Just Cause 2 PC

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 847 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 847
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinH
    Apr 20, 2010
    9
    Just Cause 2 is great fun and a big improvement over the first installment. Panau is absolutely huge and although the game takes time to get into, you can easily log 80 hours plus into this game. Many people have stated that the gameplay is similar to Gran Theft Auto 4 but Just Cause 2 has it's own unique style that it pulls off quite well. The graphics and sound are just beautiful Just Cause 2 is great fun and a big improvement over the first installment. Panau is absolutely huge and although the game takes time to get into, you can easily log 80 hours plus into this game. Many people have stated that the gameplay is similar to Gran Theft Auto 4 but Just Cause 2 has it's own unique style that it pulls off quite well. The graphics and sound are just beautiful and work really well. This game has enough to keep you coming back for more although the DLC on the Limited Edition of the game was a bit disappointing. Expand
  2. VictorL.
    Apr 3, 2010
    8
    Its an very cool game. But it has bad things. The game needs somthing. A good story maby? And the voices wern't good. But if you want a FPS, prey and spray this is a nice grafik game with lots of space and action to do it in:) I'm going to use alot of time in this huge game.
  3. RIcoR
    May 3, 2010
    10
    This game reminds you why the sandbox game genre was so fun in the first place. TO EXPERIMENT, unlike games like GTA 4 where you lose $1,000,000 everytime you die there is no penalty for dieing outside of missions and that is excellent. the world in this game is huge and amazing and the voice acting is hilarious. you can surf on jets, hijack planes, base jump off waterfalls and all sorts This game reminds you why the sandbox game genre was so fun in the first place. TO EXPERIMENT, unlike games like GTA 4 where you lose $1,000,000 everytime you die there is no penalty for dieing outside of missions and that is excellent. the world in this game is huge and amazing and the voice acting is hilarious. you can surf on jets, hijack planes, base jump off waterfalls and all sorts of insane shit that makes GTA 4 seem like watching glue dry. Expand
  4. CameronB
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This game is HUGE and AWESOME!!!!! Sometimes hard to finish towns due to hard to find packages but that makes it more worth while! Super fun gameplay!
  5. JamesR
    Mar 27, 2010
    9
    Haven't had this fun with a sandbox game in a while. True, the story and characters are pretty shallow (who would expect interesting characters from a sandbox game? well GTA4 but thats very rare), but the gameplay makes up for it. While the gunplay can be somewhat simple and Rico may seem overpowered (you can easily manage with one un-upgraded pistol headshotting everyone for most of Haven't had this fun with a sandbox game in a while. True, the story and characters are pretty shallow (who would expect interesting characters from a sandbox game? well GTA4 but thats very rare), but the gameplay makes up for it. While the gunplay can be somewhat simple and Rico may seem overpowered (you can easily manage with one un-upgraded pistol headshotting everyone for most of the game), the game's real richness is its in freeform exploration. You get the whole map at the beginning, you dont need to unlock new areas. When not using fast travel the map feels HUGE. There are many things to do from surfing on top of an airplane to running amok around the island causing chaos everywhere. The slingshot/parachute mechanism is well made. Warning to realism seekers: you can kiss goodbye to laws of psychics, because this game employs its own. This is one of the most things I like: you can experiment with everything try, and fail with different things and then fail some moar. Mission design is pretty sloppy, but they are GRAND! You can expect lots of big things to blow up. Just Cause 2 is not a perfect game, far from it, but its able to deliver a very entertaining experience and is game which you will be returning to play for some moar freedom. Expand
  6. ArranH
    Mar 31, 2010
    8
    There are a few unfortunate niggles with Just Cause 2 that really let down the myriad of wonders Avalanche dished up. The incredibly short main storyline is rather disjointed and seems to be over before it really gets going, hinting at plot twists that never materialise. The worst oversight is that some of the most spectacular missions are optional, and it took me hours of extra toil to There are a few unfortunate niggles with Just Cause 2 that really let down the myriad of wonders Avalanche dished up. The incredibly short main storyline is rather disjointed and seems to be over before it really gets going, hinting at plot twists that never materialise. The worst oversight is that some of the most spectacular missions are optional, and it took me hours of extra toil to find one particular one that friends had raved about, but on the flip-side, some missions are SPECTACULAR. The best I've seen from any game of this type. I also found myself wishing that the wanton distruction Rico dishes out every other second has a more meaningful impact on the game. After blowing up every fuel silo on the island, for instance, it seemed strange that the military could still field an infinite number of jeeps to persue me endlessly across the map. Often there are floating messages to say you have weakened the regime's grip on the island in various ways, but nothing actually comes of it. It would have been an extra carrot on a stick to see the 'chaos' rico incites actually occur. Lack of a cover system is also a little unforgivable in this day and age. These gripes out of the way, Just Cause 2 is incredible. The island of Panau is beautiful on an unparalelled scale, it is literally a joy to just fly around for an hour or so and take in the views... until you see another aircraft that you decide you'd like to hijack in mid flight. The explosions are satisfying, as is hooking an enemy to a propane tank and launching him into the stratosphere. The parachute and grappling hook combo is an inspired bit of game design, and so easy to use you may never want to drive around like a mere mortal ever again. All in all, avalanche have strayed dangerously close to a perfect game, but just missed the mark in a few key areas that will leave you dissapointed if not spitting with rage. It all bodes well for the inevitable Just Cause 3 though. I for one am counting the days. Expand
  7. GlennH
    Apr 28, 2010
    8
