User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 222 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 62 out of 222

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2012
    5
    Total Single Player Completion Time: around 4 hours. The latest game in the Kane and Lynch series definitely improves upon the first with better shooting mechanics and a better cover system...but that's not saying much. I died countless times because Lynch either didn't want to get into cover or decided to hide behind the wrong object. Gameplay consists of 95% gunplay and 5% pressing "E"Total Single Player Completion Time: around 4 hours. The latest game in the Kane and Lynch series definitely improves upon the first with better shooting mechanics and a better cover system...but that's not saying much. I died countless times because Lynch either didn't want to get into cover or decided to hide behind the wrong object. Gameplay consists of 95% gunplay and 5% pressing "E" to open doors. It's not varied but it's somewhat enjoyable IF playing the game in co-op. A solo run is incredibly tedious and the A.I. partner is nearly useless. The 4 hour game length is also pitiful and is extended by a couple of multiplayer modes that have NOBODY playing them. It's not a game that's worth full price (not by a long shot) but TRUE fans of the series will enjoy it. Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to the haters. Actually this game was really fun and is almost one of best cooperative games I ever played. Visual effects were really good, I have never seen before such filters. I truly loved it. At beginning I didn't like the weapons since I couldn't hit with them, however later you get better weapons.
    Kane & Lynch 2 Dog Days is for real gamers.
  3. May 18, 2011
    7
    At a $5 price tag, this game is so worth it. It's on the short side and has no plot whatsoever, but has great non-stop gory action, good selection of different guns, and controlling two nude-crazed lunatics through the streets of Shanghai--just priceless. Lynch is a complete mad man--so much comedy listening to him rant. Add nearly 50 Steam achievements...co-op...and multi-player...whatAt a $5 price tag, this game is so worth it. It's on the short side and has no plot whatsoever, but has great non-stop gory action, good selection of different guns, and controlling two nude-crazed lunatics through the streets of Shanghai--just priceless. Lynch is a complete mad man--so much comedy listening to him rant. Add nearly 50 Steam achievements...co-op...and multi-player...what more could you ask for?

