Jamestown: Legend of the Lost Colony Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jamestown is a neo-classical top-down shooter for up to four players set on 17th-century British Colonial Mars.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jul 17, 2011
    100
    It just does its style of controlled chaos really well.
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    95
    Overall, even without online play, Jamestown is a great title that's worthy of any shmup fan's time. The mechanics are solid, the presentation is great, and the price is right – I can't wait to see what Final Form does next.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    85
    The level of polish found in the graphics and gameplay alike is outstanding for an indie title. Peculiar ideas and inventive mechanics make this quirky bullet-hell shooter a frenzied, fun affair.
  4. Jun 23, 2011
    80
    But Jamestown doesn't get bogged down in its devotion to the classics of the genre, nor does it try to attract a certain crowd with its art style (yes, I'm talking about Deathsmiles and its ilk). It instead focuses on giving you as many ways to grit your teeth as possible, and doing so with a solid shooting base. It's easy to fuss about the missed potential of playing the game online (a genuine problem), but what you get here is plenty. It's also a decent excuse to get that group together, provided your friends are as crazy as you are.
  5. Jul 7, 2011
    80
    Jamestown is that old classic shooter that you want to play today remembering your young coin-op escapades.
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    80
    Its wild premise is surprisingly well-realized, and its shooting is top-notch. Put simply, it is a game that stacks up as well, if not better than many of the classics it's so clearly inspired by.
  7. Jul 18, 2011
    70
    In short, Jamestown is a fun old school game that, for the price, shows excellent play time, replay value, and variety.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    It seems to me while a lot of people here enjoy the game, they still often lack the insight of having played shmups for years. Because asIt seems to me while a lot of people here enjoy the game, they still often lack the insight of having played shmups for years. Because as somebody who has played dozens of them extensively, I can tell you that Jamestown is not only great but a damn steal!
    In harsh contrast to almost any shmup out there, Jamestown offers numerous bonus features at a price that is also well below almost any shmup out there.
    So lacking online multiplayer or not, considering the huge amount of content (while also not looking amateurish) one gets for that ridiculous price, it deserves no less than a perfect rating!
    And for uneducated gamers who complain about it only having a couple of levels: take a look at games like DoDonPachi Dai Ou Jou that were released as full price games for consoles or newer arcade PCBs that cost multiple hundreds of dollars!! If you're not into the genre in general and don't see a point in score hunting on the same couple of levels over and over again, that's fine - but don't act like this is expensive when nothing could be farther from the truth.
    Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2014
    10
    I played Ikaruga, R-Type, Gradius, etc... but "Jamestown" is for me the best shoot'em up of all. Not only because it's a lot of fun withI played Ikaruga, R-Type, Gradius, etc... but "Jamestown" is for me the best shoot'em up of all. Not only because it's a lot of fun with pretty 2D pixel art graphics, it's also the well balance difficulty that give a great replay value. The others popular Shmups are usually insanely-killthefunofit-hard. Jamestown is just right. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This game is amazing. The soundtrack is great, the game play has little to no bugs, and the graphics are classic. I have only two problemsThis game is amazing. The soundtrack is great, the game play has little to no bugs, and the graphics are classic. I have only two problems with this game. 1. The story is too short, and there is not enough content in the game.
    2. The game is ridiculously easy for a shoot 'em up, unless you go on judgement difficulty, which is way too difficult. This could just be because I'm a massive fan of this genre, so I'm used to playing ones based for more hardcore players.
    Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2011
    8
    A Good , but not great game. I got it on sale for 5 bucks so I'm not too disappointed. The game play is solid, the level are fun, colorful andA Good , but not great game. I got it on sale for 5 bucks so I'm not too disappointed. The game play is solid, the level are fun, colorful and hectic, the story has a sort of bizarre charm to it, but there are a couple of key components that really turn me off. The game requires you replay missions on higher difficulties just to unlock missions 4 and 5 (which are the last two levels). And even though I made it to the end, the last mission is so difficult, it isn't very fun. That would be completely forgivable if the store feature was actually worth the trouble. Basically you earn money that is used to pay for things like extra ships and bonus challenges. A great idea in concept, but the last two ships you unlock are pure crap! I don't mind the short length of the game and I actually enjoyed the challenge (the final mission excluded) so it makes me want to hit my fist against my desk when a game with so much potential falls short. With a few minor fixes this game is a 9/10. None the less, the ship I did use was great fun and the levels are hard core, so if you don't think the above mentioned negatives will bother you, buy this game. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2014
    8
    I bought jamestown for some nostalgic reasons although i didn't like downscrolling shooters much in the 90's.

    but the game jamestown is a
    I bought jamestown for some nostalgic reasons although i didn't like downscrolling shooters much in the 90's.

    but the game jamestown is a killer in it's genre. absolutely cool soundtrack. nice graphics in a cool setting (1619 and youre fighting marsians...thats cool!). totally challenging gameplay in a fair way. also the kinda short story is very nice and alternate mode is there to be unlocked.

    there are to few levels maybe, but challenges and gauntlet mode plus the obligatory achievements will keep one playing a lot of hours.

    lack of online coop sucks a lot, but would maybe be frustrating due to lags.
    when having enough space around your pc the cooperative mode is extremely cool and the social aspect of gaming with your nerdy friends in one room is great.

    all in all its one great game, especially for the price. and the hard diffilcultys will make you shout angry words towards the monitor
    Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    Pretty hard even on Normal. Fun to play with someone. As a single-player tough and monotonous. Complete Mouse control (unable to usePretty hard even on Normal. Fun to play with someone. As a single-player tough and monotonous. Complete Mouse control (unable to use mouse-keyboard combination) takes away from the enjoyment of the game. Expand
  7. Aug 6, 2011
    2
    What a waist of $10, you get a little more then 5 levels and 4 players types where 3 out of the 4 completely suck. the controls suck, theWhat a waist of $10, you get a little more then 5 levels and 4 players types where 3 out of the 4 completely suck. the controls suck, the graphics are... well its pixelated. the story is complete gibberish. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers