Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. 40
    It is not finished! The state this game was release in cannot be called anything other than beta. [July 2012]
  2. Jun 28, 2012
    40
    I'm not sure if we should be calling Iron Front a game. It's more like a huge target range where people can run around, drive tanks and shoot each other.
  3. Jun 27, 2012
    40
    The game has some great potential but in its current state, it is limping along. The gamer who have the patience to hang on through the fixes may find a really great WW2 game here.
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    40
    Iron Front really has a realistic atmosphere, there's a lot of different modes to choose from and the German/Russian voices are done well. The game is not really playable though, because it crashes a lot. Cutscenes cannot be skipped and there are some important explanations missing.
  5. Jul 24, 2012
    38
    It's nowhere near the finished article. [Sept 2012, p.108]
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    30
    There's nothing worth praising in Iron Front: Liberation 1944. [August 2012, p.81]
  7. May 24, 2012
    20
    I always try to approach a new game with an open mind regardless of genre, developer, budget and so on. Sometimes you get positively surprised by a game when you don't have preconceptions. Iron Front: Liberation 1944 offers the complete opposite.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 50
  2. Negative: 18 out of 50
  1. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game is just insane, it has some small bugs at release like all games, but they will get fixed soon. But apart from that, I have never seen such an amazing battles. If you like WW2: this is your game. Full Review »
  2. May 25, 2012
    7
    The game uses the same engine as arma 2 so yeah its going to be similar. So imagine arma 2 but as a ww2 genre type game. But the game runs more like a war engine. You will find yourself actually fighting the enemy. Arma 2 can feel cheap as the ai will snipe you with an AK from 400 meters away. In this game you wont get sniped by a pistol but instead of having a conflict 300-500 meters away. This game encourages you to get up in close for the kill. Ive been playing singleplayer and its challenging at some parts and then i tried the multiplayer....the largest server i found was maxed out at 32 players and it was buggy getting in and then i recieved a CTD. So i expect a patch within this month to correct that and overall the game runs great. Id recommend this game if you wanted a stronger fighting style in arma 2. The game deserves a 7 because it is great but three points off due to some ai just stand there and a CTD and buggy multiplayer launch. Definatley get the game if you are an arma vet and for any newcomers check this out, multiplayer is easy to pick up and plenty of action. Hopefully we will see the server list start filling up and get 64 player servers. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    Great engine, nice content, huge potential.

    This is the biggest and best game featuring combined arms warfare from a first-person-view in a
    WW2 scenario. (beside "Battleground Europe" a pay-to-play mmorpg). All it needs are many people, who buy and want to play it..
    It will make "Battlefield1+2" and "Red Orchestra: Ostfront" players really happy + bring that type of gameplay to another level.
    Huge maps, a lot content, great ballistics, dynamic weather, day/night...a running clock.
    Full Review »