User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 89 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 89
  2. Negative: 27 out of 89

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    I've been playing this through fully patched, and I must say I really like it compared to release. At maturity, it is definitely better and deserves a higher score.
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    Well now, here is a real review from a well trusted source http://www.simhq.com/_land3/land_131a.html Clearly these so called "critics" here are not one for this type of game. Of course all games that come out have some sort of bug or bugs, its the nature of the business. Do yourself a favor, don't listen to critics, try it for yourself and trust me you will not believe how amazing it is. By the way a DLC and a few patches have since come out....where's Metacritic's follow-up review? Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    Super MP/CoOp strategic action. Huge maps and a real feel of tension. If it was not because my otherwise very stable play computer freezes now and then due to graphics driver issues I would have given a 10 but they are still updating on the game so I hoping.

    I'm back after about a 6 month period. If there are still those freezing is a 6 figure probably more appropriate .... But damn
    take me, I'm crazy about the game even though it is on the 6.

    Sorry for my google english :(
    Expand
  4. Dec 2, 2012
    9
    This game uses the ARMA II engine, but although more bugged here than in ARMA II (something I hope they will fix soon) it is actualy better in this game. Some examples; the tanks behave more realistically, the aircrafts shake (from recoil) when you shoot, the offroad ride with cars if much more bumpy (and thus more realistic) and the vehicles break down much more realistically (with bumpers and entire wheels falling off when you crash). The single-player campaign is... not good at all, but I don't buy this game (or any of the ARMA games) for the single player campaign. This is a game I purchased for the editor alone, and this editor is perfect. It lets you build any type of game you want. Stealth missions. Massive battles. Massive tank battles. Skirmishes. Dog fights. Tank buster missions. Assassin missions. Whatever you want. The maps are huge, but you can use only parts of them if you prefer that. They offer an opportunity for ultra-realistic game play, and I love that. The weapons and vehicles are cool, but I also like the equipment offered to players; like plastic explosives (with a separate wire and detonator, making it more difficult/realistic to use), a great number of different mines and trip wires, different backpacks.

    The game is bugged (with an occational crash to desktop and some features not working properly), and this is the only reason why I don't give it a 10. If these bugs are fixed it is not only a 10, but also the best game I have ever seen this far (and I love games such as ARMA, ARMA II, EU III, Operation Flashpoint; Cold War Crisis, Deus Ex). If you care about a proper single-player campaign the game would be a 7 for you, I guess. The atmosphere of this game is very cool too. Yesterday I built (using the editor) a scenarior where I lead a small unit of SS-soldiers through enemy lines to pick up an abandonned SPW (a halftrack). When finally there, after evading (and some times killing) enemy units and dodging bullets from Russian snipers and Maxim MGs, I discover ("big surprise" to me, who made the scneraio) that it runs out of fuel after a 100 meters or so, so now I have to return to base to collect fuel (in form of a fuel truck, Opel Blitz). Last time I played I never made it back, but the atmosphere is just great and I loved every minute of it. Walking, using the binoculars, checking the map to figure out where I am, using the compass to figure out where to go, getting lost (again) because I had to dash for cover and then run across a corn field to evade the Russian squads... ah, I love this game. It feels as if I was there, fighting on the Russian front. There will soon be a DLC available for this game, called D-Day, featuring US (I guess) troops and more German units, and I cannot wait to get my hands on it. PS. Oh, and I can add that unlike in ARMA II the troops don't hit you from 400 meters with an iron-sight rifle 1 second after you look out the window. They often miss, and (I forgot to tell before) in this game the sound of bullets missing you is also much better than in ARMA II. And (unlike in ARMA II) the fragmentation from grenades can actually be heard as they hit the ground all around you.... PS II. The German troops speak German (if you like with English subtitles) and the Russians Russian (with English subtitles). Very cool.
    Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2012
    10
    This game is a kind of WW2 arma, under some points of view i even have to say it is better, developers are working hard right now to improve it, and after all of this work and new upcoming DLCs this game will become spectacular
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I have read the critics reviews and some of the player reviews as well. I understand their frustration or lack of appreciation for this game. My take on it is, this game isn't for the teen players. Its not BF3 et.al. It for the more mature, team based, prior service player who loves history and is tired of the "technology" used in so many of the other games which tells you where the enemy and friendlies are at all times. This game is hard to master but simple to play once you understand it based on reality. For instance, you can't get into a jeep's drivers seat by walking up on the right side. To get in the drivers seat, like in reality, you approach from the left. There aren't any "bonus skills" like fast reloads, or "killstreaks". It just straight up old fashioned weaponry that requires actual aiming if you are going to his anything.
    The best part about this game are the maps and the growing community of serious players. There are several but Forgotten Honor is a good start for someone looking to play with some experienced players. Good luck and good gaming.
    Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    The people giving this game low scores are used to cawadoody or battlefield games. This game might be too complex if you are that kind of person. Strategy fans will love this game. This isn't for the casual gamer like the people giving this game 0. This game is awesome you should buy it!
  8. Jun 25, 2012
    9
    Lonqvist Jun 25, 2012 Ok, here we go! You like and expect fast and cinematic shooting action like BF3 or MW3? Don't buy this game; You like and expect perfectly scripted cut-scenes and flawless AI? Don't buy this game; You like virtual firefights without the need of strategic insights? Don't buy this game; You own a mid-range PC or worse? Don't try this game! But, If you are a WWII fan, especially interested in German and Russian warfare? Try this game! If you like creating your own WWII infantry or tank battles and you're familiar with the Arma I/II mission editor? Try this game! If you are still enthusiastic after reading this short review and own a big ass, High End PC with at least an i5 or i7 Quad core, at least 16GB of RAM and a heavy duty graphics card (maybe 2), well... This will be YOUR game! Collapse
  9. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Iron Front Liberation 1944 feels like ArmA 2 in a WO2 setting. But it's definitely an improved version of ArmA 2 with better tank combat, better animations and great map/unit design. Infantry combat and dogfights are also a lot of fun. While the singleplayer campaign is a bit buggy (they're already fixing that!), this is a game you should buy for the editor and the multiplayer. Multiplayer comes with a lot of co-op and pvp missions like capture&hold or blitzkrieg. Now all this game needs are some more players! Expand
  10. F_x
    Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Let's be honest: IF44 is really special... What you need to play it successfully is patience, maturity, a certain passion for sand-box, primarily freedom-oriented military games, willingness to learn new things and finally create a long-lasting platform for maximum enjoyment. However, be advised of complexity of the engine IF44 is built on - it isn't anything similar to linear experience. You can merely put hundreds of units on the map (mission editor - pure awesomeness!) and every time you restart the game the battle will progress differently. Although several bugs are still present after recent patches, they're nothing compared to what possibilities the game itself delivers to an open-minded gamer. Feel free to buy and explore it by yourself. You may find it unexpectedly attractive just as I did. The reason I wrote this tiny review is to express my gratitude to the developers of IF44 for their enthusiasm and motivation. Expand
  11. Jun 1, 2012
    9
    Just wanted to point out that the guy with review about emails is full of **** They've patched it twice in a week and already announced a polish army addon. Anyways, The comprehensive editor automatically garners this game a 5. Any modder that loves to tinker with games should buy this game. Any dev team that supports modding gets points in my book. The game revolves around Poland during WW2, Features some of the most Realistic tanking in Gaming(WW2OL aside) and focuses on more on airpower then Arma2. Monte 28 pretty much sums up the rest of the game.

    The game gets a 9 only because of the bugs and crashing at launch, but hey. I haven't played a game that wasn't buggy at launch. As for CTDs, I've only experienced 2 CTDs since launch. Take that as you will.
    Expand
  12. May 29, 2012
    10
    This is the best $27 I ever spent. If you like Arma 2 and you like WW2 titles, you'll LOVE this game. I've got a thing for bolt action rifles and this title delivers. Getting kills with the German Kar 98 is extremely satisfying. The maps are down right beautiful and the terrains excellent. I think the AI provides just enough challenge. But the best part is that every multiplayer map can be played cooperatively against AI as well. This means there's a ton of coop maps right out of the box... more so than Arma 2 provided. I think Deep Silver did a phenomenal job. Expand
  13. May 28, 2012
    9
    Overall i consider this game the best EVER WW2 FPS game. GRAPHICS In many aspects better than any other WW2 FPS and in some aspects, inferior, overall, clearly above average. When flying it looks way better than IL2xxxx and is only second to Wings of Prey (IMHO). SOUND Sound is great with except some voices bugs soon to be iron out.... GAMEPLAY If you like the typical COD headless chicken run you won't be happy.....if you want something more tactical, you will be happy..
    Notice that this game is NOT tactical in excess....


