Kane & Lynch: Dead Men PC

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 237 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 74 out of 237
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnR.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever made. Instead of counting all the great aspects (as almost everything about this game is awesome) I simplay say: The bad reception of this game shows how infantile and stupid most reviewers and players are. This is a fantastic, intense and very mature shooter (featuring one of the best soundtracks ever made) which should be considered as great and Simply one of the best games ever made. Instead of counting all the great aspects (as almost everything about this game is awesome) I simplay say: The bad reception of this game shows how infantile and stupid most reviewers and players are. This is a fantastic, intense and very mature shooter (featuring one of the best soundtracks ever made) which should be considered as great and important as Max Payne. How any serious gamer can give this game a rating beneath 7 is a mystery to me. Expand
  2. roberttegle
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    after playing all the hitman games and kane and lynch. Io-Interactive/eidos goes in a whole diffrent direction whit this game. this game is more rush and kill evryone, so ull never get bored, but the game should be longer thats the only thing that keeps this game from a 10, its fantastic sounds wepons, evrything, and so sweet recoil on the wepons:D 9/10
  3. SimonH
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Taking the chance to give this game a shot when steam was giving it away at half price, I went into the game not expecting too much, from the pretty average metacritic score... However I sure am glad I did! Stunning graphics and story make this game stand out, and you can really care about the main characters, also the levels are very inventive and always have you doing different things. Taking the chance to give this game a shot when steam was giving it away at half price, I went into the game not expecting too much, from the pretty average metacritic score... However I sure am glad I did! Stunning graphics and story make this game stand out, and you can really care about the main characters, also the levels are very inventive and always have you doing different things. To best explain just how good this game is, I started it at 10:00pm and as I watched the end credits roll it is now 2:50am, and the time just flew! Expand
  4. JamZ
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Great storyline , great characters , gameplay is good not pretty bad . Co-op mode is very cool in this game .
  5. AlexB.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    I think this game is just plain fun when you're on the tower level and you repel down... you just feel bad ass! and you gotta love loony lynch.
  6. Hugo
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Well, what to say? A lot of people simply read reviews for this game and decide "it's probably really shoddy, I'll give it a miss." A select few seem to have dived in and given it a shot. I was one of those people. And I was really pleased. Like, really, really goddamn pleased. To me, this is far superior to Gears of War as a cover based tactical shoot-em up. It feels real and Well, what to say? A lot of people simply read reviews for this game and decide "it's probably really shoddy, I'll give it a miss." A select few seem to have dived in and given it a shot. I was one of those people. And I was really pleased. Like, really, really goddamn pleased. To me, this is far superior to Gears of War as a cover based tactical shoot-em up. It feels real and believable, which is mostly thanks to a brilliant storyline and even better characters. The graphics can look a little flat now and again, but it still looks plenty good, and since when were graphics a primary concern? It sounds brilliant, and I especially love how plot points are screamed by the characters over flying bullets. It's a little short in the story, but a lot of fun, and the co-op is well thought out (though split screen only, so much better on 360). Multiplayer is where this really shines though - frankly, it's a work of genius (assuming you can stand live on PC, and find other players). I recommend you buy it, or at least borrow it off someone and make a judgement after that. And to those that complain about the aiming - it's meant to be realistic, and I never had a single gripe with the aiming or cover system (apart from the odd clipping issue here and there). Expand
  7. SteveG.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Not the most polished game in the world, but a unique and satisfying squad/tactical shooter that promises huge payoffs for those willing to invest themselves in the gameplay. Nothing else quite like it on the market. A grim noir tale worth playing through.
  8. BoiledEgga
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    This game is, in first instance, thé game for fans of the Hitman series, because it looks way like it. The character design is good, the graphics are good - a polished up engine of Blood Money - and I just love the game. The only thing that could bother is some of the AI problems of the enemy and some sound errors, like when someone in a cutscene - or ingame - is talking through theThis game is, in first instance, thé game for fans of the Hitman series, because it looks way like it. The character design is good, the graphics are good - a polished up engine of Blood Money - and I just love the game. The only thing that could bother is some of the AI problems of the enemy and some sound errors, like when someone in a cutscene - or ingame - is talking through the radio, the sound slows down and you can only hear half of what he says because it then skips to the next sentence. But it's a fantastic game, without the bugs I'd have given it a 10+, no doubt. Not anyone may like it, but I sure do. It's just like controlling an action movie. Expand
  9. AndréL.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Don´t give a damn about what other people said, just play the game and take your own conclusions, i´ve played and liked a lot.
