Kenshi Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kenshi is an independently developed single-player RPG focusing on open-ended gameplay features rather than a linear story. Touted as a sort of squad-based Oblivion spliced with X-Com Apocalypse, players control a team of samurai characters in a massive desert world, adventuring around and getting stabbed, such as RPG characters tend to do. Starting off with just a single weak character with a rusty sword and no shoes, the player can work his way up through a number of professions to develop a team of hardened warriors powerful enough to influence or even oppose the more powerful factions in the world. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. May 19, 2013
    10
    Its not best 10 bucks ever spend (best was Minecraft), but this GAME got AMAZING potential. I check every day for new updates. Now I see time when I will pickpocket town guards. Collapse
  2. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    This was one of the best games i have played in a long time currently being worked on by several devs it was designed by one guy till recently. Updates are steady and updates do not contain many bugs, sound is being worked on along with females, clothing, and other game play features. You can create a town, a army, and more. You can be a bandit, established faction leader, Mayor, or just a simple merchant Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    When I first saw this game, thought it was gonna be a M&B: Warband clone, only in a Asian setting, and that sounded great. But what this game is, is so much more, or at least potentially.

    You create a character in a post apocalyptic fuadal japan-ish world, and from there your on your own. You can be a merchant, thieve, docter, shop owner, start your own town/outpost, craft your own weapons and armor, build different kind of fuctional buildings, research technology to build/craft even better stuff. You can train in fighting, recruit an army of any size, and control and train each person individually. Well you get the idea...

    At first the game had sub-par GFX and no sound, but bear in mind it was still in Alpha (and still is), the graphics keep inproving immensely, and there is sound now. On top of that new major features keep being added every couple of months.

    In its current state (29/11/2013) the game is allready very enjoyable, so buy it now while i'ts still in it's Alpha pricing $20.
    Expand
  4. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    I keep this short & clean. Pros - Much of play styles - Able to compensate hard situations with simple tactics & mind play. - This game is the only one I've ever came cross with, and I find this very unique and potential game.
    - Good & tough world with no "OP" setup to go with.
    - I find this game atm balanced.
    - Price/Content rate is ridiculous, so "cheap" for such a big amount of content which is updated constantly
    - And the most valuable thing for this game: Freedom to do what you want.
    - No quick travel
    - Unique "leveling" system
    - Full customization over squad members

    Cons
    - It can be frustrating (atm) to aggro constantly bandits (if there are many) which are recovering from critical blows after fights, as you & faction aggro them. (If they(=bandits) are assaulting ie. npc city)
    - Can be little bit lagged sometimes to move around the global map and get stuck somewhere. (often between heights and low environments)
    - Random crashes are annoying if you haven't saved frequently.
    - Enemy AI can sometimes feel shabby.

    Anyways cons are minor things, which can be fixed anytime soon

    I have much of things to say, but I suggest this for anyone seeking unfair adventure for glory & pride.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This game is in Alpha stage, and is unfinished and unpolished as of right now. (which is completely natural considering its current development stage) So why a 9/10? That doesn't make sense does it?

    I disregarded:

    -bugs, glitches etc
    -lack of content that is announced.

    and focused entirely on its potential and current playability:
    If i had disregarded potential as well, i would have to drop it to 7/10. 100+ hours of fun in this state, deserves at least that.

    Why i like it:
    It's a squad based RPG in a sandbox environment. And its highly mod-able. Yeah sure there's limited stuff to do in the game, as of right now, but new content are added regularly. The feeling of freedom is great in this game.
    Want a new outpost, so you can trade with the trade caravans? Alright, better go pick up some slabs of stone and start building.
    Want to run around killing bandits? Then do that.. Just make sure you're ready for a fight. You might want to scavenge a few fights between the holy order, samurai lords or bandits first.
    Want to befriend the bandits? Run around healing the bandits after they get crushed by an enemy.
    Want to fight a faction, go right ahead.
    Finding the end game a bit easy? Go mod in your own faction of bad-asses and look at them rip apart the world.

    If you're put off by the early access, don't buy it and wait.
    If you don't want to buy a game based on its potential, then pick it up if it drops its price a little and you feel comfortable paying for it. It's still enjoyable in it's current state, especially if you like tweaking stuff.
    Which leads me to the last bit:
    If you like to modify and tweak game mechanics etc, and the game concept intrigues you. BUY IT. I sincerely doubt you will regret it.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2014
    9
    There are hours of entertainment to be had here. Still lacks content, and a but buggy, but if you can see past that it's fantastic. I can't wait for the final product.

    Definitely worth the money.
    Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2013
    0
    A unpolished, unfinished product that is currently being sold for "early access" (aka cash grab), Kenshi advertises itself as a "open ended, sandbox, squad based strategy."

    What it really is, is a unfinished product that doesn't even have sound, it is a massive grind and waste of time. Do yourself a favor and buy paint and watch it dry. You'll save money.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews