Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on James Cameron's film, the game takes you deep into the heart of Pandora, an alien planet that is beyond imagination. Gamers encounter the Na'vi, Pandora's indigenous people and discover creatures and other wildlife the likes of which have never been seen in the world of video games before. When conflict erupts between the RDA Corporation, a space-faring consortium in search of valuable resources, and the Na'vi, players find themselves thrust into a fight for the heart of a planet and the fate of a civilization. [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. James Cameron's AVATAR is a surprisingly good video game for a game which derives from a film. Visit Pandora and be a part of the battle between Humans and the Na'vi.
  2. Avatar is a solid game based upon James Cameron’s Movie. There are downsides, but the game triumphs over its obvious drawbacks with a good mixture of genres in its gameplay.
  3. Jungles of Pandora offer a nice setting for an action game, but unfortunately the game itself fails to deliver. The mission structure is stolen from MMOs, the storyline devolves to preaching and the game is very easy. The graphics are beautiful and there would have been a lot of potential, considering the PR. Now the game is nothing more than an average license product. And that is a shame. [Jan 2010]
  4. Merely average. [Feb 2010, p.88]
  5. This disappointing film tie-in transforms the magical into the mundane.
  6. There's little to recommend. Bad combat, horrible vehicles/animals, a miserably boring missions--yup, it's a game based on a film. [Jan 2010, p.84]
  7. Even if you watched Avatar two or three times, don’t expect to enjoy the familiar world in the game. Better save the money for the DVD.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    My fav! like Rachet and Clank, but getting routinish, like Maximo, but coulda been made more playable with better save system -- LOVE this game, only sorry i am near the end ... practically nothing i would like changed ... great deal of flexibility in playing, good guides ... i do wish the 'fire/slash/bash' button was the X or O as in my other games (R1 could be the 'back' button... other than that, nadda. Love the graphics in HD, and response is generally good at all times. The first bit of play is sorta frustrating til you get the hang of things and the game could drive you nuts if you are not a thinker... gotta love it. Collapse
  2. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is grate and cool.
    I love the movie and i love the game.
    This game has needed to be given 80% and the movie 100%.
    I dont understand why are the criticers so stupid and give a grate game a so lowe rewiew .
    A give this game a 10.
    Expand
  3. RT
    Jan 11, 2010
    10
    I give the game a "10". The graphic engine is very good, the level design is very good. The Risk-like mini game is also nice to play too. My only complaint is that it needs to have an expansion or more levels. It gives some gameplay, but I'd like to see more of Pandora, perhaps more of it at night. All and all worth the cost of admission. I just wished it had a longer storyline. Expand
  4. AnonymousVote
    Dec 12, 2009
    8
    The game is flawed and a bit repetive, but stays faithful to the story + it's the best release from Ubisoft Montreal and that deserves a little credit. Expand
  5. StevenT
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    I don't know what happened to the "professional" crtics on this one but this missed the boat on this one. This game is way fun and exciting for your buck. The graphics are great and I found the story really interesting. It seems everything they judge now has to be 'Origins Age' blablabla or its no good. Thanks and peace out :) Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2013
    7
    Good as the movie? NAWH! Though surprised at how much lore they put in this? Wandering around Pandora the most dangerous planet known to man on your own seems a bit daft? The lush jungle forest look amazing the level design less so and the A.I, well it can be buggy and glitchy at times. Get to use some vehicles and the XP unlocks armour, weapons and skills which is kind of neat. Being able to revisit area is a nice touch but there's not much motivation to go back to those areas. A fun, but limited shooter with basic exploration. Expand
  7. Apr 1, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a flawed game. To have a game with No boss sides is wrong. When they do have boss fights it is too easy. Some plot details like having an ally die off camera with no explanation. E ending if your RDA but side with the na vi is the same one as the one as the na bi ending. This is a must not buy game. It is just too flawed. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews