Jazzpunk PC

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    70
    Games don’t come much goofier than this – Jazzpunk serves up nonstop, breathless absurdity, if not much else.
  2. CD-Action
    Jun 28, 2014
    85
    I bow down to writers behind Jazzpunk. I just haven’t decided yet whether I should send them flowers to the rehab or to the mental hospital. [05/2014, p.69]
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    As an experience, I’d definitely recommend Jazzpunk. It still fits in the, “Wandering Around Game” style, however its comedic sensibilities are great and its treatment of other video game styles are a love letter to gaming in the most fun, madcap way that Necrophone Games could have thought of.
  4. Feb 20, 2014
    70
    Go in dark and enjoy the ride while it lasts.
  5. Feb 6, 2014
    70
    By the time I finished Jazzpunk, I was both left wanting more of its crazy world and feeling slightly underwhelmed. Many of the jokes felt a bit too random for their own good, and the story kind of just ends with no real resolution.
  6. Feb 18, 2014
    80
    Jazzpunk projects exactly what its eccentric name implies; a hilarious adventure with an unwieldy rhythm and paradoxically predictable narrative-uncertainty, all of which draws fuel from a seemingly endless source of energy.
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    80
    Jazzpunk is like an interactive trip through a Leslie Nielsen flick, showering the player with witty irreverence at every turn. Any situation will be taken to its most literal or bizarre conclusion, depending on which will serve for the better punchline.
  8. Feb 7, 2014
    90
    Games are so rarely funny by design, but Jazzpunk is much more than a funny videogame. It’s a comedy, and one that wouldn’t be possible – or anywhere near as powerful – in any other medium.
  9. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    This game made me laugh - not gently or under duress of slow realisation, but in staccato outbursts which alarmed and unsettled passers-by.
  10. Feb 10, 2014
    90
    Not only is Jazzpunk in and of itself a clever and positively insane experience, it is one of the funniest games of all time.
  11. Apr 26, 2014
    80
    To make someone laugh while playing is no easy task, and Jazzpunk succeeds in doing just that most of the time.
  12. Mar 14, 2014
    75
    Being an unusual comedy-game, Jazzpunk is a funny and different experience.
  13. Feb 7, 2014
    65
    Play it for the novelty and the rapid-fire assault of jokes, but don't be surprised if most of them miss the mark.
  14. Feb 21, 2014
    50
    Jazzpunk is a videogame curiosity, that will make you laugh most of the time if you overcome the "what the #!@? am I playing" effect.
  15. Feb 19, 2014
    70
    Jazzpunk is a rare comedian in games. As an adventure it doesn’t have much to offer, but the game succeeds in its primary goal: surprising its audience and getting them to laugh.
  16. Feb 7, 2014
    75
    Like both jazz and punk, it won't be appreciated by everyone.
  17. Feb 12, 2014
    90
    Anarchic, baffling, sometimes downright silly, and often inspired, Jazzpunk works tirelessly to make you laugh and gasp. The frequency with which you’ll do both is a testament to a bold new talent, and Necrophone Games deserves all the plaudits that will be thrown its way in the coming weeks.
  18. Mar 25, 2014
    60
    An adventure game from a first-person perspective where a player explores a parody on the 60' that is full of robots, secret agents, and absurdist humour? Great! However, the final outcome is staggering because of its game parody approach.
  19. Feb 12, 2014
    70
    Quirky humor and an abundance of outrageous antics keep things buoyant through much of the short but flawed journey. Jazzpunk is an enthusiastic attempt to answer the question of just how much weirdness you can possibly cram into a few hours of gaming. In that endeavor, at least, it's a great achievement.
  20. Feb 11, 2014
    80
    Jazzpunk is uniquely ridiculous and undeniably hilarious. It's not afraid of making you work to find all the funny, which turns even the tiniest throwaway joke into something special.
  21. GameStar
    Mar 3, 2014
    73
    I was initially a little put off. The optics of Jazz Punk are primitive, the humor is anything but subtle. First, the gags seemed to me abundant infantile. But the longer I played, I had more pleasure in the game worlds in discovering all the jokes and some ideas from the developers that are just awesome.
  22. Feb 7, 2014
    62
    Jazzpunk ends up being scatological and surreal, but it’s not sublime. Like Meatloaf says, two out of three ain’t bad. But when’s the last time anyone listened to Meatloaf? Jazzpunk is funny in its own peculiar way, but that’s about all it is.
  23. Feb 6, 2014
    70
    Nevertheless, if you like the sound of a strange Naked Gun/Monty Python-inspired robot-filled adventure/exploration game jam-packed with laughs you should get Jazzpunk as soon as possible.