    WARNING: Whatever you do make sure you enable steadycam before you play this game, otherwise you will vomit in about 5 minutes; although it still won't help you through the cut scenes.
    Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    I miss this kind of games, its no about the gameplay , graphics, the amount of missions or the amount of characters or weapons,is to represent the life of its respective theme , this game represents the risks to be a mob and how you lose all the people at you´re enviroment, this game is a nice example of how has to be the story of two poor bastards, not all is
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    I really don't get all the hate for this game. I absolutely loved it. I was very comfortable with the length of the story, I thought it was just right. A story is not better because it is longer, that is just insane. The game is very well optimized for PC and looks great. They nailed the style and atmosphere of Shanghai. Co-op is a lot of fun. Online multiplayer is totally dead onI really don't get all the hate for this game. I absolutely loved it. I was very comfortable with the length of the story, I thought it was just right. A story is not better because it is longer, that is just insane. The game is very well optimized for PC and looks great. They nailed the style and atmosphere of Shanghai. Co-op is a lot of fun. Online multiplayer is totally dead on PC and online co-op crashes sometimes. I wish there were more save points but it's not a huge deal. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    This is far superior to the first game, even though I enjoyed that one too. I agree with many of the reviewers who were critical of the grainy film, shaky camera, and less than stellar AI. However, the story line and the non-stop action made up for the shortfall. Both Kane and Lynch are exceptionally gloomy characters, very similar to Max Payne. It's hard to believe that they couldThis is far superior to the first game, even though I enjoyed that one too. I agree with many of the reviewers who were critical of the grainy film, shaky camera, and less than stellar AI. However, the story line and the non-stop action made up for the shortfall. Both Kane and Lynch are exceptionally gloomy characters, very similar to Max Payne. It's hard to believe that they could live through so much gun play. I recommend this game highly because it's suitable for players like me who have limited skills; i.e., the game provides enough of a challenge to be entertaining. Expand
  7. Jun 1, 2012
    10
    If only story could define a game instead of controls. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog days is a mess of crime gaming put in with a shaky camera, bad controls but fun game play and interesting storyline. If you didn't play the original Kane and Lynch, it was about two crooked crime gangsters who are betrayed by their leaders and forced to recover an amount of money for the clan. The first game doesIf only story could define a game instead of controls. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog days is a mess of crime gaming put in with a shaky camera, bad controls but fun game play and interesting storyline. If you didn't play the original Kane and Lynch, it was about two crooked crime gangsters who are betrayed by their leaders and forced to recover an amount of money for the clan. The first game does not land on my positive side as the story was less good written and the controls destroyed every fun aspect of the game. This game instead fixes it's controls but only slightly and many times I find myself slipping up and messing my concentration. Dog Days tells the tale after Dead Men in which now the Schizophrenic psychopath James Seth Lynch now living in the slums of Shanghai with his new lover Xiu. Now working for a criminal named Glazer, Lynch invites his old pal Kane to come to Shanghai and help him with a weapons trade. Things go to hell as the duo accidentally kill the daughter of a corrupt government official and are targeted by many gangsters and crooks. The story is more enjoyable as it reminds you of an old time crime movie. I have to say though as the whole game rather falls short and the ending had me cursing wildly with it's stupid and idiotic cliffhanger. Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days is not a great game and was never expected to be. I can appreciate it's try to be a thrilling action shooter but fails badly but measures up to a short game that will probably take a week to finish. Expand
  8. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    One of the underrated franchises in my opinion, the sequel improves in terms of the shooting mechanics while drops the bar in storytelling. This time you play as Lynch, and oddly, there's a problem with him: he doesn't have the problems he had in the first part. He used to be a medicated psychopath, falling into killing sprees at times, but now he's calm and even got a chinese girlfriend.One of the underrated franchises in my opinion, the sequel improves in terms of the shooting mechanics while drops the bar in storytelling. This time you play as Lynch, and oddly, there's a problem with him: he doesn't have the problems he had in the first part. He used to be a medicated psychopath, falling into killing sprees at times, but now he's calm and even got a chinese girlfriend. Kane, who arrives to help him in a heist, also lost his gruesome charm: now hairy, bearded and without his nose patch which made his appearance memorable, he doesn't have an impact on the story at all. In the original, they were Dead Men, a Traitor and a Psycho in cool suits, two awesome anti-heroes, and now they're just 2 aging men in the dirty suburbs of Shanghai. The new visual style, mimicking the Youtube-like amateur camera, hides the outdated graphics and looks great, action is gory and fast, but the problem is that the game's no longer story-driven. They even haven't shed almost any light on what happened to Kane's daughter, Jenny. (There's more about that in the official comic tie-in, but why not in the game??) And to make it worse, the second half of the game gets just plain boring, with endless waves of asian mobsters to kill, with even the characters wondering "How many more are there?" Another thing that made me sad was lack of soundtrack. Instead of memorable tunes by Jesper Kyd, it's just got some featureless ambient. Speaking about multiplayer, it has an interesting concept, but lacks players. To sum up, basically it's a mediocre gory shooter with unusual multiplayer modes. I'd give it a 5, but I'm a fan of the series and characters in particular since the first game, so I still enjoyed it, and am hoping for the third part that'd note the mistakes of its predecessors. Besides, IO's now got a brand new engine, so there is hope. Expand
  9. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    The standard 3rdPS deal with a dark and nihilistic tone. The shooting is a bit inaccurate at times (especially when using lower tier weapons such as SMGs and some of the weaker Chinese pistols) but it helps add to the feeling of chaos that runs throughout. Enemies come at you in droves and the AI is reminiscent of FEAR, swarming you and generally displaying a lot of aggression (when the AIThe standard 3rdPS deal with a dark and nihilistic tone. The shooting is a bit inaccurate at times (especially when using lower tier weapons such as SMGs and some of the weaker Chinese pistols) but it helps add to the feeling of chaos that runs throughout. Enemies come at you in droves and the AI is reminiscent of FEAR, swarming you and generally displaying a lot of aggression (when the AI doesn't fudge up.) The clunky shakycam can get a bit tiring on the eyes but you can turn it off. Visual design is awesome and the environments are in equal parts rich and dank. The sound is probably the best I've heard in a game, the gunfire is deafening and the timbre changes according to the environment.

    This is meat and potatoes action gaming, just killing upon killing upon killing. Whilst the gameplay is not super polished or innovative, it draws you into the world in a way that few games do.

    Biggest problems are it's short length (4/5 hours) and the fact that it crashes like there's no tomorrow. It's going cheap on Steam, and at it's current price it is certainly worth your time and a lot cheaper than going to the cinema.
    Expand
  10. Jun 12, 2014
    7
    The game is like an interactive action movie which you control the characters, the story is poor and it seems like a recycled story from Kane and Lynch: Deadmen but the voice acting is pure and powerful, the gameplay is average but the graphics is fantastic..
    Pros:
    -good voice acting -good graphics -better gameplay than the first franchise, which include the running and the cover
    The game is like an interactive action movie which you control the characters, the story is poor and it seems like a recycled story from Kane and Lynch: Deadmen but the voice acting is pure and powerful, the gameplay is average but the graphics is fantastic..
    Pros:
    -good voice acting
    -good graphics
    -better gameplay than the first franchise, which include the running and the cover system
    -the main characters are lovable

    Cons:
    -poor story
    -poor A.I.
    -few and poor weapon choices
    -shooting mechanics is pretty dumb

    Kane and Lynch is a good franchise for my opinion and IO interactive and Eidos should put it on their priorities, too bad they cancelled the 3rd one.. I'm still hoping and waiting for the next franchise for an improved gameplay experience :)
    final score 7/10
    Expand
  11. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Generic shooter but it has + 2 points for atmosphere. The gameplay and ai is bad, but the voice acting and story are pretty good. The atmosphere is spot on and the amateur camera filter is a nice effect. The story is super short, finished the game in 3.8hrs. I just like how much effort the devs put into the atmosphere :)
  12. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    In order to like this game you need to take it seriously. If you think of it as a game, it is OK. If you try to get into the visceral experience, you will be hyped up on adrenaline and feel like an action movie hero/(antihero). The only way to play it is on hard or extreme, especially with the music turned up loud. I felt like I was in a very real experience where it was me and aIn order to like this game you need to take it seriously. If you think of it as a game, it is OK. If you try to get into the visceral experience, you will be hyped up on adrenaline and feel like an action movie hero/(antihero). The only way to play it is on hard or extreme, especially with the music turned up loud. I felt like I was in a very real experience where it was me and a friend vs. the whole Chinese mafia/military/police. You just need to go along with what the developers were trying to do. Expand
  13. Nov 25, 2010
    4
    While it has nice graphics, poor control and a broken cover system kill this shooter. To make up for the pedestrian AI, the designers gave your enemies dead aim (they can hit you even behind cover while shooting blindly over obstacles) while your automatic weapons spray bullets without hitting anything. The makers wanted to go for the roving "realistic" camera look but it's just annoyingWhile it has nice graphics, poor control and a broken cover system kill this shooter. To make up for the pedestrian AI, the designers gave your enemies dead aim (they can hit you even behind cover while shooting blindly over obstacles) while your automatic weapons spray bullets without hitting anything. The makers wanted to go for the roving "realistic" camera look but it's just annoying and you'll turn it off after the first few minutes. Pretty much meh even for the bargain price they offered on Steam. Expand
  14. Dec 5, 2011
    7
    Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days takes the player (And a friend, in case of co-operative play) through a story that takes both protaganists through a bloody and action movie-like-, but not alltogether unrealistic, shoot-out in modern-day China where they will get caught up in a story of betrayal, corruption and revenge. The game's controls are very fluent, the cover-system works very well, theKane & Lynch 2: Dog Days takes the player (And a friend, in case of co-operative play) through a story that takes both protaganists through a bloody and action movie-like-, but not alltogether unrealistic, shoot-out in modern-day China where they will get caught up in a story of betrayal, corruption and revenge. The game's controls are very fluent, the cover-system works very well, the over-the-shoulder camera is rarely annoying, guns feel right and the game's visuals are simply beautiful desite the gloomy art-work. Co-operative play is where the game truly shines, the AI isn't stupid but sharing the experience with a friend is a lot more fun. There are a few downsides to the game; it is relatively short (You can finish it in about 5 hours time), once you 'die' your teammate has only several seconds to get you back up and usually, that's not enough. Luckily, this is compensated for by the generous usage of checkpoints. The story is also open-ended and the ending could be perceived as an anti-climax as it leaves too many questions unanswered. (This is the point where you'll hope for a sequel!) Expand
  15. Dec 15, 2012
    0
    Terrible, TERRIBLE game. Although graphics are nice and I salute the effort it must have taken to emulate the handy cam, this game is just half baked. The cover system is broken but above all, the aiming system is awful. You can unload clips on an enemy that is 5 feet away and spray your bullets all over without a single hit. However, the enemies have dead aim at 500 feet, killing youTerrible, TERRIBLE game. Although graphics are nice and I salute the effort it must have taken to emulate the handy cam, this game is just half baked. The cover system is broken but above all, the aiming system is awful. You can unload clips on an enemy that is 5 feet away and spray your bullets all over without a single hit. However, the enemies have dead aim at 500 feet, killing you almost instantly and they can take 4-5 bullets in the head without dying. They can also shoot you accurately hitting 90% of their shots while blind shooting from cover. And I played on easy... You survive between 5 and 30 seconds and then restart over and over again until you get so frustrated that you just dump the stupid game. Kane & Lynch? Dead men for sure! Expand
  16. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I'm sorry but I almost didnt buy this game based on the bad reviews some people gave it.. I love COD and BAttlefield2, this is not either of those games, it is however a fresh approach to video gaming, it is more like playing a movie, or like playing the TV show cops???for a lack of better description...I truly enjoyed this and glad I didnt allow the bad reviews to sway me... If there is aI'm sorry but I almost didnt buy this game based on the bad reviews some people gave it.. I love COD and BAttlefield2, this is not either of those games, it is however a fresh approach to video gaming, it is more like playing a movie, or like playing the TV show cops???for a lack of better description...I truly enjoyed this and glad I didnt allow the bad reviews to sway me... If there is a 3rd Id buy it.. Been playing FPS's for over 20 years Since the 1st wolfenstein and doom hit the scenes.. And this is deffinatly in the top 10 and I give it 4 stars just for coming up with a fresh approach to FPS action.. It does take a bit of getting used to, but heck BUY IT!!! you wont be dissapointed if your a true gamer :) Expand
  17. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Pick it up cheap. Multiplayer is dead, but singleplayer is good fun. Not nearly as bad as the reviews stated. Film grain and shakycam can be disabled, so all that whining is useless. It's like the first game, but with better gameplay and shooting controls. I loved it.
  18. May 9, 2012
    8
    K&L2 is a third person shooter that takes you to a grim, dark, grimy Shanghai where the the mismatched partners in crime fight for their survival when relation with the Chinese underworld breaks down. It's made for two players and this is where the game shines. The visual style of the game is rather uncommon - you watch from a third person perspective, but the camera movement, film grainK&L2 is a third person shooter that takes you to a grim, dark, grimy Shanghai where the the mismatched partners in crime fight for their survival when relation with the Chinese underworld breaks down. It's made for two players and this is where the game shines. The visual style of the game is rather uncommon - you watch from a third person perspective, but the camera movement, film grain and such are done to give it a feel of watching a movie. While many dislike it, I find that it adds a nice, realistic mood and helps avoid one of the problems of third person shooters: that the same guy is doing the same thing in the corner of the screen for the entire game.

