User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 213 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 213

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamJ.
    Nov 30, 2007
    6
    This game brings a lot of interesting concepts to the table but fails to execute them correctly. Imagine trying to play Hitman and Gears of War with squad based combat thrown in. The story shows promise but turns into a predictable tale of revenge near the end. If you want a solid shooter for look the PC look towards Half-Life 2, Crysis, and maybe even Bioshock.
  2. MichaelA.
    Jan 13, 2008
    5
    Everything needed for this to be an excellent game is there, the storyline, the graphics, etc. Problem is, it was all put together in such a way the end product is mediocre at best. Extremely faulty cover system, aiming isn't really an option, bugs everywhere, horrible AI scripting, the list goes on and on... It's not to late to fix it, some drastic patching could, perhaps, save Everything needed for this to be an excellent game is there, the storyline, the graphics, etc. Problem is, it was all put together in such a way the end product is mediocre at best. Extremely faulty cover system, aiming isn't really an option, bugs everywhere, horrible AI scripting, the list goes on and on... It's not to late to fix it, some drastic patching could, perhaps, save this game, but until then, I advise anyone whose not looking for pure spray and pray bloody action to stay away. Expand
  3. May 18, 2011
    5
    This is one shooter that could have been good, but fell short. It's not horrible, but there are too many basic gameplay annoyances to list. You won't be missing much by passing this one up.
  4. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    It has its fair share of issues, namely enemy hitboxes, AI, and a wonky cover system, but an interesting story, strong characterization, and top notch voice acting made me want to see this through to the end. Ultimately it's not so strong a game as it is an experience.
  5. Dalek
    Aug 22, 2009
    5
    Boring, confusing, stupid. This game was such a terrible beginning. It's like you get pushed into the game and you don't know what's going on but shooting and havok. Multiplayer is 100% fail. Hardly any servers to find. The game is simply a: 1 Part to there, next to that part. The game is very hard on easy. And not fun.
  6. Oct 16, 2010
    5
    Very difficult game, even on easy level. Especially the phase "Freedom Fighters". And it can not save whenever you want or have enough autosave, a serious flaw, irritates the player.
  7. Nov 23, 2013
    6
    This game is actually really strane

    You get thrown into the combat right from the beginning of the game not that common on Our-Day-Games Lynch role on the game is a lil bit awfully shown to us But the character is really funny and charming . On the other hand shooting and cover system makes you feel sad *Damage taken from Cops is HUGE and It takes sometimes 2-3 headshots to kill
    This game is actually really strane

    You get thrown into the combat right from the beginning of the game not that common on Our-Day-Games Lynch role on the game is a lil bit awfully shown to us But the character is really funny and charming .
    On the other hand shooting and cover system makes you feel sad *Damage taken from Cops is HUGE and It takes sometimes 2-3 headshots to kill somebody*
    Game is actually really cool but you need some time to get used to it
    Expand
  8. O.J.
    Aug 29, 2008
    3
    The cranky combat gets boosted by the pretty good story-line at first, but when you head towards the end the combat becomes increasingly frustrating, not to mention the worst ending sequence ever. Like said by other users and by the critics the game has the "preview" edition feel.
  9. MatthiasR.
    Jun 3, 2009
    0
    I expected a great co-op mode when buying this. However, there was nothing like that. The single player campaign starts promising but gets boring at the latest when you notice there is always just one way to walk. The levels may optically look appealing but in terms of gameplay the design is boring. The characters are not developed, they are just unpleasant and pseudo cool. The squad I expected a great co-op mode when buying this. However, there was nothing like that. The single player campaign starts promising but gets boring at the latest when you notice there is always just one way to walk. The levels may optically look appealing but in terms of gameplay the design is boring. The characters are not developed, they are just unpleasant and pseudo cool. The squad parts seem to be a mere joke as team mates always just run into fire. Expand
  10. ColbyA.
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    Terrible game - Feels unfinished, like a generic shooter with stolen, yet poorly applied ideas, from other shooters. Does not even begin to live up to the Hitman fame. Cover system sucks, squad combat system is lame, graphics are the same as everything else on the market, and the storyline is total crap - poorly written, poor character design, poor progression, lacklustre ending. Terrible game - Feels unfinished, like a generic shooter with stolen, yet poorly applied ideas, from other shooters. Does not even begin to live up to the Hitman fame. Cover system sucks, squad combat system is lame, graphics are the same as everything else on the market, and the storyline is total crap - poorly written, poor character design, poor progression, lacklustre ending. Completely stupid - would not recommend. Other games have done it, done it separately, and done it far better. Expand
  11. BenteR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    4
    While the main game is a great deal of fun, I was a bit disappointed with the control in the game. Also I though it should be able to run on my PC system, but it only did when I lowered the resolutiuon and turned off AA. The Co-op that I was hoping to try is NOT possible for me as I don't have an XBOX-360 controller - and I'm NOT going to get one. The main game is a bit short, While the main game is a great deal of fun, I was a bit disappointed with the control in the game. Also I though it should be able to run on my PC system, but it only did when I lowered the resolutiuon and turned off AA. The Co-op that I was hoping to try is NOT possible for me as I don't have an XBOX-360 controller - and I'm NOT going to get one. The main game is a bit short, and since I can't play the coop I wan't to take it back to the store. Expand
  12. DryerLine
    Jan 26, 2008
    3
    Wow, the controls are horrible, the plot and dialogue make you want to get a "social life", and they want you to pay MORE money for online, and then of course there's the whole "Firing Editors" controversy. I also think they 9-10 ratings here were written by people from Eidos, they certainly sound like it.