    AIRPLANES,
    Not as hard/complex to fly as in a IL2Sxxxx but clearly not as arcade as BF2/BF3.
    Very nice indeed....and lots of fun also playing maps of aerial combat :)


    LAND VEHICLES
    THIS is where this game shines....YOU NEVER saw destruction of vehicles this way !!!!
    ....and depending of server parameters, debris can stay 5, 10 or during complete map !!!
    You also don't stumble on debris and kick them like the ridiculous way of the Frostbite engine.

    VEGETATION /HOUSE DESTRUCTION
    A bit binary (except multistore buildings when is not that binary)...but still, very well done and not excessive or too little.


    EDITOR
    YES, it has one to you make SP, COOP and MP maps/missions :)
    Ã
    Expand
  14. May 28, 2012
    10
    Very good and realistic FPS, with huge content. Set in the eastern front of WW2, between the Wehrmacht and the Red Army and based on the later ARMA2 game engine, You can play as a soldier, pilot or tank crew in one of the dozens of vehicles available. The tank combat is superb and incorporates some of the best 3D modelling, ballistics and effects I have seen in any game. If you are new to the ARMA style of gameplay you will need to learn the keys and commands, which are more comprehensive than other FPS. There is a good mission editor which allows the player to create almost any scenario they wish, and there will be a lot of community created missions as with the ARMA series. If you want a very realistic, open expansive WW2 combat simulation - this is a must have. Expand
  15. May 27, 2012
    9
    I can't recommend this enough. ARMA players will know what to expect but may be pleasantly surprised by the tweaks to the RV Engine. I was not an ARMA player. I came from Doom and quake to Day of Defeat, to CS and on to source before heading to COD and BFBC 1 and 2 and then BF3 with a sprinkling of Red orchestra 2. All of them left me wanting more realism, more complexity, and most importantly, more fun. Iron Front: Liberation delivers on all accounts. The game looks sharp for an older engine but really shines in the gameplay department. My first reaction was frustration with the depth of the game-play, but after a few hours getting used to the layout I found myself having more fun playing an FPS than I can remember. it's rough around the edges but has an involved dev team and community who have already smoothed a majority of the bugs that plagued my first hour. From a new convert to RV Engine driven shooters I highly recommend this game to WWII buffs and those shooter fans looking for greater challenges and greater realism. Expand
  16. May 27, 2012
    9
    Iron Front Liberation 1944 offers us the most wide war experecience that any PC game can offer and still keeps its realism. IFL actually even improves realism by adding advanced systems that was not present in ARMA2. It is not game for any player, its not even game for massive amout of players. It actually targets specific gamers area and thats those who like WWII and who like realism.
    More realistic game is, more the gameplay suffers and many people cannot understand or accept it and thats their problem.
    For me there is just a little to improve and than is time to keep adding more and more content :-)
    Developers are my heros for this piece
    Expand
  17. May 27, 2012
    10
    Great engine, nice content, huge potential.

    This is the biggest and best game featuring combined arms warfare from a first-person-view in a WW2 scenario. (beside "Battleground Europe" a pay-to-play mmorpg). All it needs are many people, who buy and want to play it..
    It will make "Battlefield1+2" and "Red Orchestra: Ostfront" players really happy + bring that type of gameplay to another
    level.
    Huge maps, a lot content, great ballistics, dynamic weather, day/night...a running clock.
    Expand
  18. May 27, 2012
    9
    This is worth the money just for the models and the maps alone - stunning quality. Yes, there are some bugs (the major online bugs have already been fixed) and the campaigns could do with some of the triggers being amended, but it is otherwise very well done. Those not used the Arma engine may have a steeper learning curve, but the campaign tutorials do a good job of taking you through the many controls. Online is great fun and a good alternative to Red Orchestra 2. Some people have suffered game crashes, but so far it has not crashed once for me and I have played through both campaigns and spent a lot of time online playing on my server.

