Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 84 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of young father and husband Davis Russell who is thrust into war when his tranquil city is invaded by an unknown enemy. With his daughter unaccounted for and conventional weapons and tactics useless, this typical cop and his partner Leo Delgado step up to heed the call of duty, master the fundamental forces of gravity and save the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Aug 31, 2012
    70
    The potential for something strong was here- but the mediocre level design and the repetition of the mechanics, hold Inversion back from 'diamond' status. That's not to say that it's a bad game: the 9 or 10 hours of gameplay are fun, but only that… there's not enough thrill and excitement to hold you from other games. [September 2012]
  2. Aug 14, 2012
    70
    Inversion has lots of potential with a gravitational weapon, an interesting starting story and good gameplay elements. Sadly, it cannot use this potential and seems to be that it was not enough time to finish Inversion as an exciting, well-made game.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    60
    It's not a bad game, just a lacklustre one. Saber Interactive borrowed a bunch of ideas that are fun on their own but somehow failed to combine them into a great game. [September 2012, p.70]
  4. 60
    The game that wanted to be king but was afraid of making the right decisions – sometimes when you copy successful concepts from others and combine them with your own fresh ideas you just waste the potential. [Sept 2012]
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    52
    Inversion is a heavily linear by-the-numbers cover shooter that fails to make the most of its few high points. [Nov 2012, p.72]
  6. Jul 28, 2012
    45
    Not every shooter gives you a chance to abuse the laws of physics. Too bad that Saber Interactive could not flesh out its original concept, leaving us with a mediocre Gears of War clone.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Aug 29, 2012
    10
    I don't care if the mechanics resemble the Game Gears of War, I have played Gears of War before and I loved it. I had the same feeling with Inversion, and I must say the Idea of Zero Gravity is excellent. The game has a lot to offer and delivers a great Single Campaign and even a better Co-Op experience. The graphics and effects are way better then the ones used in GOW. Actually people should be happy a game like this hits the PC market as we only got one GOW game ever released for the PC. The genre is awesome and people who say the story is dull and has plot holes have no imagination anymore. Not every little detail has to be served on a silver plate for gamers to consume. I really loved this game. Every game has some flaws but critics have been way to harsh on such a good Sci-Fi shooter, I recommend this title very much. Its a A title game and should be treated with a little more respect. Collapse
  2. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    Great game ,GOW clone ?? every game has something borrowed from another game, so not a valid reason
    The graphics are very nice ,gameplay is
    fun ,Cinematics with gameplay blending are well done .
    One of the rarest Cinematics game quality That I saw so far .
    Superior game over many other .GJ! I enjoyed
    Expand
  3. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    I enjoy co-op play, especially when it allows two people to experience the entire campaign. Inversion does not disappoint in this respect. The co-op experience is fun. It is not fully involved with assistive problem solving such as the likes of Laura Croft "Guardian of Light"; however, all of the common co-op elements are there, revives, climbs, path splits, etc. I've seen many references to Gears of War as a comparison and this is not inaccurate. If you liked playing Gears, you should like this game.

    While telling the story, there are a *lot* of cut scenes to move the story along...almost too many, but it's really hard to complain about a developer that is involving you in a story. The story itself is nothing earth shattering, but it is engaging enough to keep you moving and wondering what's going on. One small nag concerning some of the cut scenes, they often leave you standing in the open, with a big target on your forehead while you scramble to get your bearings and find cover. The voice overs are not bad and the cinematic cut-scenes are very good, game-engine detail. At some points, the voice overs do seem slightly off, but all-in-all, very likeable and scene-setting.

    Game mechanics: the first thing to say is bravo! Saber has created what has to be the absolute best buddy joining system of all time. Both players start the game and can immediately see each other on the main menu screen. Click your partner's name and then click the option to join them. No invites, no port opening follies, no frustration. Plain and simple the best solution to the often frustrating nonsense that most developers put you through. Well done. Inside the game, the cover system is nearly identical to Gears, including the sometimes frustrating pieces where you bounce around on cover elements while you're trying to free yourself to fight or run. I'm sure a lot of it is my gameplay, frantically mashing buttons in the thick of it all, but it's sometimes frustrating. Cover is not absolute, and nearly anything can be used as "some" cover. Depending on what you're hiding behind and where the enemies are, your cover may not work well at all. :) Some cover elements can also be destroyed, which is pretty cool and fun to deal with. The gravity element produces some very cool options for fights and level progression. And the orientation twisting creates a pretty cool element of rotating the battlefield.

    This game is intended to be a two player game. Not having played the single-player, I can't comment on that aspect. Is this game ground-breaking, fresh, and flawless? Nope. But it *is* a great time spent with a buddy, romping through the story. Worth the money and is an experience that is pretty rare (campaign co-op). Don't bag on it for being like "Gears", embrace it and enjoy it for doing so. I had a lot of fun playing Gears and had as much fun playing Inversion. Great job Saber, I'd like to see even more games of this type!
    Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    7
    Take the combat mechanics of Gears of War, some zero-g aspects from Dead Space, add a unique story and you get Inversion. The game is short (6-7) hours, full of cut scenes and feels overall it feels rushed. The game starts strong but fades off quickly. The boss battles become repetitive because you end up facing the same few bosses over and over again, only more difficult than the previous ones. The one thing that it had going for it, the gravitational shifts, was completely lacking. Engaging in battles with enemies in a different gravitational shift than you is exciting. However, it was only done about 3 or 4 times. They focused too much on the zero-g fighting which was rather tedious and boring. I absolutely loved the story though. Despite it needing to be filled in more with details and fixing gaps in content, the overall and main focus were entertaining and done really well. Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2012
    7
    I can't stand it when good games get low scores and this is one of them. The single player is better than Gears. The Graphics and story are of a high quality. Really good game and there is co-op but not split screen. Buy this it will be less than £20/$20 by now. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    5
    There is no getting away from it, no avoiding it: this game is such a screaming rip-off of Gears of War that it is painful. Even the enemies in Inversion could have walked straight from a fight in Gears, their design is so similar.
    And that is a shame, as there was actually a pretty decent game under here. Sure cover based, third-person shooters are never gonna get very far on PC but it had a lot going for it. The graphics are more than passable, the port is solid with good performance and well thought out menus, the controls are intuitive and responsive and the gravity-switching gimmick can be genuinely impressive to behold, especially when coupled with the games highly capable physics system.
    The thing that killed it for me eventually however and left me utterly unwilling to continue playing was the cut scenes. Never in my life have I seen so many cut-scenes. Sure they are skip-able - a laudable feature - but sweet damn there are HUNDREDS of the things, some mere seconds apart. Often you get a literal 30 seconds of action after a cut-scene, giving you time to kill maybe 2 dudes before you are tossed another cut-scene. It is simply astonishing.

    Is this game worth its asking price? No, not really and not even the co-op mode can fix that. Maybe grab it as a budget item but certainly look out for more from the same studio.
    Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2013
    0
    [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] [comment no longer applicable, removed by the author] Expand

See all 21 User Reviews