Ittle Dew Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventuress Ittle Dew and her sidekick Tippsie crash onto a strange island, filled with loot and mysterious inhabitants. It quickly dawns on the duo that this might become their biggest adventure yet.

    Ittle Dew boils down the classic adventure formula until there is only fun left.
    Experience devious puzzles, timeless gameplay and lots of exploration! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 80
    This Zelda-like adventure, where anything goes, is a love/hate affair. But love is surely the better option. [Issue#234]
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    70
    Never quite as good as the smart writing and clever ideas seem to promise, but still a thoroughly entertaining parody of the best of 2D Zelda.
  3. Aug 15, 2013
    60
    That player-considerate attitude is offset by less reverential treatment of its inspiration, however. Ittle Dew isn’t really a parody, more a loving pastiche, but its gently sassy mockery of Zelda’s conventions ties with the beautiful, vibrant art to ensure that while this really is mostly block puzzles, they’re some of the best presented ones you’ve ever played.
  4. Aug 28, 2013
    50
    A pleasant little game that is entertaining, indeed, but in fact it brings nothing new to the table. Besides, the game's length is terribly short.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jul 30, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I played this year (if not the best).

    It took me 4 hours to complete the game without finding everything and around
    10 hours to find everything and completing the optional "Master Cave".
    But even then you are not really finished with the game, it offers you a huge replay value:
    You can find three different magical items in this game but only two are required to reach the final boss. So when you decide to complete the game with different items you also need to solve the puzzles in a different way. The game also has a build in counter which displays your current time in the game which also encourages you to try to speed run it.
    In the end it took me around 17 hours to complete everything which is a great bang for your buck ratio.

    Never mind those idiots saying that it is just a zelda clone. It's a homage to the old zelda games but it's style is unique and refreshing. The puzzles are HARD, way harder than in any Zelda game, but it gives you different, easier routes which allow you to reach the final boss without ever needing to solve those really hard puzzles.

    The main character is quite unique: you get to play a girl which is not sexualized in any way whatsoever which is a rare thing to see and quite refreshing if you ask me. She is accompanied by a flying fox with fairy wings (Navi anyone?) which is named Tipsie. Tipsie keeps drinking "Health Potions" (booze) and helps you solving those riddles, just like navi, but without that annoying "Hey listen" you get to chose when you need the help and when not.

    This game is about fun and solving puzzles and it gives you just that. It's light-hearted and a must buy for everyone who likes the old Zelda games and it's puzzles.
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    A great game, I really like the Master's Cave. The only problem is the combat system (bad hitbox, imo).

    This game is not just a zelda
    clone, it's a homage to 2D zelda games. The puzzles are more hard than in any Zelda game (a good thing).

    If you are a Zelda fan, you play Bidding of Isaac for the combat and you play Ittle Dew for the puzzle.
    Expand
  3. May 17, 2014
    9
    I really enjoyed the number of creative and challenging puzzles the creators of this game managed to fit in with only three items. Zelda games have a tendency to give you so many items they are forced to focus on only the most recent one or else make it obvious what item you need to use in order to avoid frustrating players. This game avoids that problem, while still generating a good amount of complexity by allowing you to combo the items in different interesting ways. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    8
    Fairly standard overhead block puzzler, but the graphics are very clean and easy on the eyes, while the puzzle mechanics are tight and polished. It offers just three tools, but gets maximum mileage and variety out of each of them, and even offers (Steam) achievements for beating the game without all three.

    People looking for combat will be largely disappointed, since the difficulty never really goes beyond easy, save for possibly the final boss. Despite the marketing trying to portray the game as possessing an interesting/humorous story, the "story" is largely forgettable, and the promotional screenshots cover 9/10 of everything there is.

    Depending on how good you are at puzzles, the game is a little on the short side, and doesn't have much replay value. But it's a highly enjoyable ride through the first time.
    Collapse
  5. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Ittle Dew is an action-adventure game that is trying very hard to be a 2D Zelda game, and actually, it succeeds for the most part. Your goal is to explore the castle and use the riches you find to enter other dungeons and find tools that help you progress farther in the castle.

    This game has two key strengths. The first is that the items are very interesting, and they each combine in interesting ways. The second is that this game has amazing replay value. You get three items, and you can use all three to win, but you only need two. For a challenge, try beating the game with each combination of two weapons. This game is also built for speed-running, and it will take a lot of planning to figure out how to get the speed run achievements.

    I'd say this game's main weakness is the bosses. It's a big difficulty spike, and the method for defeating them is never straightforward. The hints help a lot, but the battles can still be tough even when you know what to do. That leads to the other weakness: the controls. They're not terrible, and you'll get used to them as you play, but there were too many times when I died in combat because I wasn't moving the way I wanted to, and many enemies aren't knocked back when hit.

    A few other things to mention: the puzzles can get pretty tough, the death penalty is that you have to restart the room at full health (which isn't even a penalty most of the time), and the game has little story, but the humor was a lot better than I had expected from the previews. Also, the first playthrough will last around 3-5 hours.

    So, despite this game's rather stupid name, I enjoyed it, and I'd say it's worth picking up if you enjoy Zelda-style games (try out the 2D Zeldas first if you're not familiar with them). I'd wait to pick it up at half price, though.
    Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    7
    Firstly, I just want to say that I don't think Ittle Dew is a 2D Zelda rip-of'. Ittle Dew is a charming and artistically beautiful game that simply makes fun of 2D Zelda games and I have got to say, it's a very entertaining game.

    On the other hand, this game brings nothing new to the table but it wasn't a disadvantage for me, I have had fun playing it, solving puzzles that sometimes made me confused and stuck, I had to take a brake and approach this game differently. I liked it, it was somewhat enjoyable for me, especially during the dialogue sections which were funny and clever.

    An equally significant aspect of the game was its art style, It was a pleasure looking at the vibrant art during my playthrough which made this game one of the best presented block puzzle game ever.

    Despite the great art style and clever writing this game did had some problems, for ex. its length, I was able to beat the game in less than 4 hours, I know it might turn some people off but I have realized that in some cases this is not a disadvantage, one of the recent examples was the game called Gone Home made by The Fullbright Company which could be completed in 2 hours but Gone Home was a completely different game and in case of Ittle Dew, It just wasn't enough, to be honest I wanted more.

    In the end, Ittle Dew is an adorable block puzzle game, with a decent gameplay and a crafty writing. For this price, you won't be disappointed, just don't expect it to be a Zelda clone because it pretty much makes fun of this game which is entertaining.
    Expand

See all 7 User Reviews