Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    85
    As the title suggests, Ironclad Tactics' scope is not huge, but what it lacks in quantity, it definitely makes up in quality.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    83
    While the awkwardness of the campaign mode’s storyline is unfortunate, the game more than justifies its cost in terms of inventive mechanics, a refreshing setting and a well-thought-out realtime tactical system – all without the looming threat of microtransactions and booster-pack expenditures that so often are matched up with any card-based game.
  3. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Versatile, detailed play combines with alternative history to provide hours of squishing little men under heavy automatons. [Nov 2013, p.84]
  4. Sep 25, 2013
    80
    Ironclad Tactics is an excellent tactical game using playing cards. It may be a little bit too difficult, but every fan of the genre definitely have to try it.
  5. Sep 23, 2013
    80
    Ironclad Tactics isn't quite SpaceChem Deux but it is, in its own right, rather brilliant. If you're willing to deal with the fact it's a wily, unpleasant bugger who will occasionally gimp you just because, it's more than worth the purchase.
  6. Oct 8, 2013
    78
    The turn based movement is flanked by a trading card element, which makes the hunt for new cards quite motivating. But be aware that the campaign is rather short and the multiplayer mode restricted.
  7. Oct 22, 2013
    75
    Ironclad Tactics is a very particular and unusual digital card game, a product of the videogaming industry that combines the charm of the tabletop game with a turn based strategy gameplay.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    The best way I can describe the game play would be like.... Plants vs Zombies, if both sides played Zombies.

    It took me around 6-7 hours to
    The best way I can describe the game play would be like.... Plants vs Zombies, if both sides played Zombies.

    It took me around 6-7 hours to beat. It was fairly challenging and decently rewarding. It's by the guys who made Space Chem (Space Chem was on of the few puzzle games I couldn't finish, and this game is definitely not as difficult).

    Unfortunately, like many other puzzle/strategy games this has very little replay value. I was unable to find anyone else on the web to try a PvP match with, but I'm not sure this is the type of game I would want to play against other players. Still, I think $15 is a reasonable price for 6 hours of entertainment from an indie game.

    Lastly, the story was somewhat lacking, BUT it did have a great ending
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2013
    6
    With its grid-based interface, this game is easily comparable to titles such as Plants vs Zombies.Whereas both players have the same objectiveWith its grid-based interface, this game is easily comparable to titles such as Plants vs Zombies.Whereas both players have the same objective to gain 5 points worth of your units crossing into enemy borders. As a strategy game is does keep you thinking on what is your next move, but eventually the games too repetitive. However, true to its design, the game keeps its steam punk-ish style and the story is engaging enough to keep you playing for awhile. Multiplayer, however, is slightly broken as few players play it and this makes the game lack replay-ability value.
    In conclusion, for its relatively low cost of $15+ it may be worth supporting this indie game, but I wouldn't really recommend it unless you are fine playing strategy-intensive turn based games.Using comics to tell the story is relatively a bonus as well.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    Ironclad Tactics is a fun combination of a card game, a board game and a storyline set in the US civil war - with robots (called Ironclads).Ironclad Tactics is a fun combination of a card game, a board game and a storyline set in the US civil war - with robots (called Ironclads). The game play is focused on deck building as well as playing the combined card/board game, and the storyline is available in co-op.

    Before each map, you select a deck of cards that you can freely put together from your card collection. As you progress through the game you gain more and more cards to chose from, enabling you to put together more innovative combination.

    Each card played will influence the happening on the game board. You might put a new ironclad in play, give it better inventory or move it a lane down. Different maps have different objectives, and you will have to find the right deck to defeat each challenge.

    The story is cute and humorous, but personally I would have liked to see a darker take on robots in the American Civil War. The game offers the full campaign in co-op mode, which worked smoothly and unproblematic when I played it. There are cool, rewarding boss fights which will require you to think outside the box and the missions never get repetitive.

    The replay value is limited, since you'd be facing the same challenges, probably solving them with the same decks. There are some challenges (which unlock cards) that require you to do things for instance with certain types of decks though, but once that is done, there's no real need to play the map again.

    All in all a fun game, with an inspired rule set and a story and setting you don't see too often.
    Full Review »