Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. James Cameron's AVATAR is a surprisingly good video game for a game which derives from a film. Visit Pandora and be a part of the battle between Humans and the Na'vi.
  2. It should have been called AVATAR - The GameS, as it offers two distinct gameplay-experiences(Humans and Na'vi). Unfortunately though, both of them are quite repetitive and don't manage to keep you mesmerized for the entire duration of its stories.
  3. Avatar is a solid game based upon James Cameron’s Movie. There are downsides, but the game triumphs over its obvious drawbacks with a good mixture of genres in its gameplay.
  4. Where is the story? Although you walk around in a really fantastic strange world, there is no real pleasure in it. The characters are way too normal and there are no real moments in the story. Could have been a great game, but it is not more than the usual game pap.
  5. Jungles of Pandora offer a nice setting for an action game, but unfortunately the game itself fails to deliver. The mission structure is stolen from MMOs, the storyline devolves to preaching and the game is very easy. The graphics are beautiful and there would have been a lot of potential, considering the PR. Now the game is nothing more than an average license product. And that is a shame. [Jan 2010]
  6. 68
    The gameplay feels like it needs more work. Loose controls, bad melee combat, weak mission design, and a wonky camera dull the experience.
  7. While you can easily drone through this game a second time due to the two distinct factions, lots of annoying flaws crop up that make it difficult to warrant a second playthrough.
  8. Avatar is nothing less then a wasted opportunity – breathtaking visuals are the only reason to play this average action game with a shallow story. [Issue#186]
  9. Merely average. [Feb 2010, p.88]
  10. A hollow experience. [Feb 2010, p.80]
  11. This disappointing film tie-in transforms the magical into the mundane.
  12. Clunky and uninspired. [Issue#29, p.55]
  13. There's little to recommend. Bad combat, horrible vehicles/animals, a miserably boring missions--yup, it's a game based on a film. [Jan 2010, p.84]
  14. The world is gorgeous; the gameplay dull and generic. A disappointing waste of potential. [Feb 2010, p.60]
  15. Avatar: The Game is ambitious enough, but ambition alone doesn’t make a good game, something James Cameron doesn’t seem to realize. With wonky gameplay mechanics, a boring story and an overall lack of polish, this game is just another film crossover gone wrong.
  16. Even if you watched Avatar two or three times, don’t expect to enjoy the familiar world in the game. Better save the money for the DVD.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    i am playing this right now for PC and for what i can tell its a pretty standard game i think its fun the environments look great i especially love that if u got the time there is a deep encyclopedia of all you would wanna know about Pandora with lengthy descriptions of the whole planet and every little thing and i enjoy that. So the criticism of not know why your fighting or what a avatar is that the big name reviewers are saying is not true if u wanna know why just read the damn encyclopedia.
    Now like i said this is an pretty standard 3rd person action game if your like me and your not stuck up elitist gamer whos games need to be perfect with no flaws than i think you will enjoy this what make the game for me good is the atmosphere of the world for me it helps bring the game to life.but the AI,shooting characters etc.. are all pretty standard fare.so i suggest just check it out i finally did after all this time and iam pleasantly surprised
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    My fav! like Rachet and Clank, but getting routinish, like Maximo, but coulda been made more playable with better save system -- LOVE this game, only sorry i am near the end ... practically nothing i would like changed ... great deal of flexibility in playing, good guides ... i do wish the 'fire/slash/bash' button was the X or O as in my other games (R1 could be the 'back' button... other than that, nadda. Love the graphics in HD, and response is generally good at all times. The first bit of play is sorta frustrating til you get the hang of things and the game could drive you nuts if you are not a thinker... gotta love it. Full Review »
  3. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Good as the movie? NAWH! Though surprised at how much lore they put in this? Wandering around Pandora the most dangerous planet known to man on your own seems a bit daft? The lush jungle forest look amazing the level design less so and the A.I, well it can be buggy and glitchy at times. Get to use some vehicles and the XP unlocks armour, weapons and skills which is kind of neat. Being able to revisit area is a nice touch but there's not much motivation to go back to those areas. A fun, but limited shooter with basic exploration. Full Review »