Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kentucky Route Zero is a magical realistic adventure game about a secret highway in the caves beneath Kentucky, and the mysterious folks who travel it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    95
    Evokes the feeling of old ghost stories told around a campfire. There's the familiarity of friends and family around a warm, man-made fire, but with it comes the unnerving tale of the strange and unusual. Kentucky Route Zero is beautifully bizarre and perfectly poignant, and most of all, deserves your attention.
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    Kentucky Route Zero is a beautiful and artistic piece of of work and I haven’t felt so strongly about a game since Silent Hill 2. After The Walking Dead made a case for powerful episodic narratives I found myself wanting something similar. I’m incredibly excited to see what the next four episodes will do.
  3. May 13, 2013
    87
    Kentucky Route Zero is basically a simple adventure game, but it's so achingly well put-together that it really becomes an experience like no other. Can't wait for the rest of the episodes! [May 2013]
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    If you find yourself sometimes wondering if videogames are art, you should try Kentucky Route Zero. This adventure game gives you the reigns of the storytelling of an intriguing fantastical story.
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Kentucky Route Zero Act I is a marvelous travel between the future and the past of a strange man, with stunning visuals and an inspired OST. Many AAA developers could learn something about storytelling, playing this modern tale.
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A fascinating experiment in alternative storytelling, filled with bold new ideas and some stunning visuals and music.
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    70
    Kentucky Route Zero is a pleasure to look at and interact with, brimming with anxious memories and begging you to peer into the distance. And yet it also comes across as a bit underdeveloped.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 18
  2. Negative: 6 out of 18
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    For those who fell in love with Dear Esther and Another World, this is one of those masterpieces that come up only once in decade. A must have. Stunning visual style and the sense of mystery drives you the whole time. Amazing. Simply outstanding! Collapse
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Indie for a reason- this game would have never existed but for a brave, minute dev team and its kickstarter funds. In a world where the mundane and profane overlap, KY0 brings out the poetry and unique advantage video game mechanics have to tell a story. Indeed as fellow users have commented reminiscent of Another World, this game is much more, can't wait for the next episodes (bought season pass right away). An effort well worth supporting, as its definitely a unique blend of art, adventure and poetry. Expand
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Short, good and not pretentious. This adventure is made of very good writing and some interesting literary mechanics. Also a great comeback for the "movement on a map" style which was very popular in early RPGs and simulated a certain kind of freedom with limited means. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2013
    6
    I like this game, as it does a good job of creating a haunting atmosphere. Would normally give it an 8 but one thing knocks my score down and that's the choice of how to release the game. 25 bucks for part of a game now, and the rest of the parts later when they get around to releasing them. Really? I bought it because I figured each act would be long enough to suffice paying such a price point but I guess I was the fool. Act 1 only takes about 2 hours. It's a cool game but I would recommend waiting for more of the parts to release before purchasing it. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    5
    Kentucky Route Zero is certainly a memorable experience but I simply cannot overlook how absurdly expensive it is. It's a five-act game where the first act can be completed in an hour, and that's if you take your time and explore absolutely everything, so it would be reasonable to assume that you're paying 18 euros for five hours of gameplay and you don't even get all five hours at once. And I'm not sure if the term "gameplay" is even correct here since this is very much an interactive story and it's not obvious if your dialogue choices affect anything at all. It's a fascinating start to what might turn out to be a truly memorable story, but I'd strongly advise waiting until the game is complete and the price is much, much lower. Or you can watch someone else play it and have pretty much the same experience. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    4
    The first two acts of the game are fairly good. The artistic style is unique. The story and flavor is interesting. There is a real sense of mystery to the game. That's up until you finish act II. Where are acts III through V? If you believe the developers at this point, they're putting a great deal of effort into making act III so much more than the previous two acts.

    It's starting to feel like a long series of excuses from these developers as to why they aren't delivering the promised other three acts. I could be wrong and they might be making something great and I just need to give them more time, but right now, I feel like I've been scammed. Because of this experience, I will never pay for a game before it is delivered ever again. I'm actually kind of grateful to these guys because it stopped me from buying into any Steam Early Access games as well.
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    I don't understand how this game series get scores so high. It's bad, just plain bad. I love usual point&click adventure games, but this isn't one. The dialogues are just people speaking rubbish sentences that don't even make sense. There's no plot at all except that you have to find a "route" and you encounter people in the scenes. No puzzles, no nothing. The graphics are great for when you enter a new scenes but that's about it. I was wondering how a game could invest so much in these scenes transition animations without having a game in itself. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews