Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. Even with a few technical problems, it's hard not to recommend Jolly Rover to any fan of adventure games, especially those who remember the LucasArts games of the 1990s fondly.
  2. About the only thing I'd knock crackers off Jolly's overall score for is its not quite top-drawer cartoon style.
  3. A fun and humorous adventure game that is relatively short and lacks replay value is still worth it, depending on who you are and what you like.
  4. 80
    Jolly Rover is a charming and highly amusing romp that's pretty much a must for any self-respecting adventure gaming fan.
  5. Jolly Rover proudly stands on the shoulders of a giant, and unlike other adventure games that imitate LucasArts' greats, it keeps its balance. [Sept 2010, p.89]
  6. Mar 20, 2011
    76
    A genuinely charming entry in the point-and-click catalogue. [Apr 2011, p.83]
  7. Feb 2, 2011
    75
    Jolly Rover is a swashbuckling canine adventure full of colourful characters and plenty of laughs.
  8. With the witty banter, humorous storyline, and excellent cast of characters, Jolly Rover manages to create an identity of its own.
  9. Ultimately, Jolly Rover is a funny, well made adventure game.
  10. Apr 10, 2011
    73
    Graphics and sound are okay, the gameplay and the controls are nothing new and the story is not the best of all time. Jolly Rover is a solid point & click-adventure in a 2D comic world.
  11. Jolly Rover may not be the most original of stories, but if you're in the mood for something short and sweet and not too challenging, this funny pirate (dog) adventure gives you plenty of chuckles and lots to sink your teeth into.
  12. Apr 4, 2011
    60
    A good pirates adventure, Jolly Rover suffers in originality, trying to imitate too much Monkey Island.
  13. Crucial question to enjoying this game is "Do you like dogs?". If your answer is yes then you will love this all-dog pirate adventure with a kind of "nostalgic" playability. [July 2010]
  14. As a reminder of what was, Jolly Rover is a great diversion. But up against the smarmier, sassier, sharper, and quick-witted-er Telltale games (or even worse, compared to the old LucasArts ones), it's also a reminder of what separates a good point-and-click adventure from a mediocre one.
  15. Apr 28, 2011
    46
    Too little, too thin, too derivative.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Dec 30, 2011
    9
    Jolly Rover has been the first adventure game i've enjoyed in a long time, the humour agrees with me and the difficulty curve is quite gently when compared to hardcore titles like the Sam and Max games from TellTale. The parrot hint system has slight hints and obvious hint that are blatant solutions for the desperate. This game has been a real joy to play. Full Review »
  2. Sep 15, 2010
    8
    This is the best Monkey Island tribute adventure game I've played - I enjoyed it even more than the Tales of Monkey Island series. The adventure interface is pretty slick (read: simple) and there's a nice hint system (parrot) that lets you determine how much you do or do not want to spoil yourself if you're stuck on a puzzle that seems just too counter-intuitive for you. If I had to pick one thing that bugged me it would be that I had to turn voices off because the main character's voice irked me. That minor, rather subjective criticism aside, the writing and plot were far more than expected for a budget title. It kept me entertained from start to finish and you could do far worse for far more dollars! Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    7
    Jolly Rover is a well-presented adventure game that sticks to the tried and true framework set out by Monkey Island all those year ago, and that is its biggest downfall. It has good voice-acting and graphics and good puzzle design. However, it is nothing adventure fans have not seen before. Its a shame that the gameplay is so uninspiring as the narrative is really humorous and entertaining and could have made it a stand-out. It is also very short lived (steam says that I completed it 97 minutes). As it stands, Jolly Rover is an enjoyable but easily forgettable adventure. Full Review »