User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 9, 2016
    7
    Gameplay is pretty much the same as in JA2 and this is a good thing. A few features, such as training the militia and capturing mines to earn money were removed. The campaign is too short dough. An editor is included, which allows you to create your own new sectors and replace the existing ones. I still enjoyed the game for what it was, but I expected more.
  2. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    This game was phenomenal. It had a great economic engine combined with even better game play and strategy and a fun set of memorable characters. One of my top 10 games.
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    A really disappointing Jagged version for the DS: A lot of features were dropped: there are several issues concerning the motivation curve that drops down in later stages because of bad design decisions (accuracy, fire rate, different hit boxes, more "casual actions" possible etc.). That's why It's even not a good PC port, sadly. ,*-( Technically, the game isn't bad, but lacks of smoothA really disappointing Jagged version for the DS: A lot of features were dropped: there are several issues concerning the motivation curve that drops down in later stages because of bad design decisions (accuracy, fire rate, different hit boxes, more "casual actions" possible etc.). That's why It's even not a good PC port, sadly. ,*-( Technically, the game isn't bad, but lacks of smooth scrolling. It's just a shame, that nothing new was added and the game feels a little bit "unfinished". Expand
  4. MattL.
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    If you loved and owned the Jagged Alliance 2 title, i wouldn't recommend buying this. Jagged Alliance 2 set it's place as an amazing strategy game, with amazingly detailed gameplay, hundreds of decisions to make and good graphics for its time to top it off. Sir Tech threw in some wit and intelligent humour and a amazing classic was born. However, 'Unfinished Business' If you loved and owned the Jagged Alliance 2 title, i wouldn't recommend buying this. Jagged Alliance 2 set it's place as an amazing strategy game, with amazingly detailed gameplay, hundreds of decisions to make and good graphics for its time to top it off. Sir Tech threw in some wit and intelligent humour and a amazing classic was born. However, 'Unfinished Business' basically hides behind it's title, as it never tells you what business there is left to do. To compare it to an action film, this expansion is the bit at the end after all the killing, dialogue and steamy romance scenes, when the protagonist drives home. Most creators would omit this bit all together, but it seems that SirTech decided to throw it in anyway for unknown reasons. Like before, you start on a lovely big map, but are only limited to around 8 squares of it. Apart from the battles being a little more challanging (probably to try and entend its tiny life span) , a couple of new weapons being thrown in (and alot of other old weapons with a simple glasses + fake nose disguise on them) there is practically nothing else. It does wrap up the story, but only as far as by putting the text "The End" at the ending screen of a much larger more interesting story that didn't really have, or need it. Expand
  5. MichaelB.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    The best turn based strategy I've ever played. Truly replayable. The amazing strategic action experience more than makes up for any minor quibbles about the game's aging graphics engine.
  6. AlexP.
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Jagged Alliance 2 is one of the best turn-based tactical game to date, no questions asked. It has everything anyone would want in a tactical game: An in-depth story, finely created inventory system, a plentiful stockade of weapons, a mile-long list of individually hand-crafted characters, complete with a variety of voice-acted, unique responses to any situation and clever use of turn-basedJagged Alliance 2 is one of the best turn-based tactical game to date, no questions asked. It has everything anyone would want in a tactical game: An in-depth story, finely created inventory system, a plentiful stockade of weapons, a mile-long list of individually hand-crafted characters, complete with a variety of voice-acted, unique responses to any situation and clever use of turn-based combat. This game has it all.

    If you came here from Steam's metacritic score link and you're wondering if this game is for you, I suggest looking at JA2's criticsm - Not its expansion (Unfinished Business, this review page). Check out these sites for criticsm on the original game.
    Average score - 9.0

    IGN - Score 8.5
    http://pc.ign.com/objects/003/003557.html

    Gamestates - Score 8.8
    http://www.gamestats.com/objects/003/003557/

    Gamezone - Score 8.5
    http://pc.gamezone.com/gamesell/reviews/r11035.htm

    I highly recommend Jagged Alliance 2. It has awesome gameplay and an excellent modification fanbase (http://www.ja-galaxy-forum.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi).
    Expand
  7. Mark
    Aug 16, 2004
    6
    I felt ripped off when I bought this. UB is very linear and you can finish it in no time. I thought that JA2 had much better gameplay and plot. I am glad, however that many people have made their own mods (especially Vietnam SOG 69, which rocks), thanks to the editor included with UB.
  8. MichaelS.
    Nov 17, 2003
    10
    Gameplay rocks! I hope JA3 won't be 3D. Izometric 2D rulez!
  9. LuckyStrike
    Mar 26, 2003
    10
    I'm waiting JA3 :))
  10. R.Turnquist
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    The Jagged Alliance series is by far one of the best in PC game shistory. This game is funny, fun, and keeps you coming back for more. I truly hope that Startegy First has a Jagged Alliance 3 on the way.
  11. DavidP.II
    Oct 1, 2001
    7
    Awesome game. Not quite as good as the original but close!!
  12. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    This game was phenomenal. It had a great economic engine combined with even better game play and strategy and a fun set of memorable characters. One of my top 10 games.
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Daily Radar
    0
    A pale shadow of a flawed but fun game. If the designers do not have more in them than this, the Jagged Alliance series should end here.
  2. New mercenaries, new toys, new game engine, an enhanced role-playing aspect, and more combat options combine to make this another winner from Sir-Tech.
  3. While it isn't really a completely new product it does offer more gameplay in the Jagged Alliance 2 style, and it enables you to pick up where you left off with your character from that game.