saw so far .
    Superior game over many other .GJ! I enjoyed
    Expand
  3. Aug 26, 2012
    8
    This is a pretty underrated game, people should stop comparing it to gears of war and take it for what it is. If you enjoy 3rd personThis is a pretty underrated game, people should stop comparing it to gears of war and take it for what it is. If you enjoy 3rd person shooters, especially a bit post-apoc/sci-fi, I suggest you definitely try this. The gameplay is pretty standard cover-based shooter combined with some low gravity movement which adds a unique character to the game. The graphics are good and the environments of the game are really well made and differ as you progress. Another thing I liked was that it is a decent pc port with good video options and plays well with kb + mouse. The plot might not be as solid as it could but it is still enjoyable, plus there are some very interesting twists. I only played singleplayer which lasted about 6-7 hours and ended leaving many questions unanswered which was kind of disappointing. Co-op is also available if you have a friend to play with, and some multiplayer options on which I can't comment. It is sad this game didn't get the attention and reception it deserves, saber interactive did a pretty good job and delivered an overall solid title. Expand
  4. Aug 4, 2012
    7
    I can't stand it when good games get low scores and this is one of them. The single player is better than Gears. The Graphics and story are ofI can't stand it when good games get low scores and this is one of them. The single player is better than Gears. The Graphics and story are of a high quality. Really good game and there is co-op but not split screen. Buy this it will be less than £20/$20 by now. Expand
  5. May 28, 2014
    6
    "Use cover to avoid fire.” That was the first in-game tip that Inversion gave me, and it explains the game more succinctly than I could hope"Use cover to avoid fire.” That was the first in-game tip that Inversion gave me, and it explains the game more succinctly than I could hope to. It’s a third-person shooter in the Gears of War vein, set in a generic American city attacked by primitive cultists. You move between areas full of waist-high walls, duck behind them, kill everything in the room, then run (or, more accurately, waddle-sprint) to the next. Sometimes there’s a turret section – you know, just to spice things up. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2015
    5
    There is no getting away from it, no avoiding it: this game is such a screaming rip-off of Gears of War that it is painful. Even the enemiesThere is no getting away from it, no avoiding it: this game is such a screaming rip-off of Gears of War that it is painful. Even the enemies in Inversion could have walked straight from a fight in Gears, their design is so similar.
    And that is a shame, as there was actually a pretty decent game under here. Sure cover based, third-person shooters are never gonna get very far on PC but it had a lot going for it. The graphics are more than passable, the port is solid with good performance and well thought out menus, the controls are intuitive and responsive and the gravity-switching gimmick can be genuinely impressive to behold, especially when coupled with the games highly capable physics system.
    Expand
  7. Jan 7, 2013
    2
    In short: You can avoid this game and your life won't be lacking. The only reason I can see to play this game would be if you REALLY loveIn short: You can avoid this game and your life won't be lacking. The only reason I can see to play this game would be if you REALLY love Gears of War and can't wait for the next installment to be released. Even then, I imagine you'd be happier replaying any of the GoW games. Inversion starts off with an intriguing premise, the idea of gravity affect tools, and then goes almost nowhere with it. Characters are 1 dimensional. Level design is poor. AI partner is a liability. Application of gravity tool fluctuates between superfluous and inconvenient. Cut-scenes ceaselessly interrupt gameplay. Checkpoints are usually inconvenient (i.e. - before a cut-scene, not after). Lack of shoulder aim switching makes combat tedious. Enemy types are very limited and poorly designed boss types are used repeatedly, sometimes in rapid succession. I did not play coop, which may have made the experience more enjoyable, but having played 4/5 of the game single player, I can't ask another person to play this game with a clear conscience. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews