Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. 80
    A fresh look at the genre that also doesn’t lose sight of the key basics that make a great adventure game. [Issue#238]
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    80
    Journey of a Roach is an excellent adventure game by creators that put interesting logical puzzles and good humour fully into the game. Unfortunately, you will have to get used to its camera rotation.
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    80
    It’s rather short in length and lacks much story substance, but Journey of a Roach is a charming, original adventure that genre fans and newcomers alike will enjoy.
  4. Nov 9, 2013
    75
    The gameplay of Journey of a Roach is a bit on the short side, but that's to be expected of an indie title like this one. Sure, you'll finish the game in a few hours. Five, maybe six. But in that short period of time you'll have a blast. And that's why we think Koboldgames and Daedelic deserve a round of applause. We have a saying in Holland: 'klein maar fijn', and that's an accurate description of Journey of a Roach. It's relatively small, but great nonetheless!
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    72
    A charming post nuclear adventure.
  6. Dec 13, 2013
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Dec 6, 2013
    70
    Even small games can tell something new: Journey of a Roach is one of them.
  8. Nov 17, 2013
    70
    Even though it's far from the great graphic adventures, it's a good game that deserves some attention, and builds a solid foundations for, maybe, next episodes to come.
  9. Nov 8, 2013
    70
    Journey of a Roach is a charming, worthwhile adventure with some clever puzzles and a nice cast of characters, though you may wish for a longer adventure for the price.
  10. 68
    Journey of a Roach is ideal for someone who wants a change of pace in a puzzle game. It is for someone who does not want a complex story line and is looking for an affordable puzzle game for your PC.
  11. Jan 15, 2014
    63
    Journey of a Roach has a couple of fresh ideas in its sleeve, but the visuals are too amateurish, and the puzzles are dull.
  12. Nov 19, 2013
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  13. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    I would only recommend this game to die-hard fans of the point-and-click genre. For the company’s first published game on Steam, I feel this was too much of a moonshot. I praise them for being ambitious and it definitely has potential, but sadly, the only element lacking is the most important thing: fun.
  14. Nov 12, 2013
    54
    There are plenty of other games out there with more interesting puzzles and a more mature storyline. If your kids have a particular penchant for pests though, this might be a decent game to play with them.
  15. Feb 5, 2014
    50
    Too many basic lessons on how to treat players go unlearnt. Even over its short duration, initially colourful scenarios become sadly static and tired. Journey of a Roach has some promising ideas, but unfortunately struggles to demonstrate them at their best.
  16. Jan 10, 2014
    50
    One of those games that you can play, but you don’t miss anything if you ignore it. [01/2014, p.65]
  17. Nov 19, 2013
    50
    Journey of a Roach has an interesting concept as well as some clever puzzles, but the novelty quickly wears out and all we're left with is a short game with a mostly unexplored idea.
  18. Nov 19, 2013
    40
    Journey of a Roach attempts some nice ideas and is pretty cute, but altogether isn’t a particular good or enjoyable adventure.
  19. Nov 8, 2013
    40
    Journey of a Roach is a bog-standard adventure game built around a single kind of nifty idea.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 15, 2013
    9
    Journey of a roach has a good story and interesting puzzles from the beginning to the end. Also it has lovable characters and nice songs.
    It
    is a short game and you will finish it in a few hours but it worth it. It has cool achievements to unlock and this will double the playing time. Full Review »
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    "Journey of a Roach is a clever anvanture game, which gives you tons of fun
    > and sastisfaction from solving puzzles." Read full review:
    http://swiatgry.pl/recenzja/pc/682,journey_of_a_roach Full Review »
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    8
    The game thrusts you into a difficult puzzle almost immediately and my first thought was "This feels like a version of Monkey Island". The movement around the game is seemless and I played through using a 360 controller, it was generally hassle free although inventory management took a few attempts to get used to. The can climb up walls and along ceilings which leads to some movements that resemble Fez.

    After playing through however, I decided the game was not similar to Monkey Island at all with regards to the puzzles. Some of the choices were bizarre and made the game difficult not because of how hard the puzzles actually were but the placement and sheer ludicrousness. The game effectively consisted of 3 'large' puzzles. Each zone was unique and had a certain theme to it but all followed a main 'quest' or aim linked to the zone. The game difficultly was mostly gauged by the awkwardness of certain actions, combined with the fact that rarely did you get any sort of clue other than a speech bubble depicting a cruel picture of what the character you're interacting with wants.

    The length of the game is fairly short, I took around 3-4 hours of passive gameplay, i.e I was watching TV whilst playing this game every so often. I can't imagine the replay value of this game is very high, maybe at some point I will speed run this game but it doesn't have that charm Monkey Island ever had and thus I don't feel that I could return to play this game simply for the storyline. Then there is the price, I wouldn't say this game is worth the RRP at all, I caught this in a bundle by chance and after a while decided to actually play it.

    However, despite that overall difficulty/awkwardness I think the game deserves some credit. The game is technically flawless with regards to bugs and the developers should be applauded for that, not often does this happen now that they can just simply release broken and patch later.

    The game really should be around the £5 range though due to its length. I honestly think I could speed run this game in under 20 minutes and that isn't really a selling point.
    Full Review »