    The movie-feel also comes out in the firefights - the characters will yell and scream at each other and it does a lot for the combat. Another good feature here is a developed cover system, that makes two guys shooting at each other look more like an action movie than a bunny hopping idiot-fest. The cover system sometimes gets annoying when the character decides to take cover behind something else than what you expected, but it's fairly rare when you get used to the system.

    The story is very grim, fairly realistic and more akin to a movie than a game (there is no Russian uranium, no stereotype middle-eastern or south-American dictators that need American lead or such) and you get the feel that the game is based on the story rather than the story being based on the game. The game is best for two players, and the highest difficulty was a cool challenge for me and the friend I played it with. The game won't last long though, but there is plenty of variation for the relatively short duration - I didn't manage to get tired of any of the things the game wanted me to do, even at second play-through. Definitely worth playing through, but make sure to get hold of a friend.
    Expand
  19. Oct 19, 2012
    7
    I had a look at the demo on Steam,its great fun.I don't know if its worth a full price tag after the reviews I have read its only 3-4 hours long,but if I can get it in the sale i will be buying it,even though there are a few glitches and the cover system isn't the most responsive.I will give it a 7 for pure atmosphere and excitement.What a shame it isn't longer and a bit more polished.
  20. Aug 19, 2010
    5
    Look of the game is fantastic and innovative but...game play is terrible and characters/story underwritten. Absolute wasted opportunity. Makes Dead Men look like a classic in comparison. Epic fail as people say.
  21. Aug 23, 2010
    9
    I loved this game, it is short but very intense. I thought the camera work and grainy look really added to the atmosphere, and I felt like I was tagging along with two very insane gunmen. The story is pretty gritty and I really enjoyed the way the progression went along. I wouldn't say that the AI is the best, but overall I didn't feel like it detracted from the overall experience. TheI loved this game, it is short but very intense. I thought the camera work and grainy look really added to the atmosphere, and I felt like I was tagging along with two very insane gunmen. The story is pretty gritty and I really enjoyed the way the progression went along. I wouldn't say that the AI is the best, but overall I didn't feel like it detracted from the overall experience. The multi-player is really a blast as well! Expand
  22. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    much better than the first one. the visual style, the whole grimey feeling of the game is amazing, plus i cant stop playing the multiplayer. recommended!!!!!
  23. Nov 8, 2010
    10
    i loved this game and the original have not encountered The @#$%^'s of hacks that are in modern warfare. Wish the weapons were scoped Then again i just got it maybe later you can look down the scope.
  24. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    This game is a blast. Most of the bad reviews on this game seem to come from complete idiots. You can skip cut scenes (hit enter). you can change your controls if you don't like them. and if you don't install your video card drivers, the graphics might be bad (and should be bad for EVERY game you play).

    There are a few things that you should think about before getting this game though. if
    This game is a blast. Most of the bad reviews on this game seem to come from complete idiots. You can skip cut scenes (hit enter). you can change your controls if you don't like them. and if you don't install your video card drivers, the graphics might be bad (and should be bad for EVERY game you play).

    There are a few things that you should think about before getting this game though. if you don't like things that look like they were shot from a reporters camera, then this game isn't for you. It's almost like you are watching some crazy documentary. There is also a fair amount of gore in the game. They cover up some of it with a censor mosaic which to give it that documentary feel.

    the game is also pretty short. but multiplayer is fantastic, and extends the life of the game. Someone said the cover system is broken, and this is partly true. to go into more detail, sometimes you take cover and will slip out of cover. It's never been so bad that I died because of it, but it's a little irritating at times. Also, you can adjust your control scheme pretty easily in the options to suit your gamestyle, but if you are used to wasd then you have the basics covered.

    The story is also no Homers Odyssey, but it's still fantastic. I don't see how it's "boring" as it's more/better story than 90% of shooters out there today. and last, the graphics are amazing. the guy saying they look like ps2 graphics needs to go back and play ps2 again and maybe install his graphics drivers (or not play it on a 486).
    Expand
  25. Nov 27, 2010
    7
    I really, really want to love these series. And I do to a degree. I really dug the grainy film like play, but you've got to already have a love for that sort of thing. The story is pretty straight forward, though you never really get an idea of whats truly going on in the grand scheme of things. Just like you wouldn't if you were in their positions. This series could be so much moreI really, really want to love these series. And I do to a degree. I really dug the grainy film like play, but you've got to already have a love for that sort of thing. The story is pretty straight forward, though you never really get an idea of whats truly going on in the grand scheme of things. Just like you wouldn't if you were in their positions. This series could be so much more than it is, and each time they come out with one, its just so close to being fantastic, which makes me come back for more just incase the next one hits it square on the head.

    I'd recommend this puppy for those who liked the first one. For the veteran gamers who're more into game play, this may not be for you. But if you enjoy a good, action style story and find this on sale for about $10-$20 (being generous too), I'd go for it.
    Collapse
  26. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    This isn't a game for people who think Modern Warfare is the greatest series to ever come out. This is very much a PC game, and it's for people who like genres like pulp and wuxia, and films like Sin City and Watchmen. It's a game in the style of a violent, amateur documentary and it's a blast. A stylistic and over the top, ultra realistic and horribly violent documentary where you get toThis isn't a game for people who think Modern Warfare is the greatest series to ever come out. This is very much a PC game, and it's for people who like genres like pulp and wuxia, and films like Sin City and Watchmen. It's a game in the style of a violent, amateur documentary and it's a blast. A stylistic and over the top, ultra realistic and horribly violent documentary where you get to play the antagonist is really the best way I can think to describe it.

    No running, jumping, quickscoping and knifing, cover and actually being able to aim is a must on the highest difficulty levels which provide some decent AI. Utilize your environment, explosive barrels are still useful.

    Granted, if you're playing on the easiest setting the game is dead easy, which you know, the whole "easy mode". Be kinda stupid if easy was hard ey. The film grain and shaky camera are for effect, some people dislike the shaking which you can turn off. The graphics are quite decent when you max them out, of course if your system can't handle it and you turn everything off then, well, it's going to look like you've turned everything off.

    There's quite a nice selection of guns, more for multiplayer if you get some of the DLC. Not as many people online as there could be due to things like not knowing that Options>Turn Shaking Off exists but still enough for a match. The multiplayer modes too are quite fun, none of this Deathmatch nonsense, here we have a group of robbers attacking a vault, stealing money and gunning their way out through guards. More cash means you can buy better weapons for the next round, which is a nice incentive to level your shotgun at the back of a players head and pull the trigger, looting the money from his corpse.
    Which gives your teammates full authority to waste you, and the person you just killed has now spawned as a guard and is coming back with a vengance.

    The game only took me six and a half hours to complete on normal, and that provided a reasonable challenge but slack enough to enjoy the story. And the story is reasonable, not the greatest around, but not "The Russians are attacking!!" which is getting kinda old now. The dialog had it's repetitive moments but on the whole a nice touch to the game. As others have pointed out, the language can get a bit coarse at times, which for mercenaries and criminals actually works.

    AI, on the hardest level will aim for the head, flank, and provide covering fire with assault rifles and sniper rifles while their shotgun equipped allies move in to waste you. On normal... Pretty much the same thing, just at a slower and more manageable pace. On easy, well, it's pretty easy. Level design isn't too bad, some of the missions are fairly linear, and some are full on scripted, but MW2 was worse.

    tl;dr/dc

    If you think jumping for a helicopter, missing and a sergeant grabbing your wrist every 30 seconds is good story, don't buy this game. Don't buy it if you dislike over the shoulder documentary style, over the top violence, or have a dodgy computer. Don't buy it if you like console style games, this isn't one. Buy it if you're looking for a gaming experience unlike any you've seen so far, and are open minded enough to enjoy it for what it is. If you're one of those people, you're going to love it, if not, it's going to be the worst thing you've played since whatever Medal of Honor last came out because it copied CoD. :P
    Expand
  27. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    This is the best K&L game, I donno y ppl didn't like it... I was totally happy with the "real-movie-made-on-phonecam" feature, it adds the game more realism, and also - the graphics was cool enough and so on =)
  28. Jul 12, 2012
    8
    This game made me literally nauseous to play, and I have to respect that. I don't think it was the camera that did it so much as the characters. I mean really, most games give you a shining good guy protagonist with no moral ambiguity, and then you kill eleventy-thousand mooks, and in the early days of gaming that was all, and in the modern days of gaming they lampshade it by having theThis game made me literally nauseous to play, and I have to respect that. I don't think it was the camera that did it so much as the characters. I mean really, most games give you a shining good guy protagonist with no moral ambiguity, and then you kill eleventy-thousand mooks, and in the early days of gaming that was all, and in the modern days of gaming they lampshade it by having the villain point out that you killed eleventy-thousand mooks and having the protagonist think about it for all of 10 seconds (this omnipresent throwaway trick is how modern games CREATE MORAL AMBIGUITY and DEMONSTRATE ARTISTIC SENSIBILITY, you see), but with Kane and Lynch you don't get that. You just get two mangy, aggressive **** and a great big mess for them to stumble through, and I like that. There is something fundamentally honest about that even if it isn't "pleasant". Expand
  29. Aug 17, 2010
    0
    I didn't know a game shorter than Call of Duty existed. This game proved me wrong. The visual 'artifacts' are just used to cover up the crappy textures and shoddy AI. The animation of the characters was horrible as well. Its just a poor shooter overall. I admit the online was kinda fun for a while, but I imagine its going to be dead in a few months. Rent it, or pick it up from the bargainI didn't know a game shorter than Call of Duty existed. This game proved me wrong. The visual 'artifacts' are just used to cover up the crappy textures and shoddy AI. The animation of the characters was horrible as well. Its just a poor shooter overall. I admit the online was kinda fun for a while, but I imagine its going to be dead in a few months. Rent it, or pick it up from the bargain bin in a years time, but I really can't recommend buying this at full price. Expand
  30. Aug 19, 2010
    2
    A very bad game, with poor game mechanics and a terrible story. I recommend you read Destructoid's review of this game before even considering a purchase.
  31. Nov 27, 2010
    0
    I really, really want to love these series. And I do to a degree. I really dug the grainy film like play, but you've got to already have a love for that sort of thing. The story is pretty straight forward, though you never really get an idea of whats truly going on in the grand scheme of things. Just like you wouldn't if you were in their positions. This series could be so much moreI really, really want to love these series. And I do to a degree. I really dug the grainy film like play, but you've got to already have a love for that sort of thing. The story is pretty straight forward, though you never really get an idea of whats truly going on in the grand scheme of things. Just like you wouldn't if you were in their positions. This series could be so much more than it is, and each time they come out with one, its just so close to being fantastic, which makes me come back for more just incase the next one hits it square on the head.

    I'd recommend this puppy for those who liked the first one. For the veteran gamers who're more into game play, this may not be for you. But if you enjoy a good, action style story and find this on sale for about $10-$20 (being generous too), I'd go for it.
    Collapse
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    83
    A massive upgrade on the first game, but don't blame us if you get a bit tired of shooting people in the face. [Issue#244, p.106]
  2. The best advice i can give is to trust your own instincts: even after reading this, if the concept and setting still appeal to you, definitely give it a chance. Just don't expect to feel the same way when it's over.
  3. Kane & Lynch 2: Dog Days is an interesting beast because it really shouldn't exist. Outside of a unique art style it brings nothing new to the genre and does little to improve over the original game, which I might add, was far from a good game.