  24. Feb 6, 2014
    70
    Necrophone Games has a fantastic premise, a decent execution and a brave narration in Jazzpunk.
  25. Feb 7, 2014
    100
    It's a rare, but fantastic thing to find a game that feels like the result of a singular artistic vision. To find one that also happens to be a genuinely comic vision is like tripping over a unicorn. Playing Jazzpunk, from developer Necrophone Games, was like tripping over a unicorn who just happened to share my particular appreciations for goofy puns, technological ephemera, and Saul Bass.
  26. Feb 15, 2014
    80
    Around every corner, there’s a crab that’s fluent in Spanish, or a Pizza Box that laughs at you maniacally. Sure, there are a few duds and it doesn’t always hit the mark, but developer Necrophone Games bang out the gags at a rate befitting of a Python.
  27. Feb 13, 2014
    80
    If you’re looking to laugh a lot, and maybe even think about stuff just a little bit, give it a play.
  28. Feb 10, 2014
    83
    Whether you are a fan of jazz or punk, Jazzpunk is certainly something you need in your life.
  29. Hyper Magazine
    Apr 9, 2014
    90
    A wonderful rarity. [May 2014, p.76]
  30. Feb 6, 2014
    70
    It starts out strong with dozens of hidden gags hidden among the scenery, but unfortunately it loses its momentum once minigames start to dominate its three-hour running time.
  31. Feb 28, 2014
    80
    I'd rather have a short game that gets fart jokes right than a long one full of hot air.
  32. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    60
    Not much of an adventure game but boy, what fun! [Issue #239]
  33. Feb 10, 2014
    50
    Not quite Scary Movie but certainly not the video game equivalent of Airplane, although the fact that it even tries to be is almost recommendation enough.
  34. Feb 13, 2014
    78
    The beginning is so sweet, with gags to be discovered all over around us. And they almost always deliver. But then, after an hour or so, minigames take over and fun fades away. Still: how many other games make us laugh out loud like this?
  35. Feb 6, 2014
    92
    Stylish, inventive and easily one of the funniest games in years. Jazzpunk just wants to make you laugh. Don't worry, it will.
  36. PC PowerPlay
    Mar 28, 2014
    80
    It may not impress with clever mechanics, but Jazzpunk is a genuinely funny comedy romp that will put a smile on your face. [Apr 2014, p.55]
  37. Feb 18, 2014
    70
    A fumbled finale puts a notable stain on the experience. They say one of the key rules in comedy is to leave the audience wanting more, but as Jazzpunk’s credits rolled I was left feeling a little indifferent. But the game is something to be admired. Few titles dedicate themselves to comedy as wholly as Jazzpunk does.
  38. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    Jazzpunk doesn't aspire to be an excellent shooter or platformer. Instead, it aspires to and succeeds in having a great conversation with the player.
  39. Mar 23, 2014
    25
    Jazzpunk is an equivalent of an avant-garde show – it doesn’t have a story or even a point to it. It’s nothing more than a collection of rejected ideas.
  40. Apr 23, 2014
    70
    The replay value is low, but it’s a nice distraction while it lasts.
  41. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    What's here is undoubtedly high quality, but some may find themselves just wanting more of the game. It's a blessing and a curse.
  42. Feb 19, 2014
    82
    It is probably too short, but if you take your time and explore, you will find a great adventure, full of laughter and surprises.
  43. Feb 14, 2014
    85
    Jazzpunk is certainly enjoyable, but it isn’t without its flaws.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    Eighties, nineties references, game references, tech jokes,
    The kind of game every developer would like to make but didnt
    Also a spy
    Eighties, nineties references, game references, tech jokes,
    The kind of game every developer would like to make but didnt

    Also a spy sim,space invaders, frogger
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome! Laugh out loud funny, nice visuals, lots of fun mini-games and unique. I have been looking forward to this game forThis game is awesome! Laugh out loud funny, nice visuals, lots of fun mini-games and unique. I have been looking forward to this game for awhile and was not disappointed! Highly recommend that you try it out! Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    Here we go again,another one of those artistically stylish games that is screaming at the top of it's lungs desperately trying to getHere we go again,another one of those artistically stylish games that is screaming at the top of it's lungs desperately trying to get attention,claiming "I'm unique and original and i cost the price of an ACTUAL game BUY ME BUY ME I SAY!". 15 dollars is the price you pay for an arcade game,or a four to five year old shooter not THIS,i mean video games are supposed to be fun and difficult with obstacles to overcome or puzzles to solve,they're not supposed to be like Dear Esther. What these guys thought was that CONTENT equals fun and challenge when it does not. Full Review »