User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 126 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 126
  2. Negative: 12 out of 126

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    7
    Jamestown is a fairly fun retro-shooter that keeps you interested for the one or two hours it takes to finish, in no small part due to its very intriguing story cut scenes and incredibly amazing music. Sadly, the game is just way too short with not much replay value. Once you beat the game, there are some challenge levels and modes, but honestly these become very frustrating more thanJamestown is a fairly fun retro-shooter that keeps you interested for the one or two hours it takes to finish, in no small part due to its very intriguing story cut scenes and incredibly amazing music. Sadly, the game is just way too short with not much replay value. Once you beat the game, there are some challenge levels and modes, but honestly these become very frustrating more than challenging. Warning: the mouse is horrible for this game; only use a gamepad! Regardless, for a couple bucks Jamestown is a good experience. You'll remember your time with it, half because of the crazy setting (that totally works!) and half because of the crazy frustration at the mandatory higher difficulty levels. Did I mention the music is phenomenal? The world-class soundtrack alone makes the game worth buying. Overall a solid 7.5. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    6
    It's pretty fun while it lasts, but it's REALLY short and unless you're good enough to unlock all the levels you'll get stuck without even being able to finish the (already really short) campaign. The scaling difficulty requirement to unlock the rest of the campaign was a mistake IMO.
  3. Jul 18, 2011
    7
    Good to hark back to scrolling shooters, but i can't shake the feeling that Tyrian is a cleaner, deeper experience (and free on GOG). I like my customisation options :)
  4. Feb 27, 2012
    5
    While the artwork and game setting are very well thought out and portrayed, the longevity of Jamestown is its downfall. There are five campaign levels that must be beaten in Legendary difficulty in order for the player to advance. This difficulty level is appropriate for the first four levels, but on the fifth and final level, this design choice becomes a problem and a hindrance. The lastWhile the artwork and game setting are very well thought out and portrayed, the longevity of Jamestown is its downfall. There are five campaign levels that must be beaten in Legendary difficulty in order for the player to advance. This difficulty level is appropriate for the first four levels, but on the fifth and final level, this design choice becomes a problem and a hindrance. The last level is so difficult, I consider it to be poorly designed and most importantly, inadequate. It is as if the designers realized they did not have much of a game in their hands, and decided to make the final fifth level nearly unbeatable, in order to excuse the amount of time necessary to complete the campaign. Sure, there are bonus modes/levels to be unlocked, but they are merely side distractions, that do not provide the player with additional entertainment or value. Jamestown is simply too short, in addition to one of its five levels being extremely poor. To add to this insult, the developers have released an expensive DLC for an already overpriced base game, that adds very little. The limited amount of continues is also another bad design choice because of the terrible last level. In the end, the player is left with a clear understanding that the developers resorted to a cheap and unimaginative means of prolonging Jamestown's lifespan by making it artificially and unusually difficult in the last level. Through this, it is very quick to realize that this game does not involve much, and the developers should be ashamed of themselves for charging so much for so little content. There are innumerable amounts of games of this same genre that are incomparably better, and most are more than 20 years older. Jamestown is a prime example of independent developers taking advantage of the scene and overcharging consumers for content that is extremely scarce, poorly implemented, and quite limited. There is very little to do, very little to experience, and very little to enjoy. Jamestown can be beaten in less than one hour, and there are many other games that have a much better value than this. What a waste. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    Pretty hard even on Normal. Fun to play with someone. As a single-player tough and monotonous. Complete Mouse control (unable to use mouse-keyboard combination) takes away from the enjoyment of the game.
  6. Sep 28, 2012
    6
    Jamestown is solid bullet hell shooter. It includes 4 different unlockable ships, each with its own play style, 5 different difficulty levels, and a decent number of different levels. The soundtrack is excellent, and works really well with the game. I thought the alternative history story line was really fun, even if it is a bit short. I didn't get to try the local co-op, but it seemsJamestown is solid bullet hell shooter. It includes 4 different unlockable ships, each with its own play style, 5 different difficulty levels, and a decent number of different levels. The soundtrack is excellent, and works really well with the game. I thought the alternative history story line was really fun, even if it is a bit short. I didn't get to try the local co-op, but it seems like it would be a blast. Expand
  7. Dec 22, 2011
    7
    This game is one truely badass game, not gona lie, but the reason I give it a 7 is because it isn't as long/big of a game as I had hoped. It would've been nice to have more level's to play in. This is an amazing game though, and I would still recommend it, just if you get it... try to get it VIA the Humble Indie Bundle that way you get 12 games instead of 1 so so sized game for $5-$10.This game is one truely badass game, not gona lie, but the reason I give it a 7 is because it isn't as long/big of a game as I had hoped. It would've been nice to have more level's to play in. This is an amazing game though, and I would still recommend it, just if you get it... try to get it VIA the Humble Indie Bundle that way you get 12 games instead of 1 so so sized game for $5-$10. http://www.humblebundle.com/ Expand
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    5
    With no idea of what Jamestown was prior to playing it I was thrilled to find the gameplay similar to a game I played long ago but have since forgotten the name of. The story seemed like a tacky add on but I thought it was a nice level transition and gave the game a purpose. I was happy with it up until it started requiring that I beat all the prior levels on a harder difficulty in orderWith no idea of what Jamestown was prior to playing it I was thrilled to find the gameplay similar to a game I played long ago but have since forgotten the name of. The story seemed like a tacky add on but I thought it was a nice level transition and gave the game a purpose. I was happy with it up until it started requiring that I beat all the prior levels on a harder difficulty in order to move on. Having kept a decent pace and feeling pleased with having beat the previous levels I was annoyed that I would have to replay them on a more difficult setting. I felt it was something that should have been initially clear so that I was repeating levels unnecessarily. After trying levels repeatedly due to a stupid error on my part it became clear to me why games like this no longer exist. They are exciting to an extent but get redundant quickly. Sure there are new environments but as the foes are principally the same I felt there was really no variety. I enjoyed the game but the difficulty locking seemed a lackluster way to implement more difficult bosses. Now that I've beat it I probably will not play it again. Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2013
    6
    Steampunk Shmup on Mars based around the American colonies. Multiple endings, plenty of ships that will fit any playstyle, up to 4 player multiplayer, and over 20 levels round out a solid single or multiplayer experience. Initially might be too easy for Shmup vets but there are multiple difficulty levels to ease new players in. Overall it's above average for the genre but I still onlySteampunk Shmup on Mars based around the American colonies. Multiple endings, plenty of ships that will fit any playstyle, up to 4 player multiplayer, and over 20 levels round out a solid single or multiplayer experience. Initially might be too easy for Shmup vets but there are multiple difficulty levels to ease new players in. Overall it's above average for the genre but I still only clocked about 4 hours on it. A good entry point for new players but vets might be better skipping it. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    80
    Jamestown is an old school hardcore arcade shooter. By its visual approach, its music and its gaming philosophy, it creates an imaginary comeback of the golden age of video arcade games. Its background set in the 17th steampunked century is only strengthening the overall enjoyment drawing young gamers on a peep show at those olden times of video gaming.
  2. 80
    An example of perfect indie shoot'em up – Jamestown brings a combination of excellent stylish visuals and splendid playability. Only pity is that the game lacks an online multiplay option. [Issue#207]
  3. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Jamestown harkens back to an era when we played games just to get a high score--when beating a game this challenging actually earned you bragging rights. [Oct 2011, p.77]