  13. JohnR.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    Simply one of the best games ever made. Instead of counting all the great aspects (as almost everything about this game is awesome) I simplay say: The bad reception of this game shows how infantile and stupid most reviewers and players are. This is a fantastic, intense and very mature shooter (featuring one of the best soundtracks ever made) which should be considered as great and Simply one of the best games ever made. Instead of counting all the great aspects (as almost everything about this game is awesome) I simplay say: The bad reception of this game shows how infantile and stupid most reviewers and players are. This is a fantastic, intense and very mature shooter (featuring one of the best soundtracks ever made) which should be considered as great and important as Max Payne. How any serious gamer can give this game a rating beneath 7 is a mystery to me. Expand
  14. MaldoM
    Dec 5, 2007
    2
    The guy above me who gave this a 10 is obviously a corporate shill for eidos, this game is a middle of the road junk fest at best, and at its worst it is a mish mash of bad stereotypes, and even worse gameplay.

    Skip this turdbomb, do not buy into the mass marketing machine Eidos is using.
  15. EirikS.
    Aug 1, 2008
    4
    this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this is impossible. Its hard enough to get live working and when you do there is a problem with playing coop. This game was made for coop, but obviously coop for the 360. On the pc there is no LAN or internet option when you want to play coop. The only option you got is to connect one or more xbox 360 controllers to your pc.. The singleplayer is hardly any fun with all the bugs, I bought this game for coop but I cant since I dont have a 40" tv connected to my pc, nor do I have any 360 controllers. Stay clear from this game, its a totally waste of money. Buy it when it costs 10$ if you really want this. Expand
  16. PeterD
    Feb 18, 2008
    1
    I can only assume that some of the people posting good scores for this game are playing on a console or are employed by the publisher. Controls are awkward and unresponsive, bugs aplenty and the horror of having to go through microsoft (and pay them £5 a month) if you want to play a decent online game. The story line is interesting but heck at that point your better off with aI can only assume that some of the people posting good scores for this game are playing on a console or are employed by the publisher. Controls are awkward and unresponsive, bugs aplenty and the horror of having to go through microsoft (and pay them £5 a month) if you want to play a decent online game. The story line is interesting but heck at that point your better off with a movie, save yourself the grief and buy orangebox. Expand
  17. MykC
    Dec 6, 2007
    3
    This game is broken. Some areas on the game are big empty ugly rooms. The main characters look good, but the support characters look like N64 models and textures. The AI blows, the controls are frustrating. I enjoy the story... somewhat but that it.
  18. roberttegle
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    after playing all the hitman games and kane and lynch. Io-Interactive/eidos goes in a whole diffrent direction whit this game. this game is more rush and kill evryone, so ull never get bored, but the game should be longer thats the only thing that keeps this game from a 10, its fantastic sounds wepons, evrything, and so sweet recoil on the wepons:D 9/10
  19. SimonH
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    Taking the chance to give this game a shot when steam was giving it away at half price, I went into the game not expecting too much, from the pretty average metacritic score... However I sure am glad I did! Stunning graphics and story make this game stand out, and you can really care about the main characters, also the levels are very inventive and always have you doing different things. Taking the chance to give this game a shot when steam was giving it away at half price, I went into the game not expecting too much, from the pretty average metacritic score... However I sure am glad I did! Stunning graphics and story make this game stand out, and you can really care about the main characters, also the levels are very inventive and always have you doing different things. To best explain just how good this game is, I started it at 10:00pm and as I watched the end credits roll it is now 2:50am, and the time just flew! Expand
  20. JamZ
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    Great storyline , great characters , gameplay is good not pretty bad . Co-op mode is very cool in this game .
  21. DillonHertlein
    Dec 15, 2007
    2
    The visuals were disgusting, and look like they belong to low-budget games six years ago. The cover system is bugged, not allowing you to take cover as you would like to (an especially frustrating thing after played Gears of War). The controls, at least on the 360, were poorly plotted to the controller and could not be changed. It was so horrible, in fact, that I returned the gameThe visuals were disgusting, and look like they belong to low-budget games six years ago. The cover system is bugged, not allowing you to take cover as you would like to (an especially frustrating thing after played Gears of War). The controls, at least on the 360, were poorly plotted to the controller and could not be changed. It was so horrible, in fact, that I returned the game before even completing the second level. Expand
  22. AlexB.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    I think this game is just plain fun when you're on the tower level and you repel down... you just feel bad ass! and you gotta love loony lynch.
  23. Hugo
    Nov 18, 2009
    9
    Well, what to say? A lot of people simply read reviews for this game and decide "it's probably really shoddy, I'll give it a miss." A select few seem to have dived in and given it a shot. I was one of those people. And I was really pleased. Like, really, really goddamn pleased. To me, this is far superior to Gears of War as a cover based tactical shoot-em up. It feels real and Well, what to say? A lot of people simply read reviews for this game and decide "it's probably really shoddy, I'll give it a miss." A select few seem to have dived in and given it a shot. I was one of those people. And I was really pleased. Like, really, really goddamn pleased. To me, this is far superior to Gears of War as a cover based tactical shoot-em up. It feels real and believable, which is mostly thanks to a brilliant storyline and even better characters. The graphics can look a little flat now and again, but it still looks plenty good, and since when were graphics a primary concern? It sounds brilliant, and I especially love how plot points are screamed by the characters over flying bullets. It's a little short in the story, but a lot of fun, and the co-op is well thought out (though split screen only, so much better on 360). Multiplayer is where this really shines though - frankly, it's a work of genius (assuming you can stand live on PC, and find other players). I recommend you buy it, or at least borrow it off someone and make a judgement after that. And to those that complain about the aiming - it's meant to be realistic, and I never had a single gripe with the aiming or cover system (apart from the odd clipping issue here and there). Expand
  24. SteveG.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Not the most polished game in the world, but a unique and satisfying squad/tactical shooter that promises huge payoffs for those willing to invest themselves in the gameplay. Nothing else quite like it on the market. A grim noir tale worth playing through.
  25. BoiledEgga
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    This game is, in first instance, thé game for fans of the Hitman series, because it looks way like it. The character design is good, the graphics are good - a polished up engine of Blood Money - and I just love the game. The only thing that could bother is some of the AI problems of the enemy and some sound errors, like when someone in a cutscene - or ingame - is talking through theThis game is, in first instance, thé game for fans of the Hitman series, because it looks way like it. The character design is good, the graphics are good - a polished up engine of Blood Money - and I just love the game. The only thing that could bother is some of the AI problems of the enemy and some sound errors, like when someone in a cutscene - or ingame - is talking through the radio, the sound slows down and you can only hear half of what he says because it then skips to the next sentence. But it's a fantastic game, without the bugs I'd have given it a 10+, no doubt. Not anyone may like it, but I sure do. It's just like controlling an action movie. Expand
  26. AdamW.
    Dec 18, 2007
    3
    Horribly boring, nothing really innovative at all, for the PC side of things. I guess this could be considered a good game under two conditions. You're under 18 and you own a console.
  27. nickmurphy
    Jun 4, 2008
    7
    I think this game is fairly underrated, but that is likely due to the big expectations. Its got good characters, good graphics, decent voice acting, decent story, pretty bad AI, and a great multiplayer game. I think its worth a buy for people who like the whole bank robbery or who just wanna play as a criminal. This game deserves a 6 for single player, but an 8.5 for coop and multiplayer.
  28. AndréL.
    Jul 7, 2009
    10
    Don´t give a damn about what other people said, just play the game and take your own conclusions, i´ve played and liked a lot.
  29. TomE.
    Dec 16, 2007
    2
    I waited so long for this game, and the day was finaly here. I was really lokking forward to the multiplayer, but I was very disapointed. When they asked me for more money to play online, such bullshit. I payed for the game once and are NOT going to pay some Xbox live community for playing on my pc. I acctualy feel a little raped. Not the way to treat costumers who pay hard earnd cash. I waited so long for this game, and the day was finaly here. I was really lokking forward to the multiplayer, but I was very disapointed. When they asked me for more money to play online, such bullshit. I payed for the game once and are NOT going to pay some Xbox live community for playing on my pc. I acctualy feel a little raped. Not the way to treat costumers who pay hard earnd cash. The single player was ok. The story was very good. Expand
  30. Feb 24, 2011
    8
    Nice story, fun levels which are quite unique given the criminal angle of the protagonists, not the best gameplay in the world but fun enough, if you can get it for under a tenner I'd say its worth it for a few hours of fun
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Though somewhat let down by its combat, Kane & Lynch is still well worth a play, even if it's just for the cinematic feel of the levels, the refreshingly different characters and the excellent multiplayer. [Christmas 2007, p.66]
  2. The right combination of gameplay elements and design decisions make Kane and Lynch easy to recommend to crime junkies and anyone who enjoys a little therapeutic videogame violence. A well-executed plot really makes the game, while the multiplayer additions add replay value and variety.
  3. Kane & Lynch is more "Freedom Fighters" than "Hitman", so it should appeal to action junkies looking for their next fix. [Dec 2007, p.67]