    The game works as as a sandbox very well but it is missing a 'Ongoing' central story. It is definitely addictive to play (and the graphics are awesome) but eventually the "Destroying the same objects" theme gets boring - for a few days at least anyways since I keep being drawn back... With a longer and more involved storyline, this game would be up there with the best games of The game works as as a sandbox very well but it is missing a 'Ongoing' central story. It is definitely addictive to play (and the graphics are awesome) but eventually the "Destroying the same objects" theme gets boring - for a few days at least anyways since I keep being drawn back... With a longer and more involved storyline, this game would be up there with the best games of 2010. The lack of a ongoing story just creates a huge sandbox to blow stuff up. The game is good but you get the feeling that it could have been so much more if only there were more Agency (or Main) missions. Expand
  8. JamesJ
    Mar 28, 2010
    9
    Everyone knows this game is huge. But there's no point in having 400 square kilometers if theres nothing to do there. When you first start just cause 2, it can seem a little desolate. There are some highways and a couple of small settlements, 3 faction missions, but there really doesn't feel very action packed. Especially if you've already played the demo and the novelty of Everyone knows this game is huge. But there's no point in having 400 square kilometers if theres nothing to do there. When you first start just cause 2, it can seem a little desolate. There are some highways and a couple of small settlements, 3 faction missions, but there really doesn't feel very action packed. Especially if you've already played the demo and the novelty of the grapple has worn off some. My advice is to push through it. The first faction couple faction areas you unlock will open up something like 20 or 30 missions alone, and once black market equipment starts getting unlocked, and you find new areas of the game, its a complete blast. Some of the larger military bases are epic in scope, and the level of freedom, once you fully realize it, is unparalelled. That being said, this game has its share of annoyances. While car handling is quite excellent (you can drift in a limo, how cool is that?) Plane handling is pretty awful, and helicopters are slow and difficult to maneuver. When you attack a base, destructable items stay destroyed, but guards will keep on spawning until the entire base is destroyed. While this seems like it would keep the base assaults action packed, in practice it becomes a chore to keep taking out every new wave of baddies. As far as I know, there are patches and DLC in the works for this game, so even if you dont get it immediately, keep it on your radar. When it comes down to it, its just really effing cool. Expand
  9. RichardC
    Apr 21, 2010
    10
    I guess alot of these reviewers didnt get enough of a kickback payment for there revirew because anyone that has played this game would give it no less then a 9, I have played literally thousands of pc games and this is BY FAR one of the most fun games to play as well as excellent graphics and voice acting. I dont think I have ever played one game continuously for 100 hrs and still cant I guess alot of these reviewers didnt get enough of a kickback payment for there revirew because anyone that has played this game would give it no less then a 9, I have played literally thousands of pc games and this is BY FAR one of the most fun games to play as well as excellent graphics and voice acting. I dont think I have ever played one game continuously for 100 hrs and still cant wait to play it every day. Kudos to the creators, and shame on you to all the reviewers who rated this game lower then 90 especially the idiot that put it in the 70 percent range obviously NOT a real gamer and probably didn't even play it. Expand
  10. SomeGuy
    May 14, 2010
    10
    This game got me addicted within the first hour. Whether you're climbing mountains or diivng undernearth, you'll be sure to enjoy the breathtaking scenery. The vast scale of this map is so huge it took me five minutes of flying in a jet plane to get from one side of it to the other. The grappling hook and parachutes in this game will just make you wanna play for hours on end. This game got me addicted within the first hour. Whether you're climbing mountains or diivng undernearth, you'll be sure to enjoy the breathtaking scenery. The vast scale of this map is so huge it took me five minutes of flying in a jet plane to get from one side of it to the other. The grappling hook and parachutes in this game will just make you wanna play for hours on end. And did you know there are 104 different vehicles? From cars to motorcycles to planes to jets to boats to...other stuff. And for 50 bucks this game is cheaper than MW2 or AC2(which are both good games nontheless). I think that reviewers rated this game in all the wrong aspects. This is definately not a GTA close, it's more like Uncharted 2. At least it looks like it. Expand
  11. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This game may be repetitive and the voice acting sucks and the storyline isn't that good either. But does the storyline really matter? No. I love exploring in this game and the the graphics are insanely beautiful even for two years later. The grapple hook is fun to travel around with and there are mods for this game, such as free vehicles you can buy, when they actually cost a lot of moneyThis game may be repetitive and the voice acting sucks and the storyline isn't that good either. But does the storyline really matter? No. I love exploring in this game and the the graphics are insanely beautiful even for two years later. The grapple hook is fun to travel around with and there are mods for this game, such as free vehicles you can buy, when they actually cost a lot of money which makes me play the game 1000 times more. The game is simple, go blow up stuff, and kill if you want or need to. The game may be repetitive but it's still fun. This game is very well optimized and if you have a bad card then you'll have to lower quite a few things.. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    I love this game, the objective is create the Chaos, all things you destroy are good for the progress of the game. This Sand Box is very very funny. The game have 7 principal missions, 49 secondary missions and 70 racing missions. In the game there are a total of 370 locations (Militar bases, towns, cities, points of interests etc...). The weapons are very very more good that you found onI love this game, the objective is create the Chaos, all things you destroy are good for the progress of the game. This Sand Box is very very funny. The game have 7 principal missions, 49 secondary missions and 70 racing missions. In the game there are a total of 370 locations (Militar bases, towns, cities, points of interests etc...). The weapons are very very more good that you found on GTA IV. You can update all weapons and vehicles. In this game you can search a total of 3200 Item box... realy realy a lot of things to do. I recomended 100% this game. [10/10] Expand
  13. Jan 29, 2015
    8
    The visuals are wonderful! My complaints are the voice acting, npc pathfinding and npc death animations could be much better.
    You are offered a variety of missions and challenges to keep the game interesting. Blowing up buildings is a blast and is the one feature that stands out in this game over everything else.
  14. Sep 29, 2010
    9
    This game is loads of fun if you like sandbox style games (which I do). According to my Steam account I have logged 158 hours in the game, so that should be an indicator of how good the game is or how insane I may be... If you don't love the parachute/grapple hook combo you are really missing out on the fun. I have played the GTA games (except IV) and found this to be more my style.This game is loads of fun if you like sandbox style games (which I do). According to my Steam account I have logged 158 hours in the game, so that should be an indicator of how good the game is or how insane I may be... If you don't love the parachute/grapple hook combo you are really missing out on the fun. I have played the GTA games (except IV) and found this to be more my style. One note: I did go buy an Xbox360 controller because that is the only controller this game recognizes. So, I used the controller for driving and flying and the mouse/keyboard for running around/fighting and parachuting! I can hardy wait until Just Cause 3 comes out... Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    This game is too much fun. Rediculously good graphics, pimped out for PC, and comes with free DLC if you get it through steam. I've got 50 hours of gameplay and I'm only 39% done, only on the 4th game mission, because the islands of panau are GIGANTIC. you will have tons of fun retaking the hundreds of villages, districts and military installations from the corrupt government, who evenThis game is too much fun. Rediculously good graphics, pimped out for PC, and comes with free DLC if you get it through steam. I've got 50 hours of gameplay and I'm only 39% done, only on the 4th game mission, because the islands of panau are GIGANTIC. you will have tons of fun retaking the hundreds of villages, districts and military installations from the corrupt government, who even cares about the story quests? haha. it can seem repetitive at times, but the close to 200 vehicles available and the great grappling hook mechanics keep it from being tedious. The heat AI is a little dumb, eg: if you manage to run out the gauge, say, right before a truck full of policia crashes into you, they'll have completely forgotten that you're the guy they were furiously chasing 2 seconds earlier. Kinda messes up the immersion, but the gunfight AI is pretty decent and helps draw you in to each little destruction operation, as do the day/night cycles and the random rainstorms etc. Long story short, this game is excellent, give it a try as it becomes less than ten dollars when it's on sale, and it was clearly paid a lot of care in ensuring your enjoyment. I've never had a single player game outside of MMORPGS that gave me so many hours of fun. And I own some 100+ high end PC titles. Expand
  16. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    Great fun. Beautiful graphics and world. Loads of action and funny situations. The physics simulation is something like HalfLife 3. Good replayability. A very good game, deserving somewhere around 9 points. To rate this game below 6 is absolutely ridiculous.
  17. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    an amazingly fun game, that kept me coming back, and in the current steam sale, the value for money has never been better, only let down is some of the repetetiveness
  18. Oct 13, 2010
    8
    What Far Cry 2 should have been. Whether you like the story or you think it's boring this game is just plain fun to screw around in. If you can see it way out in the horizon you can go there by any means possible. Sets a new standard of what a sandbox game should be.
  19. Sep 3, 2013
    8
    A big, dumb, beautiful game with an interesting grapple mechanic. Really, it does what any open world game should do, and that's give you tons of freedom to go do what you want. As long as what you want involves a LOT of destruction.
  20. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    Sometimes I just want to blow up the world, and that is exactly what Just Cause 2 was made for. The game is one bold love letter to the bygone era of fun-if-slightly-trashy action movies. It's an enormous playground where the player is free to do anything he wishes, as long as it's blowing stuff up and causing havoc. It's surprising that the gunplay is the weakest part of the game, withSometimes I just want to blow up the world, and that is exactly what Just Cause 2 was made for. The game is one bold love letter to the bygone era of fun-if-slightly-trashy action movies. It's an enormous playground where the player is free to do anything he wishes, as long as it's blowing stuff up and causing havoc. It's surprising that the gunplay is the weakest part of the game, with bullets feeling very flimsy and explosives being rarer than they should be. Of course, this encourages the player to experiment with the game's more unconventional ways of fighting back. Using the grappling hook to tether enemies to various objects in the world never gets old. There are no barriers in this game. See something on the horizon? You can get there. The combination of parachute and grappling hook enables the player to effortlessly traverse Panau and take in the stunning scenery. And make no mistake, the game looks incredible.
    All in all Just Cause 2 is an outstanding open world mayhem simulator with an unrivalled sense of scale.
    Expand
  21. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Just Cause 2 - lets you play as an American secret agent running around a tropical island sandboxes creating chaos to destabilise the government; allie yourself with three different local factions vying for power. The factions give you adventure missions to prove your loyalty, get cash and power ups. Also - jump out of planes, off of trees or mountains, and base jump with a really coolJust Cause 2 - lets you play as an American secret agent running around a tropical island sandboxes creating chaos to destabilise the government; allie yourself with three different local factions vying for power. The factions give you adventure missions to prove your loyalty, get cash and power ups. Also - jump out of planes, off of trees or mountains, and base jump with a really cool parachute - if you can say something in Japanese then say it now !