  10. Nemesis
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    You like Michael Mann films? Disappointed with Miami Vice? Fear not. Kane and Lynch is the most exciting "Mannian" style game every made. Take the L.A. bank heist shootout from Heat and the Asian club showdown from Collateral, and you have a vague idea of what rests ahead. Haven't played the 360 version, but the PC has excellent character animations and alot of gorgeous shadow fx. You like Michael Mann films? Disappointed with Miami Vice? Fear not. Kane and Lynch is the most exciting "Mannian" style game every made. Take the L.A. bank heist shootout from Heat and the Asian club showdown from Collateral, and you have a vague idea of what rests ahead. Haven't played the 360 version, but the PC has excellent character animations and alot of gorgeous shadow fx. Some of the weapon sound designs are weak, but the rest is top notch (particularly when a tire pops). The game is very violent and masochistic. Ever hear a female cop begging for her life because she has kids? You're clearly on the wrong side of the law, but your wife and daughter are being held captive. So, the choice is clear. Cops, civilians, and anyone who gets in your way will get what's coming. The fact that you work with a guy as wreckless as Lynch doesn't help either. Hand an overgrown kid a gun and you know what I mean. Exciting, ultra violent, masochistic guilt, pulse pounding vengeance, searing vulgarity....and Japanese gangsters in leather motorcycle outfits? Yeah, this game has every top notch action film element you could ask for. Expand
  11. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    this is a great game all around. however, idiots do not understand this. keep this in mind if you want to play this game, it is clearly not made for idiots, you must have some degree of intelligence to play, otherwise you will not have a good time and then you will be like the rest of the whiners you see here trashing this great and classic shooter... fu*k all you morons who simply ''don'tthis is a great game all around. however, idiots do not understand this. keep this in mind if you want to play this game, it is clearly not made for idiots, you must have some degree of intelligence to play, otherwise you will not have a good time and then you will be like the rest of the whiners you see here trashing this great and classic shooter... fu*k all you morons who simply ''don't get'' this game... Expand
  12. LeighC.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    Kane and Lynch offers excellent game-play, which is complemented by a genius storyline.
  13. JaredJ.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    "Kane & Lynch - Dead Men" is an epic modern third person action game. With a twisted plot along secrets to be revealed, this game is as modern as you could get. Along with some puzzels that leave you angry and confused and some controls that stick offten, "Kane & Lynch - Dead Men" is an all-out shooter, you may want to wait for the $49.99 price to lower and wait for "Kane & Lynch 2" (IF "Kane & Lynch - Dead Men" is an epic modern third person action game. With a twisted plot along secrets to be revealed, this game is as modern as you could get. Along with some puzzels that leave you angry and confused and some controls that stick offten, "Kane & Lynch - Dead Men" is an all-out shooter, you may want to wait for the $49.99 price to lower and wait for "Kane & Lynch 2" (IF THEY DECIDE TO CONTINUE IT) other than that yo will be satisfiyed. Expand
  14. GustavoV.
    Dec 19, 2007
    8
    I give it an 8, the game is really awesome and it really feels like a movie, the graphics are OK and one thing i really praise is the sound of the game, from the amazing soundtrack from jesper kyd to the voice acting, this is top notch. My only complains are that aiming doesnt really feel steady for a PC game and that the last levels change from the stylish streets and banks, to an I give it an 8, the game is really awesome and it really feels like a movie, the graphics are OK and one thing i really praise is the sound of the game, from the amazing soundtrack from jesper kyd to the voice acting, this is top notch. My only complains are that aiming doesnt really feel steady for a PC game and that the last levels change from the stylish streets and banks, to an uninspiring jungle. And finally, the game story is very good but the end just made me furious because it isnt satisfying. Expand
  15. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Nice story, fun levels which are quite unique given the criminal angle of the protagonists, not the best gameplay in the world but fun enough, if you can get it for under a tenner I'd say its worth it for a few hours of fun
  16. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I dont understand why so many ppl dont like this game...
    It has Awesome Graphics Awesome story and a LOT of fun
    if u cant play HARD games and u can play games only with GOD mode then this is not the game for you But if u want a nice team work and u want to give orders to ur team THEN THIS WORTH UR MONEY! i have play it a lot of times its awesome with two endings(i dont know if there are
    I dont understand why so many ppl dont like this game...
