Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 94 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kentucky Route Zero is a magical realistic adventure game about a secret highway in the caves beneath Kentucky, and the mysterious folks who travel it.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Jan 29, 2013
    95
    Evokes the feeling of old ghost stories told around a campfire. There's the familiarity of friends and family around a warm, man-made fire, but with it comes the unnerving tale of the strange and unusual. Kentucky Route Zero is beautifully bizarre and perfectly poignant, and most of all, deserves your attention.
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    Kentucky Route Zero is a beautiful and artistic piece of of work and I haven’t felt so strongly about a game since Silent Hill 2. After The Walking Dead made a case for powerful episodic narratives I found myself wanting something similar. I’m incredibly excited to see what the next four episodes will do.
  3. May 13, 2013
    87
    Kentucky Route Zero is basically a simple adventure game, but it's so achingly well put-together that it really becomes an experience like no other. Can't wait for the rest of the episodes! [May 2013]
  4. Jan 11, 2013
    80
    If you find yourself sometimes wondering if videogames are art, you should try Kentucky Route Zero. This adventure game gives you the reigns of the storytelling of an intriguing fantastical story.
  5. Jan 30, 2013
    80
    Kentucky Route Zero Act I is a marvelous travel between the future and the past of a strange man, with stunning visuals and an inspired OST. Many AAA developers could learn something about storytelling, playing this modern tale.
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    80
    A fascinating experiment in alternative storytelling, filled with bold new ideas and some stunning visuals and music.
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    70
    Kentucky Route Zero is a pleasure to look at and interact with, brimming with anxious memories and begging you to peer into the distance. And yet it also comes across as a bit underdeveloped.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    For those who fell in love with Dear Esther and Another World, this is one of those masterpieces that come up only once in decade. A mustFor those who fell in love with Dear Esther and Another World, this is one of those masterpieces that come up only once in decade. A must have. Stunning visual style and the sense of mystery drives you the whole time. Amazing. Simply outstanding! Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Indie for a reason- this game would have never existed but for a brave, minute dev team and its kickstarter funds. In a world where theIndie for a reason- this game would have never existed but for a brave, minute dev team and its kickstarter funds. In a world where the mundane and profane overlap, KY0 brings out the poetry and unique advantage video game mechanics have to tell a story. Indeed as fellow users have commented reminiscent of Another World, this game is much more, can't wait for the next episodes (bought season pass right away). An effort well worth supporting, as its definitely a unique blend of art, adventure and poetry. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    First act was rather short but extremely fascinating. The overall atmosphere of the game and the creepiness you feel every time is making theFirst act was rather short but extremely fascinating. The overall atmosphere of the game and the creepiness you feel every time is making the game worth a shot. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2014
    6
    One of the games that can't be really compared with games from big studios.
    For an Indie game I'd give it 9/10, but if put in a list together
    One of the games that can't be really compared with games from big studios.
    For an Indie game I'd give it 9/10, but if put in a list together with 2013 games like Bioshock or FarCry3 6/10 is generous.
    Positive: cool, mysterious art design and story. Negative: buying and installing this game might take more time than playing it. Game would really benefit from voice-over.
    Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    6
    I like this game, as it does a good job of creating a haunting atmosphere. Would normally give it an 8 but one thing knocks my score down andI like this game, as it does a good job of creating a haunting atmosphere. Would normally give it an 8 but one thing knocks my score down and that's the choice of how to release the game. 25 bucks for part of a game now, and the rest of the parts later when they get around to releasing them. Really? I bought it because I figured each act would be long enough to suffice paying such a price point but I guess I was the fool. Act 1 only takes about 2 hours. It's a cool game but I would recommend waiting for more of the parts to release before purchasing it. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    A big capital M *Meh*.

    Sure it's an indie game so it has a small budget, but can't you at least give it some voice over? The Stanley
    A big capital M *Meh*.

    Sure it's an indie game so it has a small budget, but can't you at least give it some voice over? The Stanley Parable showed us just how good voice over can be in a low budget game.

    Sure it's dark an gloomy.... so what, what game isn't these days? Don't just make your game dark and gloomy and expect it to be an instant success.... that's just insulting.

    So we explore some settings, we discover some new locations with our truck.... Oh Whoopie Doo....

    I honestly don't see what's so special about this game and why people like it so much. The Stanley Parable or The Swapper are infinitely more deserving of our praise.
    Expand
  7. Jun 17, 2014
    0
    I don't understand how this game series get scores so high. It's bad, just plain bad. I love usual point&click adventure games, but this isn'tI don't understand how this game series get scores so high. It's bad, just plain bad. I love usual point&click adventure games, but this isn't one. The dialogues are just people speaking rubbish sentences that don't even make sense. There's no plot at all except that you have to find a "route" and you encounter people in the scenes. No puzzles, no nothing. The graphics are great for when you enter a new scenes but that's about it. I was wondering how a game could invest so much in these scenes transition animations without having a game in itself. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews

Trailers