    OverallScore 9.7 Played the SteamPC version in 2012.03 (2 years after release)
    [DRM] Steam only (and always easy)

    [Challenges] Main mission run and gun adventures provided by the factions are straightforward and short (just right for that ADD in me). Weapons are standard and great, the grappling hook is awesome and essential to the game and easily mastered - this is so cool - allowing you to parachute fly across the land. RPG-like progression requires accumulation of parts, armor, money, and chaos points by completing missions (which are easy and abundant). To help your abilities progress complete enough SIDE missions. If you like to run and gun the highest adrenaline side missions are to take over military installations (always lots of fun like that first latte in the morning); if you like to explore and run away then discover the towns around the countryside for loot (simple and repetitive after a while - like eating marshmallows). I played on expert level and rapidly RPG-maxed out my favorite weapons and cars making the game much easier. There seems to be a mission for every mood. There is a bunch of optional but lucrative mini games like racing with cars, planes, boats, and base jumping - they all take skill - and if playing on a PC then you need a Joystick for full enjoyment of flying minigames. The AI is good and will kill you (do not eat cheese doodles while playing) [Value] This game is quite fun and quite long. I do not think you can replay this game - if you try to complete every side mission I think you have a 300 hour game on your hands.... The real fun ends around 100 hours - sounds like too much eh? [Children] This is not for kids - this game keeps track of the number of headshots; at least there is no smoking (smiley face wink) [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 [Graphics 9.0] Why is there so much texture popping?
    [Controls 10] I always play with a Logitech keyboard and a Kensington trackball. Remapping the keys was easy and appears in the onscreen instructions.
    [Sound 10] I always play with headphones. I liked the way the music energy moved with the action - like Deus Ex - and at times was soothing; there was a good music variety; I turned up the volume ! [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] Crysis&Warhead JustCause2 Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries Suspended [Born] 1964
    Expand
  22. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    first thought: OMFG WHY WONT THIS RUN ON MY WINDOWS XP?!?!