    It has Awesome Graphics Awesome story and a LOT of fun
    if u cant play HARD games and u can play games only with GOD mode then this is not the game for you
    But if u want a nice team work and u want to give orders to ur team THEN THIS WORTH UR MONEY!
    i have play it a lot of times its awesome with two endings(i dont know if there are more..) ! about the bugs i heard ppl say here i didnt find any :s maybe is ur pc not strong to work good in this game i dont know
    i was having 8800GTX ultra when i play this game and my friend 6600 GT and we never saw any bug :s
    Expand
  17. BrandonM.
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Fun game - cool story - great scenario's j- overall quality is high - good sound - good graphics - I don't know why all the bad reviews, I've very much enjoyed it.
  18. VíctorSanchís
    May 26, 2008
    8
    Un juego mas que correcto al que tener en cuenta, por su argumento como por sus toques cinematograficos, no es un mal juego ni mucho menos... aunque hay gente que lo pinta como tal.
    A por la segunda entrega de este fenomenal juego tienen que hacer un perfecto trabajo y sabeis que ? estoy seguro que lo haran.
  19. Jul 19, 2016
    8
    Great game. Really strong characters, mature theme, varied missions. Fantastic soundtrack. This should have scored a lot higher than it did overall. When I play this I feel as though I'm in the film "Heat"
  20. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Excellent story line, great game mechanics. In game you can hide behind objects and shoot. After having such possibility it is difficult to play games without it.
  21. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Whilst the rest of gaming world poured piss on this game, Rockstar was taking notes. The influence of K&L and esp. K&L 2 can be seen in Max Payne 3 and GTA 4/5.

    Most people who would enjoy the game probably already have it... However, if you look past the lack of polish and it's outdated elements there is a great game at the heart of it all. K&L doesn't glamorize the lifestyles of it's
    Whilst the rest of gaming world poured piss on this game, Rockstar was taking notes. The influence of K&L and esp. K&L 2 can be seen in Max Payne 3 and GTA 4/5.

    Most people who would enjoy the game probably already have it... However, if you look past the lack of polish and it's outdated elements there is a great game at the heart of it all. K&L doesn't glamorize the lifestyles of it's protagonists (which most films and games lean toward) or justify their actions, there is no silver lining.
    Expand
  22. Sep 2, 2013
    10
    perfect game for me. It is like a drug. I don't knowhow often i have play it. I love this stupid Characters and the happens'' plot. Need more Games like this. No idea why people give this masterpiece bad ratings. it is one of the most interesting games ever made.
  23. Aug 1, 2014
    8
    For me, its a classic. Enjoyable gameplay, incredible characters, good music, great atmosphere, etc etc.
    I love it! And i love the endings too... slap in the face!
  24. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    Kane & Lynch: Dead Men is a third-person shooter published in 2007, developed by IO Interactive and published by Eidos Interactive. About the story, I can not say very much. The game begins when Kane read a letter to his daughter Jenny. Kane is sentenced to death after a murder by imprudence. Lynch is also sentenced to death but he knew he would escape. Their truck is involved in anKane & Lynch: Dead Men is a third-person shooter published in 2007, developed by IO Interactive and published by Eidos Interactive. About the story, I can not say very much. The game begins when Kane read a letter to his daughter Jenny. Kane is sentenced to death after a murder by imprudence. Lynch is also sentenced to death but he knew he would escape. Their truck is involved in an accident with a group of mercenanti and so they escape from jail. In terms of gameplay, there are few problems. In terms of gameplay is very ok, the only problem is that the AI is very weak and I met a few bugs. In terms of graphics and sound, the game stays ok, not to revolutionize gaming graphics, but does not look very bad. Level design is ok, until almost the end game even seem too interesting, but towards the end it turned into a park Call Of Duty with Cubans. Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Though somewhat let down by its combat, Kane & Lynch is still well worth a play, even if it's just for the cinematic feel of the levels, the refreshingly different characters and the excellent multiplayer. [Christmas 2007, p.66]
  2. The right combination of gameplay elements and design decisions make Kane and Lynch easy to recommend to crime junkies and anyone who enjoys a little therapeutic videogame violence. A well-executed plot really makes the game, while the multiplayer additions add replay value and variety.
  3. Hardcore Gamer
    70
    Kane & Lynch is more "Freedom Fighters" than "Hitman", so it should appeal to action junkies looking for their next fix. [Dec 2007, p.67]