    Online the game comes loaded with a lot of PvP (King of the Hill, Advance and Secure etc) type missions, there are also death matches and TvT too. There are some co-op missions there too, but less focus is given to these as apposed to the Arma series where there were more co-op missions out of the box.

    The game has a lot of potential in that the Arma editor is here, as is the massive script library (with a few nice IF additions). Very soon the community content will start rolling and this game will then really come into it's own.

    This is so much more than a mod or addon and is worth the money. Don't forget as well that the RRP of this game is only half that of a mainstream big publisher game - it's a steal really.

    Warning though - if twitch shooters are your thing and/or you hate Arma and games like Red Orchestra 2 - this may not be for you. It's a tactical shooter that operates at a slower pace and the real joy is playing online with like-minded friends.

    I'm having great fun with it so far.
    Expand
  19. May 27, 2012
    9
    I've been waiting for this for a longtime and I was extremely impressed by the effort put into it by the development team. The game engine is solid and the scale of the maps and attention to detail is outstanding. The new gameplay modes are also alot of fun when your with firends, regulars or even a clan you can team up with. The editor is also a fanstasic feature extending hours of playability with missions which can be shared with the community. For me, Iron Front is a winner and I absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a worthwhile WW2 game experience. Expand
  20. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game is just insane, it has some small bugs at release like all games, but they will get fixed soon. But apart from that, I have never seen such an amazing battles. If you like WW2: this is your game.
  21. May 27, 2012
    9
    Long time waited for and finally arrived in incredible beautifullness! Almost all what WW2 tactical players waited for and it´s just the beginning. Serious WW2 interested tactical gamers will find so many things to like, including realism (armor system, mines, just to name some unique things) that even vanilla ARMA2 can´t quite offer without heavy modworks. Is it perfect for an initial release? No, surely not, but Devs will surely work hard again, to iron out inevitable bugs and keep improving things that are ready to enjoy right now. From my exitement and happyness, I give a plain 9! Thanks AWAR, X1, DS and BI for a great release. Expand
  22. May 27, 2012
    9
    If you already like the wonderful sandbox game called ArmA2, and it's incredible freedom, you'll obviously like Iron Front. The campaigns are very nice, immersive, and as usual the mission editor makes the lifetime of the game endless.
    Of course, the game is demanding, the learning curve may be steep but it's incredibly rewarding.
    The campaign includes a tutorial quite well done, which
    helps player to get into the game.
    But you'll still play it, or another game of the OFP/ArmA franchise in ten years.

    Don't listen to stupid bashing here and there, this game really deserves a try !
    Expand
  23. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Lonqvist Jun 25, 2012 Ok, here we go! You like and expect fast and cinematic shooting action like BF3 or MW3? Don't buy this game; You like and expect perfectly scripted cut-scenes and flawless AI? Don't buy this game; You like virtual firefights without the need of strategic insights? Don't buy this game; You own a mid-range PC or worse? Don't try this game! But, If you are a WWII fan, especially interested in German and Russian warfare? Try this game! If you like creating your own WWII infantry or tank battles and you're familiar with the Arma I/II mission editor? Try this game! If you are still enthusiastic after reading this short review and own a big ass, High End PC with at least an i5 or i7 Quad core, at least 16GB of RAM and a heavy duty graphics card (maybe 2), well... This will be YOUR game! Collapse
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 20
  2. Negative: 7 out of 20
  1. Aug 1, 2012
    54
    At its release Iron Front: Liberation 1944 is plagued by a number of bugs. Mission triggers don't work, the AI leaves a lot to desire and so does the story. The game works well in multiplayer though, where the scale of huge battlefields plays to the strengths of the complex military simulation at its heart.
  2. 40
    It is not finished! The state this game was release in cannot be called anything other than beta. [July 2012]
  3. Jul 24, 2012
    38
    It's nowhere near the finished article. [Sept 2012, p.108]