    second thought: Screw it i need to upgrade anyway Third thought: OMG its still laggy as crap becuase my computer only has 2 gb of RAM and an 8800 GTX graphics card Fourth thought: *ding* ill turn the settings down Fifth thought: this is actually pretty fun with all the settings turned to the lowest Sixth thought: *about 5
    first thought: OMFG WHY WONT THIS RUN ON MY WINDOWS XP?!?!

    second thought: Screw it i need to upgrade anyway

    Third thought: OMG its still laggy as crap becuase my computer only has 2 gb of RAM and an 8800 GTX graphics card

    Fourth thought: *ding* ill turn the settings down

    Fifth thought: this is actually pretty fun with all the settings turned to the lowest

    Sixth thought: *about 5 hours in* this game has the most horrible story that has ever been created by a game

    seventh thought: *about 10 hours in* who cares about story? i just attached a jeep to my plane with a grappling hook, flew the plane off the runway, got the jeep caught in a tree and had to jump out of the plane before i got hurtled into the ground and exploded!

    Final thought: Fun game, bad story, very high system requirments, can be a tad repetitive (especially if your going for full completion)
    Expand
  23. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    This game is one of the best sandbox games out there. The possibilities are almost endless. The set pieces are beautiful, and the explosions are some of the best explosions I've ever seen in a game. The only downside to this amazing sandbox experience is the campaign. The voice acting is hilarious, and the campaign basically sucks. Recommended to all people who love exciting,This game is one of the best sandbox games out there. The possibilities are almost endless. The set pieces are beautiful, and the explosions are some of the best explosions I've ever seen in a game. The only downside to this amazing sandbox experience is the campaign. The voice acting is hilarious, and the campaign basically sucks. Recommended to all people who love exciting, ridiculously fun sandbox adventures. Expand
  24. Apr 26, 2013
    8
    some of the best graphics i have ever seen. the multiplayer mod makes it addicting. for ten dollars on steam, this is a great deal. the controls are a bit hazardous if you don't have a controller. luckily i got one just to play this game. the map size is great for exploring in all different types of vehicles. i actually never beat the campaign because i was too busy flying and drivingsome of the best graphics i have ever seen. the multiplayer mod makes it addicting. for ten dollars on steam, this is a great deal. the controls are a bit hazardous if you don't have a controller. luckily i got one just to play this game. the map size is great for exploring in all different types of vehicles. i actually never beat the campaign because i was too busy flying and driving around. the storymode is forgettable but the opposite can be said about the multiplayer mod. go buy it. Expand
  25. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Loads of fun. Just Cause 2 truly understands the sand-box. It feels like like a polished mash-up of boiling point and Red-Faction Guerrilla maybe the Saboteur). First of all it gives you freedom. You can do whatever you feel like and It is all engaging. There is a plot to follow and factions to do side-missions for and endless opportunities to create chaos. The chaos will have theLoads of fun. Just Cause 2 truly understands the sand-box. It feels like like a polished mash-up of boiling point and Red-Faction Guerrilla maybe the Saboteur). First of all it gives you freedom. You can do whatever you feel like and It is all engaging. There is a plot to follow and factions to do side-missions for and endless opportunities to create chaos. The chaos will have the authorities after you which then leads to the evasion-game. I love the fact that you can shoot your way out of trouble, run, drive or para-sail away or even the hijack the chopper they bad guys sent after you.
    Travel: best I have ever seen. There is instant-travel (extraction from anywhere), stealing boats, cars, motor-bikes, planes, helicopters and then there is the hook. The grappling-hooks is so useful you will forget to walk places. There is a cool mechanic where you can use the grapple to ascend then engage your parachute to fly...then use you grapple to 'web-sling' your way around. No game has such a cool variety of transportation. If you don't become obsessed with collecting every little trinket in the game you will find hours of over-the top game-play here. Just flying a plane around to scout new locations can be entrancing. The island has a variety of terrain and the day-night cycle makes for amazing sunsets and vistas. Don't complain about the repetition in the game as this is the nature of the sand-box. Having 70% of the side missions available (after getting 20 hours worth of plot-mission value) is nothing more than gravy. This genre is not about deep plots anyway. If you want a game that is fun-to-play then look no further.
    Expand
  26. Mar 15, 2011
    9
    Damn fun game. From parachuting off skyscrapers to tying a soldier to a passenger jet and taking off with it, there will never be a moment when you're bored. The downsides of the games are mainly in the story and voice acting. I had no idea voice acting in games could be that bad, and I much preferred the game when I set the voice volume to 0. If you're looking for a pointless game to blowDamn fun game. From parachuting off skyscrapers to tying a soldier to a passenger jet and taking off with it, there will never be a moment when you're bored. The downsides of the games are mainly in the story and voice acting. I had no idea voice acting in games could be that bad, and I much preferred the game when I set the voice volume to 0. If you're looking for a pointless game to blow stuff up in, this is it. It also has the biggest playable map I've ever seen, with tonnes of easter eggs and unique vehicles there to find. The mod community for the game is also pretty incredible. Definitely worth checking out at least. Reminded me of Prototype a little. Expand
  27. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    I love sandbox games. Despite what some people might tell you, genuine open world sandbox games are few and far between. Just Cause 2 is one of them. It plays much like a B-movie, which of course is a good thing when it comes to an action game. I even downloaded a mod that turns the protagonist into John Rambo, it's hilarious (good job, modder!) The island paradise game world is huge andI love sandbox games. Despite what some people might tell you, genuine open world sandbox games are few and far between. Just Cause 2 is one of them. It plays much like a B-movie, which of course is a good thing when it comes to an action game. I even downloaded a mod that turns the protagonist into John Rambo, it's hilarious (good job, modder!) The island paradise game world is huge and strikingly beautiful, but despite the game being so big, it never gets tedious getting from point A to point B, because you have your trusty grappling hook, and multitude of vehicles you can steal GTA style or purchase on the black market. The black market guy can also extract you to any previously discovered location, for a price. The combat is quite satisfying, it can get really hectic when a lot of enemies are on the screen. The explosions are over the top and incredibly fun as well. Expand
  28. Mar 14, 2011
    9
    A great free-roaming game that is set in communist Panau. The gameplay is great, the story is alright, replay value is high, the graphics are well done, the characters are decent, and the style is cool. A great recommendation for those who have played games of the Grand Theft Auto series.
  29. Mar 25, 2011
    8
    Gameplay - 8.5 , Graphics - 9.0 , Story - 5.5 , Playing time - 20+hours. Sandbox gameplay with beautiful graphics. At first it's fun, but it turns boring pretty quick. And the story is ****
  30. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    FUN, thats it, after years of seeing games feel more like work than games, i enjoy a fun game, not a perfect one, but fun, an over the top intentionally cliche story, with over the top action scenes(almost all the time) and a world " two times the size of the known universe" to destroy.

    It is true it gets repetitive and the sensation of the copy paste brush gets on to you after some
    FUN, thats it, after years of seeing games feel more like work than games, i enjoy a fun game, not a perfect one, but fun, an over the top intentionally cliche story, with over the top action scenes(almost all the time) and a world " two times the size of the known universe" to destroy.

    It is true it gets repetitive and the sensation of the copy paste brush gets on to you after some hours, but it is without a doubt a fun game. as a game should be.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. One of the most enjoyable sandboxes for players to experiment in this side of Grand Theft Auto. [Issue#204, p.86]
  2. Just Cause 2 can hardly be called an average game. It's a good one undermined by a selection of mediocre elements, and it's all the more frustrating this time around because Avalanche shows us glimpses of just how much fun two weeks on holiday with Rico should be. [Apr 2010, p.96]
  3. Just Cause 2 is a sequel that outdoes the original with gripping gameplay, exquisite visuals and a variety of missions that will keep you playing longer than you might expect. If you're an action fan, you need this.